Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I don't join the ranks of ordinary men
Busdriver (Regan Farquhar) is one of those rare hip-hop artists -- he has talent, creativity, and he's more interested in abstract lyrics than about more lame shooting/sex/drugs raps.

And he doesn't disappoint in his sixth album, "Roadkill Overcoat." Colourful and quirky, it is equal parts catchy hip-hop, gurgling electronics, and pop sensibilities, and veers...
Published on January 30, 2007 by E. A Solinas

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Most Inconsistent Artist I've Ever Heard...
Busdriver is a total anomaly... He's not BAD, per se, just not consistently good. He's got skill, imagination, vocabulary, and probably an extreme case of Attention Deficit Disorder. What he doesn't have: patience(refer to ADD... his raps are always frenzied), rhythm (his voice alternates in pace completely independent of the backing track most of the time), and any form...
Published on May 7, 2008 by Jess Newman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I don't join the ranks of ordinary men, January 30, 2007
This review is from: Roadkill Overcoat (Audio CD)
Busdriver (Regan Farquhar) is one of those rare hip-hop artists -- he has talent, creativity, and he's more interested in abstract lyrics than about more lame shooting/sex/drugs raps.

And he doesn't disappoint in his sixth album, "Roadkill Overcoat." Colourful and quirky, it is equal parts catchy hip-hop, gurgling electronics, and pop sensibilities, and veers through a string of memorable little rhythms.

"You did it/you got it/you wowed the world!/Casting agents and cowgirls/dress up, you're dressed up/to kill yourself," Busdriver says forcefully, before launching into a rapid-fire rap over a catchy little tune.

But he really blossoms in "Kill Your Employers," a tight and danceable hip-hop tune with brilliantly barbed lyrics about war, hippies and the self-righteous. "Cause smearing a salad on a SUV can't/Save the black faces at the refugee camp," he reminds us. "Riddled with neo-expressionism omitted words and arty erasure/You pass out your Green Party favor..."

He tries out a number of other colourful styles -- hazy electro-rock with hip-hop rhythms, sinuous raps, undulating hip-hop, shimmery little electro pop songs, and gloriously funky hip-hop like "(Bloody Paw on the) Kill Floor" and the swaying "Pompous Posies! Your Party's No Fun." Okay, I just wanted to mention those titles.

Though it's basically hip-hop, Busdriver weaves in lots of other music -- quirky techno, funk, blues, ambient stuff, and indiepoppy flavour. In other words, the sort of thing you'd expect from someone who collaborates with Daedalus and the Islands.

Boom Bip is responsible for a lot of the production here, along with Busdriver himself -- tight, sharp rhythms and rough beats, which shimmy along with some hazy electronic fuzz. His marshmallowy duet with Bianca Casady is probably the weakest song on here, but fortunately he gets back to the deliciously funky stuff.

Busdriver himself has a pretty nice voice -- he isn't trying to sound cool or tough, and so he does everything from a meowy whisper to a machine-gun rap. And his songs are equally atypical -- he skewers the music industry, the arty self-righteous, and other parts of modern culture. ("Cause recreational.... paranoia/Is the sport of now, so/Kill your employer!")

Busdriver is no "rapping know-it-all trying to de-politicize those big business ties," and he has talent in spades. "Roadkill Overcoat" has a couple dud songs, but Busdriver is still brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dancing on the kill floor, March 6, 2007
This review is from: Roadkill Overcoat (Audio CD)
Busdriver (Regan Farquhar) is one of those rare hip-hop artists -- he has talent, creativity, and he's more interested in abstract lyrics than about more lame shooting/sex/drugs raps.

And he doesn't disappoint in his sixth album, "Roadkill Overcoat." Colourful and quirky, it is equal parts catchy hip-hop, gurgling electronics, and pop sensibilities, and veers through a string of memorable little rhythms.

"You did it/you got it/you wowed the world!/Casting agents and cowgirls/dress up, you're dressed up/to kill yourself," Busdriver says forcefully, before launching into a rapid-fire rap over a catchy little tune.

