Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$49.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 19, 2007
Gold Crest created a real winner in its imaginative 1984 "Robin of Sherwood" TV series adaptation of the Robin Hood legend.

The series originally ran for 4 seasons on British TV ... seasons one and two comprise "Part 1" (5 disks) of Acorn Media's DVD collection, and star Michael Praed as Robin of Loxley. Seasons three and four comprise "Part 2" (5 disks) of Acorn's DVD collection, and starred Jason Connery as Robert of Huntington. After wrapping at the end of season 4, the series went into syndication, and was re-aired here in the States in the late 1980's on Showtime ... I was one of the fortunate few who not only knew about the series back then, but also owned a VCR, so I was able to tape it - although the image quality of the masters used by Showtime was depressingly mediocre.

The series went on to develop a small but very loyal cult following. The soulful Celtic-themed music by Clannad (back when they were relatively unknown), the presence of old magic and myths comes to life (Herne the Hunter, Crom Cruac, witchcraft, etc.), and excellent performances by Ray Winstone (Will Scarlet -arguably the best actor on the series), Nickolas Grace (Sheriff of Nottingham), and Michael Praed (Robin of Loxley) all combined to make for a very enjoyable and nostalgic series. It just worked.

Now, here we are 20 years later, and at long last, this little known cult series has been re-released on high-quality DVDs (hooray !), so that it can be seen and enjoyed anew - not just by it's original fans, but by a new generation of viewers as well.

Recommended.
22 comments| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 2, 2007
Though I missed Michael Praed as Robin in the Hood, Jason did a remarkable job taking over. I wasn't a big Judi Trott fan but the writing and the filming were excellent. The best of the Robin Hood legends that I have ever seen. The stories are interesting, the humor is great, I still remember lines from these shows after all these years. I was very happy when Set 1 came out, but watching that made me want Set 2, so I was happy to know that it followed shortly.
The filming stays to period and they did not scrimp on sets and extras. The cast is great and very believable.
What more can I say, than what I already have, the BEST of all the Robin Hood movies/series.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2007
I am thrilled to learn that this remarkable show is going to be available on DVD. Both versions, the first starring Michael Praed and the second starring Jason Connery were [in my opinion] the most authentic [looking] of any made to date.

I recently purchased Season 1 and was afraid that I would never see the final chapters available on DVD on this side of the Atlantic.

Waiting till October is going to be very difficult.
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2015
Finally could get rid of my old VHS copies of this show and replace them with DVDs of Sets 1 and 2. Set 1 revolves around Michael Praed as Robin Hood, a peasant who is picked by Herne the Hunter, Lord of the Forest, to be his champion of justice for the downtrodden people of Nottingham. I won't give it away, but Set 2 stars another man as Robin Hood, this time the son of an Earl (played by Jason Connery, the son of Sean Connery). Part of the Set shows how Robin's Merry Men need to get used to another Robin, as well as his love, Marion. The Sheriff and Sir Guy are still wonderful (and funny, at times) foils for Robin and there is much magic and sword fighting and archery, often with pagan overtones.

Highly recommended set. Very well done for a TV show and only a bit dated looking at times.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 20, 2014
"Robin of Sherwood" is my all time favorite Robin Hood series! Although, the first series with Michael Praed as Robin was the absolute best, Jason Connery does a great job as Robin in series 2. If you are a true Robin Hood fan as I am, I think this a definite series for you to consider; be sure to consider buying both of the series, with Michael Praed and Jason Connery as Robin, on DVD. It is very true to how life was at that time with living in the castle, and the English countryside. The characters are portrayed very well by each of the actors chosen for their roles. I highly recommend this series.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The two best known Robin hood legends are the tales of common born defender of the People, Robin of Loxley, and those of Nobleman turned Heroic Wolf's head, Robert of Huntingdon. This great series incorporated both. This set picks up with Robert of Huntingdon(Jason Connery) becoming the new "Hooded Man". Robert is at first apprehensive about taking on the Mantle of Robin Hood, but soon proves himself a worthy successor to Loxley. By the end of the second episode, everyone calls him "Robin" instead of Robert, and it's back to business as usual, robbing the rich, giving to the poor, and generally making life miserable for the Sheriff, and Sir Guy(continuing to be brilliantly played by Nickolas Grace, and Robert Addie, respectively - all the cast is great, but those two guys have incredible chemistry, and tend to steal just about every scene they're in!) As is the case with set 1, the Blu-Ray picture and sound are a noticeable step up from the DVD version, and well worth upgrading to. I did notice that this set seems to sport a touch more grain than set 1, but again, it's FILM grain, not compression artifacts. I highly recommend this set!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2016
I saw this series through Armed Forces TV while in Germany in the late 80's. I have been trying to find it for a while but I did not know the name. I think the music makes it so much better that it actually is. I have remembered the music for 30 years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2014
Really, this show in the first two seasons, with Michael Praed, was absolutely the best Robin Hood there is. When Michael left and Jason Connery came, there were a lot of changes, not just with the lead actor. The stories got more ridiculous. (Really, a clay man terrorizing Sherwood? I can't see that happening during the Michael Praed seasons.) The scripts were less well written. Every episode now someone says "He should have been back by now." Or during an argument someone else says "He's right." And there are episodes that still today, nearly 30 years later, make me think, "What were they thinking when they made this?" BUT with all that being said, it is still Robin of Sherwood. Marion and the Merries are great. They are the definitive Merry Men. There is no better Marion, Little John, Will Scarlett, Much, and Tuck. And of course Nasir--one of the coolest guys ever. Even with it's weaknesses, it's better than most other Robin Hoods out there. Just not as good as the first two seasons.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 31, 2013
Jason Connery (yes, Sean's son) steps in as Hern's son, replacing Michael Praed. All the characters from Set One, except Robin, are back and Robert of Huntington (Connery) must band the group back together to save Marion. A must see for anyone who remembers when the show aired on TV as well as those interested in the legend of Robin Hood.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 25, 2012
Much as we loved Set 1, Set 2 was really enjoyable. The entire series was incredible and the commentaries by Connery & Ryan & Mantle were so good humored they were fun in themselves. The transition of the two Robins was so logical: two completely different actors and two completely different Robins (Robin to Robert to Robin). Each actor was just right for his particular Robin. Plenty of features on both sets and a lot of hours of entertainment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.