Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious; worth owning for Leary fans
In the tradition of the New York Friars Club Roasts, Comedy Central's Roast of Denis Leary is deservedly the highest rated program to hit the cable network (next to South Park that is) as it shows the foul-mouthed, scathing comic getting a taste of his own medicine from his closest friends. Hosted by Jeff Garlin of HBO's Curb Your Enthusiasm and featuring live remarks...
Published on October 2, 2004 by N. Durham

versus
29 of 35 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
There are two things wrong with this DVD. The first is that this program is a roast of a man who is known for his rants not bantor so the whole thing comes off flat because this is not the style of humor that Leary or his friends are known for. The funnies person turns out to be his priest. Second this is severely edited. There is an unedited version of Leary's...
Published on October 28, 2004 by B. C. Stein


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious; worth owning for Leary fans, October 2, 2004
This review is from: Roast of Denis Leary Uncensored (DVD)
In the tradition of the New York Friars Club Roasts, Comedy Central's Roast of Denis Leary is deservedly the highest rated program to hit the cable network (next to South Park that is) as it shows the foul-mouthed, scathing comic getting a taste of his own medicine from his closest friends. Hosted by Jeff Garlin of HBO's Curb Your Enthusiasm and featuring live remarks from Colin Quinn, Adam Ferrara, Lenny Clark, Nick DiPaulo, Dane Cook, Mario Cantone, Dr. Dre & Ed Lover, Jim Breuer, Gina Gershon (performing a musical and dance number), along with taped comments from Conan O'Brien, Rene Russo, Jon Stewart, Peter Gallagher, Christopher Walken, Michael J. Fox, and Joe Mantagna; the Roast of Denis Leary is full out funny from beginning to end. It's definitely worth picking up for Leary fans (his rebuttal at the end is scathingly funny), although I wish more special features would have been put on the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 35 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, October 28, 2004
By 
B. C. Stein (College Station TX) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Roast of Denis Leary Uncensored (DVD)
There are two things wrong with this DVD. The first is that this program is a roast of a man who is known for his rants not bantor so the whole thing comes off flat because this is not the style of humor that Leary or his friends are known for. The funnies person turns out to be his priest. Second this is severely edited. There is an unedited version of Leary's rebutle in the special features and they cut all the good jokes from his rebutle out of the main program. One can only assume that the rest of the program suffered the same fate (as the jokes are not good and do not flow). Also, the editor even cut out pieces of jokes from Leary's rebutle. This means that some jokes were missing the middle and made little sence in the main program. If you like Dennis, go get his DVD with a classic "No Cure for Cancer" and enjoy what he is good at, not what Comedy Central put together for him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I couldn't have been more disappointed, August 23, 2005
By 
vs "vs" (Redmond, WA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Roast of Denis Leary Uncensored (DVD)
Spend your money on one of Leary's performances, not this painfully unfunny waste of 90 minutes. If you've ever watched a comedian struggle mightily to be funny and fail, you know the sort of discomfort I felt when watching these no-names flail on stage. It's telling that the only names of consequence--Stewart and Leary's cousin O'Brien--literally phoned it in. A typically awkward detail: the director cuts away to Keifer Sutherland reaction shots maybe a dozen times, like he's the President at the Lincoln Center Honors or something. It's utterly bizarre. Leary deserved better. I spent the whole time wishing I were watching him do standup--instead of watching him watch his inferiors. His brief closing remarks are amusing enough, but it's too little too late.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Save your money, April 14, 2011
This review is from: Roast of Denis Leary Uncensored (DVD)
After watching several of the other Comedy Central Roasts, it is easy to say that this one comes in dead last in all aspects. It's hard to describe how unfunny this one was, other than to say that it was a good idea for Comedy Central to add more comedians in later episodes. Basically, most of the people seemed to be there just to hang out and half-ass tease him. There was no energy from any of the roasters, the jokes were completely flat and pointless, the song was hard to hear and wasn't funny either, and the roastmaster himself made a few lame attempts at jokes but mainly just offered praise for everyone that came up to talk. A roast, this was not. Maybe casual banter peppered with a few meaningless and random personal stories. Thank God for Netflix because I didn't have to feel bad about stopping it before it was done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bambi and Thumper Could Have Handled This Roast, September 4, 2010
This review is from: Roast of Denis Leary Uncensored (DVD)
This may be a keeper for the hard-core Denis Leary fans but for those of us who enjoy the Comedy Central roasts as a whole...to say that this was disappointing is a gross understatement. There were a few good jokes here and there but they were few and far between. Unlike the the typical CC dayus members, Greg Giraldo, Jeff Ross, Lisa Lampanelli, the roasters didn't really let Denis Leary "have it". Personally, I think it was because the majority are all still trying to make it in the film industry and feared that any derogatory remarks towards anyone in the room may have had repercussions down the road. Once again, that's just my opinion. Overall, I think Denis Leary not only deserved a much better roast...we all know he could handle it! What I wouldn't give to have "The Queen of Mean" (Lisa L.) up there for just two minutes...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars "I have been a priest for thirty years. I'm not a particularly religious man...", October 3, 2010
By 
H. Bala "Me Too Can Read" (Recently moved back to Carson, California, or as I call it... the center of the universe) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Roast of Denis Leary Uncensored (DVD)
Someone should do a friggin' roast of this friggin' roast. Chances are that this ROAST OF DENIS LEARY (Uncensored) ranks as one of the least appealing comedy roasts ever put out by Comedy Central (thanks, Comedy Central). There was something off about this one. I'm not sure if it's that the roasters just never really hit it out of the park, or that Gina Gershon's vampy serenade to Leary came off as plain awkward, or maybe it's simply not a roast nowadays unless Jeffrey Ross is there smirking on the dais. Maybe it's because Denis Leary is not big enough of a celeb to merit making fun of, but then how do you explain the goodness that was Bob Saget's roast? Anyway, as you might guess, the roasters take turns riffing on Denis Leary's Quaker State ads, his angry comedian persona, and his iffy choices in his film career.

