Customer Reviews


328 Reviews
5 star:
 (282)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Return of Rizzoli & Isles...
"Rizzoli & Isles" returns for a 15-episode second season in 2011, with Angie Harmon reprising her role as tough, driven, and street-wise detective Jane Rizzoli, partnered with Sasha Alexander as the brillant but socially awkward Medical Examiner Dr. Maura Isles. Bruce McGill as Vince Korsak and Lee Thompson Young as Barry Frost are back as Rizzoli's fellow...
Published on August 10, 2011 by D.S.Thurlow

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It Didn't Grow On Me
After watching the first season of Rizzoli & Isles, I tentatively recommended the series and decided to order the second season based on the strong performances of Angie Harmon who plays Detective Jane Rizzoli. I was hoping that the rest of the characters would grow on me during the second season. Unfortunately, that did not happen. The second season of the show only...
Published 16 months ago by Marty W. Rhodes


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Return of Rizzoli & Isles..., August 10, 2011
This review is from: Rizzoli & Isles: Season 2 (DVD)
"Rizzoli & Isles" returns for a 15-episode second season in 2011, with Angie Harmon reprising her role as tough, driven, and street-wise detective Jane Rizzoli, partnered with Sasha Alexander as the brillant but socially awkward Medical Examiner Dr. Maura Isles. Bruce McGill as Vince Korsak and Lee Thompson Young as Barry Frost are back as Rizzoli's fellow detectives.

In this second season, Boston's finest get a broader range of cases, including the murder of a returning war veteran, a killer in uniform who strikes during Boston's Fleet Week, the abduction of an undercover cop's child, and the strange death of a baseball coach, among others.

Jane Rizzoli's family gets a bigger role in the second season, as her patrolman brother Frankie wants a piece of the action, her newly divorced mother Angela (Lorraine Bracco) moves in with Jane and takes a job at the police cafeteria, and Jane's other brother just wants to stay out of jail. Also, we meet Maura's adoptive mother and her rather dangerous biological father.

The heart of the show continues to be the often hilarious interaction between Jane and Maura. Imagine the possibiities of Maura taking tomboyish Jane to a spa or attempting to dress her for a formal date, or of Jane trying to ward off Maura's unwanted suitor by pretending to be her lesbian girlfriend, and you get the idea.

"Rizzoli & Isles: The Complete Second Season" is highly recommended to its fans. It appears "Rizzoli & Isles" will return for a third season in the summer of 2012.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars terrific, December 20, 2011
By 
Catherine E. Davis (Little Britain, Pennsylvania United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rizzoli & Isles: Season 2 (DVD)
I really enjoy the show, love the interaction between Jane & Maura. I hope you continue to make more seasons. My husband and I look forward to seeing the show. Wish it could have longer season. We watch it every Monday night, and really hate to see it go into hiatus so soon. Please keep making more show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fall more in love with Jane and Maura with each episode!, April 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rizzoli & Isles: Season 2 (DVD)
I'm completely enamored with Jane and Maura, individually and as a pair. I fell in love with the show since the first episode of the first season, and within a couple weeks, I just had to buy the DVDs. I can't get enough of Rizzoli and Isles, and I wish the show had 24-episode seasons! 15 episodes just isn't enough, but I'm soaking in every minute of it! Wonderful show, beautiful actresses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Family fun, August 11, 2011
By 
dognoodle (United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rizzoli & Isles: Season 2 (DVD)
We look forward to each episode and am glad to see this news:

"TNT Renews Mega-Hit Rizzoli & Isles for Third Season

TNT has booked its blockbuster series Rizzoli & Isles for a third season. The record-breaking drama - from Warner Horizon Television and starring Angie Harmon and Sasha Alexander - is in the midst of a terrific second season that has it running neck-and-neck with The Closer as this year's top basic cable series. TNT has ordered 15 episodes of Rizzoli & Isles for its third season, which is slated to launch in summer 2012. The show's second season will continue airing Monday nights at 10 p.m. (ET/PT) through Sept. 12. Rizzoli & Isles will return to wrap up its second season with new episodes in November and December."

As of this review, the season is obviously still running, so I hope this preorder price reflects the entire season, including its fall '11 wrap up. I know season one's price hasn't hit barely below $4/episode, which is entirely ridiculous. We're hoping it drops by quite a bit. As great as it is, I can't see spending over $2/episode for any TV episode, but hey! Dr Who gets it! :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Winding Down Season Two: 'Gone Daddy Gone', September 6, 2011
By 
RIZZOLI & ISLES (Jane Rizzoli and Maura Isles) improves with age, and now that there is only one show left in the current season of 10 shows the combination of tension and comedy has bee worked through to a fare-thee-well. Family steps to the foreground in this episode that tracks the murders of the dockworkers in Boston. The head of the organization has been Maura's (Sasha Alexander) birth father (John Doman) but he is now on the hunted list and brought to Maura's home in need of care. No love lost here on Maura's part but by the end of the episode the blood ties seem to mean something. Jane's (Angie Harmon) brother Tommy (Colin Egglesfield) is attracted to Maura - over an ongoing chess game, Jane's mother (Lorraine Bracco) remains her slightly off the wall self, and Jane is left to coach the situation of the multiple murders - and avoid the Sensitivity Training that runs as a comic thread through this episode. An interesting guest appearance by Ed Begley, Jr as a fellow Autopsy Surgeon adds some flavor. The episode covers a lot of territory but still maintains that fine balance between the comic banter of the two women law enforcement officers and the at times grueling visual events taking place along the waterfront of Boston. How they will wind this series down with the last episode remains to be seen, but this is a show that matures well with age. Grady Harp, September 11
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great series, May 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rizzoli & Isles: Season 2 (DVD)
Great series! Can not wait for Season 3! Rizzoli and Isles personalities keep the show entertaining! Never a dull moment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rizzoli & Isles, February 2, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I discovered this series by accident. It came on tv just after another series I was enjoying. I watched for a bit and was totally hooked, Both of the lead actresses are great in their roles. The supporting cast always comes across as realistic. The plot lines are enjoyable and keep you wanting more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Show, January 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Love this show! I can watch it at my own convenience without any commercials and pause it when I need to.
This show is not just a drama. It has some funny parts in it also which is great. And for this reason, my daughter enjoys watching it with me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rizzoli & Isles: The Complete Second Season, December 15, 2011
By 
Rosemary Widener (Makawao, Maui, HI United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rizzoli & Isles: Season 2 (DVD)
This is a well written with wonderful actors. I have loved this series, and will purchase as many Seasons as they complete in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's really fun!, October 9, 2011
By 
N. Cornell (Peekskill, NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rizzoli & Isles: Season 2 (DVD)
The show is really fun. I love it. The interactions between the characters, the mysteries, and the stories are all riveting. The creators of Rizzoli & Isles put new life into an old idea. Watch it for what it is, not from some preconceived idea of what it should be. You'll enjoy it much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Rizzoli & Isles: Season 2
Rizzoli & Isles: Season 2 by Sasha Alexander (DVD - 2014)
$24.99 $12.72
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.