Customer Reviews


513 Reviews
5 star:
 (318)
4 star:
 (98)
3 star:
 (54)
2 star:
 (22)
1 star:
 (21)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just fantastic
Animation is a hot genre these days, thanks to the phenomenal success of Pixar's multi-million dollar blockbusters "Toy Story," "Monsters, Inc," and "Finding Nemo," and DreamWorks' "Shrek." These studio giants have opened the door for other, smaller companies like Blue Sky Studios to release innovative and high-quality movies, such as their first film, "Ice Age" in 2002,...
Published on July 3, 2005 by Dan

versus
9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I laughed, but was a tad disappointed...
I adore Robin Williams in most things he appears in, but this little movie was not up to his usual standards, and that disappoitned me.

In fact, I was expecting to watch a show along the lines of Cars or Monsters, Inc. and this one was nowhere near as good as they were. However, the being said, it IS a good little movie.

One of the things I noticed...
Published on September 10, 2006 by Michelle (Michy) Devon


‹ Previous | 1 252 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just fantastic, July 3, 2005
By 
This review is from: Robots (Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
Animation is a hot genre these days, thanks to the phenomenal success of Pixar's multi-million dollar blockbusters "Toy Story," "Monsters, Inc," and "Finding Nemo," and DreamWorks' "Shrek." These studio giants have opened the door for other, smaller companies like Blue Sky Studios to release innovative and high-quality movies, such as their first film, "Ice Age" in 2002, and their new, more ambitious endeavor, "Robots."

Visually, "Robots" is stunning, both in the look of the world and the creativity of its inner workings. The colors are vivid and the setup is ripe with potential for visual gags. The first half hour of the film is especially entertaining, beginning with Rodney's "delivery" as a baby. In the robot world, babies are delivered in boxes and are put together like children's toys at Christmas.

The characters, led by an all-star cast of distinctive voices, are fun too, especially Broadbent's deliciously evil Madame Gasket and Williams's high-energy Fender, though I thought Williams could have been given more screen time and more freedom to improvise.

The film's only weak spot, if you can call it that, is in its overzealousness to please. At times, there are so many visual elements, action sequences and gags going on at once, it feels as though we have no time to breathe. But, I applaud the creators for their passion for the project. I'd much rather see a studio go too far with its enthusiasm than not far enough. The film's storyline, too, could have been a bit more complex, but kids will love it, and parents will appreciate the complexity of the visual world in exchange for what it might be lacking in story. Overall, this film is a joy to watch, primarily because its cup runneth over with creativity and delight. It's obvious the creators put a lot of time and soul into it, and it paid off-- in spades.

It's exciting, too, to see this level of animation coming more frequently to the big screen. Pixar sparked a new interest in animation with its release of "Toy Story" in 1995, and has bred an entire generation of animation lovers over the past decade with its subsequent blockbusters. This trend, in turn, has given companies like Blue Sky Studios, Fox, DreamWorks, and others an audience hungry for more of what they have to offer - and they are only too happy to deliver.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Incredible Than The Incredibles!, March 15, 2005
By 
Chalice "Jessica" (Bloomington, IL, Land of the Corn) - See all my reviews
Don't listen to the lame people saying they thought it was too noisy, or stupid. Personally, I hate how on Amazon, adults, complain how much they despise kid movies. Folks, they're for kids. You're opinion doesn't matter and shouldn't be taken into consideration. This movie is amazing. I am 16, and still considered a kid in most standards, and I thought it was simply mind-boggling. It was funny, heartfelt, and exhilerating. This is the story of Rodney, an inventor, who leaves his beloved parents to go to Robot City to pursue his dreams. There he befriends a delightful cast of miscreants and discovered he must save the greatest robot of all, Big Weld, to save his father and their world. Ewan McGregor and Robin Williams were wonderful as were all the other voice actors. This movie has you laughing every other second. This is the most imaginative movie I've seen in a long while. If you want to inspire your kids to hold onto their dreams and be creative, then this is the movie for you. Believe me, you won't regret spending $7 to spend 90 minutes with Rodney, Fender, and the crew. It's worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, June 25, 2013
This review is from: Robots (Amazon Instant Video)
Have seen this movie multiple times now and it doesn't seem to get old.

