Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Continues to be timely
I think it is interesting that a few reviewers of this book cast the insult "hysterical" and "over emotional" at Dworkin without any sense of irony -- for hundreds of years women's thoughts and philosophical treatments have been dismissed as unserious by labeling them "emotional", as though the Declaration of Independence, the Wealth of Nations, and anything by Thomas...
Published on February 20, 2011 by H. Chase

versus
2 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Mama grizzlies explained
One would think from this sort of awful offal that men are not a gender but a conspiracy. Is it really necessary to explain why people with wombs might think that these wombs serve some purpose other than providing abortionists with something to abort? She talks about Republican women. Hey, why not explain why Natalie Clifford Barney supported Mussolini, or why Eva...
Published on December 12, 2011 by othoniaboys


Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Continues to be timely, February 20, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Right Wing Women (Paperback)
I think it is interesting that a few reviewers of this book cast the insult "hysterical" and "over emotional" at Dworkin without any sense of irony -- for hundreds of years women's thoughts and philosophical treatments have been dismissed as unserious by labeling them "emotional", as though the Declaration of Independence, the Wealth of Nations, and anything by Thomas Paine were not also written with passion. But this is a work by a woman, and thus it goes...

This work is very important in understanding the experience and motivation of women like Sarah Palin, Michelle Bachman, Anne Coulter, and other right wing women who attack feminism even while they are the beneficiaries of its work. Unfortunately, I think this book is going to become even more relevant in the coming years, and so I recommend it to all women -- particularly Republican/conservative women -- and encourage its reading with a subjective introspective view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ever wonder why some women are so antifeminist?, February 12, 2001
By 
This review is from: Right Wing Women (Paperback)
What's in it for them? Here is Andrea Dworkin to tell you in superb detail exactly why right-wing women stand against their sisters. She explains with in-your-face language how the right has managed to be highly successful in opposing women's rights. Dworkin pulls no punches and will never apologize for telling it like it is. This book is incredibly inspiring and significant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars insightful, October 18, 2007
This review is from: Right Wing Women (Paperback)
This book shows how many women failed to escape patriarchal discipline, which trapped them in its nets despite their feeling that they were rebelling. It is an indictment on a society in which many women are only educated to high school level, and barely have the theoretical backgrounds which would enable them to escape the nets of patriarchal power over them. Dworkin supplies us with the theoretical background for a deeper understanding of patriarchy -- and for an understanding that has historically been missing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unusual rachmones on her part, May 14, 2012
By 
Amazon Customer (Boston, Ma., U.S. of C.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Right Wing Women (Paperback)
Perhaps because of her basic feeling of solidarity with all other women---or at least the strong need to _believe_ that that's what she feels---Ms Dworkin here goes much more deeply into possible _reasons_ other women do not believe as she that are not simply "they're oppressed".

Instead, she analyses what the world looks like to these women. She holds that they have been made to believe that all men are basically uncivilised louts whose only use for women is sexual, and will abandon and/or mistreat them unless restrained by the Government's, or better yet, a powerful church's, enforcing rigid sex-roles. As such, any threat to those authoritarian institutions and to these rigid roles, which have produced something like a safe harbour for women, is considered threatening.

Similarly, anything threatening a married woman's sole source of power---her sexual monopoly on her husband---is extremely threatening, be it masturbation/pornography, homosexuality, or heterosexual sex outside of marriage.

You may well disagree with her analysis of these women and of the world in which they live, and of world as they perceive it. (I, a man, certainly hope I am not as these women---or, for that matter, Ms Dworkin---think me.) But what stands out for me is that she constructs her model of these women as rational beings doing the best they can in a world as they understand it. This is exceptional within her usual discourse, which usually doesn't go much beyond 'brainwashed by patriarchy'; I think she shows admirable respect for these women and their agency and that they are acting in good faith, misguided as she thinks they are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Right on target!, October 12, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Right Wing Women (Paperback)
We need more books on this subject...and a study of today's elitist pseudo-liberals/progressives is also needed. Where did all the feminists go?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Right On, January 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Right Wing Women (Paperback)
What a vibrant writer Ms. Dworkin was. I have not read the entire book, I hope to read it bit by bit. As another recommendation, it is also great to listen to her testimony before congress about pornography... She was a top-notch american intellectual of the 2nd half of the 20th Century, a great feminist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dworkin shines a spotlight on a near-invisible male ideology, July 7, 2014
By 
Socrates2 (Southwest US) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Right Wing Women (Paperback)
I have only read the first 23 pages, but I get a strong feel for where Dworkin is going. I cannot wait!
She appears to dissect a prevailing, therefore nearly "invisible" male ideology imposed by physical force on women and thereafter enforced by most institutions at every turn.
Memes, in the main, work at the Pavlovian level. But where and when questioned, challenged, and critiqued by critical thinkers or those who *suffer* under this (or any) arbitrary "thought regime," the coercive force of institutions and those who benefit from its rules, immediately rise to sanction the "heretic."
Other thinkers in recent times from Lawrence Dennis to Alice Miller to Noam Chomsky address the near-invisible--because culturally widespread (and thus, "normal")--covert coerciveness that emanates from our culture & its institutions and its tragic effects on individuals. In Dworkin's case, women, as a monolithic gender.
I have forwarded a review of this book to my daughter. I hope to God she reads it.
Dworkin's thoughtful book will be with us for decades to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Mama grizzlies explained, December 12, 2011
This review is from: Right Wing Women (Paperback)
One would think from this sort of awful offal that men are not a gender but a conspiracy. Is it really necessary to explain why people with wombs might think that these wombs serve some purpose other than providing abortionists with something to abort? She talks about Republican women. Hey, why not explain why Natalie Clifford Barney supported Mussolini, or why Eva Braun married Hitler, or why Ingrid Rimland married Ernst Zundel (the holocaust denier)? How about Nesta Webster? The list is a long one. Didn't Attila the Hun and Genghis Khan have wives? Talk about right-wing women! But I think that what Dworkin is really getting at is that any woman who isn't a pinko radical is a traitor to her gender.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 37 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hysterical much?, December 21, 2008
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Right Wing Women (Paperback)
Anger is a substitute for analysis, and she thinks that anyone who doesn't tow the "party line" is a right wing women. Women, like men, have different opinions and different issues and acting like an old MALE commissar of the Soviet Union trying to get everyone to tow the party line isn't likely to get her more recruits. Nobody elected her Queen to tell me what I have to believe on every issue to be a feminist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 46 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sadly, a disappointment, January 25, 2003
This review is from: Right-wing women (Hardcover)
I very much wanted to like this book, but it was so undisciplined! Andrea does not pay enough attention to the facts, and she lets her emotions run her life for her. I think she should have paid more attention to her teachers in school!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Right Wing Women
Right Wing Women by Andrea Dworkin (Paperback - February 15, 1983)
Used & New from: $9.54
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.