Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A typical Wexford novel - excellent!
Rendell has done it again! This is a masterful mystery that will keep you guessing until the very end.

Wexford's beloved Kingsmarkham is a village divided. A new bypass is scheduled to be constructed, and protesters descend on the quiet little town, causing havoc everywhere. Dora Wexford is kidnapped on the way to the train station. Within hours, it becomes...
Published on August 22, 2007 by L. Toll

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best
When selecting a book I look for author first and then read the opening section of the first chapter. I have always found that Ruth Rendell's opening lines make me want to read more. Her characters are well crafted and you can get a sense of realism that many authors fail to achieve. This time though the book concentrates more on the feelings of Inspector Wexford and...
Published on December 30, 1999


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best, December 30, 1999
By A Customer
When selecting a book I look for author first and then read the opening section of the first chapter. I have always found that Ruth Rendell's opening lines make me want to read more. Her characters are well crafted and you can get a sense of realism that many authors fail to achieve. This time though the book concentrates more on the feelings of Inspector Wexford and less on character & plot development. The side plots did not blend together into a seamless whole and it was hard to link the different plots together. There are times when the book is very tense but mostly it lacked the energy to keep you enthralled. I felt I wanted to get to the end of the book to see how it all fitted together but was left with a disappointing "Oh is that it?"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not her best!!, September 1, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Road Rage (Hardcover)
Very bad effort from a MASTER. For someone else, this would be good, but from the Queen of SUSpense, Psychology, and Mystery? Pedestrian story of greenpeace like group of malcontents, making protest, environmental issues, etc. but Rendell never does get beneath the surface headlines. Please try her other books, she is the best mystery/suspence/psychology novelist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A typical Wexford novel - excellent!, August 22, 2007
This review is from: Road Rage (Mass Market Paperback)
Rendell has done it again! This is a masterful mystery that will keep you guessing until the very end.

Wexford's beloved Kingsmarkham is a village divided. A new bypass is scheduled to be constructed, and protesters descend on the quiet little town, causing havoc everywhere. Dora Wexford is kidnapped on the way to the train station. Within hours, it becomes apparent that four other people have been kidnapped as well, and what seemed like innocent protests take on a sinister cast.

Despite his personal involvement, Wexford is placed in charge of the investigation. Seemingly stymied, he still manages to pull off a grand unveiling of perpetrators in true Rendell style. Endless plot twists and larger-than-life characters have definitely made this my favourite of the Wexford novels.

Fans of Rendell's style of writing will be thrilled with this relatively recent effort, and if you're not yet a fan, this wouldn't be a bad place to start. I totally lost myself in this one, and I'm sorry it's over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Rendell Fan, July 1, 2001
By 
Marcie "nuts about books" (Carpenter, SD, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I read this book (or rather listened to it on audiobook) just because it was written by my newest favorite author. It wasn't exactly exciting, though. Inspector Wexford is caught in the middle of a kidnapping when his wife is one of the hostages. I was looking forward to an exciting search but was surprised when shortly into the book, his wife was released by her captors. This group was supposedly against the new bypass being built through the town, objecting to destroying trees and killing wildlife, so that's the direction Inspector Wexford takes as he tries to find the remaining 4 hostages. I'm not great at solving mysteries but even I had figured out part of the plot before the end. Rendell does tend to drag things out, making the story longer than she has to, but I can't help but like her style of writing so much that it doesn't bother me. I have read one other Inspector Wexford novel and liked it too, but have to say her suspense type novels grab my attention better. By the way, if you have a chance to listen to any of her books on Recorded Books audio, the narrator, Divina Porter, is great. She has that cool English accent and I could listen to her all day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very Intriguing Inspector Wexford mystery, September 30, 2002
By 
"lynkfri13" (Waltham, MA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Road Rage (Hardcover)
~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~
~ * ~ This wasn't my abspolute favorite Ruth Rendell, but it is still a very good Inspector Wexford mystery. It is not necessary to be familiar with Wexford and his assistant, Burden... this book may be a good introduction to the series for many.
~ * ~
This book is more interesting and suspenseful, because Wexford's own wife is kidnapped. Naturally his worries about her safety make it difficult to head up the investigation. Without giving away the plot, it's ok to say that he will need to rely on his wife as a witness, and her memory of small details becomes critical.
~ * ~ As always, the ending is surprising. Ruth Rendell is a master of plot twists and turns that keep us guessing.
~ * ~ My personal favorite of the Wexford and Burden series is " No More Dying Then", which focuses more on Mike Burden's problems after the death of his wife.
~ * ~
However "Road Rage" is definitely an enjoyable and suspenseful read, and a great sample of Inspector Wexford. I recommend it highly for mystery lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Engaging mystery, July 17, 2003
By 
Fiona (Melbourne, VIC Australia) - See all my reviews
I'm not usually a reader of the "murder mystery" genre of fiction, but I picked this book up the other day when I was desperate for something to read on the train trip to work. Luckily, it was quite a good book, and engaged my attention to the point that I was almost sorry when my trip came to an end. The story was original and made me want to keep reading to find out how it would end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rendell and Inspector Wexford I must say that this was not her best effort. The book dragged and portrayed the Kingsmarkham ..., August 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
While I am a big fan of Ms. Rendell and Inspector Wexford I must say that this was not her best effort. The book dragged and portrayed the Kingsmarkham constabulary in a very poor light. Worse, the conclusion was obvious. This book certainly hasn't put me off the series, but it was a bit of a disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, Well-paced Crime Novel, October 17, 2014
By 
Author Ruth Rendell is a prolific novelist who has written more than a dozen Inspector Wexford cases, as well as more than a score of other crime novels. She is a master of her craft and Road Rage is no exception. Even for a reader new to this series, one is immediately drawn to the characters. And not just Inspector Wexford and his wife Dora, but to the surrounding members of the constabulary and the community of Kingsmarkham. These quickly become people we care about, would associate with, are passingly interested in, avoid if at all possible, and there are still others we would cheerfully debate long into the night over a mug of stout, though not at any time call friend.