Yes, there may be some humor for older kids and plenty of fart jokes, but life goes on.

It's good enough that adults don't have to leave the room.

http://www.kids-in-mind.com/r/robots.htm

"3 scatological terms (3 mild references to flatulence and feces), 4 mild anatomical terms (keester, butt, tuchus), 1 implied anatomical term, a robot says "Grow some bolts," 3 mild obscenities (screwed, heck, dang), insults and name-calling (idiot, stupid, moron)."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 52 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Ice Age, but still quite funny, May 9, 2005
As reviewers, it's natural for us to compare an artist's work to his/her previous album, movie, book, etc. In this case, it becomes "natural" to compare "Robots" to the previous animated hit by Fox, "Ice Age". If we do this, "Robots" comes out lacking against its frozen predecessor. It is not as novel in terms of its intent and also the script is not as powerful (perhaps because it's also tougher to relate to inanimate beings such as robots, than it is to relate to animals or humans). But still, it is a funny (though predictable) movie, with touching moments and plenty of excitement all through it. I particularly enjoyed the ride that Rodney is put through when he arrives in Robot City, in order to get to the headquarters of Big Weld, where he dreams of working.

The humor can be argued to be more adult-oriented, but still with proper supervision, I totally see it being fit for children. The fact that our 18-month old was jumping out of his seat halfway through the movie is more the result of him being hyper than the movie not being fit for children. Now I admit this is no "Finding Nemo" (which keeps him entertained all through it, time and again). So, bottom line, while not as good as or innovative as "Ice Age" and without a very powerful storyline and groundbreaking animation as "Nemo" got us used to, "Robots" is still a funny movie worth checking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let your dream come true., September 30, 2005
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Robots (Full Screen Edition) (DVD)
I liked the movie Robots becuse I thought it tought a lesson.The lesson is that you can be what ever you want to be if you stick your mind on it and never give up. If someone is in the way of your dream push them away and try to do as you wish. If someone that you know didn't know how to get their dream to come true help them and see if it comes true after you helped them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the money, this is a great movie., September 6, 2005
This review is from: Robots (Full Screen Edition) (DVD)
In my opinion and from what i read to, this is one of the greatest achivments in Computer-Animated Comedys.

A young robot named Rodny Copperbottom (Ewan McGregor), dreams of meeting Bigweld (Mel Brooks), a very populor inventor in the robot world, and representnig his own invention to him.

But when rodny gets kicked out of Bigwelds place, because he is outdated, Rodny finds himself with street robots that are outdated to, and whose parts aren't sold anymore. these robots are my favorite charichters in the movie, because they are so colerful, when they have upon them Fender (Robin Williams), a robot that is literally falling apart, and helps Rodny on his way to find Bigweld when he mysteriously disapperes. and of course a moviel like this (or any movie, anyway) wouldn't be right without it's villians, Ratchet (Greg Kinnear), a sleek uptadetd Robot that is determined to make sure Bigweld stays well out of his way so that he can take over his factory, and Maddam Gasket (Jim Broadbent)Ratchets evil mother who will do anything to get herself and her son in to power.

i saw this movie at the theater and i pre orded this item, the second i heard it was available, and if your convinced by the good reviews i advise you to buy this movie, i hope you enjoy the movie as much as i did, it sure gave me some laughs.

PS. the soundtrack for this movie is great to, its available on itunes if you have an ipod.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesomely funny, June 28, 2005
This review is from: Robots (Full Screen Edition) (DVD)
The thing I like best about robots is its originality. You keep seeing new computer animated movies coming out and they're either copied ideas from previous ones, or they're just plain not funny. Or both. Shark Tale, to name one. The Incredibles had enough action and stuff in it to make up for the lack of belly-shaking humor, but it still could've been better.

Robots has some hilarious sequences in it. Namely, Rodney and Fenders armpit moment, in which everyone in the house joins in *most memorable line* - "Aunt Fanny, we were using our ARMS!!!" Another sequence that made me split was Fender's dance moment. The idea of Robin William's robot wearing a small skirt and dancing is funny enough; combine it with Britney Spears' hit Baby One More Time and you've got serious funniness.