But he really blossoms in "Kill Your Employers," a tight and danceable hip-hop tune with brilliantly barbed lyrics about war, hippies and the self-righteous. "Cause smearing a salad on a SUV can't/Save the black faces at the refugee camp," he reminds us. "Riddled with neo-expressionism omitted words and arty erasure/You pass out your Green Party favor..."

He tries out a number of other colourful styles -- hazy electro-rock with hip-hop rhythms, sinuous raps, undulating hip-hop, shimmery little electro pop songs, and gloriously funky hip-hop like "(Bloody Paw on the) Kill Floor" and the swaying "Pompous Posies! Your Party's No Fun." Okay, I just wanted to mention those titles.

Though it's basically hip-hop, Busdriver weaves in lots of other music -- quirky techno, funk, blues, ambient stuff, and indiepoppy flavour. In other words, the sort of thing you'd expect from someone who collaborates with Daedalus and the Islands.

Boom Bip is responsible for a lot of the production here, along with Busdriver himself -- tight, sharp rhythms and rough beats, which shimmy along with some hazy electronic fuzz. His marshmallowy duet with Bianca Casady is probably the weakest song on here, but fortunately he gets back to the deliciously funky stuff.

Busdriver himself has a pretty nice voice -- he isn't trying to sound cool or tough, and so he does everything from a meowy whisper to a machine-gun rap. And his songs are equally atypical -- he skewers the music industry, the arty self-righteous, and other parts of modern culture. ("Cause recreational.... paranoia/Is the sport of now, so/Kill your employer!")

Busdriver is no "rapping know-it-all trying to de-politicize those big business ties," and he has talent in spades. "Roadkill Overcoat" has a couple dud songs, but Busdriver is still brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More nerdy than Gnarls Barkley and catchier than Subtle, March 1, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Roadkill Overcoat (Audio CD)
WOW! This disk took no time to sink in with me. I was hooked by the time I

reached the third song on my first listen. Perhaps "Fear of a Black Tangent"

suggested some new directions, but this is still a HUGE leap into

forward-thinking territory. This is kind of like Bus's version of pop

tinkering, with moments that are even reminiscent of Peeping Tom or Beck's

ideas (they 3 should do a song together). Nobody and Boom Bip have never

sounded more accomplished as they do in this production. Finally Bus seems to

see his niche as well, somewhere near Subtle. I typically go on and on with

my reviews, but Bus is Bus, so start there and then imagine him trying to

make indie music for college rock radio with singing parts and yet still

using plenty of his typical style, but lacing that silly style through

amazingly mature electronica production ideas on a grandiose level like that

of Air. I know, it's hard to picture. This is every bit as creative as Gnarls

Barkley, but driven by that nasally rapid-paced rhyme style that Busdriver is

best known for. Songs like Sun Shower, sparkle and glisten in a rising swirl

of pop brilliance as if Goldfrapp and Bright Eyes were being braided together

with each note and word. I questioned if Bus would ever break out of his

dorky shell, and well...he's still dorky as hell (thank God), but it's making

perfect sense now and there is a beauty that is much harder to deny. I

finally have something to listen to between Subtle, Peeping Tom &

Beck...perfect! I'm totally blown away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive, March 12, 2009
By 
taogoat (the mothership) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Roadkill Overcoat (Audio CD)
I've been following Busdriver's work for the past 10 years, and I gotta say this is his most consistent, cohesive album. You know what I mean when I say this sounds like a real album? It's not just a collection of songs, it's a real album -- you want to listen to the whole thing from start to finish. The whole is more than the sum of its parts. That might be because it was produced by two likeminded producers, Nobody & Boom Bip. While there is a consistent sound throughout, there is still enough variability that each song is fresh.

There's definitely an indie rock sound on this album, with more emotion and melodic singing from Busdriver than on any of his previous albums. The musicality of the choruses is light years beyond anything he's done previously in terms of evoking emotions. But don't think this still isn't some raw hip hop -- he's still chopping and styling and generally rapping his @$$ off in the way that only Busdriver can. This is a great album for your indie friends who don't know they like hip hop.

Great lyrics, rapping, production, singing... this album's got it all.

