Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 51 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Collected Material=good. Quality and design of book=not so good.
I'm not going to review the actual content of this book. There are lots of other reviews out there in which you can learn about this great comic book series.

What you really want to know is: should I shell out for this or not?

If you are familiar with the paperback "Compendium" editions from Top Cow, this is exactly like those, except hardcover...
Published on April 25, 2009 by SB

versus
17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great Story, Horrible Binding
As others have said the story is great. The binding on the book is already falling apart after ONE reading! The glue holding the cover to the spine of the interior pages has released. I skipped buying the hardcover because of problems people said they were having and find the soft cover has the same problem. This is inexcusable for a professionally produced book.
Published on November 3, 2010 by Robert Ringenberg


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 51 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Collected Material=good. Quality and design of book=not so good., April 25, 2009
By 
SB (Washington, DC) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rising Stars Compendium Hardcover (Hardcover)
I'm not going to review the actual content of this book. There are lots of other reviews out there in which you can learn about this great comic book series.

What you really want to know is: should I shell out for this or not?

If you are familiar with the paperback "Compendium" editions from Top Cow, this is exactly like those, except hardcover. That's a major improvement, as those compendium paperbacks were easily damaged. It is very thick, unlike the item displayed in the picture. The image content fills the pages: unlike Marvel Omnibuses or hardcovers, there are no borders at all. Also unlike the Marvel books, the paper is rather flimsy and thin, although glossy with good reproduction quality. In fact, the pages seem thinner than standard comic book paper used by most independent comic book publishers. The page size is exactly the same as standard comic book pages.

The reason to buy this book is to get all this content in one place, and there is a ton of that. They aren't kidding when they list 1000 pages. But other than that the book design isn't much. Unlike competing oversize editions published by DC, Dark Horse, or Image, these Compendiums are the size of standard comic books. That's a real let down for fans and a missed opportunity for the publisher.

Without borders around the artwork, some of it gets lost in the massive spine fold. The weight of the book makes it unwieldy, and easy to lose your grip on-- so the flimsy pages become a real liability--easy to damage as you fumble with the book in your lap. They also feel like they might tear if you turn the pages with any strength.

I am quite happy with this despite those complaints, as I didn't have any of this material in another format. For those who do have other versions of these issues, collected or otherwise, there's not much motivation to buy this, as it really is just a bunch of standard comics bound into a thick and heavy tome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great Story, Horrible Binding, November 3, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
As others have said the story is great. The binding on the book is already falling apart after ONE reading! The glue holding the cover to the spine of the interior pages has released. I skipped buying the hardcover because of problems people said they were having and find the soft cover has the same problem. This is inexcusable for a professionally produced book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An amazing story in the shoddiest of packages, March 11, 2012
This is a review of the physical product, not the story contained within. I want to make that clear because I think the Rising Stars story is fantastic and would give it 4 or 5 stars.

Unfortunately, this edition has the WORST craftsmanship of any book I have EVER read.

The first thing that happened when I opened the book was the cover falling right off the spine as the dry cheap glue let out a 'crinkle-snap!'. About a tenth of the way into the book, half the pages fell out of the binding. I thought the Amazon (and other) reviewers might be exaggerating about this product's defects. They were not.

I am very good with my books. I have an extensive collection of over 300 graphic novels and they are in PRISTINE condition. No matter how reverently you treat this book, it is IMPOSSIBLE to read without having it fall apart. It cannot be done.

STAY AWAY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Read, May 28, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rising Stars Compendium Hardcover (Hardcover)
There are certain books that take you on a journey and introduce you to memorable characters. The kind of books that are superior in writing and storytelling. Rising Stars is one of those books. And this Massive Hardcover is amazing. With over 1000 pages and with every single issue combine to create a unique read as you enter the world of the 113 specials and learn about their origins and their future. This is a Must read and for fans the comic a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Collapses under its own weight. . ., October 14, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rising Stars Compendium Hardcover (Hardcover)
Let's keep this brief. The concept, the characters, the art, and the hardcover presentation are all absolutely fantastic. The first third is an absolutely brilliant set-up to tell the latter two chapters of the story. Part 2 opens promisingly enough with some very fascinating story arcs. Unfortunately, this is where the wheels fall off.

Right towards the middle of the book when you really get your stride and the rhythm is beautiful the story goes sideways. Instead of being creative and using metaphors or visuals the book turns into a piece of political soapboxing. It's not that the political positions are ones that I agree or disagree with, but that they're done so blatantly and with little creativity that it pulls one out of the book. The arguments made are also so naive and simplistic that they're insulting to anyone whose made it past jr. high school. *minor spoiler of little consequence* For instance, did you know that all the problems between the Jews and the Muslims could be solved if they just had enough land on which to grow food? Neither did I. But peace in the middle east is achieved by growing some crops in the book.*end spoiler*

It's sad to me that it took such an overt and creatively defunct turn. The set-up and characters really could have done more. The very ending and some of the third arc are pretty good once the preaching and brow-beatings are done. So, if you don't mind your comic books getting overtly political and preachy or are curious to see where the TV show 'Heroes' got some of its origin, this is a good read. If you don't like being lectured to then you may want to skip this one. All in all, not a bad read, but I doubt I'll pull it off the shelf a second time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Straczynski reaches for the stars!, May 28, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Not to make a pun here, but J. Michael Straczynski, of 'Babylon 5' fame makes an effort to create a game-changing franchise at the 'Watchmen' and 'Dark Knight Returns' level of re-invention... and he *almost* pulls it off.Straczynski tries to bat against the gravitas of Alan Moore's 'Watchmen' and Frank Miller's 'Dark Knight Returns and comes up just a little short.

