Industrial-Sized Deals Shop Men's Hightops Learn more nav_sap_plcc_6M_fly_beacon Cecile McLorin Salvant Shop all Back to School $5 Off Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Shop Popular Services hog hog hog  Amazon Echo Starting at $99 Kindle Voyage Nintendo Digital Games Shop Back to School with Amazon Back to School with Amazon Outdoor Recreation Deal of the Day

Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Live
Format: DVDChange
Price:$29.69+Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

150 of 152 people found the following review helpful
on November 5, 2009
While Time Life is selling a 9 disc set, this 3 disc package gives you the best bang for your buck. Over 40 performances of once in a lifetime combinations of classic rock and roll artists. I think most everyone will find the track listing helpful:

DVD 1
[1] Mick Jagger Inducts The Beatles 1988
Mick Jagger, Bruce Springsteen And The Rock Hall Jam Band (1988) I Saw Her Standing There
[2] Cream Acceptance Speech 1993
Cream (1993) Sunshine Of Your Love
[3] Bruce Springsteen Inducts Roy Orbison 1987
Roy Orbison With Bruce Springsteen And The Rock Hall Jam Band (1987) Oh, Pretty Woman
[4] Creedence Clearwater Revival Acceptance Speech 1993
John Fogerty & Friends (1993) Green River
[5] Eddie Vedder Inducts The Doors 1993
The Doors With Eddie Vedder (1993) Light My Fire
[6] Tom Petty Inducts Buffalo Springfield 1997
Crosby, Stills & Nash With Tom Petty (1997) For What It's Worth
[7] Phil Lesh And Mickey Hart Induct Jefferson Airplane 1996
Jefferson Airplane (1996) Volunteers
[8] Santana Acceptance Speech 1998
Santana With Peter Green (1998) Black Magic Woman
[9] Crosby, Stills & Nash Acceptance Speech 1997
Crosby, Stills & Nash With James Taylor And Emmylou Harris (1997) Teach Your Children
[10] Jackson Browne Acceptance Speech 2004
Jackson Browne (2004) Running On Empty
[11] Eric Clapton Inducts The Band 1994
The Band With Eric Clapton (1994) The Weight
[12] Bruce Springsteen Acceptance Speech 1999
Bruce Springsteen & The E Street Band (1999) The Promised Land
[13] Olivia And Dhani Harrison Accept for George Harrison 2004
Tom Petty, Jeff Lynne, Steve Winwood And Dhani Harrison (2004) Handle With Care
[14] Tom Petty, Jeff Lynne, Steve Winwood, Dhani Harrison And Prince (2004) While My Guitar Gently Weeps
[15] Paul McCartney Acceptance Speech 1999
Paul McCartney And The Rock Hall Jam Band (1999) Let It Be

BONUS MATERIAL
INDUCTION SPEECHES
1) Paul McCartney Inducts John Lennon 1994
2) Bruce Springsteen Inducts Jackson Browne 2004
3) Elton John Inducts The Beach Boys 1988
4) Jann Wenner Inducts Sex Pistols 2006
5) Pete Townshend Inducts The Rolling Stones 1989

DOCUMENTARY FOOTAGE
1) John Fogerty, Robbie Robertson And Bruce Springsteen Rehearsal, 1993
2) Cream Rehearsal, 1993
3) Mickey Hart, Phil Lesh, Jorma Kaukonen, Jack Casady And Paul Kantner Backstage, 1996
4) Crosby, Stills & Nash Rehearsal And Backstage, 1997
5) The Band And Eric Clapton Rehearsal, 1994

