Customer Reviews


624 Reviews
5 star:
 (268)
4 star:
 (104)
3 star:
 (87)
2 star:
 (55)
1 star:
 (110)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


163 of 182 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Historically inaccurate but still a fun viewing experience..
Over the years, it seems that the Robin Hood saga has been a favorite of sorts for film makers to re-invent, manipulate, and showcase again and again. No doubt due to global appeal and the premise of a hero taking from the rich, giving to the poor, and fighting the good fight.
Of all the Robin Hood films ever produced, it's readily apparent that Prince of Thieves...
Published on June 15, 2003 by Kyle Tolle

versus
47 of 53 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor blu-ray transfer
I love the movie, but this is just another Warner Brothers standard DVD transfer. Says 1080p HD on the case, but it is just barely better than original DVD. Not even close to being on par with newer blu-ray DVD's. Save your money and wait for a digitally remastered version in HD. Hang onto your old DVD, I didn't.
Published on October 19, 2010 by S. Woodman


‹ Previous | 1 263 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

163 of 182 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Historically inaccurate but still a fun viewing experience.., June 15, 2003
By 
Kyle Tolle (Phoenix, Arizona USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Over the years, it seems that the Robin Hood saga has been a favorite of sorts for film makers to re-invent, manipulate, and showcase again and again. No doubt due to global appeal and the premise of a hero taking from the rich, giving to the poor, and fighting the good fight.
Of all the Robin Hood films ever produced, it's readily apparent that Prince of Thieves relies less on genuine historical accuracy and leans more toward Hollywood flair which still makes for an entertaining film. Despite using no English accent (which appears to grate on some reviewers for some reason), Kevin Costner presents himself well in the role of Robin Hood. Coupled with fine performances from Morgan Freeman, Alan Rickman, Christian Slater, and Mary Elizabeth Mastrantonio, (to name just a few), the story moves at an exciting pace and hits the mark as a stand up adventure movie that doesn't disappoint.
As for the new 2 disc special edition release of this movie, it just got a whole lot better. Not having to flip the disc over any more to see the entire feature like in the first release, you now have a new digital transfer and a remastered DTS 5.1 soundtrack and both are outstanding. On disc 2 you have great bonus material enhancing the value and enjoyment even further. Included is a decent documentary on the making of Prince of Thieves, Bryan Adams performing his music video of '(Everything I do) I do it for you', an interactive mediaeval weapons gallery, cast and crew bios, production notes, interviews with cast and crew, and trailers and t.v. spots.
You don't really have to be a die-hard Robin Hood fan to enjoy this movie. The film has a few flaws and stretches the historical aspect somewhat but it plays out well with plenty of action, adventure, humor, and fun. This special edition release would be a good addition to any DVD collection and I recommend it to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