Rendell's definition of road rage is different from that here in North America. In this case, the English Highway authority has determined that spreading urbanism requires the building of a new highway bypass, a bypass that will pass through significant undeveloped, rural areas, including a favorite forest patch of Inspector Wexford's. Including an ancient Roman fort. And, while Wexford is deeply disappointed that the meadows and trees of Framhurst Great Wood will soon give way to concrete and asphalt, he is fully prepared to uphold the law when splinter environmental protest groups congregate in Kingsmarkham.

There are confrontations over rare species, over archeology, and then, over kidnapping. Someone lifts five citizens of the community and threatens more than mere bodily harm unless the bypass is stopped. The situation takes a more menacing turn when it is learned that one of the kidnapped victims is indeed, Dora, wife of Chief Inspector Wexford.

As is frequently the case in Rendell novels, the accuracy of details and procedure is impeccable and compelling. Road Rage is another in Rendell's legacy of fine, enduring English Police Procedurals, and one to be strongly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Many Plot Twists., March 25, 2003
"Road Rage" by Ruth Rendell. Subtitled: "An Inspector Wexford Mystery". Audio Book Version read by Christopher Ravenscroft. Random House Audiobooks, 1997.
I chose this audiobook because I thought it would be about the typical Californian or New York road rage where one person is yelling at or even shooting at another driver. The rage in this book, however, is anger against the building of a road through Markham Wood. At first it appeared that this might be the usual plot where an environmental group protests the construction of highway by kidnapping hostages. But, then, there are many plot twists.
The hostages were "randomly" selected by their unfortunate calling for a taxicab from a particular car for hire company. One of the hostages thus selected is Dora Wexford, wife of Inspector Wexford, which places a personal twist on the efforts of "Sacred Globe", the kidnapping environmental group, to enforce their position on the authorities. But there are even more twists than just this one, as Inspector Wexford pieces together all the clues and determines the location where the hostages are being kept, and where a hostage was killed. The ending is surprising!
I enjoyed the audiotape version of this book, performed by Christopher Ravenscroft, as I drove I-495, the ring road around Boston. To American ears, Mr. Ravenscroft did a credible job in providing "Cockney" accents, British police accents and, of course, the educated "Oxford" accent. He has a wide ranging repertoire of accents, for both male and female characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not up to Ruth Rendell's usual standard, August 22, 2010
By 
Neal Reynolds (Indianapolis, Indiana) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
For those not familiar with the author, this is an excellant book, but not the best introduction to her work. For her fans, this has to be considered minor.It's unusual to find Rendell delving into issues such as environmentalism, and she does well in characterizing the various levels of environmental protesters. The issue is highway construction and its effect on the environment. She also gets Inspector Wexford personally involved in this case in which ecoterrorists kidnap and hold five people including the good inspector's wife as hostages, threatening to kill them if the group's demands are not met.The trouble, at least for me, is the fact that we readers don't become fully involved. The characters just are not fully developed, and the writing is not as sharply defined as we expect from the author. The story wanders a bit and the book is longer than necessary. Ruth Rendell's earlier books are sharp and to the point while this one isn't. If you are a Rendell fan, by all means read this one, but don't expect it to be as engrossing as her earlier works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Road Rage
Road Rage by Ruth Rendell (Hardcover - September 4, 1997)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.