Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roberto Clemente: Pride of the Pittsburgh Pirates and PR
A well-written, almost poetically spare introduction to the life of Roberto Clemente. Starts with his life of poverty in Puerto Rico to his climb to the top of the major leagues. Ends with Mr. Clemente's untimely death in an airplane crash when he was transporting relief supplies to earthquake victims. Illustrations capture the feel of the times and experiences as well as...
Published on March 18, 2005 by K. Roman

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
I was disappointed because I was unaware it was a children's book. I had bought it as a gift for an adult.
Published 4 months ago by Gail Hathaway Audet


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roberto Clemente: Pride of the Pittsburgh Pirates and PR, March 18, 2005
A well-written, almost poetically spare introduction to the life of Roberto Clemente. Starts with his life of poverty in Puerto Rico to his climb to the top of the major leagues. Ends with Mr. Clemente's untimely death in an airplane crash when he was transporting relief supplies to earthquake victims. Illustrations capture the feel of the times and experiences as well as the excitement of the sports action. This excellent picture book will introduce another generation to a real hero. Karen Woodworth Roman, Librarians.info
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational - makes a great gift, December 16, 2009
By 
This review is from: Roberto Clemente: Pride of the Pittsburgh Pirates (Paperback)
My son's grandma gave this book to him. They are both huge baseball fans and Roberto Clemente is her hero. It's a wonderful book, and perfect as a gift. The artwork is beautiful and the story is well-done. It's a great, inspirational biography for first-fourth graders to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book!, July 22, 2008
This review is from: Roberto Clemente: Pride of the Pittsburgh Pirates (Paperback)
This is a wonderful book. This book is great for all ages. The book deals with many issues which are important for children to start dealing with. The book also stirs a love for the game. I highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars history about local hero, June 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great children's book about great athlete who was a greater human being. You should share this story with as many children as possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gift for a friend, April 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My Grandson received this book for his third birthday and was always asking to have it read to him. My son's friend is involved with a baseball team and has a child interested in baseball and this book was purchased for Her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Roberto, January 4, 2012
By 
Eugenie V. Myers "Genie V." (Crystal River, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Roberto Clemente: Pride of the Pittsburgh Pirates (Paperback)
I ordered this for my grandson who is a sports nut. He has been reading about "names" he's heard about and wants to learn about their lives, especially in whatever their sport is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what you did not know, July 9, 2006
I enjoyed it cause I found out more about Roberto Clemente.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, May 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Roberto Clemente: Pride of the Pittsburgh Pirates (Paperback)
I was disappointed because I was unaware it was a children's book. I had bought it as a gift for an adult.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Roberto Clemente: Pride of the Pittsburgh Pirates
Roberto Clemente: Pride of the Pittsburgh Pirates by Jonah Winter (Paperback - March 4, 2008)
$7.99 $7.08
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.