Customer Reviews


132 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Well Crafted, Entertaining Story That Just Happens To Include Zombies
Rise Again by Ben Tripp

The plethora of zombie books tends to drown the entire genre. Luckily Ben Tripp has a book that really does rise again. I fully intended to dislike the book because it was another, yes another, zombie book. Some time of trigger turns a majority of the population into mindless zombies. While the protagonist never determines the...
Published on October 23, 2010 by wbentrim

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well written, poorly paced
This was a well written book, and the editing was good - both of these things can be a problem in zombie fiction. That said, most of the characters were paper thin or thinner, and the story suffered greatly from pacing issues. I put it down for a few weeks before picking it up again and finishing it. Really, the story is more like 3 loose ideas melded together, and...
Published on January 2, 2011 by Toasted Cheese


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Well Crafted, Entertaining Story That Just Happens To Include Zombies, October 23, 2010
By 
wbentrim (Bucks County, PA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Rise Again: A Zombie Thriller (Paperback)
Rise Again by Ben Tripp

The plethora of zombie books tends to drown the entire genre. Luckily Ben Tripp has a book that really does rise again. I fully intended to dislike the book because it was another, yes another, zombie book. Some time of trigger turns a majority of the population into mindless zombies. While the protagonist never determines the trigger, I personally suspect it is the stupefying effects of negative campaign advertisements. They just make you want to zombify yourself. Small town sheriff, Danny Adelman is forced to face mindless hordes, hapless civilians and clueless friends in the midst of an unprecedented, post apocalyptic civil disaster.

Danny is like one of those inflatable Bozo the Clown figures with a rounded sandy bottom, punch it and it just flies back in your face. Her resiliency is unbound. She establishes relationships through no intent on her part. She is duty bound, come heck or high tides of zombies.

Tripp has a terrific command of the English language and great descriptive powers. Funny how that didn't seem to enter my mind when I started the book but on several occasions, I literally paused to reread a sentence and marvel how well it was crafted. I'm looking forward to the sequel.

I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gruesome zombie goodness!, October 28, 2010
This review is from: Rise Again: A Zombie Thriller (Paperback)
Danielle Adelman, known to most as Danny, is an ex Marine struggling with a bad case of post-traumatic stress disorder. Working as the sheriff in the small town of Forest Peak, California, and drowning her nightmares in pills and alcohol. She is also responsible for the care of her younger sister who decided the 4th of July was a good day to run away. Danny wakes up with a wicked hangover to find her sister, and beloved Ford Mustang gone. Thinking the worst thing she'd have to do that day is suffer silently through the small town's Independence Day festivities while waiting for word Kelley has turned up. She soon discovers she'll be fighting more than a hangover when people start behaving strangely.

Let me start by saying this book was scary as hell. I don't read a lot of horror or watch many scary flicks, but I have a strange love of all things zombie. Rise Again was the perfect combination of flesh eating undead, and human response when things start to fall apart.

Main character Danny isn't like any female protag you've met before. She isn't beautiful, nor is she brilliant. She's a hard ass and street smart. As the plot progresses she deals with flashbacks of her time in Iraq, while trying to cope with the zombie invasion happening in her present. She is described in the book as "the unstoppable alpha female". I found that to be the perfect description for Danny. She's flawed, and doesn't realize how badly until her only family takes off leaving just a brutally honest letter behind. She's left feeling compelled to find her missing sister, Kelley, and save the civilians who have put their faith in her as their savior from the madness taking over the country. I loved reading about Danny's journey.

Not only does this book have a great main character, but the secondary characters are perfect additions to the story line. I loved watching them grow as characters throughout the novel. At least those lucky enough to survive ;) Parts of this novel gave me chills. Especially when they're listening to the reports from the weather channel on the radio. Super creepy!

Gruesome and intense, but I loved every minute! I devoured this novel like the undead did their human prey. The perfect addition to my Halloween reading list!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully Gory Zombie Story!, October 26, 2010
This review is from: Rise Again: A Zombie Thriller (Paperback)
If you are wanting a good zombie book for the Halloween holiday, I do suggest you get Rise Again. In some ways it does remind me of Night of the Living Dead and even references the movie in a few places. We mostly follow Danielle Adelman (Danny) who is an Iraq war vet with PTSD. On a side note: If any guys out there are worried that the protagonist is female, do not worry as Danny is hard as nails and a great heroine. You won't miss a thing. *think Sigourney Weaver in Aliens* Anyhoo... Danny loses her sister right before the zombie wave suddenly hits town. She doesn't have time to think let alone read the note full of anger and mistrust. Things quickly progress and you are in the middle of the surviving group hoping they find someplace safe.

