Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


79 of 88 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Lovingly Assembled And Comprehensive Reissue--Classic Anime Gets A Deluxe Treatment
The beloved anime classic "Robotech" was certainly one of the earliest and most influential imports to hit U.S. television in the mid-eighties. Many attribute its success to helping launch an entire industry. The complete collection of eighty-five episodes has been released many times through the years with increasingly confusing titles and varying degrees of quality...
Published on September 30, 2011 by K. Harris

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyed the first seaon in this collection.
The first season of the Robotech series was just fantastic in my opinion. The subsequent season were not quite as good as the first, though the story overall through the entire series was pretty good. I just found some of the characters in the episodes following the first season to be whiny and just annoying. The character development of these characters was just poor...
Published 16 months ago by RIP


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

79 of 88 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Lovingly Assembled And Comprehensive Reissue--Classic Anime Gets A Deluxe Treatment, September 30, 2011
This review is from: Robotech: The Complete Original Series (DVD)
The beloved anime classic "Robotech" was certainly one of the earliest and most influential imports to hit U.S. television in the mid-eighties. Many attribute its success to helping launch an entire industry. The complete collection of eighty-five episodes has been released many times through the years with increasingly confusing titles and varying degrees of quality. But I'm pleased to report that this reissue is NOT just some slapdash repackage haphazardly arranged for a quick buck! No, this is one of the most lovingly recreated box sets that you're likely to encounter. And this series and its fans really deserve it! The designers worked closely with original "Robotech" producer Harmony Gold to present the episodes in a new re-mastered quality and with countless original special features. In terms of visual quality, this ranks as the crispest presentation of the franchise that I've ever seen--although keep in mind, it is a classic series that will never look as pristine as its contemporary counterparts have the potential of being. Without a doubt, this is an easy recommendation for fans discovering the series for the first time. If, however, you own previous versions--the upgrade is essential only in how invested you are in the extras (which I will speak to shortly). I will say that the Complete Collection is a 17 disc limited edition with 4 discs (individually cased and in an outer slipcase)--one for each of the three segments of the series, one for special features. In all, there are over ten hours of optional features.

Obviously, I will not dissect the plot of the entire show--but I do want to include some information for a new generation of viewers. A true epic told in three distinct parts, this tale begins with the discovery of an alien spacecraft and the impressive technology it presents. Using this information, Earth is able to construct a mechanized army using advanced robotics that will arm them against the potential alien threat. A mysterious power source (protoculture) is at stake and the invaders will not relent until it is theirs. Told in three successive stories, this is classic mecha anime, great action and riveting drama. If you think the Transformers are cool, I'd suggest this is actually much better! "Robotech" was technically brought together from three separate anime series, but Harmony Gold brilliantly assembled them into consecutive generations of the same story. For reference sake, there is the Macross Saga (First Robotech War with 36 episodes), the Robotech Masters (Second Robotech War with 24 episodes), and the New Generation (Third Robotech War with 25 episodes). Any of these will hold up on their own (and they are being released separately as well--without the 4 bonus discs of extras) but the series achieves its true genius in its entirety.

What makes this an incredible new edition, besides print quality, is the abundance of extra material. While (as of 9/30/11) this information is listed with the product description, I will highlight my favorites in case the product description eventually merges with previous releases (as happens often here) and becomes more confusing to potential collectors.

Exclusive Features NEW to this set: Making of Robotech documentary (terrific for true fans), Robotech Music Videos (fun if not essential), Robotech Overview (surprisingly informative), Alternate versions of several episodes (another great feature for fans), Robotech: The Movie supplementals (didn't really care), Macross Original Pilot (great bonus), Promotional Reel about China Launch (didn't really care). In addition to all this new material, some noteworthy returning features include deleted scenes, The Sentinels, original pilots, and original animation as well as other press related and promotional features.

Again, if you already own "Robotech," this double dip is only necessary based on how valuable you think the extra content will be. I loved the comprehensiveness of this new version and the loving detail used to reconstruct all these great features. If you've never taken the "Robotech" plunge, however, now is the time! An awesome and important series with a box set befitting its classic status. KGHarris, 9/11.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Woth Buying Again?, June 25, 2012
By 
This review is from: Robotech: The Complete Original Series (DVD)
Some of you do not own a Robotech box set. For you, I would say, "Get this, its the best of the various Box Sets that have been released." For those of you who already own one, the question is more complex.

There are some differences between this box set and ones that came before. First, new and improved opening/credit sequences, with a distinctive credit sequence for each of the three sagas. It looks good. I'm a hardcore Robotech fan, and even I can admit that this is an improvement. Also, the sound has been re-done. A lot of the sound effects are more in line with the original (and I do mean original) airing of the series in '85. If you watched the series when it first aired, you may have noticed that the DVDs seemed slightly different from what you remembered watching it on TV. That is because the original airing was done so soon after the completion of the series that the audio was not the "final" version. Actually, when the series was re-run on TV even in the '80s, it had the final audio in it, which was different from the initial airing. Many fans say they liked the original, which emphasized the effects over the music, among other things. This box set is closer to the original airing, and if you own the older dvd versions, you can compare and definitely tell the difference. Personally, I like the new audio.

For those of you who are holding out for a Blu-Ray version, dont. Harmony Gold has said that this version is about as restored as it is possible to do with the footage. It just isn't going to get any better, and the benefit of putting it on Blu-Ray is negligable, especially for the cost. They are very happy with the price range, and want to keep it in the impulse buy area. Blu-Ray is not in the cards, at least not any time soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Robotech, August 30, 2011
This review is from: Robotech: The Complete Original Series (DVD)
I thought I'd leave a 5 Star review to balance out the one below.

