Customer Reviews


116 Reviews
5 star:
 (84)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maiden's best since 'Live After Death'.
Well I must say that I am surprised! 'Rock In Rio' includes great set list, two live cds, extra audio samples from their twelve albums and footage from their up-and-coming 'Rock In Rio' DVD--???? What else can an Iron Maiden fan ask for? The actual live performance is fantanstic and is so much tighter than previous Maiden performances (i.e. 'A Real Live One/A Real Dead...
Published on March 28, 2002 by dokken6008

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Similar To "Brave New World"
This live album is similar to "Brave New World." Specifically, both are far superior to anything produced in the 90s, but that is not saying much. Both albums suffer from too many tedious, over repetitious songs, and "Rock in Rio" tends to get a bit slow in the middle for my taste. Iron Maiden also continues to use a very poor guitarist, despite the...
Published on April 2, 2002


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maiden's best since 'Live After Death'., March 28, 2002
By 
"dokken6008" (somewhere drinking decaffeinated tea.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rock in Rio (Audio CD)
Well I must say that I am surprised! 'Rock In Rio' includes great set list, two live cds, extra audio samples from their twelve albums and footage from their up-and-coming 'Rock In Rio' DVD--???? What else can an Iron Maiden fan ask for? The actual live performance is fantanstic and is so much tighter than previous Maiden performances (i.e. 'A Real Live One/A Real Dead One', 'Live At Donnington' which lacked the energy and synchronisation that we expect from IM). I couldn't tell you what a treat it is to hear Adrian back playing the guitar with Maiden again--with Dave and Janick still there, it is an amazing triple-guitar attack. I couldn't have recieved much of a better birthday present than this; I am really looking foward to the DVD of 'Rock In Rio'. Heck, I don't even think that 'Live After Death' was as good as this. Dickinson's voice is back in top-form, Harris is relentess playing bass, Nicko never misses a beat and everyone sounds great. All metal fans will love this album--buy it if you are a true fan of metal. There are 250,000 people in the audience and they sing-along and roar through it all the way. Listen to "The Clansman" and tell me that that is not an emotional experience. Enjoy.
Peace, bros.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scream for me, BRAZIL!!!!!!!!!!!, May 25, 2005
By 
Richard Terry (Denver, CO United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rock in Rio (Audio CD)
Wow. Imagine being part of the crowd during Iron Maiden's stop to Rio de Janerio for their Brave New World tour. Just think being part of 250,000 screaming brazilians who know every word to every song that Iron Maiden perform. Also imagine Iron Maiden's best live album released since Live After Death. Finally, imagine Bruce Dickinson, the voice of Iron Maiden, back with the band to stay!

Maiden get things going with a bang with the opener, The Wickerman. They continue on with Ghost of the Navigator and Brave New World. The song 2 Minutes to Midnight is breathtaking, along with the song, Blood Brothers. Two of my favorite tracks come from...yes...songs from the two Blaze albums he did with Iron Maiden - The Sign of the Cross and The Clansman. Even though Bruce did not write the material, he performs them with so much emotion and passion. The Evil that Men Do and Fear of the Dark sound equally good. The songs Number of the Beast, Hallowed be thy Name, and Run to the Hills caps off a brilliant live show.