As the story goes on Danny later strikes out on her own to try to find her sister. She quickly learns that either she has survived or hasn't but keeps hope that she is out there somewhere. Danny heads to the only place she can... back to the survivors she helped in her community. Upon returning she finds that there is more to fear than the zombies, but mercenaries who proclaim themselves the leaders of the facility they found. Things go from bad to worse and hopefully Danny can find a way to help them.

The ending is haunting and may keep you awake thinking about it. Yep, I was one who was awake thinking on the ending. Wonderful since you don't always get that in a book, horrible because I wanted to sleep! Regardless, I give this book 4 1/2 stars. It gives you exactly what it promises (lots of gore, action, and anxiety). It also gives you that bit extra in how Mr. Tripp develops the characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars George A. Romero would be proud..., October 25, 2010
This review is from: Rise Again: A Zombie Thriller (Paperback)
Not just a rollicking zombie symphony in the key of blood and gore, Mr. Tripp's debut features insightful analysis into American society, foreign policy and military culture. All hell has just broken loose outside of Los Angeles, and our nearest and dearest have a sudden irresistible urge to munch on our flesh. Can you imagine a fate more horrifying? Mr. Tripp can. In the author's apocalyptic vision, the walking dead are only one of the terrifying enemies we face in a post-9/11 armaggedon. Read this novel and you won't be disappointed; it's a funny splatter-fest, sure, but it's also as thought-provokingly creepy as a journey into the dark workings of Dick Cheney's brain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fabulous futuristic apocalyptic thriller, October 28, 2010
This review is from: Rise Again: A Zombie Thriller (Paperback)
It is the Fourth of July and Forest Peak, California Sheriff Danielle Adelman realizes her sister Kelley has run away. Kelley knows that while her sister's body came home from Iraq, her mind is not in Forest Peak. Before Danielle can look for her, a warning comes over the radio that thousands of from Los Angeles are moving in the direction of Forest Peak looking for safety.

Los Angeles is ground zero; the place where the zombie plague began. The first ones are the George Romero kind who eats human flesh. Later generations are a bit smarter; reanimate quicker and has 1% cognitive ability. Danielle leads a group of survivors to a place of safety before taking off on a quest to find her sister. Her journey is in vain, but the people she left behind lost their freedom when mercenaries arrived and took over. Danielle and her allies try to find ways to rescue the civilians from criminals pretending to be soldiers. If she succeeds she plans to keep this group safe from the zombie apocalypse.

George Romero will love Rise Again (except perhaps it being in California instead of Pittsburgh), a zombie thriller that would make a terrific action movie due to a strong cast of starring characters struggling to survive by choosing to become heroic or malevolent. Danielle is a natural leader who has saved lives by leading her troupe to safety while her concern for her sibling is a powerful emotional driver. Part of the fun is the death of communication as the group has no idea what has happened on other continents in Ben Tripp's fabulous futuristic apocalyptic thriller.

Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "yeasty stink of an alcohol binge", December 25, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rise Again: A Zombie Thriller (Paperback)
After a couple years of viewing the terrific Ralph Nader ad, including scenes from "Night of the Living Dead," and reading about Ben Tripp's "Rise Again" on a Counterpunch.org article, I decided to give it a whirl, see what it is all about. As I began the book, a door of interest flew open & Ben Tripp's cast of characters began to intrigue -- Forest Peak's Sheriff, Iraq war vet, Danielle Adelman, runaway sister Kelley, and the ever surprising town drunk become hero, Wulf.

Zombies everywhere, and as Ben Tripp masterfully asserts "panic spreads as fast as sound." Sheriff Danny Adelman relies upon well-honed survival skills, building searches/evacuations, learned as a soldier serving in Iraq, and forms one of the most interesting groups of misfits ever to confront an apocalypse filled with zombies, ever more agile, growing smarter, lethal to a point where a reader could believe in them, desire to hide behind a "hurricane fence."

Ben Tripp intertwines Danny's zombie battles with flahbacks to Iraq. Early in the book, one confronts one among Danny's powerful war memories: outside a burning mud-brick-house, woman in black appears, maybe a hardcore Shia Islamist "looked like the Grim Reaper." As Danny moves with street smarts & bravery throughout zombie infected California, such scenes of horror recur -- and doubtless "the horror, the horror" it is.

In "Rise Again," Tripp is most clever and politically astute. One antagonist for Danny Adelman and her band of brothers & sisters is the notorious mercenary group, Hawkstone, lead by Murdo who shared no patriotic options but to save his own skin. Nothing but sheer inattention/sleep would fail to remind a reader of Blackwater contractors in Iraq.

This book had my eyes & mind hoarse with excitement. My only complaint & reason for only four-stars is that Ben Tripp laid passionate beatings upon Sheriff Danny that only Mel Gibson's Christ could have withstood. An amazing writer, staggering the reader with profound thought every couple pages, I'll say that nothing but sheer poverty and a stampede of zombies shall keep me away from Tripp's next work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally! A heroine for the post-apocalypse, October 29, 2010
This review is from: Rise Again: A Zombie Thriller (Paperback)
Rise Again is one of the most haunting things I've ever read. It kept me awake at night thinking about what the lead character endures. What if the world was suddenly infested with man-eating zombies and you had to find the one person who didn't want to be found? That's the set up of this thriller, and even though it takes a lot of twists and turns, we keep returning to her central quest. Rise Again is the story of Danielle "Danny" Adelman, a combat veteran and now sheriff, who has to find her runaway sister and keep a bunch of fairly helpless civilians alive at the same time. Danny just might be the toughest gal in any book ever written. Her chararter is both flawed and powerful and always extremely compelling. I can't forget the scenes in post-apocalypse San Francisco, and the ending will not leave me alone. It's worth reading just for the last sentence of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you love Zombies, you'll love this book!, January 6, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rise Again: A Zombie Thriller (Paperback)
This book did not disappoint. Lots of great zombie action and gore. And Danny was the perfect protagonist. She's flawed but also a fighter, leader and survivor and doesn't whine no matter how much agony she's going through. Plus, it's always an added bonus to have a kick-ass, non-whiny female lead. Amy's character helped me empathize with Danny, because she knows her so well, loves her unconditionally, and helped me, as the reader, understand her sometimes off-putting behavior(I wonder if I was the only one who was secretly rooting for them to end up together? Ha!) I came away from reading it feeling like I KNEW the characters. Now I want to see the movie! I was hesitant to buy a book from an unknown author but after reading the reviews I decided to take a risk and I'm so glad I did. I've since passed the book onto to other zombie loving friends. This is the first review I've ever written but I feel like we should be supportive of newly published authors...especially if you enjoy their work as much as I enjoyed this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply astounding, November 22, 2010
This review is from: Rise Again: A Zombie Thriller (Paperback)
It's really hard for me to believe this is Ben Tripp's first novel; the guy writes like he's been churning out awesomeness for decades. This is by far one of the best books I've read this year. But then, that's almost always the case when you burn through a 370 page book in less than eight hours.

The thing I loved the most about 'Rise Again' was that, like Robert Kirkman's equally amazing 'Walking Dead' series, it was a profoundly human story. Sure, there was action - loads of it. Sure, there were truly nasty, loathsome zombies - tons of 'em. But above and beyond that, there was a story of love, regret, fear, revenge, and absolution. Danny Adelman is one of the strongest and most sympathetic characters I've ever come across, and it was a joy to ride along with her for a few hours.

The main supporting cast was also great. They were people that survived by recognizing that 'no man is an island', something I think is becoming increasingly rare in zombie fiction. The trend nowadays seems to be almost going in a Mary-Sue-ish direction, where every member of the group is, coincidentally enough, an expert at something. What this does is create a bunch of superhero loners who just happen to be hanging together, with no real, meaningful human interaction. Not so here. These were people that survived because together they were greater than the sum of their parts.

The conclusion of the story sealed this book as an all-around great read. It was heart-breaking and uplifting at the same time, with a last paragraph shocker that already has me waiting for a sequel. Awesome, awesome job, Mr. Tripp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A zombie book with actual character development, November 9, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have been chain-reading Zombie novels on Kindle since I read World War Z last year. Most of them follow the same tire forumlas. I came across this one, and decided to give it a go after reading the reviews. I just finished it, and am currently writing my first ever review of a book. I could not put this one down. There were a number of unique twists on the zombie theme, and there was an emphasis on narrative over gore for gores sake.

For Kindle users, the main character takes a while to warm up to. If you give up after reading the free preview, you will be missing a great z-book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Rise Again: A Zombie Thriller
Rise Again: A Zombie Thriller by Ben Tripp (Paperback - October 26, 2010)
$15.00 $12.56
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.