Jeff Garland is the evening festivity's Roastmaster, and he brings the funny the same way the Ebola Virus brought the funny. Lots of the speakers never bothered to show up in person. So we get underwhelming taped pieces from folks like Joe Mantegna, Christopher Walken, Rene Russo, Michael J. Fox, and Peter Gallagher. Kiefer Sutherland and Elizabeth Hurley sit by Leary's side, and they bring Hollywood glamour but they don't get to talk (which isn't so bad). Dr. Dre & Ed Lover do show up, and so we do get a good jab directed at Liz Hurley's companion. And maybe it's that there are too many in-jokes and too much reminiscing, but some of the chit chat from Denis' closer pals lost me. And I guess there's nothing like a photo slideshow to make Denis' rebuttal seem really off the cuff.

But in a roster riddled with professional comedians, not everyone can possibly suck. There are occasional chuckles induced by Colin Quinn, Adam Ferrara, Nick DiPaolo, Jon Stewart, and Conan O'Brien. Gilbert Godfried is laugh out loud funny as the ranting voice of Denis' pet Irish Wolfhound, Clancy, and Don Gavin is awesome posing as Leary's priest. For the final act, Jim Breuer belts out an edgier, hard-rockier version of Leary's ""I'm an @--hole" song. So there are some redeeming values.

The DVD's bonus stuff includes Denis' rebuttal (uncut); red carpet outtakes, two of which feature Gilbert Godfried; Dr. Dre & Ed Lover's uncut movie segment (which is only marginally longer than what we see in the feature presentation); an unaired and pretty humorous footage of Patrice Oneal portraying American Idol's Ruben Studdard with a lousy attitude; and three Comedy Central quickies: "Sleeping Aid" (from CHappelle's Show); "Attacked by Monkey" (Crank Yankers); and "Smoking is Bad, MMMkay?" (South Park).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ehh., July 10, 2012
By 
Rowan (Pensacola, Florida) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Roast of Denis Leary Uncensored (DVD)
Now I am a huge Dennis Leary fan, and a huge fan of Roasts, however this one left me wanting. When I watch a roast I expect to be in pain for 1 to 2 hours from laughing so hard. I did laugh, but only during parts of this video. It is rather bad that the funniest moments were during the Priest's speach. If you have the money to burn, go ahead, but if not, look for something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Meh! it was ok, not great, But ok, July 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Roast of Denis Leary Uncensored (DVD)
It had its moments , but not nearly as funny as I was hoping. Will kill some time if your really bored.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Denis uncensored, October 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Roast of Denis Leary Uncensored (DVD)
Love this guy, he can make me laugh just by standing still and being himself. Just a natural funny guy who observes humanity and still can laugh about it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Denis Leary Review, March 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Roast of Denis Leary Uncensored (DVD)
What can I say, Denis is hilarious and hits the nail on the head with the state of society today. He's as in tune to America as was George Carlin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Roast of Denis Leary Uncensored
Roast of Denis Leary Uncensored by John Fortenberry (DVD - 2004)
$14.98 $6.34
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.