DVD 2
[1] Jackson Browne And Melissa Etheridge (1995) Wake Up Little Susie
The Concert For The Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame
[2] The Rolling Stones Acceptance Speech 1989
Mick Jagger, Bruce Springsteen And The Rock Hall Jam Band (1988) (I Can't Get No) Satisfaction
[3] Mick Jagger, Tina Turner And The Rock Hall Jam Band (1989) Honky Tonk Women
[4] James Taylor (1997) Woodstock A Tribute To Joni Mitchell
[5] James Taylor Inducts Crosby, Stills & Nash 1997
Crosby, Stills & Nash (1997) Wooden Ships
[6] R.E.M. Acceptance Speech 2007
R.E.M. With Eddie Vedder (2007) Man On The Moon
[7] Kid Rock Inducts Aerosmith 2001
Aerosmith With Kid Rock (2001) Sweet Emotion
[8] Keith Richards Inducts ZZ Top 2004
ZZ Top (2004) La Grange
[9] ZZ Top (2004) Tush
[10] AC/DC Acceptance Speech 200
AC/DC (2003) Highway To Hell
[11] Flea Inducts Metallica 2009
Metallica (2009) Master Of Puppets
[12] Bono Inducts Bruce Springsteen 1999
Bruce Springsteen & The E Street Band (1999)
Tenth Avenue Freeze-Out
[13] Bruce Springsteen Inducts U2 2005
U2 (2005) Pride (In The Name Of Love)
[14] Neil Young Inducts The Jimi Hendrix Experience 1992
Neil Young And The Rock Hall Jam Band (1992) All Along The Watchtower A Tribute To Jimi Hendrix

BONUS MATERIAL
INDUCTION SPEECHES
1) Mick Jagger Inducts The Beatles 1988
2) Flea Inducts Metallica 2009
3) Keith Richards Inducts Leo Fender 1992
4) James Taylor Inducts Crosby, Stills & Nash 1997
5) Paul McCartney Inducts James Taylor 2000
6) Billy Joel Inducts The Righteous Brothers 2003

DOCUMENTARY FOOTAGE
1) James Taylor Rehearsal, 1997
2) Metallica Rehearsal, 2009

DVD 3
[1] The Who And The Rock Hall Jam Band (1990) Won't Get Fooled Again
[2] Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers Acceptance Speech 2002
Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers (2002) American Girl
[3] Kid Rock Inducts Lynyrd Skynyrd 2006
Lynyrd Skynyrd (2006) Sweet Home Alabama
[4] The Righteous Brothers Acceptance Speech 2003
The Righteous Brothers (2003) You've Lost That Lovin' Feelin'
[5] The Byrds Acceptance Speech 1991
The Byrds With Glenn Frey And Jackson Browne (1991)
Turn! Turn! Turn! (To Everything There Is A Season)
[6] The Mamas & The Papas Acceptance Speech 1998
The Mamas & The Papas (1998) California Dreamin'
[7] Cream (1993) Born Under A Bad Sign
[8] Traffic Acceptance Speech 2004
Traffic (2004) Dear Mr. Fantasy
[9] Stevie Nicks And Lindsey Buckingham (1998) Landslide
Fleetwood Mac Acceptance Speech 1998
Fleetwood Mac (1998) Say You Love Me
[10] Dave Grohl And Taylor Hawkins Induct Queen 2001
Queen With Dave Grohl And Taylor Hawkins (2001) Tie Your Mother Down
[11] Ray Charles Inducts Billy Joel 1999
Billy Joel (1999) Only The Good Die Young
[12] The Rolling Stones Acceptance Speech 1989
Mick Jagger And The Rock Hall Jam Band (1989) Start Me Up
[13] Billy Joel Inducts John Mellencamp 200
John Mellencamp (2008) Pink Houses
[14] U2 Acceptance Speech 2005
U2 With Bruce Springsteen (2005) I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For

BONUS MATERIAL
INDUCTION SPEECHES
1) Jakob Dylan Inducts Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers 2002
2) Lou Reed Inducts Dion 1989
3) Dave Matthews Inducts Traffic 2004
4) Ray Charles Inducts Billy Joel 1999
5) Billy Joel Inducts John Mellencamp 2008
6) Kid Rock Inducts Lynyrd Skynyrd 2006
7) Tom Petty and Jeff Lynne Induct George Harrison 2004

DOCUMENTARY FOOTAGE
1) Backstage, 2004
2) Backstage, 2003
3) Lynyrd Skynyrd

I think that all should speak for itself. Play it loud.
99 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
65 of 67 people found the following review helpful
on November 19, 2009
The bottom line is that this 3-disc set is Rock and Roll Heaven for true fans of the form.

