Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not too bad for this being the author's first book.
I don't want to be too hard on this author, since her first attempt. I think she has a lot of real potential, if she decides to stick with writing in the future. After all; some of the best author's in today's market were NOT really all that good in their first attempt either. I do think Tarra should invest in getting a good editor, especially before she decides to put...
Published on November 8, 2012 by CINDY F.

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Needs More Research
A May-December romance, Right Here Waiting is the story of Megan and Blade. Eighteen years her senior, Megan has been in love with Blade as long as she can remember. For his part, Blade has always been stand-offish towards Megan, to the point of rejecting her one too many times. So, on the day of her 18th birthday, Megan left the Happy Meadows Ranch to move to New York...
Published on November 10, 2012 by Sheiglagh


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not too bad for this being the author's first book., November 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Right Here Waiting (Paperback)
I don't want to be too hard on this author, since her first attempt. I think she has a lot of real potential, if she decides to stick with writing in the future. After all; some of the best author's in today's market were NOT really all that good in their first attempt either. I do think Tarra should invest in getting a good editor, especially before she decides to put out another book.

I did like the story line, but I felt both the main characters were acting in a very immature manner.

For an example...Blade acted like a very spoiled man, or even a cave man. He didn't seem to give a hoot about what she wanted, or how she felt. He just wanted what he wanted, and to hell with what anyone else thought about his actions. Sort of reminds me of an immature child, who is constantly fighting over a toy.

And then there's Megan. In the beginning when I read that she had to go home due to the death of her parents, I thought she'd have least shown a little more emotion about losing them suddenly in that car crash. After all...she was an only child, and as far as I could tell, she had a very loving relationship with them when she was growing up. But the only sadness that was described by the author, only took place at the memorial itself, and even then it was sort of skimmed over very quickly. I think the author could have expanded on that a little more.

As far as her relationship with Blade.... she was so wishey- washey, as far as I'm concerned. She loved him, then she hated him, then she loved him again. What? Make up your mind woman!

And I'm also agree with the only other reviewer here right now. You don't get to work or be a top AD person, and especially in New York City, without getting a very good college education first. It just doesn't work that way. And even then, it is very hard to land a job of that type, without working in the business for a long time.

Would I recommend this book? I think so, yes, especially since it's free right now. IMO- It does have potential, that's for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Needs More Research, November 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Right Here Waiting (Kindle Edition)
A May-December romance, Right Here Waiting is the story of Megan and Blade. Eighteen years her senior, Megan has been in love with Blade as long as she can remember. For his part, Blade has always been stand-offish towards Megan, to the point of rejecting her one too many times. So, on the day of her 18th birthday, Megan left the Happy Meadows Ranch to move to New York City. Five years later, Megan's parents passed away and she had to come back to Idaho to run the ranch with Blade. If she did not, Megan will forfeit all her rights to the ranch. But, what about Megan's heart? Will she forfeit it to Blade once and for all?

The storyline of "Right Here Waiting" had been done before; I just can't remember the title of the book. It is so similar, except that in the other book, the heroine is a successful Assistant District Attorney in her late twenties to early 30s while the hero was in his late 30s to early 40s. And I can honestly say that I enjoyed that other book better for a lot of reasons.

But, we are discussing this book and here are the reasons why I am only giving it one star.

--- Megan at 23, without a college degree has very slim chances of being a high powered advertising executive in Madison Avenue to the point that her boss was willing for her to telecommute from Idaho, even send an assistant to her. There are just so many Ivy League graduates in NYC who are better qualified for the job that an 18-year old high school graduate has to be more than just brilliant and very very lucky to even be hired on as an assistant.

--- A penthouse apartment in New York that is so big that the guest cabin in the ranch can fit in it with room to spare is again highly improbably for 23-year old Megan to own, unless of course, her parents paid for it, which seems unlikely since she had not seen them since she left. Maybe, Megan had a trust fund that she had access to when she turned 18, because that is the only way she could afford a multi-million dollar apartment at 23 working as an advertising executive. She would have not built up enough credit rating to buy one, unless she paid cash for it.

--- For someone who had lived in NY for 5 years and a denizen of the very fast-paced Madison Avenue, Megan acts like an unsophisticated spoiled brat. She could not see way past her nose.

--- This story is supposed to be about a very sophisticated young woman returning to the ranch she grew up in. But, the voice that she was written in sounded as if she never left high school or the ranch. Megan did not have the Big Apple in her speech or attitude.

There are so many more points that I want to put here but if I do, I will be spoiling the story for you. This book needs more research.

Rated M for Mature due to sex scenes, which by the way, was so flat that I am tempted to rate this book as PG.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Horrid, January 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Right Here Waiting (Kindle Edition)
This book is every stereotype of a bad romance novel. The man is named Blade and his only way of communicating is by forcibly kissing/mauling the female lead. There is a less than plausible clause to a will and a helpful housekeeper. Honestly I quit reading at Chapter 4, I couldn't take anymore idiocy. I hope the author can pull herself out of the formulaic romance novel outline in her next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of Time , SPOILER ALERT!, April 25, 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (Collierville, TN, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Right Here Waiting (Kindle Edition)
I found the story rather boring. The character of Megan according to the copy of the story I got was supposed to have left her home fifteen years earlier after the incident with Blade. I know some reviewers have said five years had passed so the author may have made that correction.

