Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Book Hater Becomes a Book Lover
(This review refers to the books as a group/series and not this volume specifically) We got two Ricky Ricotta books from a neighbor. My seven-year-old son, going into second grade, has trouble reading and does not like books. He barely likes to be read to. The only book of any size he actually enjoyed was Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, but he lost interest in James...
Published on August 15, 2010 by Poe ballantine

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars General Jackrabbit Attacks
By this time sitting down with Ricky Ricotta is a comfortable feeling as each book follows the same plotting device. Starting off with Ricky's birthday, he finds his day ruined when he learns his cousin Lucy will be attending the Dinosaur museum with them. Then it is off to Jupiter where a few humorous but factual facts about the planet are supplied and General Jackrabbit...
Published 2 months ago by Nicola Manning-Mansfield


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Book Hater Becomes a Book Lover, August 15, 2010
By 
Poe ballantine "poeball" (Chadron, NE United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ricky Ricotta's Mighty Robot vs. the Jurassic Jack Rabbits from Jupiter (Paperback)
(This review refers to the books as a group/series and not this volume specifically) We got two Ricky Ricotta books from a neighbor. My seven-year-old son, going into second grade, has trouble reading and does not like books. He barely likes to be read to. The only book of any size he actually enjoyed was Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, but he lost interest in James and the Giant Peach, The Wind in the Willows, Howl's Moving Castle, and many others. When he saw these Mighty Robot books he immediately became enthusiastic, and so we now own all seven (and are looking forward to the last two in the series), and we read every night, at least one chapter, sometimes five chapters. He stares at the pictures, arranges the books in order, carries them around the house, and we have long discussions about the stories and the characters. As some of the reviewers have noted, the books are constructed cheaply, and the flip-o-rama (where a page is flipped back and forth to give the illusion of animation) makes short work of the bindings, but they're not expensive books to replace (just buy them new). I need to send Dav Pilkey a thank-you letter. I don't know how he knew how to get my son interested in reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elena's Review, June 14, 2011
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Ricky Ricotta's Mighty Robot vs. the Jurassic Jack Rabbits from Jupiter (Paperback)
If you like hilarious books you should read this book now! If you like robots, dinos and bunnies you'll definitely like this book. After you finish this book you'll wish you didn't finish it. If you have a kid that just learned to read easy chapter books tell them they should read this book now! This book is so entertaining. One exciting part is when General Jack Rabbit mixes dinosaurs with bunnies to make evil dinobunnies. Ricky and his robot have to find some way to stop them. If you want to know what happens in the rest of the book read it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ricky Ricotta - Book Series, January 26, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ricky Ricotta's Mighty Robot vs. the Jurassic Jack Rabbits from Jupiter (Paperback)
My 8 YO son was a HUGE Captain Underpants fan but he had read them all and needed something new. I bought the Ricky Ricotta books and he really liked them as well. He said they are "not quite as great, but they are very, very good." I would recommend these books to anyone who has a child who loves to read or one who is struggling. The author has a way of pulling the children in and they just sit and giggle through the whole thing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for boys, January 4, 2009
This review is from: Ricky Ricotta's Mighty Robot vs. the Jurassic Jack Rabbits from Jupiter (Paperback)
We love Dav Pilkey and all his characters: Captain Underpants, the Dumb Bunnies, Ricky! They are fun to read and short enough to provide your kid a sense of accomplishment by finishing a chapter book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mighty Robot, Mighty Reader, July 15, 2008
This review is from: Ricky Ricotta's Mighty Robot vs. the Jurassic Jack Rabbits from Jupiter (Paperback)
Reading is so hard, why even bother to try? For a ten year old brainiac who just can't make sense of the written word, Ricky Ricotta is a beam of light in the darkness. It's simple enough, not too silly, and it's a "Chapter Book". Still have to "make" him read, but this author has made him not dread it quite so much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars General Jackrabbit Attacks, April 17, 2014
This review is from: Ricky Ricotta's Mighty Robot vs. the Jurassic Jack Rabbits from Jupiter (Paperback)
By this time sitting down with Ricky Ricotta is a comfortable feeling as each book follows the same plotting device. Starting off with Ricky's birthday, he finds his day ruined when he learns his cousin Lucy will be attending the Dinosaur museum with them. Then it is off to Jupiter where a few humorous but factual facts about the planet are supplied and General Jackrabbit wants to take over the Galaxy starting with Earth. Deviating from the usual circumstances Ricky's Robot finds himself in trouble this time and Ricky has to rescue him. This one has a lot of action so makes a very quick read and we are rewarded again by glimpsing at all the previous villains in prison when Jackrabbit is sent there too. The story is light-hearted as usual though I didn't find this one exactly funny more just silly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good bedtime reading, March 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ricky Ricotta's Mighty Robot vs. the Jurassic Jack Rabbits from Jupiter (Paperback)
My son loves this, great blend of comic book and chapter book. He's 6 and eats it up. Funny stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My son loved every second, January 3, 2014
By 
Joel Templeton (White Bluff, TN United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ricky Ricotta's Mighty Robot vs. the Jurassic Jack Rabbits from Jupiter (Paperback)
My 7 year old has read all of these twice and still loves them. Great beginning readers. Recommend to parents with young boys struggling to get interested.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All the Ricky Ricotta books are great!, September 3, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ricky Ricotta's Mighty Robot vs. the Jurassic Jack Rabbits from Jupiter (Paperback)
My son, age 7, loves these books. He's just learning to read on his own, and these books are perfect. There are only a few sentences on each page. Each chapter is just a few pages. The stories are so interesting, he wants to read the whole book at once!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for my 6-year old, August 23, 2013
By 
M. De Castro (Minneapolis, MN) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ricky Ricotta's Mighty Robot vs. the Jurassic Jack Rabbits from Jupiter (Paperback)
My six year old son got hooked on these Ricky Ricotta books. He finds them funny and engaging. I love that it gets him motivated to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Ricky Ricotta's Mighty Robot vs. the Jurassic Jack Rabbits from Jupiter
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.