Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PME Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars74
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 10, 2006
I first heard this album in the early 70's in high school. Now I've turned my own kids (21, 20, 16, 16 and 13) onto it. They can't believe that you could once go into a club and hear bands like this LIVE. They only listen to classic stuff I give them now; there's nothing on the radio that remotely comes close to the gut-wrenching energy of great musicians playing live at full throttle. If you only know Edgar Winter from his "Frankenstein" and "Free Ride" days, you've got an eye-opening experience ahead of you. Listen in particular to Edgar's 18 second full-throated stratospheric sustained vocal in Tobacco Road. You could refinish furniture by putting it in front of the speakers with this song turned up. An absolute MUST HAVE CD.
22 comments|40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 22, 2005
It's truly a shame that more people aren't familiar with this album. Simply put, Roadwork has got to be one of the greatest live albums ever recorded. From the gospel-tinged "Save the Planet" to the raw blues of "Tobacco Road," this recording just grabs you right from the first song and just won't let go. In addition to being an amazing keyboard and saxophone player, Edgar Winter is an incredible vocalist. When you add the incendiary Jerry La Croix, an equally amazing vocalist, the result sends chills down your spine. For you guys who are air guitar specialists, I recommend that you check out Rick Derringer's rendition of Chuck Berry's "Back in the USA." Derringer proves beyond a doubt why he's a legend on the six string. But it's not enough just to have Rick Derringer on the scene. Edgar introduces his brother Johnny for a fiery version of "Rock & Roll Hoochie Koo."There are so many highlights on this recording that it's hard to select just one as a favorite. Certainly one of the highlights is "Tobacco Road." After you've heard Edgar Winter's White Trash work out on this cut, it's just like there's nothing more to be said. If I had to pick just one cut to represent the genius and passion of this album, I'd go with the old rhythm and blues classic "Turn on Your Love Light." Listen as the horns blast out that classic riff and then let Jerry La Croix take you on a trip where the soul of man never dies. This is rock n roll with a vengeance! Or, as Jerry exhorts the crowd at the Apollo: "If you feel like lettin' it out, hot damn, let it out."
22 comments|33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 12, 2005
EDGAR WINTER/WHITE TRASH-ROADWORK: Recorded live at legendary venues the Apollo Theater and the Whiskey a Go-Go, ROADWORK is a raw, blistering, white hot collection of rock/R&B/jazz/gospel barnburners as only the horn-heavy Edgar Winter's White Trash could administer it. Sax/keys soulman Winter trades screamin' call and response with co-vocalist Jerry La Croix, while ace axeman Rick Derringer conjures up riff after righteous riff. Unbelievably, the party gets even better when Edgar utters the immortal line, "People keep askin' me...where's your brother?" That signals the entrance of Johnny Winter, the whitest man to ever play the blooze, and a ballsy rip through ROCK AND ROLL HOOCHIE KOO. Other tone-kool covers include a particularly maniacal BACK IN THE USA, on which Derringer erases umpteen other versions from memory with the flick of a pick, and Jerry La Croix out-Otis-ing Otis Redding himself on the frantic CAN'T TURN YOU LOOSE. But the real wopper-bopper-show-stopper is Edgar's 17 minute scat-fest annihilation of TOBACCO ROAD, a sweat-soaked showpiece from his early days working in Johnny's band. The highlights are rewarding and constant on ROADWORK...the only time the fun stops is during the brief spaces between tracks!

RATING: FIVE JIVE, JIVE, JIVES
11 comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 23, 1998
This is live Rock and Roll at it's finest! Edgar Winter at the keyboard, Rick Derringer on guitar, and Jerry LaCroix on saxaphone combine to rattle the walls of the Apollo Theater and the Whiskey A' Go Go on this 1972 Epic collection.
Original recordings start gently with the gospel-flavored "Save the Planet" and then ratchet up through the raucous "Jive, Jive, Jive" before covering Otis Redding/Steve Cropper's "I Can't Turn You Loose."
All of this music is tasty and lively. Tracks five, six, and seven, though, anchor this album for me. After a wild rendition of Chuck Berry's "Back in the USA," Edgar introduces his brother, Johnny, to scorch through a little "Rock and Roll, Hoochie Koo." But buckle up after that for the sparkling "Tobacco Road." Nothing beats opening the sunroof and cranking the volume on a hot summer night to listen to the amazing twists and turns of these multi-talented, full-of-life musicians.
