Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome vacuum pump!
I have used this pump twice so far, and it works very well. Pulls the system down very quickly due to the large displacement, so it doesn't have to work hard to get the job done. I am using it for automotive ac and that required a different fitting than the one that came on it, also found that on Amazon. The pump comes with a bottle of oil, I did not know this and...
Published on March 23, 2008 by wrench_turner

versus
35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Throw away pump - try finding replacement vanes for Robinair
Works good for a while until the rotary vanes wear out which doesn't take long if you use it every day in the HVAC residential field. The real bummer is that you can't buy the parts to repair it which really bites because it is so easy to replace the vanes inside the pump if you could just buy them. Sure you can buy the whole pump cartridge for nearly as much as the whole...
Published on August 8, 2010 by Terry Graham


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Throw away pump - try finding replacement vanes for Robinair, August 8, 2010
By 
This review is from: Robinair (15600) CoolTech Vacuum Pump - 2-Stage, 6 CFM (Automotive)
Works good for a while until the rotary vanes wear out which doesn't take long if you use it every day in the HVAC residential field. The real bummer is that you can't buy the parts to repair it which really bites because it is so easy to replace the vanes inside the pump if you could just buy them. Sure you can buy the whole pump cartridge for nearly as much as the whole pump but why would you want to do that. You can find other parts such as the handle and stuff like that but not the vanes which are the main thing that wears out. We are only buying Yellow Jacket now and the only reason is the fact that Yellow Jacket does sell the vanes. So for $40.00 we can easily repair the pump and have it working like new instead of starting over and buying new. If it wasn't for the parts issue we would give it 5 stars because it works as good as any other pump we have seen. If you don't believe us about the vane issue then search online for Robinair vanes and call around to see if you can find them. The yellow jacket vanes can be ordered from any place that sells the pumps. If you want a throw away pump this is for you. If you want a pump that you easily repair then get the Yellow Jacket.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Maybe mine was just a lemon., June 9, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Robinair (15600) CoolTech Vacuum Pump - 2-Stage, 6 CFM (Automotive)
I have one of these "punks" (cross between pump and junk with emphasis on junk). The second time I used it it started making lots of noise. I estimate I have used it about six hours now and have taken it apart to see what was wrong with it. It has a broken second stage vane and I can't find any place to get one. Robinair does not seem to offer any parts for what they refer to as the "module", which is the pumping section. They will sell you a new module for 250 some dollars.
Or you can ship the entire thing to one of their few service centers and let them repair it. Haven't checked the cost of that, but am betting their fees plus two way shipping would not be less than $250. All for a part that should cost no more than $2.00 and I am perfectly capable of replacing myself. As I say in the title, maybe mine was just a lemon, but I will never buy another Robinair tool of any kind!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome vacuum pump!, March 23, 2008
By 
wrench_turner (Concord, NC United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Robinair (15600) CoolTech Vacuum Pump - 2-Stage, 6 CFM (Automotive)
I have used this pump twice so far, and it works very well. Pulls the system down very quickly due to the large displacement, so it doesn't have to work hard to get the job done. I am using it for automotive ac and that required a different fitting than the one that came on it, also found that on Amazon. The pump comes with a bottle of oil, I did not know this and ordered a bottle of oil, still not a bad idea as you should change the oil often for best performance.

This pump is still serving me well and running strong!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware of warranty coverage!, September 22, 2008
By 
This review is from: Robinair (15600) CoolTech Vacuum Pump - 2-Stage, 6 CFM (Automotive)
I bought 15600 pump here on Amazon. I haven't even used it yet and it leaked oil all over the floor. It appears the shaft seal is defective. BE VERY AWARE! Robinair WILL NOT cover the one year warranty if you bought it on Amazon. If you already bought one here, cross you fingers. I will never buy something like this again on Amazon. Sorry...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Robinair pump is excellent, April 9, 2009
By 
This review is from: Robinair (15600) CoolTech Vacuum Pump - 2-Stage, 6 CFM (Automotive)
I purchased the pump for a vacuum bag operation. It is working well with no problems even though the frame in the vacuum press system has leaks! The pump arrived ready for use and started immediately once the oil (included) was added ... no mess, no fuss.

I tapped the handle exhaust to accept a 1/2" NPT fitting so that I can direct the oil mist (caused by leaking vacuum frame) to an outside area (used a 1/2" air hose) until the frame is fixed. Works excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Vacuum Pump For Moldmaking and Casting - Highly Recommended, October 13, 2009
We use the Robinair 15600 to apply a vacuum to our 1' sq vacuum chamber used for silicone moldmaking and resin casting business. This is a solid pump and has held up well with daily use.

The 6 CFM capacity was the real selling point, as time is important due to the short work cycle of the materials we use. This pump gets us down to 28.5" in a hurry!

Highly recommended!

CFH
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent vacuum pump, August 29, 2008
This review is from: Robinair (15600) CoolTech Vacuum Pump - 2-Stage, 6 CFM (Automotive)
If you've got more than one car that needs AC service, you need this pump. With some knowledge in automotive AC and a good guage/hose set you'll be able to evacuate, confirm vacuum and recharge the AC system. Amazon's price for this pump is a really good deal and it performs quite well. I was able to maintain a vacuum of 3 bars for hours. Save youself a load of cash by doing the labor and ride in comfort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great pump for the money, September 25, 2011
This review is from: Robinair (15600) CoolTech Vacuum Pump - 2-Stage, 6 CFM (Automotive)
I've had this same vacuumn pump since about 2004 and it has served me well in my auto ac repair business. It pulls down quickly. I paid about $330 for it back in 2004.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Vacuum Pump For Moldmaking and Casting, September 25, 2008
This review is from: Robinair (15600) CoolTech Vacuum Pump - 2-Stage, 6 CFM (Automotive)
We use the Robinair 15600 to apply a vacuum to our 1' sq vacuum chamber used for silicone moldmaking and resin casting business. This is a solid pump and has held up well with daily use.

The 6 CFM capacity was the real selling point, as time is important due to the short work cycle of the materials we use. This pump gets us down to 28.5" in a hurry!

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best vacuum pump on market, December 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Robinair (15600) CoolTech Vacuum Pump - 2-Stage, 6 CFM (Automotive)
I have been using Robinair for as long as I have been in the a/c business over 34 years, they are rebuildable and super reliable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Robinair (15600) CoolTech Vacuum Pump - 2-Stage, 6 CFM
$536.95 $316.51
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.