All in all, robots rates right up there with Shrek and Finding Nemo. Every family should own it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really, really liked this, January 22, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Robots (Amazon Instant Video)
I watched this with my 6 and 9 year old and we all loved it. Seriously, the over the top lines are funny. The satire on the fat cats running things, making the robots feel not good enough, but having similarities to the auto industry image sell for their bodies. Genius. It keeps it interesting, has all the right laughs, makes adults think a little, inspires kids to be inventors. I highly recommend this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I laughed, but was a tad disappointed..., September 10, 2006
This review is from: Robots (Full Screen Edition) (DVD)
I adore Robin Williams in most things he appears in, but this little movie was not up to his usual standards, and that disappoitned me.

In fact, I was expecting to watch a show along the lines of Cars or Monsters, Inc. and this one was nowhere near as good as they were. However, the being said, it IS a good little movie.

One of the things I noticed about it that makes it a bit different from other cartoonish type animation movies out right now is that this one had a lot of adult innuendo that the other movies don't have. While a younger child, of say age 3-9 or 10 might not notice it, my son was 11 when he watched it, and he got a lot of the 'adult' innuendo in the jokes. He was slow on the uptake, but on one scene, he turned around and looked at me and said, "Oooohhhh, I GET it now!"

While I liked the movie, and so did my daughter and son, I found myself diappointed in my expectations of what this movie would be about and what it would be like. If you let go of those expectations and realize that this is NOT Monsters, Inc. or Cars, or a Bug's Life, or any of the others like this, you might be able to enjoy the movie for what it is. Otherwise, you'll probably be disappointed too.

I don't recommend the movie for little kids. The only thing about the movie that will appeal to them is the actual animation. Boys ages 10 and up might enjoy it, and teenagers seem to like it because of the innuendo. I wouldn't show this one to a younger child though. It's just not that kind of movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Animated Film for Young & Old Alike, October 2, 2005
This review is from: Robots (Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
The 2005 animated film "Robots", created by Blue Sky Studios and Fox Animation Studios, tells the fictional tale of a young robot named Rodney Copperbottom (voice of Ewan McGregor) who lives in a world populated purely by robots. After he was built and upgraded (often with spare parts) by his parents, he decides to venture from his small town to Robot City where the famed robot Bigweld (voice of Mel Brooks) resides. Rodney, inspired by Bigweld who spends his life inventing and improving parts for robots, has become an inventor himself partly to help his father Herb Copperbottom (voice of Stanley Tucci), who has been a dishwasher for many years and is increasingly in need of repair. However, spare robot parts are becoming increasingly scarce because a greedy robot named Ratchet (voice of Greg Kinnear) and his mother Madame Gasket (voice of Jim Broadbent) took over Bigweld's robotic supply company. Their plan is to replace outdated robots with new sleek models and reap the profits. To do so, they need to melt down as many spare parts as possible to create their sleek new designs. So, many robots run fearfully away as the large collector robots scour Robot City for spare parts that they then take to the furnaces operated by Madame Gasket. In desperation, many outdated robots that are breaking down come to Rodney in hopes of being repaired. Rodney then becomes determined to help them with assistance from an odd assortment of other robots.

With wonderfully rendered computer animation and a wonderful story, "Robots" is a fun and engaging story for both young and old alike. Other interesting characters include Piper (voice of Amanda Bynes), Crank (voice of Drew Carey), Aunt Fanny (voice of Jennifer Coolidge), Fender (voice of Robin Williams) and Lug (voice of Harland Williams). The story for the film (written by Ron Mita, Jim McClain and David Lindsay-Abaire) is possibly an allegory to modern society as demonstrated by it's conveyance of greed and the constant need to upgrade trying to replace a philosophy based upon repair, reuse, recycling and thrift. Overall, I rate "Robots" with 5 out of 5 stars and highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 252 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Robots (Widescreen Edition)
Robots (Widescreen Edition) by Chris Wedge (DVD - 2005)
$14.98 $5.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.