Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Notebook to Live By, October 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rite in the Rain All - Weather Tactical Field Book Green (Office Product)
I was first introduced to Rite in the Rain notebooks at USMC Officer Candidate School in Quantico, Virginia. These durable notebooks come in a variety of sizes and are typically found in either green or tan. In addition, each size has a corresponding fabric notebook cover that are very useful. In my time in the Marines, I think I have tried every size / color / cover combination.

This size is by far the most useful for anyone either in the military or who otherwise desires to use one notebook for a significant period of time. The other notebooks are a more convenient size, but have too few pages and quickly become filled with field notes, orders, lecture notes, grocery lists, phone numbers, maps, and sketches. This size can hold up to 4-6 months of notes for someone who writes in it every day. In addition, this size also has useful military information and reports in the back. It also fits well in a cargo pocket or vest pouch.

The notebooks are durable, except sometimes the cover can lose it's plastic peeling. If they get submerged in water, simply let them dry and keep on using them. There are some pens that don't work well with this, such as gel pens. The best thing to use with this notebook are either regular pencils or plain ball pens. Permanent markers also work very well. I recommend these notebooks with enthusiasm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding. I dont lose track of field notes using this., April 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rite in the Rain All - Weather Tactical Field Book Green (Office Product)
I have been using RITR notebooks for years now. I have carried them in many places under austere conditions, and still have all of those notes.

There are a lot of sizes, accessories and page layouts to choose from, so you can configure the notebook to your specific needs. The standard paper has a handy graph paper layout that keeps my notes in order and makes field sketches easier to manage.

I highly recommend carrying it in one of the nylon cases that are made for them. It helps keep the notebook clean, and most of them have slots for pens/pencils or loose papers, and zip or velcro shut.

Its best to use a pencil if you can; sometimes ink smudges on the waxy coating of the pages. Whatever you do, DO NOT use gel pens. Unless you dont want to read what you jotted down.

For the price it is a wonderful product. If they were able to figure out how to keep regular ink pens from smudging before the ink dries thoroughly, Id give it a fifth star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rite in the Rain All - Weather Tactical Field Book Green, August 17, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rite in the Rain All - Weather Tactical Field Book Green (Office Product)
Excellent product, perfect size, however I wish there was a version without the tactical information for Soldiers in the back. None the less, excellent product for outdoor journalling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best rite in the rain books, October 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rite in the Rain All - Weather Tactical Field Book Green (Office Product)
I really like this notebook as it fits in the ACU cargo pocket and has a ton of tactical/reference material.

The only con is that there isn't the direct map distance conversion rulers like there are in some of the other notebooks. I would also prefer if this book was offered in a top bound spiral form. If those two things were present then this would be a 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This thing has held up great. Used one for about 6 months straight with ..., July 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rite in the Rain All - Weather Tactical Field Book Green (Office Product)
This thing has held up great. Used one for about 6 months straight with no issues. Only problem came when I was stuck in a torrential downpour. I figured out pretty quick that pencil is the only way to go when writing in these, because it was about 3 minutes before the ink on the page was washing off (maybe I was using the wrong kind of pen, but in any case I only use pencil now and I've had no issues since). Only other problem was that during this same storm the layers that made up the cover started separating, and the plasticky coating on it was peeling off. Really only a cosmetic issue, the binding held up, and had no problems once the book dried out. However I was hoping for a bit more from a notebook that has no other purpose than to be written on in the rain.

Coclusion: Have it. Love it. Use them constantly. Use pencil.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great for fieldwork, September 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rite in the Rain All - Weather Tactical Field Book Green (Office Product)
These books are fantastic for anyone who needs to conduct fieldwork in iffy weather conditions. I have used it in a good bit of rain, and it's still possible to write. Use pencil. Also, it is necessary to leave the notebook out overnight to dry out if it's gotten wet during the day-- otherwise, the pages get crinkled and start sticking together. Great product for taking notes in all weather.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars works as advertised, May 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rite in the Rain All - Weather Tactical Field Book Green (Office Product)
You can clearly see water beading up on the paper. Works in all but down pouring rain. Even when its raining, you are all sweaty and just low crawled the last 100m in full battle rattle you can read everything clearly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars can't go wrong, May 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rite in the Rain All - Weather Tactical Field Book Green (Office Product)
If you are a grunt whether it be active duty on in the Guard these books are amazing and indestructible. If you need a pad for wet weather or just something that can be beat up these books are great, might be a little pricy for a notebook but you get what you pay for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, October 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rite in the Rain All - Weather Tactical Field Book Green (Office Product)
Always been a big fan of Rite in the Rain, they make good products. They also include additional info in the back (UXO, 9-lines, etc.) and fits perfectly in ACU cargo pockets with a binder cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As advertised., September 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rite in the Rain All - Weather Tactical Field Book Green (Office Product)
Been using these for years & these cats aren't ripping you off with an inflated price like most retailers will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.