Iron Maiden are my favorite band of all time. This live album is just as good as Live After Death and a great compliment to anyone's metal collection. Maiden continues to make incredible music with their Dance of Death release last year. I was able to see them perform in Los Angeles, CA for their American leg of that tour. It was a beautiful experience. Please buy this album, along with Live After Death!! These are ESSENTIAL to own for Maiden fans! This is NOT to be missed! Purchase the live DVD!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasantly Surprised, March 26, 2002
This review is from: Rock in Rio (Audio CD)
First off, this gets 5 stars because it's Maiden. And they're the best band around, still, after all these years.
Now, I admit I was almost yawning at the thought of 'Yet Another Live Album'. I mean, even Maiden Junkies like me can only have so many live renditions of the SAME OLD SONGS!
Alas, Rock In Rio brings the junkies 8 songs never officially released live (Wicker Man, Ghost, BNW, Blood Brothers, Sign of the Cross, Mercenary, Dream of Mirrors, and The Clansman). Of course, you still get all the regulars just in case you really wanted a 9th live version of NOB to add to your collection!
Listening to this disc brought back all the great memories of this tour. The quality is great, the production is nearly flawless and Bruce's voice holds up well. You can feel the energy here is much better than Maiden's last live offerings (Real Live/Dead One) which were tired, borish and lacking Adrian Smith. A very important piece of the puzzle.
If you like Maiden (and you should) this disc is a can't-miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ...and the band plays on!, April 1, 2002
This review is from: Rock in Rio (Audio CD)
If "Brave New World" wasn't a good enough indication that Maiden is back with a vengeance, I cannot think of a better one than this. I'm sure there will be plenty of argument as to whether or not this album is as good as "Live after Death", so you know what? I'm not even going to discuss it. One thing for sure is that this is certainly their best live album since that one.
What we have here is nearly two hours of excellent live metal. The new album, "Brave New World", is well-represented, with 6 of its 10 songs on here, done to perfection. Many of the old favorites can be found here as well, such as "The Trooper", "Hallowed Be Thy Name", and "The Number of the Beast", and they're as great as ever. Heck, even the Blayze Bailey songs sound great. But really, the only bad thing about them was Blayze, anyway. Hearing Bruce sing "The Clansman" is just awesome. You can just see William Wallace charging across the field, can't you? "Sign of the Cross" is well-made, but that instrumental section is just way too long. Yep, an awesome live album. However, there is one problem. There is NOTHING from "Somewhere in Time" on here! Not one song! How could they not include "Wasted Years", or "Loneliness of the Long Distance Runner"? I was really disappointed about that, but oh well.
Everything that actually is here is perfect. The musicians all play very tight, and Bruce further solidifies his position as one of the top metal vocalists. The crowd is very lively, and you can tell they're having a great time (why are foreign audiences so much more enthusiastic than American ones? What's the matter with us?). And, once again, we have Bruce screaming "Scream for me, Brazil!". Yep, you've heard that before.
This is just what I needed. The best album to come out this year, and one of the best live albums period. I'm sure Megadeth's live album is a good one too, but there's just no comparing it to this. Now all we need is a new studio album.
Up the Irons!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best live album ever!!, July 19, 2002
This review is from: Rock in Rio (Audio CD)
250,000 people. I would call that an astronomical lot of people at any place, at a given time. While all previous live efforts by Maiden suffered a lot in production (esp. the drums), this one excels. Infact, the songs from Brave New World sound so much better live than in studio. Bruce Dickinson wails and shrieks like he used to before. The crowd is more vociferous and full of energy. This is a thoroughly exemplifying performance that proves that rock is indeed not dead...and that heavy metal will always remain the cockroach of rock...omnipotent and eternal.
People who hate this album, as I presume, must belong to the hordes of fans of nu-metal or rock-rap. Here's a message to all you folks who think old-school is dead...FILL A STADIUM FULL OF 250,000 FANS, AND THEN WE'LL TALK!!
Hail the Irons!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I THOUGHT TO MYSELF "BIG DEAL ANOTHER LIVE MAIDEN CD" WRONG!!!! "ROCK IN RIO" BELONGS WITH "LIVE AFTER DEATH" PERFORMANCE WISE., June 13, 2007
This review is from: Rock in Rio (Audio CD)
I have to admit this live Maiden album surprised me at how good it really is. The thing that amazes me is how a crowd of 250,000 people sang along with Bruce and sounds so damn good. Usually when a crowd sings along with a live band performance it totally blows, but with Rio I was totally amazed at how well Bruce and the Maiden pulled this off. Bruce Dickinsons vocals are ripe and blistering. There is alot of "Brave New World" material on this cd, because "Brave New World" was released several months before this January 2001 "Rio" show. "Brave New World" was new and fresh so alot of material from this BNW was played on this Rio cd. The early 1980s songs were performed beautifully. There were also three guitar players on this Rio cd. Believe me Maiden needed three guitar players to pull of some these excellent live song performances. Bruce performs "The Clansman" and "Sign Of The Cross", believe me Bruce sang this Blaze material really well, and actually sounds better than Blaze himself. Whatever Blaze lacked in the vocal range in these two songs Bruce more than adequetly filled in, and it shows when you hear these two songs performed on this "Rio" cd. The only thing that annoyed me, there was no "Wasted Years". After all these years Maiden still got that great live performance magic. I did'nt think Rio would be so good, I have to admitt this Rio cd rocks. Any metal hard or rock fan should own "Rock in Rio" along with "Live After Death"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scrrrrream for me Brazil!!!!, December 6, 2005
This review is from: Rock in Rio (Audio CD)
Holy crap!! With the 2 last great studio albums, Maiden put out another excellent live album. This live album is the proof that the modern Maiden is just good as the 80's Maiden and that even these days they can still crank metal that is actually metal. This live album is easily Maiden's best, even better than 'Live After Death' (which kicked ass as well), and I'll tell you why.