Too many magic moments and balls-to-the-wall performances to mention them all, but suffice to say that there are no duds here. Off the top of my head, some major hi-lites include Santana's epic "Black Magic Woman," Metallica's thundering "Master of Puppets," U2 and Springsteen's "I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For," The Doors and Eddie Vedder's mind-blowing "Light My Fire," Prince's over-the-top guitar solo during "While My Guitar Gently Weeps," and... Well, it goes on and on.

Also, let's not forget the many memorable speeches, which range from the poignant (Paul McCartney's "letter" to John Lennon), to the brilliant (Bono's tribute to The Boss, and vice-a-versa), to the hilarious (Pete Townshend roasting the Rolling Stones), to the absurd (Mike Love's scathing crack-up).

So ROCK AND ROLL HALL OF FAME LIVE gets 5 stars for its content, but if I were grading this collection by what it lacks? Well that would be a different story.

For instance:

No Pink Floyd. Wow. Although their induction and performance of Wish You Were Here, with Smashing Pumpkins' Billy Corgan, can be found on the band's fantastic PULSE dvd.

No Led Zeppelin. And even though Page does unleash a fierce solo during a group version of All Along the Watchtower, this is still an unforgivable omission.

No Bob Dylan, except for a completely lame cameo.

No David Bowie. Was he even inducted? Yeesh...

No Police.

No Talking Heads.

You get the picture.

Pretty outrageous stuff, especially when you consider the number of artists who needlessly appear multiple times, like Jagger, Springsteen, U2, Cream, CS&N, and others. All of whom are great, but I would have rathered see as many artists as possible represented.

So if these exclusions bother you, then I understand. But if I'm going to judge this collection for what it is (as opposed to for what it isn't), then it's 5 stars all the way.
99 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
50 of 51 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon November 16, 2009
this could have been great & definitive. i havent played all 9 dvds yet, but am frustrated how years & artists are thrown across multiple discs. like the Beatles performance is on disc 1 & Mick Jagger's induction speech for them is on disc 2. another example, U2s acceptance is on disc 3, but their induction is on disc 2.

& the glaring omission of Led Zeppelin.

& no respect for the Bee Gees. they get severely cut for no good reason. u get 45 secs of Massachusetts & 90 secs of You Should Be Dancing. theyre good enough to be inducted so they should be good enough to be uncut.

there's definitely some bias here. the Pretenders survive the cuts & scattering here the best with their induction, acceptance & 3 songs intact & in order. thats the way the other inductees should have treated here.

but this is what's available to us, so we have no other choice.

