Customer Reviews


149 Reviews
5 star:
 (66)
4 star:
 (46)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's all about choices
Stephen King first published "Riding the Bullet" as an online e-book in 2000. This was the first time a story by a top-selling author was first published electronically, and only later in traditional media, and because of this it got a lot of publicity at the time.

Since then "Riding the Bullet" has been released as an audio book on CD or cassette, and as an...
Published on August 26, 2006 by Rennie Petersen

versus
29 of 34 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Misleading Item Description
Although the story was enjoyable, I based my purchase of the Kindle edition on the Print Length of 400 pages listed in the item description and was disappointed to discover that, rather than a full-length novel, I had received a short story.

Amazon, please correct your misleading item description!
Published on May 11, 2010 by Kurtchan


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's all about choices, August 26, 2006
By 
Rennie Petersen (Copenhagen, Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Riding the Bullet (Audio CD)
Stephen King first published "Riding the Bullet" as an online e-book in 2000. This was the first time a story by a top-selling author was first published electronically, and only later in traditional media, and because of this it got a lot of publicity at the time.

Since then "Riding the Bullet" has been released as an audio book on CD or cassette, and as an audio download. It is also included in "Everything's Eventual", a collection of 14 short stories in print form.

In his introduction to "Everything's Eventual" Stephen King bemoans the fact that "Riding the Bullet" got a lot of attention just because it was the first e-book-only publication by a major author, but absolutely no attention based on the merits of the story itself. So now I'll focus on the story, just in case Mr. King happens by - wouldn't want to disappoint him, right?

"Riding the Bullet" is a ghost story about a young guy who is hitchhiking home to visit his sick mother and gets picked up by a dead man driving a Ford Mustang. The dead man gives him a simple choice: either you or your mother die, and you get to choose which one!

The young guy in the story has to make a choice. You, the reader, also have to consider what you'd choose if you were in this situation. Come on, now, be honest, who would you choose?

There's a flashback to when the young guy was a 12-year-old boy visiting an amusement park together with his mother. He pestered his mother to stand in line with him to ride the scariest attraction, "The Bullet", but when they finally got to the head of the queue he chickened out. He made his choice then, not to ride The Bullet.

What will he choose now?

The story is not too complicated or sophisticated, but it is well told. In particular, the characters seem very real, even the ghost, and the story is told in a way that makes it believable and entertaining.

The audio version is read by Josh Hamilton who has just the right youthful voice to make it sound correct. It is only 1 hour and 33 minutes. (The cassette and CD versions say "approx. 2 hours" on the packaging, but this is deceptive marketing.)

Recommended, although the audio version is over-priced compared to buying "Everything's Eventual" as a book and getting an additional 13 stories.

Rennie Petersen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 34 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Misleading Item Description, May 11, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Riding the Bullet (Kindle Edition)
Although the story was enjoyable, I based my purchase of the Kindle edition on the Print Length of 400 pages listed in the item description and was disappointed to discover that, rather than a full-length novel, I had received a short story.

Amazon, please correct your misleading item description!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Misleading item description, August 12, 2010
By 
This review is from: Riding the Bullet (Kindle Edition)
As did some other reviewers, I decided to purchase this based on Amazon's description of it being 400 pages, and was surprised and disappointed when it ended just as I was settling in for a good read. I do enjoy Stephen King's short stories, but this one was just okay. Next time I'll actually READ the reviews before purchasing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent story, July 18, 2007
This review is from: Riding the Bullet (Audio CD)
Myself and my son listened to this story on a long drive. It scared him. He was looking for random people on the side of the road the rest of the trip. I loved the story. Its a true King tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lacks true punch, January 31, 2003
This review is from: Riding the Bullet (Audio CD)
This audio version of the short story is very well done. Josh Hamilton as the reader does a very good job. This is typical King material but lacks true punch as a horror novel. The underlying morale of the story was not lost on me and I do enjoy philosophical undertones the King adds to many of his novels. Still, the story did not scare me or even enthrall me. In that, I found it lacking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, March 25, 2007
This review is from: Riding the Bullet (Audio CD)
Im not much into writing reviews but this one i had to.. This is the best audiobook i have ever heard.. hands down and i listen to alot of em... this is amazing.. creepy... heart wenching and powerful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A look at the Limited Edition of Riding the Bullet, December 18, 2010
By 
Wayne C. Rogers "Wayne C. Rogers" (Las Vegas, Nevada United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Riding the Bullet is an exquisite Limited and Gift Edition that's published in a somewhat larger book format. On the front side of the book you have Stephen King's 48 page novella. When you turn the book over to the back side and then upside down, you now have the screenplay of Riding the Bullet by Mick Garris, who also directed the film. It's reminiscent of the double-novel paperbacks of years past. Between the novella and the screenplay are an art gallery of Bernie Wrightson's ink drawings and still shots from the movie of Riding the Bullet with notes by Mick Garris.

