Start reading Ring Out Wild Bells (Matty Trescott Novels) on the free Kindle Reading App or on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Enter a promotion code
or gift card
 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available
 

Ring Out Wild Bells (Matty Trescott Novels) [Kindle Edition]

Carroll Thomas , Carole Shmurak , Thomas Ratliff
5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)

Kindle Price: $2.99

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition $2.99  
Paperback $9.95  
Kindle FreeTime Unlimited
Free one month trial
Get unlimited access to thousands of kid-safe books, apps and videos, for one low price, with Amazon FreeTime Unlimited. Get started for free. Learn more

Book Description

As the Civil War comes to an end, Matty Trescott's war experiences have led her to an interest in studying medicine. In this Agatha-nominated mystery, Matty enrolls in medical school in Boston, while her cousin Neely studies the sciences in western Massachusetts. The cousins make new friends, encounter old ones, and learn a bit about women's rights. And the last words of a dying woman propel them into solving the mystery of her death.

Ring Out Wild Bells was nominated for an Agatha Award for Best Young Adult Mystery of 2001.

“I love the mystery. I didn’t want to stop reading even when I got to the end of the book.” Sarah Wilcox, 6th grade student, Berlin CT.

Editorial Reviews

Review

"Fans of Matty and Neely will want to continue with this novel." --VOYA (Voices of Youth Advocates)

...a good choice for classes studying the Civil War. -- Booklist

The novel offers a little-known perspective on women's roles in the Civil War and will please historical fiction fans. -- Publisher's Weekly

From the Author

The title of this book comes from a poem we like, and since the first and last chapter begin with the sound of church bells ringing we thought it was an appropriate title. This book presented us with a challenge: with the Civil War over, we wondered how to bring a sense of excitement and drama to the story. The idea of a murder mystery intrigued us. In a world without fingerprints or modern forensics, our young protagonists take on and solve a most baffling case.

We were delighted when Ring Out was nominated for the Agatha Award for Best Young Adult Mystery of 2001!

Product Details

  • File Size: 221 KB
  • Print Length: 170 pages
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00BDXEPMC
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #2,428,865 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
(2)
5.0 out of 5 stars
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Share your thoughts with other customers
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lauren/Mrs. Cowell's Class February 1, 2005
A Kid's Review
Format:Paperback
This book was incredible. If you like action and suspense, this is the book for YOU. I really enjoyed this book towards the end, when the chase for the murderer was in action. The Matty Trescott Novels are the best group/novels of books I have ever read. I already own 3 of them. Thank you again, Mrs. Shmurak, for coming into our class to talk about your novels you have written. I am glad that I got to ask you all of my questions about your career and the books. Thanks again for coming in. So, if you like suspense and cliff-hangers, you will truly enjoy this book from the beginning to the end!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars From Mrs. Cowells Class November 4, 2004
A Kid's Review
Format:Paperback
This book was outstanding. Especially towards the end when the chase for murderer was in act. Your books are my favorite ever. I own two of them already. Thank you for coming to our class that day. My mystery story is on a roll because of your idea's of how to make them better. I made sure that I used an amature detective because that is what I know most about. The pizza party was great, and I'm glad that we got to ask you all of those questions about your carerr and the books. Thanks again!

From: Kayla/ Mrs. Cowell's student
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only

More About the Author

Carroll Thomas is the pen name of two writers, Carole Shmurak and Thomas Ratliff.
Carole Shmurak has taught biology and chemistry in middle and high schools, and is currently Professor Emerita of education at Central Connecticut State University. She also writes the Susan Lombardi mysteries for adults under her own name. Tom Ratliff has taught social studies and English in middle and high schools and is currently an instructor of Connecticut history at Central Connecticut State University. He is the author of several books for young readers as well as a dozen serialized stories for the Newspapers in Education Program. His work has been published by the National Geographic Society, Barrons, Scholastic Books, and Salariya Publishers of London. Together, they write as Carroll Thomas and are authors of the young adult series that includes Matty's War, Blue Creek Farm, the Agatha-nominated Ring Out Wild Bells, Riding By Starlight, The Town on Rambling Creek, and Under the Open Sky. Find out more at their website:
www.matty-trescott.com.


Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


Look for Similar Items by Category