Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Introduction to Decision-Making about Risk and What Our Choices Tell Us about Ourselves
Oxford doesn't publish books for "dummies" -- they publish "very short introductions". And this one isn't for dummies. It's an informed overview of the elements of understanding risks and making decisions with respect to them.

For most of us, risk is something we address in an informal, rule-of-thumb manner. I think this goes for everything from the risks we...
Published on July 10, 2011 by Doctor Moss

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A general, non-technical overview
As the title indicates, this is a brief introduction to a large and complex subject--risk--that has become of increasing importance following the debacle of 2008-09. Readers should not expect to find detailed or specific answers. Those with
some mathematical background may be disappointed.
Published 14 months ago by D. McKenzie


Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Introduction to Decision-Making about Risk and What Our Choices Tell Us about Ourselves, July 10, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Risk: A Very Short Introduction (Paperback)
Oxford doesn't publish books for "dummies" -- they publish "very short introductions". And this one isn't for dummies. It's an informed overview of the elements of understanding risks and making decisions with respect to them.

For most of us, risk is something we address in an informal, rule-of-thumb manner. I think this goes for everything from the risks we run in leaving our homes every day (or even staying in them), to how we invest our 401ks, to our willingness or unwillingness to participate in dangerous sports like rock-climbing or ocean swimming, and even to business risks arising in our professional lives. We trust in our own decision-making, often with little information to go on.

We certainly pay a price. For example, if we rely on the flow of information we simply happen to receive, we over-estimate our vulnerability to violent crime, natural disasters, traffic accidents, and the like. Our information flow isn't designed as an unbiased source for risk assessment.

The authors have made careers of understanding risk. The most interesting point they make, I think, is that "societies reveal themselves by how they handle dangers." How we measure risks, including what it is that we consider risks to be risks to reveal, in action, what we value, what really matters to us. Is it life, simply put? Is it a life of a particular kind? Is it long life? Is it healthy life?

"Very short introductions" are not for professionals -- they are for the majority of us who can benefit from an explicit, reflective framework for something we don't really have an informed way of thinking about. Maybe the most valuable thing we can learn is that there are, in fact, informed ways to think about and make decisions with respect to the risks that are ubiquitous in everyday life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Educational and Informative, August 23, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Risk: A Very Short Introduction (Paperback)
Risk is an inevitable fact of human life. Dealing with risk is an integral part of our psychological makeup, and for the most of recorded history there have been attempts to minimize the risk as much as possible. It could be argued that many of the social, cultural, religious, and political institutions that we know today have evolved as an attempt to find some kind of stability and security in this risky world. "Risk - A very short Introduction" is a thoughtful, modern, and up-to-date account of risk, what we mean by it and how we deal with it.

One of the main aims of this short book is to force us to rethink the way we perceive and deal with risk. Our innate risk-assessment abilities are fairly good - up to a point. We are not very good at assessing risks associated with events that are vastly outside of the scope of our experiences, and especially those that are at odds with most of the historical human experiences. Thus for instance we are not very good at handling infinitesimally small or enormously large quantities, oftentimes overestimating or underestimating corresponding risks.

The book also drives home one important point: the concept of risk is inexorably value-laden. It is impossible to talk about risks in absolute terms without specifying the reference frame from within which we operate. There are certainly individual preferences that determine which risks are acceptable and which ones are outside the realm of consideration. There are certainly certain risks that are perceived more or less universally, but this too will be contingent on the cultural factors.

In addition to being hard to define and measure, risk can be very hard to communicate effectively. Over the years there have been many cases of unintentional misrepresentation of various risks. Many, but not all, of such cases can be found in public safety announcements and information broadcasts. Being able to better communicate all sorts of risks can have significant impact on our daily lives, and this is one area of risk management that can potentially be easily improved.

This is a fairly thorough and informative short book on various aspects of risk. It will help you get a more articulate way of thinking about risk. At best, it may even enable you to take concrete steps in the direction of being better at handling various facets of risk in your own life. This is a very well written book on an exceedingly complex subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterful overview of how different professions view risk, June 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Risk: A Very Short Introduction (Paperback)
This is not about data and specific advice regarding the risks that you as an individual face in everyday life (for which see How Risky Is It, Really?: Why Our Fears Don't Always Match the Facts or The Norm Chronicles: Stories and Numbers About Danger). Instead it is a masterful overview of how many disciplines inside academia, and professions outside academia, think about Risk nowadays. Of books I have read (on any subject), it is one of the most successful at combining abstract high-level concepts with a set of substantial real-world examples. In style it is somewhat like a well-written concise textbook rather than a "popular science" book, so it requires some concentration rather than being easy bedtime reading. In the examples it presents data but does not seek to engage any details of statistical analysis.

Regarding content, I cannot do better than compress the author's own summary: thinking about risk in the context of decisions where risk matters; creating measures of risk; understanding probabilities of risks by combining historical records, science and expert judgement; how individuals move from understanding risks to making choices; risk perception and judgmental biases; risk communication; cultural aspects of risk.

Rather than plugging one author's view, the book emphasizes the many different aspects of risk and the complexity of real-world decision making. It strikes me as ideal for the reader who already has some familiarity with some aspect of the study of risk, but who is puzzled why other people view risk differently. Because many ideas are touched upon in a single paragraph (or sentence or phrase) it might be a bit overwhelming for a complete novice, but this is a book one could reread every few years and find something newly insightful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good brief overview, March 4, 2013
This is what the title promises. It offers a concise look at the nature of risk, risk analysis and risk communication. It's a good place to start with pointers to resources for digging deeper. One disappointing thing in reading the Kindle version is that the resolution of most images was poor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read, March 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Risk: A Very Short Introduction (Paperback)
Any health professional, teacher, cop, investor etc etc will find this a good read in the basics of risk. Why people risk risk opened my eyes to my own behavior and those around me. It's also not too dense and academic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Risk in every field, September 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Unlike only financial risks or health risks, all sort of risks are mentioned and analysed with facts. However, positive impact of risks are not so focused.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A general, non-technical overview, July 21, 2013
By 
D. McKenzie (Duluth, MN USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
As the title indicates, this is a brief introduction to a large and complex subject--risk--that has become of increasing importance following the debacle of 2008-09. Readers should not expect to find detailed or specific answers. Those with
some mathematical background may be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Risk: A Very Short Introduction
Risk: A Very Short Introduction by Baruch Fischhoff (Paperback - July 1, 2011)
$11.95 $9.10
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.