Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun n gritty
Fun game if you like burnout. More gritty and different from old ridge racers so don't expect the same. Can use a bit more originality. But a really great game
Published 9 months ago by Trezonator

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting idea but there's better racers out there
This is the first Ridge Racer game I've ever actually played. It looked pretty interesting from the trailers so I decided to pick it up when a copy finally arrived at my local Best Buy 5 days after it was supposed to be out (Gamestop, Amazon and every other outlet seems to have also gotten the ps3 copies late). The game features destructible environment pieces scattered...
Published on April 27, 2012 by Vyprstryke


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting idea but there's better racers out there, April 27, 2012
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ridge Racer Unbounded - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
This is the first Ridge Racer game I've ever actually played. It looked pretty interesting from the trailers so I decided to pick it up when a copy finally arrived at my local Best Buy 5 days after it was supposed to be out (Gamestop, Amazon and every other outlet seems to have also gotten the ps3 copies late). The game features destructible environment pieces scattered around the track that can either serve as shortcuts or means to wreck racers surrounding you. If that sounds familiar, it's because it totally is!

First of all, the game is rather frustrating at times. You start out with 1 car available to you and you stand no chance of catching up to any of the AI racers and will see yourself in the bottom 4 until you unlock 1 or 2 more cars. What keeps it from being an annoyingly frustrating game is that it's actually really fun to "frag" other racers. It doesn't really do much to help you overall since the lead car has probably already lapped you though. The biggest problem I seem to have is the controls.

I'm used to Hot Pursuit's excellent drifting controls. This game is much like Blur in the sense that it's much harder to control and often times just pointless. One minute you'll be just fun going to drift around a tight corner and the next you'll find yourself completely turned around (in other words, don't floor it after you drift into the wall and stop for a second). If that doesn't happen, you'll find yourself wrecking often. There's been several instances where I fill my boost/frag gauge up and go to smash through a building and my boost will end 2 ft before the wall and wreck. Also, no matter how much of a lead you think you have, if you wreck, you're going to end up at the end of the pack. You'll also frequently notice the AI rebuilding boost at an incredible rate. To fill your boost meter, you can go really fast, drift, catch a lot of air (it is possible to fill your boost meter from a long distance jump alone), or drafting. There are lots of other in-game perks to doing this stuff as well.

To keep you interested in the single player races, the game has a lot of in-game awards for random things you can do during a race. Things like jump distance, amount of racers fragged, number of objects destroyed, reaching ludicrous speed, and even drafting for long periods of time will net you awards which are the most effective way to earn XP early on since you won't exactly be placing 1st right off the bat. Outside of all of this stuff, the game also offers online multiplayer with a slight twist.

You have your standard racing modes but what's kinda cool about the online component in Unbounded is you can create your own city. It's a very basic track editor but you can create several events across it. What's also pretty cool is to publish it, you have to race on it and while doing so, you will earn xp and various awards. I found this method to be quite useful in not only netting myself some trophies but also leveling up a little faster. You can view and participate in other users cities as well and try to beat their times. It's a cool extra feature you don't see in a lot of racing games. But outside of that, the game really isn't anything super special that you haven't or can't find in another game and to top it off, the online community is almost non-existent and there is NO local split-screen multiplayer. So unless you have a friend with another ps3 and tv in the same room as you, you'll probably just be playing this by yourself.

Overall, this game is cool if you're used to racing games and are looking for a little more of a challenge. Everything this game does is something other games like Split/Second, Burnout: Paradise, Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit, Gran Turismo 5 and Blur do on a better scale. It's certainly not a horrible game by any means but without an online community and sketchy controls, it's hard to recommend it over the other games in the same genre that offer you more bang for your buck (and by now, at a cheaper price point).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very Fun, but frustrating hard, May 9, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ridge Racer Unbounded - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
I have enjoyed this game a lot, but it is very difficult. I do have experience with arcade racing (previous Ridge Racer game is one of my favorites) but it seems like for Namco, fun means frustration. Seriously, I play games to relax, not to get more stress... that does not mean that I do not like challenging games, but challenging does not mean frustrating.
I will continue playing it, as a matter of fact this game is really fun, but I do not know for how long, since the AI is TOO good (sometimes it feels like it cheats) and if you do not accomplish goals, you cannot unlock new content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a Ridge Racer game, April 13, 2014
By 
mcdull (Los Angeles, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ridge Racer Unbounded - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
If you're Ridge Racer fans of either RR1 or up to RR7, don't bother with this game. It's not a Ridge Racer game, simple as that.
If you grew up with Ridge Racer, you would know the only goal is to race and drift to beat you components, work out the details of the best lines and where to drift gain a second or 2 faster.
This Ridge Racer Unbounded is very Americanized, trying to put element from other "racing" games into it. It's deviated too much from the originals and not in the good way. You will be overwhelmed by all the unreleased destructions and tasks, trying to destroy your opponents rather than beating them in the race.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun n gritty, November 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ridge Racer Unbounded - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
Fun game if you like burnout. More gritty and different from old ridge racers so don't expect the same. Can use a bit more originality. But a really great game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unlike any RR you've ever played! And I don't mean in a good way!, December 26, 2012
By 
Videonaut (Washington DC USA) - See all my reviews
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ridge Racer Unbounded - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
To a large extent, game reviews are extremely subjective. How you feel about a game depends on what you expect in the way of gameplay, and what I dislike might be fun for you.