For anyone who's interested in Busdriver's crew, check out the new documentary "This is the Life" -- goodlifelove dot com.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Subtitle + Subtle, October 11, 2007
By 
David M. Madden "nonnon/dj_webern" (salt lake, utah United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Roadkill Overcoat (Audio CD)
Regan Farquhar aka Busdriver, L.A.'s non-hip-hop/hip-hopper, returns with his first stab at the semi-majors - a stab indeed. He's odder than ever, his oft-relayed frustrations of the rap game and personal issues (i.e. "Cuz before we met you thought that hoodrats lay eggs"/"Last year I was passing out Green Party leaflets while you're at the chalet on ski trips.") matched by three-dollar bill Nobody's production, Daddy Kev and Boom Bip's mixing and a cameo by CocoRosie's Bianca Casady ("Go Slow"). Be it stuttering synthpop ("Sun Shower"), neo-crunk (("Bloody Paw on the) Kill Floor"), jock-jam beats ("Kill Your Employer (Recreational Paranoia Is the Sport of Now") or clicking folk ("Dream Catcher's Mitt"), Farquhar can take it, spitting with the precision of a world record holding tongue-twisting auctioneer. And, really, isn't anyone who can use the word polyglot and rap "hemorrhages with a carbonated fizz" probably worth a piece of your day?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quantum Leap Forward, August 18, 2007
This review is from: Roadkill Overcoat (Audio CD)
The last Busdriver I've heard was "Temporary Forever", which, while impressive, kind of was less than spectacular DJ work, and sounded somewhat like an updated Fuschnickens album. This latest release caught me by surprise...it's (thankfully) far from being catchy, but is dense, funky and uncompromising, and is sure to stand up to many repeat listenings. Simply, he is in his own world now. His lyrics are dopier-than-thou, with that fast delivery he's seemed to have cribbed from the above Fu. He's much better than that group, however, as the DJ work on this album is far more sophisticated than on his previous above-mentioned album. Stellar work - he's really more impressive than Outkast is right now, and the torch of hip-hop is born forward, despite all odds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Something Different From Busdriver, June 9, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Roadkill Overcoat (Audio CD)
This album is not like other busdriver albums - but then again, no two busdriver albums are the same. This one features more melody and less frenetic rap than most of his recordings. The single Sun Showers stands out as a great song, but unfortunately it is unique on this album. The rest of the songs feature more rapping and less singing, but still sit somewhere on the fence between genres. This album is catchy and full of intelligent wordplay, but it is too short to fully satisfy - I think it could use one more track that busdriver sings on - or maybe it's just that I can't get over SunShowers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not his best work but he still is the best...................., March 8, 2007
This review is from: Roadkill Overcoat (Audio CD)
Roadkill Overcoat let me down because I was expecting Temporary Forever. I guess I expect Temporary Forever every time Busdriver comes out. But let it be known this is still the lyrical genius with a style second to none with the best producers hip hop underground has to offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, October 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Roadkill Overcoat (Audio CD)
Budriver blows away the competition off the mic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Most Inconsistent Artist I've Ever Heard..., May 7, 2008
By 
Jess Newman (Boulder, CO USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Roadkill Overcoat (Audio CD)
Busdriver is a total anomaly... He's not BAD, per se, just not consistently good. He's got skill, imagination, vocabulary, and probably an extreme case of Attention Deficit Disorder. What he doesn't have: patience(refer to ADD... his raps are always frenzied), rhythm (his voice alternates in pace completely independent of the backing track most of the time), and any form of coherent sound.
I don't dislike the better thought-out songs, or alternately maybe I got on the bandwagon late; I was seduced by Casting Agents and Cowgirls, the most pop-accessible song he's ever done, apparently. There are six more albums, which all wander all over the place. A record will have some good songs, some completely unlistenable tracks of pure noise, and a lot of mediocre material that wouldn't even serve as filler or B-side fodder for a more consistent artist.
Busdriver's niche would seem to be the infinitesimally small genre of "avant-garde hip hop", in which I have never found an artist to reside. He's got very eclectic friends providing beats and guest raps, it's just not anything that most people are accustomed to calling music. If I had to sum Busdriver up in a sentence, it would be: Saul Williams wannabe with half the talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Roadkill Overcoat
Roadkill Overcoat by Busdriver (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.