82 of 95 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let me straighten some things up...., August 3, 2000
By 
Dana K. Wolcott (Monrovia, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
"Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves" is a rolicking adventure ride that will please most people. If ya can't get past the accents, then miss out on a good movie.
Let me clear a few things up:
1. "Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves" was on a tight production schedule. There were three (count 'em, three) Robin Hood movies being produced at the same time, and the one to come out finished first would be the one released in theatres. One production gave up and backed out. That left two Robin Hood movies - one with Kevin Costner, and one with Patrick Bergen.
2. Because of the tight schedule, Kevin Costner's accent was dropped to be "dubbed over" in post production. They simply didn't have the time to worry about accents if they wanted to get the movie finished.
3. Filming complete, the dubbing was dropped because of lack of time and the movie was finished. "Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves" was released theatre-wide, whereas the Patrick Bergen version was slated for TV.
Now that I have the little niggling thing about accents straightened up, get passed it and watch the movie for what it was intended: pure entertainment.
There is plenty of humor - from Little John's river fighting antics and his wife's bantering, to the Sheriff of Nottingham's humorous frustrations ("why a spoon, cousin, why not an ax" - "Because it's dull, you twit, it will hurt more!"), the viewer is not disappointed. The entire cast was enjoyable to watch, and the costuming was superb. The lush green of the forests (the movie was filmed in the forests of Nottingham - which proved to be a problem - the airport is nearby) is captured wonderfully on film, as well as the forest "homes" Robin Hood and his Merry Men have taken refuge in.
I rather enjoyed this movie because Kevin Costner's Robin Hood was a Robin Hood for the 90's. He was intelligent, witty, and funny, the way we picture him to be. Go ahead: rent the movie and lose yourself in a great adventure flick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 53 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor blu-ray transfer, October 19, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves (Extended Version) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I love the movie, but this is just another Warner Brothers standard DVD transfer. Says 1080p HD on the case, but it is just barely better than original DVD. Not even close to being on par with newer blu-ray DVD's. Save your money and wait for a digitally remastered version in HD. Hang onto your old DVD, I didn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Deceptively re-released DVD, December 10, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought this because the extended edition DVD/blu-ray was disappointing compared to the theatrical release, with key lines of expository dialogue being clumsily cut out, making the newly added footage nonsensical. However, although the packaging for this theatrical edition is new and advertises a new DVD, the DVD is clearly from the awful earlier release. The problems with the old release is that you are inexplicably forced to eject and flip the disc halfway through the film, which is also presented in the horrible non-anamorphic widescreen format- both of these limitations are almost unheard of. The new packaging in this release claims that it is an anamorphic format, and this is the first DVD out of thousands I've purchased that has ever brazenly lied about that. DO NOT BUY THIS DVD. Hope that a theatrical edition of the film is eventually released with a decent transfer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Big let down...., September 11, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves (Extended Version) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
A big fan of the theatrical release. I wish both versions of the movie were on the disc. Sometimes these movies are edited well from the start and that has been the case with this movie. It wears a little long and has some pacing issues that the original did not. Some of the edited scenes drastically effect the movie and I felt in a very negative way. I have the original version on DVD and will continue to watch it rather than this one. On top of that their is very little in extras on the bluray. Just some different commentaries. So its a lose lose for me. Its a shame too. I wanted the original film only in better quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Robin Hood Prince Of Thieves, July 16, 2003
A Kid's Review
I was at [local store] one day and saw the extended Robin Hood DVD on sale. I decided to buy it. I thought that I liked all the swordplay, action, fantasy tales. I have to tell you. It was a great buy! It was only [$$] for such a great extended movie.
Plot - Our famous Robin Hood is in a Jerusalem prison. He escapes with a moor, Azeem (Morgan Freeman), and his friend, Peter. Peter doesn't make it, but wants Robin to promise that he will protect his sister, Marion. Robin agrees and finds his way home with Azeem. They discover Robin's father dead and their servant blinded. The Sheriff of Nottingham (Alan Rickman, who is perfect in the role) killed Robin's father and is doing horrible deeds to the poor people in the area. Robin and Azeem end up in Sherwood Forest and meet its occupants, including John Little and Will Scarlett. They all team up and decide to fight back against the Sheriff. (94/100)
Acting - A lot of people hate how Kevin Costner speaks in this movie. I really didn't notice a change in his voice at all. So it didn't really bother me! I thought Kevin did well as Robin. Christian Slater and Alan Rickman were the two who stole the movie. Christian was great as the mysterious and confusing Will Scarlett. Alan Rickman was hilarious and nasty as the Sheriff. They both were great and should have deserved great credit for their positions. Also, there is a short cameo by Sean Connery. (96/100)
Action and Violence - There is a lot of action and violence in this movie. It could have been rated R. There is a lot of swordplay, arrows being fired into faces, fist fights, and blood. I think any action man would like this movie. Notable Action Scenes : Overrun By Celts, Fiery Assault, Cheating The Hangman, Storming The Castle, and Final Duel. To check out these scenes, buy the DVD and access them through Scene Selection. (95/100)
Sexual Themes - There are some sexual themes in this story. There is a scene where Marion is about to be raped from the Sheriff. Also, Robin swims around nude under a waterfall. So there is some sexual content. I don't really think it was needed though. (89/100)
The Two Discs and The Extended Version - The extended version is very good. It explains a lot more about the Sheriff. There is also some action put into some places. It is worth the money.
The extended version comes with two discs. Thankfully, you didn't have to "turn the disc over" to watch the "whole" movie. So I was happy that I could just watch the whole feature film on one disc. The other discs are loaded with extras. There is commentaries, documentaries, making of features, galleries, trailers, and more.
Extended Version (98/100) The Two Discs (94/100)
Overall, this movie is very well done. It is very good and worth the money to buy. Don't get the original disc. It isn't worth it! Just buy this. It has tons of action, romance, some comedy, beautiful sets and landscapes, and just an all around great feel to it.
Overall - 94 A
The extended version is supposedly UNRATED.
UNRATED for strong violence, action, sexual themes, and brief strong language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 36 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Horrible DVD!!!!!, March 4, 2001
By A Customer
This DVD defeats the purpose of DVD. The disk is single layered, meaning that at this movies length they (Warner Brothers) couldn't fit the whole movie on one side of the disk. You have to flip the disk over mid-film!!
Granted it is not the end of the world but it is an inconvenience that a DVD need not have. A DVD is capable of containing two layers per side. Each layer can roughly hold about 2 1/4 hours of high-quality video, audio and subtitles. So, then, each side of a DVD is capable of storing over 4 hours of footage. This means that each DVD can have over 8 hours of material.
Longer movies like "Brave Heart" can fit on one side of a DVD and still have space for a "Making of..." Documentary and lot more Bells & Whistles then offered here.
I have gone over every symbol and every line of text on the package and find no warning of the "Mid-film Flip". Because of this I am not going to buy another Warner Brothers DVD.
If I can not trust the company then my money will go elsewhere, and I suggest you do the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 1 Star for the DVD, 3 Stars for the Movie, June 10, 2001
By 
J. Northern (MO United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The movie is ok for what it is. Thursday night entertainment. You get one film format and the extras are the same on both sides of the disk. PLUS you MUST turn over the disk to VIEW the entire movie! If I had known that I would not have bought the DVD. I do not recommend the DVD. Do like a previous review suggested and buy it on VHS if you must have it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A plea to film directors!, January 30, 2005
Original Theatrical Release gets 5 stars.