Some reviewers here claim that LAD was better because that had the best tracklist, but c'mon, what do you wan't them to do, to make 5 live albums with the same tracklist?
Other complain that it has nothing from the late 80's albums except for 'The Evil Men That Do', and even this sounds better here. I was surprised to not see 'Wasted Years' or 'Heaven Can Wait' here, but 'Somewhere in Time' is actually my least favorite IM album from the 80's so it doesn't really bother me.
Here you have what the 90's songs lacked, and this is Bruce vocals and Adrian's killer solos. My favorite track here is 'Fear of the Dark', and it is the best version ever made to this song, with Adrian's solo. 'Sign of the Cross' is also much better than the studio version, Blaze sang this well but Bruce did it better.
Most of the early 80's songs sound better on LAD with the exception of 'Hallowed Be Thy Name' and 'Run to the Hills', because of Bruce vocals, but the still kick here.
There is also 3 guitarists, and believe me, it helps here. And there is also double bass drumming, which wasn't on LAD, and that really helps in tracks like 'Hallowed be thy Name', but this song still sounds at its best in the studio.
There are some songs that sound even better live like those I listed above, but as well 'Blood Brothers', 'Ghost of the Navigator', 'Clansman' and 'Run to the Hills'.
The production is also good, although on LAD it was better but slightly. It's certainly better than the production crap on 'Live at Donington' and 'Real Live Dead One'.
If I have any complaints, it should be as people said, there are too much songs from 'Brave New World', there should be more songs from 'Powerslave' (the best metal album ever, period). The only 2 tracks I was dissapointed with are '2 Minutes to Midnight', and 'Wrathchild', they sound at their best in the studio and here the vocals don't fit the instruments.

If you like live concerts and Maiden and don't have this, get it now. Don't waste your money on Metallica's or Linkin Park's concerts (Metallica has good stuff, but today their concerts just blow), Maiden destroys them live (and LP in the studio, IM can get away without a DJ and millions of synthersizers to enhance their sound).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow... The best live Iron Maiden album??, August 22, 2003
This review is from: Rock in Rio (Audio CD)
This very well may be the best live Iron Maiden album. The contrast between their newer songs ("The Wicker Man," "Sign of the Cross," "The Clansman," etc.) and their older songs "2 Minutes to Midnight," "Wrathchild," "Hallowed Be Thy Name,") is beautiful. The tracklist leaves nothing to be desired, and is all I could have asked for. The performance is incredible. I consider the current lineup of Maiden to be the best they have ever had (Dickinson, Harris, Murray, Smith, Gers, McBrain). The three-guitar attack is brutal!! This album proves that Iron Maiden has successfully updated their sound for the new century, without losing the spirit that made them so good 20 years ago. The production is possibly the heaviest on ANY Maiden album, live or studio. It is an assault on your ears!! I think the best song on here is "The Clansman." I say this because the studio version was just plain boring, but somehow with this new lineup of musicians playing in front of a crowd, the song is mind-blowing!! (They played this when I saw them at Madison Square Garden... the part where he shouts "Freedom!!!" is the greatest thing I have ever experienced.) This album does exactly what a live album should do, and that is make you feel like you're there. Between the great performances and the clear, flawless production, this truly is one of Iron Maiden's greatest releases.
It is great to hear the old songs done with the "updated" band, and it is simply awesome to hear the new ones as well. The 6 songs from the album Brave New World are far superior to their studio versions, I think this is undeniable. In fact, I never really cared for Brave New World that much, but now I love these songs! Possibly the most surprising thing about Rock In Rio is this: Bruce hits the high note in the chorus of "Run to the Hills"!!!!! He has never before done this on a live album, not even on Live After Death! The only other time I've heard him do it is on the studio version. Is his voice actually IMPROVING as he gets older?? Also, he seems more inspired than ever, putting more into his voice than he ever has. He displays a greater range of tonalities and textures than he did 20 years ago! The only problem I have with this album is that Janick Gers stole Adrian Smith's guitar solo on "Hallowed Be Thy Name." Not that Gers is a bad guitarist, but I wanted to hear Adrian do it!! This, however, is a minor flaw, and does not ruin the fact that this is probably the best live Iron Maiden album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Electricity through a speaker . . ., April 11, 2005
This review is from: Rock in Rio (Audio CD)
Tremendous. Dickinson is well north of forty at this point, and gives the absolute best vocal performance I've ever heard. I have 10 live Iron Maiden recordings, spanning more or less their entire existence, and this one may well be peak. Bruce holds every note cleanly and in its entirety in songs like Run to the Hills, which is frequently not well represented at live shows.