Look, it's unlikely we're going to get the entire show redone to Blu Ray standards. Even if we could, it'd still be in the 4:3 presentation. So if Harmony Gold released a Blu Ray edition, it would essentially be the DVDs on Blu Ray - now that would be ripping off the public.

This release is simply to keep the show stocked for new fans, completists or old fans that need to replace the discs.

As a Robotech fan who lived for years and years with incomplete releases (The Perfect Collection from Streamline comes to mind or the mind blowing 2 episodes per tape FHE release [that was a rip off], Sci Fi played the show, but they also edited it to fit in more commercials, I could go on), I still kind of marvel at how effective robotech.com has been at unifying the fan base and keeping the show in the market.

Lord knows, the 90s were dark times...

So be careful what you wish for. Robotech has a large fan base, but it's nothing like Transformers (to use another 80s tv animation). If this show doesn't make constant efforts to stay fresh and make new fans, it'll basically disappear again.

With no new content down the pipeline (that we really know about, I'm not counting the movie, which I don't think will ever be made, Maguire just bought the rights cause it was there to be bought, but I digress...), Robotech may be on the endangered species list (again) soon. It's come back from near death quite a few times, but it's never taken over the market in the way it so deserves, or in a manner that guarantees its prominence 10, 20, 30 years into the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Unjustly Maligned Classic, July 7, 2012
This review is from: Robotech: The Complete Original Series (DVD)
I watched Robotech in its original VHF/cable incarnation back in the 80's and, as such, I have given a lot of thought regarding how to lay out my views. Much has been written regarding the origins of the show, how it was done by Carl Macek as a cobbling together of three unrelated Japanese shows, and there are some die-hard opinions on both sides of the fence about how this show should be remembered and rated. Within the context of this review, my personal opinion should be taken as just that, an opinion, and when deciding whether or not to watch, a variety of opinions should be sought. That disclaimer out of the way, here are my two cents.

This is one of my all time favorite series because of the story it weaves together. The Macross Saga was by far the strongest of the three as it sets up the rest of the series. The Robotech Masters lacked a compelling narrative until the end and, given the time skip of 15 years between Macross and Masters, too much thought must be put into placing events and people into the greater story. The final series, The New Generation, does an admirable job filling in the blanks left by The Robotech Masters, tying together elements of all three series into a coherent ending.

Compared to some of its contemporaries, the English voice-acting was far superior, with guys like Tony Oliver and Cam Clarke lending their talents to the show. The dialogue itself is not terribly riveting, but it was the 80's, and anyone who lived through that decade will understand; if you didn't, find someone who did so you do not feel left out. Also, fans of old-school Gundam may be pleasantly surprised at the quality of the space battles, keeping in mind the difference in theme between the series.

I could go one for several pages but, in the spirit of brevity, I recommend this series to any anime fan if for no other reason than the viewer may form their own opinion. I will not say that any sort of religious experience will come from watching Robotech, but it is a phenomenal show with a high "watch-again" factor. There is no denying its place in the pantheon of anime history, good or bad. If you keep in mind that judging Robotech against today's standard makes as much sense as the tired argument of "which football generation was the toughest", much enjoyment will be had from watching this landmark show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Set- But, December 13, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Robotech: The Complete Original Series (DVD)
I bough this set, and love it. A trip to the past for me, and worth every penny. Quality is excellent. Only one minor point-

Season 2 is a bit different than I remember from childhood, it repeatedly shows a nearly complete nude view of Dana Sterling in the shower many times over. Fine by me. But if you have a curious 10 year old boy in the house? Just be aware that adult content does find it's way into this cartoon series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Badass, April 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Robotech: The Complete Original Series (DVD)
This anime has excellent storytelling and character development. It is a little old and silly. Robotech is a must have for mecha fans as its better than many of the Gundam series with more heart. It is also completely badass in scope and action. The transforming vehicles, space setting, aliens, and energy weapons are epic. The sound mix is impressive with lots of great recorded effects and explosions. The video quality is what you'd expect for something made for tv in the 80s but the color saturation and contrast is generally good. $35 for 17 discs is no reason to pass this show up. If you are sick of today's bizarre anime with weak characters, try something from the past and check out Robotech!!! You might get pretty far into into it or come back to it someday. Not the best anime out there, but a good TV show I think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great trip back to the Robotech Universe, December 16, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Robotech: The Complete Original Series (DVD)
This is a great reissue of a classic series. The sound and picture quality is great for an old series and the set comes with some great new extras for the hardcore Robotech fan. You get the original 85 episodes of the series of course, plus the usual interviews and alternative scene extras. For the Robotech fan though, you also get the only three episodes produced of Robotech II: The Sentinels as well as Robotech: The Movie. The Sentinels was release previously but this is the first dvd release of the long lost Robotech: The Movie so this is a must for any fan. The only disappointing item for this is that there is no new anime in the movie. Its cuts of Southern Cross with new dialogue mapped over it. The price for this set can't be beat for everything you get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, January 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Robotech: The Complete Original Series (DVD)
For some time I wanted to have the whole series of Robotech. Why? Because it's a great series, for its time was a breakthrough, and has nothing to envy to the new cartoons, it's great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT MEMORIES, January 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Robotech: The Complete Original Series (DVD)
I loved the original cartoons as a kid and my wife decided to get this for me as a little surprise and I absolutely love it! Such a treat to relive such a wonderful time of my life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grew Up With Robotech, December 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Robotech: The Complete Original Series (DVD)
I grew up watching Robotech, when I saw the DVD set I had to have it! Been bringing back childhood memories ever since! It's an older anime from 1985, so it's not as 'sharply done' as some newer anime series out there, but it does stand the test of time for enjoyment when watching it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Robotech: The Complete Original Series
Robotech: The Complete Original Series by Robert V. Barron (DVD - 2011)
$99.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.