so 5 stars for the material minus 2 stars for very poor editing.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
on November 25, 2010
If they had SIMPLY put each year's award show on a DVD of its own and sold it as a boxed set (which is what I THOUGHT I was buying from producers Time/Life), it would have been great. What they did was take a decade's worth of footage and randomly chop it up into a completely disorganized mess. They provide NO index to the material..they don't even NUMBER each DVD so it's impossible to find anything you like. Whoever edited and designed this was a tasteless IDIOT.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
on December 3, 2009
Sloppy, indulgent, and sure not to please everybody, this is the face
of rock and roll in probably the most candid and spontaneous way
most of us are going to see. Most of the good stuff is on the first 3
discs that make up the mass market version, but, this is what you miss: the Dave Clark 5 tribute "Glad All Over" with Joan Jett, John Mellencamp,
John Fogerty and Billy Joel. Ruth Brown with Bonnie Raitt. You have to
be old like me to know Ruth Brown but she was in great voice and
out sung many younger singers in this collection. The Staple Singers with all of its members. Pops Staples so old just glad to be there. "Who'll Stop The Rain" John Fogerty. The Pretenders three song set with Neil Young playing lead on "My City Was Gone." The last disc is the live stadium concert which was surprisingly good but way too short at 52
minutes. Biggest surprise (other than Ruth Brown) was Bon Jovi and
Eric Burdon doing "It's My Life/We Gotta Get Out Of This Place." Burdon looked and sang great. Coolest guitars: Jack Bruce's fretless bass and Chrissie Hynde's metallic Telecaster. Like I said, the best stuff is on the first 3 discs. Crosby, Stills & Nash were the best I've seen in years. Pete Townshed's induction of the Rolling Stones is hilarious.
Biggest complaint: They cut out the funniest moments from Springsteen's induction of U2, which I saw live and was the best speech ever if you got to hear the whole thing. The 9 disc set is for collectors and worth a hundred bucks, but no more than that. Best Buy has an exclusive 4 disc set which is just the first three plus the stadium concert disc, which is the best deal money wise. I am happy with the 9 disc set and will not go on about all the people left out. The Hall Of Fame is a brand and will be around for
some time. More releases are sure to follow.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
on December 7, 2009
For the last 25 years, the Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame has honored the music's most influential figures at prestigious black-tie induction ceremonies where performers and audience alike let down their hair and rejuvenate themselves through exciting, once-in-a-lifetime performances. Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame Live captures all the excitement, from the wise and witty speeches, to the most incredible combinations of talent ever assembled on a single stage. Think you've seen and heard it all before? This unprecedented collection celebrates rock's glorious history like no other video document. You will be blown away. And love every minute of it.

DVD 1
PERFORMANCES:

Mick Jagger, Bruce Springsteen and The Rock Hall Jam Band: I Saw Her Standing There, 1988

Cream: Sunshine Of Your Love, 1993

Roy Orbison with Bruce Springsteen and The Rock Hall Jam Band: Oh, Pretty Woman, 1987

John Fogerty & Friends: Green River, 1993

The Doors with Eddie Vedder: Light My Fire, 1993

Crosby, Stills & Nash with Tom Petty: For What It's Worth, 1997

Jefferson Airplane: Volunteers, 1996

Santana with Peter Green: Black Magic Woman, 1998

Crosby, Stills & Nash with James Taylor and Emmylou Harris: Teach Your Children, 1997

Jackson Browne: Running On Empty, 2004

The Band with Eric Clapton: The Weight, 1994

Bruce Springsteen & The E Street Band: The Promised Land, 1999

Tom Petty, Jeff Lynne, Steve Winwood and Dhani Harrison: Handle With Care, 2004

Tom Petty, Jeff Lynne, Steve Winwood, Dhani Harrison and Prince: While My Guitar Gently Weeps, 2004

Paul McCartney and The Rock Hall Jam Band: Let It Be, 1999

ALSO CONTAINS OVER 90 MINUTES OF BONUS FEATURES, INCLUDING:

Induction and acceptance speeches
Behind-the-scenes footage
Rare, never-before-seen rehearsal footage

DVD 2

PERFORMANCES:

Jackson Browne And Melissa Etheridge: Wake Up Little Susie, 1995

Mick Jagger, Bruce Springsteen and The Rock Hall Jam Band: (I Can't Get No) Satisfaction, 1988

Mick Jagger, Tina Turner and The Rock Hall Jam Band: Honky Tonk Women, 1989

James Taylor: Woodstock (A Tribute To Joni Mitchell), 1997

Crosby, Stills & Nash: Wooden Ships, 1997

R.E.M. with Eddie Vedder: Man on the Moon, 2007

Aerosmith with Kid Rock: Sweet Emotion, 2001

ZZ Top: La Grange, 2004

ZZ Top: Tush, 2004

AC/DC: Highway To Hell, 2003

Metallica: Master Of Puppets, 2009

Bruce Springsteen & The E Street Band: Tenth Avenue Freeze-Out, 1999

U2: Pride (In The Name Of Love), 2005

The Rock Hall Jam Band: All Along The Watchtower (A Tribute To Jimi Hendrix), 1992