In addition, the crowd is absolutely electric, able to be heard nigh as loud as the group during play. I've never heard a more appreciative or enthusiastic audience. It literally gave me goosebumps to hear 150,000 plus letting fly with "TO MIDNIGHT!" Fear of the Dark, often a fantastic live piece, is done justice beyond precedent, with Dickinson working the crowd perfectly and at the most opportune times. There really is a sense that this band has been manipulating audiences for over twenty years; I've never seen or heard it done better.

However, the only drawback is a proliferation of newer tracks, disappointing to those looking forward to hearing songs like "Heaven can Wait" and "Wasted Years." You will feel this show in your bones, the hair on your neck will stand up, you'll feel electricity radiate from your pores when this enormous, frenzied mass screams every last lyric of Maiden's absolute best. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Message to Jannick haters, June 17, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Rock in Rio (Audio CD)
First off I still dont get why so many people dislike Gers. Sure he is a much different kind of guitar player then Adrian, but that doesnt mean he ruined the sound and is a bad guitarist. I think one main problem people have with Gers is that he is very jumpy on stage, which can lead to some fair cheesyness I suppose, but that doesnt mean he needs to be kicked out, trust me Gers is what get the crowds going, compared to Smith especially.Myself, have been playing guitar for 15 years now, and Gers is one of my main influences, why? Well because nobody in the world sounds like him, he has the most rawest sound ever for a metal guitarist, and he is a mix of both Murray and Adrian together. He dreads the guitar fast and relentless like murray, then plays very smooth with a melodic style like smith. Most people I know find it hard to believe that Jannick would ever play a nice textured solo because of how wild he is, but its true, he does. Alot of people also say Gers lacks melody, please!! Maiden have had much more melody then ever when Gers came in the project, just listen to the songs off here: Ghost of the Navigator-a very complex song, opens real melodic, then the jamming comes in place fast. Then gers's solo on this song? Huh? A horrible guitarist, not a very good guitarist? Listen to the solo again, and you tell me this guy isnt a good guitarist, and that is just one example of one of the songs songs off this album, like Dream of Mirrors which is perhaps the most complex maiden song ever aside from Sign of the cross. No offense to Smith, but he could only dream to be able to play guitar solos so fast and raw with the bridge like Gers, and dont think I am an adrian hater, I love him about as much as gers, I think I feel more love for gers's playing since he is always criticized.This album is unique, Maiden havent gone in a new direction and will never be in a new direction, so they added some more melody over the years, and started out slower on most of their songs, big deal!! That doesnt mean maiden are soft, in a new direction, or too old. It just means they made their music more complex then before in the 80's. Also why do people think the band is keeping gers if he is such a horrid guitarist? Come on, if gers was such a bad guitarist then he wouldnt be with maiden now would he?
The first person to leave the band if it came to it would be smith, since he was lucky to being able to rejoin the band in the first place, of course I hope that never happens either. Gers might change some of his solo work around live, but that is ok, his solos are very complex to play, trust me. Try playing Ghost of the Navigator, The clansman, or any other song with his solos, tell me these arent complex solos. I also think one reason why gers is also to have said to be out of tune, flat, or lack of melody, is because he has a very raw sound. That doesnt mean he is in any of those errors, like I said he just has a raw sound, and it is very unique, some metal heads will have to just get into it more, while others should just fall in love with it instantly. Maybe if gers would be a little more calmer when playing on stage, then maybe he wouldnt be criticized by most people, however I dont mind it, he does what he does, and best too, and like smith said about gers on a practice guitar vid I saw, when he was describing the differences of Murray's playing as well as Gers, " Gers isnt afraid to play the guitar and plays the hell out of it, the way it should be played"
Jannick haters please give him more of a chance. UP THE IRONS!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Rock in Rio
Rock in Rio by Iron Maiden (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.