For those of you who haven't read King's novella or seen the movie, the story deals with college student, Alan Parker, and his attempt to hitchhike home on night to see his mother, who's just been hospitalized with a stroke. Good rides, of course, are sometimes hard to find for a hitchhiker. Alan had hoped to be to Lewiston by night fall, but instead finds himself out on a lonely highway at night with his thumb stuck up in the air. When a muscle car happens along and the driver offers him a ride, Alan gladly hops in. Of course, this being a Stephen King story, the driver of the car turns out to be the spirit of a dead man from the past who'd lost his head in a car accident. Alan immediately wants to climb out of the car, but the driver won't allow him to leave. You see the ghost has something in store for the college student. He's going to offer Alan a choice. Either Alan can choose to take the long journey with the driver, or he can offer his dying mother up for the ride. It's a tough decision to make for a young man, but, hey, life isn't always fair, is it?

Stephen King's novella is a fine piece of writing that displays his craftsmanship with the written word, while at the same time exploring the themes of one's morality and the guilt that comes to a person when he/she knowingly makes the wrong decision. We all have a strong instinct for survival, but what would we do if we had to make a choice about who lives and dies. Would you be willing to surrender your life for another's in order to life? I don't know what I would do in a similar situation. It's always easy to think you would take the high ground, until you find yourself with having to make a life or death decision.

The screenplay by Mick Garris is longer than the novella. Mick had to increase the length of the story with more information about Alan Parker, some new characters, and with a changed ending. Even with this, Mick manages to stay true to King's story, following it as closely as possible with much of the dialogue that was used in the novella. If you're interested in writing for the movies, then you'll certainly learn a lot from the finished shooting script of Riding the Bullet. Script writing is different from writing a short story, novella, or novel. You have to see everything from the camera's point of view, or what viewers see on the screen when they go to the movies. Also, when writing a screenplay, one will usually have to add or delete material to it from the original source. In this case, new material had to be added to make an almost two-hour movie. I enjoyed the screenplay and Mick Garris's style of writing. In many ways, he's just as good as Stephen King is in his ability to create a story and to see it with his mind's eye on up a big movie screen.

Add to this some really beautiful ink drawings by the great Bernie Wrightson of some wicked-looking night crawlers and scantily-clad women, plus some behind-the-scenes shots of the movie, Riding the Bullet, sketch boards, and notes on production schedules, and you have a one-of-a-kind edition of a Stephen King novella. This is definitely a must-buy for collectors of King's fiction. Lonely Road Books has done a fabulous job on this very special edition with hot wrap-around dust jacket by Alan Clark. On a final note, though the price for the Gift Edition of Riding the Bullet on Amazon is far less than buying it directly from the publisher, you should be aware that no slipcase is included, nor is the book signed by any of the participants.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stephen King, May 30, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Riding the Bullet (Kindle Edition)
I am a constant reader. And will continue to be so. Have never been disappointed by anything Mr. King has published.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Publishing Pioneer, January 12, 2010
This review is from: Riding the Bullet (Audio CD)
On March 14, 2000, shortly after his nearly fatal accident, King published Riding the Bullet as an e-book, exclusively, as his introduction to electronic publishing. Simon and Schuster worked with Softlock offering the 67-page novella for $2.50, payable by credit card.

On the first day the demand for download was so high that Softlock suffered a lockup, preventing eager readers from accessing Riding the Bullet for a few days. Loyal King readers complained that availability was limited to those with credit cards, e-readers, and pcs. Mac owners couldn't download the book. Barnes and Noble and Amazon offered the download for free.

In 2002 Riding the Bullet was published as one of 14 short stories in Everything's Eventual. In 2004 a movie version was released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Riding The Bullet By Stephen King, February 1, 2012
This book is a must have for any King fan, It is really cool because on one side is the story and flip the book on the other side is the screen play.
Awesome book!! I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Riding the Bullet
Riding the Bullet by Mick Garris
$3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.