Automotive Deals BOTYSFKT Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis STEM Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 15, 2010
(This review refers to the books as a group/series and not this volume specifically) We got two Ricky Ricotta books from a neighbor. My seven-year-old son, going into second grade, has trouble reading and does not like books. He barely likes to be read to. The only book of any size he actually enjoyed was Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, but he lost interest in James and the Giant Peach, The Wind in the Willows, Howl's Moving Castle, and many others. When he saw these Mighty Robot books he immediately became enthusiastic, and so we now own all seven (and are looking forward to the last two in the series), and we read every night, at least one chapter, sometimes five chapters. He stares at the pictures, arranges the books in order, carries them around the house, and we have long discussions about the stories and the characters. As some of the reviewers have noted, the books are constructed cheaply, and the flip-o-rama (where a page is flipped back and forth to give the illusion of animation) makes short work of the bindings, but they're not expensive books to replace (just buy them new). I need to send Dav Pilkey a thank-you letter. I don't know how he knew how to get my son interested in reading.
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 3, 2013
My son, age 7, loves these books. He's just learning to read on his own, and these books are perfect. There are only a few sentences on each page. Each chapter is just a few pages. The stories are so interesting, he wants to read the whole book at once!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2014
By this time sitting down with Ricky Ricotta is a comfortable feeling as each book follows the same plotting device. Starting off with Ricky's birthday, he finds his day ruined when he learns his cousin Lucy will be attending the Dinosaur museum with them. Then it is off to Jupiter where a few humorous but factual facts about the planet are supplied and General Jackrabbit wants to take over the Galaxy starting with Earth. Deviating from the usual circumstances Ricky's Robot finds himself in trouble this time and Ricky has to rescue him. This one has a lot of action so makes a very quick read and we are rewarded again by glimpsing at all the previous villains in prison when Jackrabbit is sent there too. The story is light-hearted as usual though I didn't find this one exactly funny more just silly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2011
If you like hilarious books you should read this book now! If you like robots, dinos and bunnies you'll definitely like this book. After you finish this book you'll wish you didn't finish it. If you have a kid that just learned to read easy chapter books tell them they should read this book now! This book is so entertaining. One exciting part is when General Jack Rabbit mixes dinosaurs with bunnies to make evil dinobunnies. Ricky and his robot have to find some way to stop them. If you want to know what happens in the rest of the book read it now.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 20, 2013
You've heard of gateway drugs that get kids started on a life of drugs. Well, I call this a gateway book. Neither of my boys were really interested in reading outside of their assigned schoolwork - until they read this book. It is a fairly simple graphic novel that they can read in one sitting and get a real sense of accomplishment. After reading the first one they begged for me to get the rest of the series. They had never asked for a book before so I was happy to oblige.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 26, 2011
My 8 YO son was a HUGE Captain Underpants fan but he had read them all and needed something new. I bought the Ricky Ricotta books and he really liked them as well. He said they are "not quite as great, but they are very, very good." I would recommend these books to anyone who has a child who loves to read or one who is struggling. The author has a way of pulling the children in and they just sit and giggle through the whole thing!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 15, 2008
Reading is so hard, why even bother to try? For a ten year old brainiac who just can't make sense of the written word, Ricky Ricotta is a beam of light in the darkness. It's simple enough, not too silly, and it's a "Chapter Book". Still have to "make" him read, but this author has made him not dread it quite so much.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2009
We love Dav Pilkey and all his characters: Captain Underpants, the Dumb Bunnies, Ricky! They are fun to read and short enough to provide your kid a sense of accomplishment by finishing a chapter book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2011
This book is about Jurassic Jackrabbits from the planet Jupiter. General Jackrabbit is trying to take over earth with his brand new jackrabbits. People should read this book because the jackrabbits start out really cute. It is a really funny book because the author used his imagination. You'll really love this book if you like jackrabbits or dinosaurs or if you like funny books - or all three. Anna L.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 11, 2010
I like this book because it is action-packed. I love that the setting is in outer space. I will now give you a summary. "Success at last" is what General Jackrabbit thought when he created three dinosaur/jackrabbits. Ricky's birthday was that day and his family was going to the museum. However, General Jackrabbit stole the skulls from the museum. He made eggs and they hatched into dinosuars/jackrabbits. The Migty Robot Ricky found in book one fights them. If you want to find out what happens read this great book! ~APRIL MEADOWBROOK

Boom! It's the 5th book and Ricky and that Robot are at it again. This time Ricky and his Mighty Robot go and fight General Jackrabbit and his army of Jurassic Jackrabbits. It is Ricky's birthday but he's not excited because his cousin named Lucy is a pest. And General Jackrabbit goes to the museum to get the skulls of three dinosaurs. This story is full of action and I think other readers will enjoy it. ~ Orange Outlaw
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse