Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RISE of a GRIPPING Action Movie from the U.K.!
RISE of the FOOT SOLDIER

I haven't seen a good action and drama movie like this for a long time.

- The dialogues are funny in many scenes.

- The acting is fascinating. It keeps me watching and watching till the end. There's no moment of boredom.

- The action is non-stop. It's a bloody and violent film.

- It...
Published on March 12, 2009 by Cestmoi

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I agree with Bad Johnny
No reason to reiterate everything he said, just read his review. Decent 3 star movie, although kinda long and I'd like to see someone count the number of times they used the word 'c*%t' - as after the first billion, we get the idea, they are foul mouth bad boys.
Published on January 17, 2012 by JM


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RISE of a GRIPPING Action Movie from the U.K.!, March 12, 2009
This review is from: Rise of the Footsoldier (DVD)
RISE of the FOOT SOLDIER

I haven't seen a good action and drama movie like this for a long time.

- The dialogues are funny in many scenes.

- The acting is fascinating. It keeps me watching and watching till the end. There's no moment of boredom.

- The action is non-stop. It's a bloody and violent film.

- It convincingly portrays the danger of steroids.

- It credibly shows the deadly downside of doing business with gangsters. When something goes wrong, i.e. some cocaine goes missing, they will blame it on you. They'll never listen to your reason. They'll kill you to make an example for others. There's truly no honor among thieves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars British Goodfellas., December 1, 2008
This review is from: Rise of the Footsoldier (DVD)
Just saw this film and its an amazing British take on Goodfellas.
Violent, Funny and Outragous with some great performances from some great up and coming actors like Craig Fairbrass and Terry Stone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars awesome flick, January 6, 2009
By 
This review is from: Rise of the Footsoldier (DVD)
This is a great flick with lots of action and a real-life plot which ends with real BBC News footage. A great movie to watch in parts or even all at once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rise of the Footsoldier., October 13, 2010
This review is from: Rise of the Footsoldier (DVD)
Different than your Snatch,Lock stock and Layercake, almost on another level really, while there is nothing wrong with those movies at all,the intensity of this movie and that is based on a true story. I didn't think the English were so Barbaric, from Hooliganism(I have a strong distaste for Anarchy) to Gangsterism,This Brutal and Gritty British Tale will make you feel you were there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brutal !, March 29, 2010
This review is from: Rise of the Footsoldier (DVD)
This movie is based on a true story and follows the journey of a psychopath from the football terraces to the world of organised crime. It can be quite humourous at times but its mainly brutal and some of the scenes wouldn't be out of place in any of the saw movies, but it does have a gripping story line and some of the best actors in England in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best crime stories told, February 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rise of the Footsoldier (DVD)
Of all the genres of movies I enjoy, there are few more enticing to me than crime stories. This is a superbly directed, intensely shot, and movingly performed rise and fall story of a famous British "gangster". Part bio-pic, part crime story, the tale of Carlton Leach is an interesting story that shows the violence and the grit of his criminal activities. It also does not shy away from the cruelty used in the criminal world which makes it that much more compelling to watch. I have also read Carlton Leach's autobiography, which indicates that this movie is surprisingly accurate. It is not true to the last detail but it is far more true than one would guess otherwise. If you enjoy crime thrillers this is a standout, and absolutely needs to be a part of your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and Different!, March 23, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rise of the Footsoldier (DVD)
The US lacks a lot of British independent films unfortunately. That being said, this is one of the ones that the US is REALLY missing out on!

A "guy flick" through and through, it has borderline ridiculous violence, plot twists, great dialogue, and other facets that will keep you entertained. Do yourself a favor and add this to your DVD collection immediately!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I agree with Bad Johnny, January 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rise of the Footsoldier (DVD)
No reason to reiterate everything he said, just read his review. Decent 3 star movie, although kinda long and I'd like to see someone count the number of times they used the word 'c*%t' - as after the first billion, we get the idea, they are foul mouth bad boys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4.5 Stars, you should see this..., February 25, 2009
By 
This review is from: Rise of the Footsoldier (DVD)
This movie has non-stop action and drama. The dialog is comical at times. Gangsters on roids and a violent mob. Please see this film if you like mob movies. I like the british accents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Footsoldier is quick to fall as fast as it rises, November 20, 2010
This review is from: Rise of the Footsoldier (DVD)
Rise of the Footsoldier was a recomended film to see and so I went ahead and decided to give it a go at watching. This is your basic biographical tale of the path of violence the main character decided to take, and it is a dark downward spiral of someone who's greed and need for dishing out pain to those in the underworld of England.

There is nothing to like about the characters,they aren't depicted as "good folk" and rightly so. Basically (in his younger days) he was a dousche bag and his choice of friends weren't much different than he was. He was a drug user and a heavy anabolic steroid user and to top things off,left little to his already unstable personality and temperment.

Rise of the Footsolder makes no apologies in its telling of the life of a self proclaimed "hooligan" and later as a full flegged gangster.I liked the true,raw depiction of events and characters (be it based on some factual events).You don't like the chasracters, and as the film continues you like them less.There is really no one to care or root for in this story, just to watch as a spectator at a soccer match to see who the last man standing is at the end.

While I knew what it was I was getting myself into whatching Rise of the Footsoldier, it lacked some originality in the way the screenplay ans story telling went.It wasn't boring, but much of the story telling is a carbon copy of Guy Ritchie and Martin Scorse films in both the telling and graphic violence.Nothing new or fresh here.

I think these were very difficult parts for any actor to portray,an indiviudual who lives for violence and is abusive in nature while feeding his own addictions to both drugs and power. The other "slight" problem I had was the constant swearing from begining to end.

I suppose that kind of dialog was to make it that much more autehtic and real,but I grew tired of everyone throwing the words S^!@?&!, f&%^@#% and c&%!#% around constantly.I spent some time in the UK and not one person I new over there (including family) cursed as much as these individuals did.

Lastly were the accents,but this is really more on me. The slang and heavy Essex accents garbled together with shouting and arguing sounds like someone taking with a mouthfull of food to me. I was considering the use of the "closed caption" function to follow some of the conversations as occasionally I was lost with what they were specifically talking about.

All in all, what you have here is a stylized biographgy of one man's experience as a brawler,to gangster and drug dealer. How much "legend" he is I don't know as I am unfamiliar with the story, and underworld culture of the UK. Its not too different than anywhere else, so aside from a gang land assasination there are the similarities there.

It's not a "perfect film" and since it copied so much from Guy Ritchie and heavily from Martin Scorse and other gangster films.This isn't Essex Boys, Lock,Stock and Two Smoking Guns, and is a far cry from Scoses's masterpiece Goodfellas,although it trys hard to be.In attempting to copycat those films in some way,it hurt this film's potential to stand on its own in my opinion.It is still watchable if you can get past the disturbing bits and unwanten cruelty and violence,but that is the life of a gangster,no apologies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Rise of the Footsoldier
Rise of the Footsoldier by Julian Gilbey (DVD - 2008)
$14.98 $9.90
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.