Customer Reviews


111 Reviews
5 star:
 (92)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


97 of 99 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great expansion to a great game!
Note that this is an expansion set to the original Carcassonne game; you need the main game before you can use this. (Also note that this is not compatible with the Hunters and Gatherers set.)
This expansion introduces several new city, temple, and road tiles which aren't in the original set. It adds two types of tiles -- two "Cathedral" tiles, which causes a city...
Published on June 24, 2003 by Peter T. Lee

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars for the price, i should have skipped this
I do like Carcassonne, so we thought adding this expansion would be worth the $. Well, you get 18 new tiles, 6 large meeples, a set of grey meeples to play with 6 players, and you also get 50/100 scoring chips in case a player loops the scoring track, but in our experience, they certainly could have left those out - unneeded.

The problems we had were the tiles...
Published on January 20, 2013 by Catholic and Married with Kids


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

97 of 99 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great expansion to a great game!, June 24, 2003
By 
Peter T. Lee (Renton, WA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Carcassonne: Inns and Cathedrals (Toy)
Note that this is an expansion set to the original Carcassonne game; you need the main game before you can use this. (Also note that this is not compatible with the Hunters and Gatherers set.)
This expansion introduces several new city, temple, and road tiles which aren't in the original set. It adds two types of tiles -- two "Cathedral" tiles, which causes a city to be worth 3 times the points if it is finished, or makes a city worth nothing at the end of the game if it isn't finished. It also adds a handful of "Inn on the lake" tiles which makes a road worth 2 times the points when finished or worth nothing if unfinished at the end of the game. Finally, a new pawn is included, which is worth two people when determining ownership of completed sections.
There are two disadvantages with this set -- the backs are slightly different than the original set, which I didn't originally notice. It's not too bad, but it was bad enough for the hardcore players that a bag is given in a later expansion set to solve this problem. The other disadvantage is that it is sometimes difficult to tell which one of your pawns is the big guy, as the only difference is that it's slightly bigger. I've been meaning to paint small sheriff badges on mine to make it easier to tell the difference.
In the end, it's a very nice expansion for one of the greatest board games I've ever played.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent expansion to a great game, November 21, 2007
By 
Aaron Marks (Oakland, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Carcassonne: Inns and Cathedrals (Toy)
This is a wonderful expansion to the original Carcassonne Game. There are two primary factors that make this my favorite of the expansions that are available.

WHY IT'S GREAT:

#1: This expansion adds a new player color (grey), allowing you to play with 6 players instead of the original which is limited to 5.

#2: The rules for the expansion are very simple, and match perfectly with the original game. If you already know how to play Carcassonne, you can learn this expansion in minutes. There are very few additional rules to learn, which means you can add in the expansion and start playing right away.

WHAT'S BEEN ADDED:

There are two new elements to the game introduced with this set, along with several pieces that don't change the original at all, but improve upon what's already there.

The new factors are the big meeples, which can greatly increase your game strategy possibilities, along with the inns and cathedrals, which increase the value of your completed roads and cities.

The other bonuses include new shapes of road, city, and cloister tiles, which adds some variety and new possibilities to your city building. As I mentioned previously, you also get a 6th player color. The scoring cards are cute, but I didn't really find them necessary. We never got confused about how many points people have.

MINOR DETRACTING FACTORS:

As mentioned by the other reviewers, the color of the backs of these tiles is a tiny bit different from the original tiles. An underhanded player could pick them intentionally. This is easily resolved by putting all the tiles in a cloth bag. Also mentioned by another reviewer, this expansion is not compatible with the Hunters and Gatherers expansion.

CONCLUSION:

This is a very well balanced expansion to what is already a great game. It adds some nice new strategies, making the game even more complete. Once you start playing with this expansion, it's hard to imagine how you ever did without. Pick this one up, you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you love Carcassonne, then Inns and Cathedrals is a must, January 15, 2009
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Carcassonne: Inns and Cathedrals (Toy)
For all the reasons listed by others, the expansion Inns and Cathedrals has become standard for me when playing Carcassonne.
A. The 6th color, grey is a bonus.
B. The big meaple (The Bully) for each color is really fun. Do you lay him down and try to claim the middle farm, or do you save him and try to steal a key city? Great addition.
C. The Inns take the formerly useless roads and make them relevant.
D. The Cathedrals present you with a very interesting choice. Try for extra points or try and hose someone else.
E. Extra tiles - Including one cool one with 4 end-caps.
F. And last, the scoring tiles, which is a nice thought but not really needed.

Overall, I Never play now without I&C.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun, but nothing extremely new, July 21, 2008
By 
Matthew Eland (Columbus, OH USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Carcassonne: Inns and Cathedrals (Toy)
This is an expansion that requires the core game of Carcassonne Game (which I highly recommend if you don't have it).

This expansion does two core things. First of all, it provides inn and cathedral tiles that multiply the value of the road or city they're associated with so that completed cities with cathedrals are worth 3 per tile or pennant instead of 2. Completed roads that are connected to an inn on the lake are worth 2 per tile instead of 1. However, if these features aren't completed by the end of the game, the entire city or road is worth nothing.

This makes these tiles good either as a bonus for a feature you think you can complete or a hinderance for a feature you think your opponent cannot complete (particularly with the cathedrals since they make the cities much bigger and harder to complete). This definitely adds some strategic elements and sabotage potential to the game. It also adds more tension as players try to complete things before the game ends.