"Do Yourself a Favor" and give this CD a ride.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2001
Gospel, soul, r&b, jazz, blues, rock and roll - this record features it all. A live experience not too be missed, it showcases many fine musicians, whether it's Jerry LaCroix enticing the Apollo audience to dance, or Edgar Winter's banshee screams, or Rick Derringer's guitar playing, or Jon Smith's brilliant saxophone leading the horn section's punchy arrangements - this record has everything. Starting strong with Jerry's "Save the Planet", it keeps the tempo up with his self-penned "Jive, Jive, Jive", and continues with Jerry offering a rousing vocal on "I Can't Turn You Loose". Rick Derringer comes in for a rocking "Still Alive and Well" and "Back in the U.S.A.". Johnny Winter does a turn with Rick's "Rock and Roll Hoochie Koo", and brother Edgar arrests everyone with an incredible 17-minute "Tobacco Road". The last three cuts were recorded at New York's Apollo, where these guys show they can hold their own. Edgar gets funky with "Cool Fool" and "Do Yourself a Favor". Jerry wraps it all up with a get-down version of "Turn on Your Lovelight". This is a simply excellent album well deserving of its platinum sales status. If we could only get a complete concert's worth!
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 16, 2014
I love this CD. Plain and simple. I had it on vinyl and wore it out. This is not the slick "They only come out at night". This is plain straight forward in-your-face rock 'n roll. Tobacco Road is a cut I listen to repeatedly. The whole thing is a throwback to seventies jam live performance. It Rocks. So why not a 5 star? This was a live album where the musicians were a little more exuberant than needed. Believe it or not at a couple of points they almost went too far. Sounds strange, but true. I still love this CD.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2001
I've been waiting for this jem to come out on CD for many years. Appearances by brother Johnny! The absolute best version of John D. Loudermilk's "Tobacco Road" ever recorded. It takes up one side of the album. Great horn arrangements. The list goes on. Every working club musician that I knew in the 70's (and I's knew a few) would die to be in this band. A must have for my collection.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2008
As a rock 'n roll/R & B line-up, Edgar Winter's White Trash could melt
the competition with the "scorch-and-torch" blistering vocals of Winter
and especially, the rumble and growl of Jerry LaCroix. They first take it through the roof on the gospel-influenced "Save the Planet": both men compete in a lengthy "Lord (Lawd) knows!" sandpaper throaty duel, then LaCroix enthusiastically bounces back behind the horns and Bobby Ramirez's cymbal smashes to pull the crowd along and "Jive Jive Jive." That's followed by the sweaty, ballsy, and heartfelt urgency of Otis Redding's classic "I Can't Turn You Loose," and Jerry's pleading is as much from lust as love for that special woman.

Not to be upstaged, Rick Derringer pounds away to show that he's "Still Alive and Well," and turns Chuck Berry inside-out while flailing away on "Back in the U.S.A." What has become a personal family joke ("Where's your brother?") in the Winter family is unleashed as Johnny steps up to churn through a potent "Rock and Roll, Hoochie Koo," a song originally best known by Derringer's former group, the McCoys. And then Edgar takes over--and absolutely broils the stage with "Tobacco Road," complete with scat vocals, demented hoots and shrieks, and a raging electric piano/guitar duel. To end this, the band relocates to the Apollo Theater in Harlem, where I recall reading that the black audience initially turned and began to walk out when the band came out, fronted by the whitest man they could ever imagine (an albino) doing some funk--but "Cool Fool" proved immediately that Edgar was the former and any doubters were the second. Follow that with Stevie Wonder's "Do Yourself a Favor," some smoking horns, a hot wah-wah pedal guitar, and finally, Jerry urges everyone to "Turn On Your Lovelight" and makes it glow. Count this as one of the best live gigs of the '70s; a White Trash show was as valuable as a bagful of diamonds--and they could shine as bright.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 25, 2013
This album is what The Blues Brother's aspired to, but fell woefully short of. A good mix of Blues, R&B, and Rock. Edgar is fantastic on the keys, the horn players are second to none. Rick Derringer's solo on Tobacco Road is fantastic, just a great picture into the early 70's. If you like fusion or progressive rock, you will like much of this double album. All of the songs are very good, but two of them are not quite as good as the rest. The mix is good for a live abum, and sounds very good when played loud. Before radio was taken over by corporate types this album recieved considerable airplay, but has not been in the mix for decades now. No slow songs, they all rock and everyone in the band contributes something. If you like your music saccherine laced and sugary sweet, this one is not for you. If you liked the Blues Bros. this will blow you away. If you hated the Blues Bros. this will blow you away. You can't go wrong wih this one.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2013
I won't bore you readers with my Rock and Roll credentials. But I am a (semi retired) professional Rock musician, have been since 1976, and I heard this when it first came out. Goes down in history as one of the 10 best Rock Albums ever recorded. Period. I'm astonished how rarely it is mentioned. Show me a Rock and Roll Band today that can do this.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.