I cannot believe that a 33 year old ad executive would be so insecure and have an almost childish attitude toward Blake after all these years. I would have thought her personality would have been stronger and she would want show him how she had matured and grown in all aspects of her life. Also the fact that she would let her ex-lover belittle her so much each time they made love and put up with it so long made her character rather pathetic. When it comes to Blade her telling him from the start that what he said when she was eighteen was what made her leave not come back made her seem weak. Her also putting up with cave man antics did not make me like the character. Do not get me started on the fact that she would have to request the things she would need to work from home from her boss. I cannot think of anyone in a position of power in business who do not have the equipment to telecommute because most people work on multiple projects and have to stay in the loop continually, sometimes even on vacation. My husband is a manager and sometimes on vacation has to do conference calls and still takes his computer in case something comes up at work. The thing that put the story into "what was she thinking territory" is the fact that she kept in touch with her parents but never knew anything about their lives. The letter that her parents leave her makes it sound as if they never say each other again after she left, yet the story talks about how close they were at a couple of points. You cannot have me believe they were close if they never visited each other in fifteen years. Why would they not go to see her in New York or meet them somewhere else for a vacation. Really, fifteen years of NO holidays together in all this time yet they were a close loving family. Also they changed the family ranch into a guest ranch and she had no idea until they passed even though the guest ranch had been up and running for years it seems. For them to have a building to house the offices means this was a decent operation and the daughter knew nothing about what was to be her legacy.

The character of Blade was an extreme alpha male. At times it seemed as if he was almost forcing himself on Megan. This character also was not that likeable. He was not written with much personality. He only seems to want what he wants and be darned what Megan wants relationship wise.

I admit I started browsing the story more after the first chapter but what I read was over the top and could not keep my interest. The characters for the start were rather flat and made you want to skip around the story and see if it got better but it never did.

I applaud the author for following her dreams and writing but I like to say to her "Make your characters more believe and likable. Also make the situations more believable". There were too many things that did not mesh together and so my personal interest waned early in the story. There is potential in the story but as it reads right now I would not recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Needs Editing, November 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Right Here Waiting (Kindle Edition)
Seriously, as an author, some things need to be checked. (The story doesn't have to be factual, but should be believable..) No way this girl is a High-Powered Executive or owns a penthouse. She doesn't even act mature enough to have this life the author creates. The punctuation, grammar and even some spelling really needs work.

Blade is an jerk, and I don't find him anywhere near attractive as a hero in the book. He strikes me as slightly abusive.
"He grabbed her forcefully pushed her against the wall. Not hard enough to do any damage, but he made it clear he meant business." (Yes, this is word for word how it appears in the book.. grammar check please!)
1. If a guy puts his hands on you (and in the next part, she tells him he's hurting her), you leave, you don't climb in his bed.
2. They seem to act like father figure/daughter, not lovers.

The love scenes were like a high school make-out session.. Not hot at all.
And... how does this random "friend of her parents" know about the will clause when Megan didn't? Megan didn't even know they changed the ranch around?! This was a horrible book. Needs much editing, and changing, and checking... I got it for free and couldn't even finish it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not really woth the time, November 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Right Here Waiting (Kindle Edition)
I downloaded this book for free on Amazon. Overall i dont think i would recommend this. There were many instances where scenarios didnt add up. For example the heroine left the ranch at 18, was gone 5 years and in that time she managed to become an ad executive in New York City with a penthouse apt??? Most all romances have stretches in reality but thats pushing when it makes no mention of college or family support. Then there is the hero's treatment of her which i can only discribe as crazy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars it was okay, June 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Right Here Waiting (Kindle Edition)
The story was okay and I love the HEA but I just didn't love it. Still a decent read .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not A Memorable Read, January 16, 2013
By 
WC (Corona, California United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Right Here Waiting (Kindle Edition)
Megan left home after being rejected from Blade who was a little older and didn't have a clue how to handle her attraction to him. Megan comes back when her parents died and finds a stipulation in the will that she has to stay on the ranch and help run it for a year with Blade before she can take ownership, or the ranch goes to Blade. Blade has been in love with her the whole time and waiting for her to return. Blade is very immature in his desire to win her affections again.

I didn't find anything memorable about the book. The personalities of the characters weren't fully developed in the story and the book is just too "same run of the mill" typical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great, January 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Right Here Waiting (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book. I cannot wait to read more books from this author. In my opinion the story was very believable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, December 27, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Right Here Waiting (Kindle Edition)
I am glad that writers find all kinds of people to write about. People from all walks of life need love and it can come to anyone at anytime. It makes you believe that there are those who truely love and will be true to thier heart when they know who thier soul mate is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Right Here Waiting
Right Here Waiting by Tarra Young
$4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.