Perhaps the biggest gameplay change is the simple addition of the giant follower. The giant follower is identical to other followers, except it counts as two followers for the purposes of determining who owns a completed city, road, or field. This makes it much more possible to attempt to steal a city from your opponent and also allows you to deploy the giant follower to defend assets you think might be vulnerable.

If you don't want to buy for this expansion, get colored indicators and use them as giant followers and you'll get about 20% of the expansion's benefits, maybe more.

This expansion also adds gray pieces for a sixth player to be able to play.

All-in-all, it's a good expansion that I recommend getting, though I liked Builders and Traders better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Buy to get 6 Players instead of only 5 and extras!, February 11, 2009
By 
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Carcassonne: Inns and Cathedrals (Toy)
Inns and Cathedrals is the best expansion to the main Carcasonne Game. It gives you the ability to play with 6 players instead of only 5, gives some cool new tiles, and adds a "large" follower for each player (played as a regular follower, but worth 2).
In my opinion, this should have been included with the main Carcassonne Game.

The tiles in MY pack had the EXACT same backing as the main game's tiles, with a tiny follower shaped mark on the front side to tell the tiles apart.
So you can't tell which pack they are from when the tiles are face down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't play without it now, August 14, 2012
By 
Wade (Waterford, MI, United States) - See all my reviews
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Carcassonne: Inns and Cathedrals (Toy)
This was (fittingly) the first expansion we purchased after receiving the base game as a gift. We loved it so much that we threw away the expansion box and just keep all the tiles and extra meeples in with the original game.

Other reviews have done a good job at explaining the rules that accompany this expansion, so I'll just comment on how they have added to the overall gameplay experience:

The Large Follower ("The Bully") - While we don't use his abilities often during gameplay, the kids love having him as part of their team on the sidelines (they spend their time in between turns building elaborate stackings of followers that would impress Cirque Du Soleil performers).

The extra point counting tiles - These are absolutely necessary to keep count of how many times players pass the 50 point mark. You could use coins, but why pass up these stylish tiles?

The Inns by the Lake cards - These add a nice complexity to road-building by allowing double the points but with the risk of no points if it isn't finished by the end of the game. The images of the Inns don't necessarily stand out on the cards, so they are easy to miss if you aren't paying attention.

The extra set of followers - We haven't had the occasion to play with six players at once, but the extra set of followers are nice to keep the five year old at bay when he wants to "participate" during a game ("Why don't you see how many followers you can stack on top of each other").

The Cathedrals - A favorite household coup de grâce - playing the cathedral on an opponent late in the game and watching your opponent scramble to complete the finish the city. But it's a double-edge sword if they do complete their city and cash in on the extra points.

This has now become part of the base game for us - we never play without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Competitive Carcassonne Expansion, February 11, 2008
By 
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Carcassonne: Inns and Cathedrals (Toy)
This expansion Contains 18 new tiles, a new larger follower for each player (who counts as 2 followers), and a whole new set of gray pieces allowing for 6 players. This expansion is simple to learn, if you know how to play Carcassonne already it only takes a couple minutes to grasp the added elements.
This expansion adds a new competitiveness to the game. The Larger piece allows for more stealing of farms cities and roads. The inns and Cathedrals allow you to double road points or triple city points, but also make incomplete roads and cities worthless. Early in the game the Inns and Cathedrals can greatly increase the value of your road or city, late in the game they can wipe out all the points you've been building up in that large city or long road you've been working on all game long. However if you merely interested in a "friendly" game this may not be the best expansion for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great Expansion., December 30, 2011
By 
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Carcassonne: Inns and Cathedrals (Toy)
Other reviewers have explained how this adds to the game play and the fun of playing Carcasonne. I want to add this. I have three children ages 8 thorugh 13. The eight year old finds this game not so difficult to play but 'boring'. THe other two completely enjoy this game. Adding these pieces to the game play only increased their fun. They did not have a difficult time grasping the different types of tiles and the impact it would have on their game play and plotting. Lots of fun.

Well worth the money. If I had to, I'd suggest you buy this addition before buying any others.

Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is an ok expansion; Look for the traders and builders expansion for real fireworks, June 3, 2012
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Carcassonne: Inns and Cathedrals (Toy)
The high points are 2 cathedral tiles which increase the value of your completed cities. If you do not complete the city you do not get any points at the end when you score for uncompleted cities. Road tiles with inns are included which increase the value of the road if you complete. If you do not complete such roads with inns, you get no points when scoring incomplete roads at the end of the game. In addition you get a giant meeping in each color which counts for 2 meeple. Placing this can make a difference between who owns the farm or city or road when more than player has meeples in those structures. This is an ok expansion but pales in comparision to the expansion: traders and builders which brings in some concepts which enrich the gameplay. You could probably play the original carcassone with traders and builders expansion and not really need any other expansion. If you added this expansion to create a double expansion, you will get extra tiles to score more in cities and roads due to the cathedrals and inns respectively. I would say this is 4 stars because it is not really essential to gameplay whereas the traders and builders expansion really adds richly to game play. So 4 start here from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great addition to one of the best games ever designed, March 10, 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Carcassonne: Inns and Cathedrals (Toy)
OK, I admit it, I'm a Carcassonne addict. I'm not sure whether it's the feel of the cards, the delightful artwork or the utter joy in stealing the 60 point city your spouse has been building for the last 20 turns... Whatever it is, this expansion adds yet more twists to this great game (and makes roads actually worth the effort!). If you have Carcassonne, get this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Carcassonne: Inns and Cathedrals
$17.99 $14.73
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.