That said, I dislike this game. I've played all the RR games, and they've gotten better with each iteration. Great graphics, consistent (but completely fake) physics, and lots of speed. This version has lots of speed. Everything else has been replaced with lots of flashing lights and explosions. And major crashy things. So if you like lights, explosions and crashy things, you might really enjoy this game.

And I'm not putting down explosions, flashing lights and crashy things. In some games, that's what I go in looking for. In RR, I go in looking for good clean arcade racing fun, and I didn't get that with this iteration of the game. I hope that next time out of the gate (if they survive this version) they'll get back to more fun, less explosions.

And yes, I miss Reiko. There, I said it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 4.5 Stars, One of the best arcade racers!, October 3, 2012
By 
Victor Chu (bronx, ny United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ridge Racer Unbounded - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
I'm a big arcade racer fan. A third of my 20 PS3 games are racing games and i've played almost every hit racing game series since 1989.

You'll like it if you like: Need for Speed, Flatout, Burnout for PS2 (forgot which one), Burnout Paradise, Split Second and Motorstorm. You won't like it if you don't like simulation games.

The game is on a closed track but there are paths you can blast through when you use turbo and that needs to be timed correctly or else you'll crash. the learning curve is about 15 minutes.

Graphics - 4.5/5 - much better than Blur and almost as good as NFS HP or the Run, about on par with Driver. theres a lot of stuff going on with so much to destroy. I haven't noticed any drop in frame rates which is quite impressive.

Sound - 3/5 if you like house/dubstep, you'll like it. theres a skrillex song thats better than the other generic stuff.

Gameplay - 4.5/5 - Some reviewers complained about it being frustrating. Although some levels may take more than 3 tries, each time is a blast! The game is intense like a first person shooter. The game is challenging but not impossible. If you're used to Motorstorms crashes, you'll definitely find this game a lot LESS frustrating. i've actually gotten 3 stars on a few levels with only 1 or 2 tries. and when you get 3 stars, its very rewarding. there couldve been some more tracks that were not urban and it wouldve been nice if you could crash into large moving objects like plains and trains. nonetheless the game is still very entertaining.

Controls - 4/5 - Simple. Very few buttons to remember which i like. theres left, right, accelerate, brake + turbo and handbrake/drift. The drifts could've been excuted better and the controls could have been a bit tighter, but im not complaining. the cars are easy to handle if you choose the right one.

Lasting appeal - 4.5/5 - theres a level editor and multiplayer. i was actually able to play a couple of guys today. unfortunately theres no split-screen but i can live with granted this game is only $22

if you're on the fence about it, definitely give it a shot. this definitely exceeded my expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Great Graphics And Tracks Though The Drifting and Controls For The Cars Could Use A Little Work, May 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ridge Racer Unbounded - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
Overall the game gives racing fans a good time as you speed through streets courses and do some damage along the way for the top 3 place finishes. The detail as of the course as well as the cars is astounding as are the elemental and visual effects throughout the race from littered papers flying around when you speed through a turn to when you accidentally smash into another car or something else and see the debris fly. The controls are pretty simplistic the standard gas/break/drift and acceleration is the game has any annoyances it would be that when you drift it seems harder to keep control of the car which while understandable to a point still seems overly difficult in the game too. Still the game gave me what I wanted a fun time and the ability to challenge friends or other challengers online as well.

So if you're looking for a affordable racing game that while not the newest but still fun I'd say this is worth taking a look at.

Update 05-09-2014

Sadly while at first I started off enjoying the game the awful controls and game elements turned me off really quickly. While it's understood that when you progress and are able to afford a better car with better specs almost none of the earlier cars worked remotely well. While the first track was hard enough I thought after getting a few upgrades I'd see some improvement but never did. The drifting is still horrific as you pretty much turn a 180 with no way to control your car and lose your place pretty quickly. It's still not the most horrible game I've played but sadly it has quickly reached the top five of games I've come to regret buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Great Fast Game!!!, January 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ridge Racer Unbounded - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
I Choose this rating because this is a fun game and my son love to play this game all the time and he even beat the game.my son have won all kinds of awards on the game and I tried to play with my son but he kicked my ass.i cannot race him.my baby boy is great at beating a race game and I bet he will beat the next kid that try to race with him..my son love this game a whole lot..sooo, sooo, fun!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this game is fun fun!!!, March 30, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ridge Racer Unbounded - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
i just got it and played today and i really like it! this is arcadae and not a simulation so if you like burnout series or need for speed most wanted or underground series will love this game. im usually dont buy new and always buy used but i thought create your own enviroment race tracks really make me buy right away. ill probably play for long time online multiplayer easpecially tons of people going to make their own race tracks and race with other people. by the way gran turism 5 is the real driving simulation!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great GAME!!!!, January 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ridge Racer Unbounded - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
Love the game, cant stop playing. grt graphic. such games are hard to find these days. would recommend this game. But dont miss ur prayers for games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Ridge Racer Unbounded - Playstation 3
Ridge Racer Unbounded - Playstation 3 by Namco (PlayStation 3)
$59.99 $16.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.