Consider this Straczynski's first swipe at the superteam dynamics and shortcomings. It has already been done better in 'The Authority' and better by Straczynski himself in his re-imagination of Marvel's JLA-inspired 'Supreme Power'.

Quixotically, it is fairly clear that 'Rising Stars' was the inspiration for such shows as the USA Network's television show, 'The 4400' and NBC's 'Heroes', but 'Stars' is far more cohesive.

Recommended, but not essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This peice of s*** fell apart after 1 read, November 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This story is incredible. One of my favorite comics of recent memory. The problem that I had with it, is that by the time I got 1/4 through the book, the binding/glue started coming apart. I try to treat all of my books as treasures, I try to keep them in good condition, so that, in many thousands of years, when I, and the rest of the human race is gone, and aliens show up and dig up our histories, they will find my book collection in tact.

Unfortunately, this book will not remain in tact, at that time. Fantastic read though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rising Stars a Triumph, September 25, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The Rising Stars Compendium contains the entire story run including "Rising Stars 1-24," "Rising Stars: Visitations" (a one-shot), "Rising Stars: Bright" 1-3, "Rising Stars: Vocies of the Dead," 1-6 and "Rising Stars: Untouchable" 1-5. The package is the size of small a phone book and full of delights.

J. Michael Straczynski authored the story of a group of Special Kids in Pederson, Illinois. One night a bright flash of light hits Pederson while 113 embryos are IN UTERO; the light produces special powers and abilities within the children.

The "Specials" begin displaying powers during childhood ranging from super-strength to telepathy--and begin demonstrating emotional difficulties as well. Of course the government becomes involved and begins looking for a reason to justify taking control of the kids' lives. They send the children to a special summer camp (read GULAG) where they can be observed and eventually subjegated. The government gets its chance to do just that when Lee Jackson causes a camp counselor to spontaneously combust. It turns out he had good reason to do so, though that fact goes unacknowledged at the time.

As time goes on some characters become heroes, some villains. Others become businessmen and clowns. Some live in denial of their powers and wake up with curlers in their hair and eat their farina. Willie Smith floats off into the stratosphere not to be seen again.

Other complications arise when the 113 Specials reach adulthood and someone begins mudering them. One of the great plot twists is that many of their powers begin to wane as they get older. But when one dies his powers are redistributed to other Specials. Are the 113 killing each other? Is the increase of your powers at the expense of your peers a motivation for murder?

The art is in the finest tradition of Image/Top Cow, dark, life-like, and crisp. Pencilers include Ken Cha, Christian Zanier, Stuart Immonen and Brent Anderson. Inkers include Marlo Alquiza and Livesay (with Mr. Anderson also contributing some ink).

The one complaint I sometimes hear about compendiums is their large size; in most large volumes text near the inside edges can be a problem. I don't remember noticing that as much in this volume as, say, Spawn Volume 5. What I remember is a great story by Straczynsky, lovely art,and a large volume that kept a voracious reader busy for over a week.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Seen better bindings on missing dog posters..., January 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The story and art is fantastic. It is wonderful to have all of the spin-off series in the same package as the original series.

That being said...the binding on this book the worst I have ever seen. I saw some of the other reviews talk about the binding and thought that I'd be okay if I just handled it even more carefully than usual. WRONG. No exaggeration: I am currently half way through it and pages are starting to fall out.

I honestly don't know what to tell anyone who's on the fence about buying this. I have all of the individual issues so I knew going in that the story was excellent and I just wanted it all together for the sake of convenience. It's good, but is it worth the price? I'm going to say yes. Even with the terrible bindings, it's still a good buy.

Just handle it carefully.

Story/Art/Content = 5 stars.
Binding = 1 star only because there isn't a 0 star option.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Story Telling With Wonderful Art., September 30, 2014
By 
D. A. Sims (Hunstville, AL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rising Stars Compendium Hardcover (Hardcover)
This was a great read. A friend of mine let me read his copy. I enjoyed it so much I bought my own. I love the fact there is a beginning middle and end. So often characters loose their appeal because they are either rebooted or dragged on and on. This is a fine piece of work with all of the missing pieces added in to make it complete. I'd recommend it to any fan of Superheros and those of anti heroes. Did I mention it is also beautifully illustrated? It is so there you have it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Rising Stars Compendium Hardcover
Rising Stars Compendium Hardcover by Fiona Avery (Hardcover - April 28, 2009)
$99.99 $68.83
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.