The New Extended Release gets 3 stars.

I have a simple plea to film directors. PLEASE STOP TURNING OUT DIRECTOR CUTS when you release older films out on DVD.

Case in point Robin Hood : Prince of Thieves. The original cut was one of my favorite films of all time. I love this movie but now with the additional deleted scenes put back into the film my love for it has dwindle. Through out the original cut of the film there were winks and nods to certain elements in the film like the Sherrif being raised by a witch. The additional scenes that further explains the Sherrif's background turns the movie from an old time action adventure into a campy cartoon. Also there is a scene where a little girl goes to Morgan Freeman, who plays Robin's Moorish companion from the Crusades, and asks why did God paint him. In the original cut Freeman explains with some charm and a smile and the scene cuts away but in this extended edition the holier than thou fryar marches in and confronts Freeman. I do realize the extended scene was to further set up the differences between the two men and religions so to make it more meaningful when the come together to fight tyrany but I have to say in the end the dialogue is forced and it feels a bit like a lecture being acted out. The editor of the original theatrical version of this film was wise to cut that scene short.

True the clarity of the digital transfer is much better than the previous DVD release (which was the theatrical version)and its nice that I don't have to flip the disc over to watch the second half of the movie but it matters little when dealing with the horrible alterations done to this film.

I'm sure this is part of a Warner Bros marketting ploy; continually ruining their film franchises all to make a few extra dollars. Milk the buyer for all its worth. First offer a dvd of the original release that has a lousy video and audio transfer. Second offer a special edition dvd that offers better quality but also a version of the film that is not what audiences fell in love with and then lastly (hopefully) release a dvd that is the original theatrical release, with superior quality, and extras. Well I say forget them. I'm going back to my crappy old dvd. The video may look comparable to an old vhs tape but atleast its the Robin Hood I know and love to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent movie: Best version of Robin Hood yet to be seen, October 3, 1999
By A Customer
This is one of my absolute favorite movies of all time. The action, the adventure, and the romance were both thrilling and touching respectively. It includes an excellent cast...with Alan Rickman who did an outstanding job as the Sheriff of Nottingham you love to hate, Kevin Costner as the hunky Robin Hood (ok so his accent was bad...he was still really good in this role)Morgan Freeman as Azim: Robin's Moorish friend from the crusades, and Mary Elizabeth Mastrantonio as the lovely Maid Marian. If you love movies packed with action, heroics and a touch of romance I strongly urge you to purchase this title! Bryan Adam's lovely song "Everything I Do I Do It For You" also adds another wonderful element to this awesome movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 263 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves (Extended Version) [Blu-ray]
$14.98 $10.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.