ALSO CONTAINS OVER 80 MINUTES OF BONUS FEATURES, INCLUDING:

Induction and acceptance speeches
Behind-the-scenes footage
Rare, never-before-seen rehearsal footage

DVD 3
PERFORMANCES:

The Who and The Rock Hall Jam Band: Won't Get Fooled Again, 1990

Tom Petty And The Heartbreakers: American Girl, 2002

Lynyrd Skynyrd: Sweet Home Alabama, 2006

The Righteous Brothers: You've Lost That Lovin' Feelin', 2003

The Byrds with Don Henley and Jackson Browne: Turn! Turn! Turn! (To Everything There Is A Season), 1991

The Mamas & The Papas: California Dreamin', 1998

Cream: Born Under A Bad Sign, 1993

Traffic: Dear Mr. Fantasy, 2004

Stevie Nicks and Lindsey Buckingham: Landslide, 1998

Fleetwood Mac: Say You Love Me, 1998

Queen with Dave Grohl and Taylor Hawkins: Tie Your Mother Down, 2001

Billy Joel: Only The Good Die Young, 1999

Mick Jagger and The Rock Hall Jam Band: Start Me Up, 1989

John Mellencamp: Pink Houses, 2008

U2 with Bruce Springsteen: I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For, 2005

ALSO CONTAINS OVER 85 MINUTES OF BONUS FEATURES, INCLUDING:

Induction and acceptance speeches
Behind-the-scenes footage
Rare, never-before-seen rehearsal footage

DVD 4
PERFORMANCES:

Jerry Lee Lewis, Chuck Berry and The Rock Hall Jam Band: Roll Over Beethoven, 1986

Little Richard: Tutti-Frutti, 1995

Bo Diddley with Robbie Roberston and Eric Clapton: Bo Diddley, 2005

Eric Clapton with Robbie Robertson: Farther On Up The Road, 2000

Little Richard: (Sittin' On) The Dock Of The Bay, 1989

Tina Turner and The Rock Hall Jam Band: River Deep--Mountain High, 1989

Etta James: At Last, 1993

The Isley Brothers and The Rock Hall Jam Band: Shout , 1992

Chubby Checker and The Rock Hall Jam Band: The Twist, 1986

The Ronettes: Be My Baby, 2007

Little Richard, Mick Jagger and The Rock Hall Jam Band: I Can't Turn You Loose (A Tribute To Otis Redding), 1989

Joan Jett, John Mellencamp,John Fogerty and Billy Joel: Glad All Over (A Tribute To The Dave Clark Five) 2008

The Rascals: People Got To Be Free, 1997

Dave Mason and The Rock Hall Jam Band: Feelin' Alright, 2004

James Taylor and The Rock Hall Jam Band: How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved By You), 2000

Jeff Beck with Jimmy Page: Beck's Bolero, 2009

Kid Rock and The Rock Hall Jam Band: Sweet Little Rock and Roller, 2004

Chuck Berry with Bruce Springsteen & The E Street Band: Johnny B. Goode, 1995

ALSO CONTAINS OVER 80 MINUTES OF BONUS FEATURES, INCLUDING:

Induction and acceptance speeches
Behind-the-scenes footage
Rare, never-before-seen rehearsal footage

DVD 5
PERFORMANCES:

Billy Joel and The Rock Hall Jam Band: What'd I Say (A Tribute To Ray Charles), 1999

Johnny Cash and The Rock Hall Jam Band: Big River, 1992

Ben E. King And The Rock Hall Jam Band: Stand By Me, 1988

Jerry Lee Lewis: Whole Lot Of Shakin' Going On, 2005

Ruth Brown with Bonnie Raitt: Mama He Treats Your Daughter Mean, 1993

John Lee Hooker with Bonnie Raitt: I'm In The Mood, 1991

Buddy Guy with B. B. King and Eric Clapton: Let Me Love You Baby, 2005

Billy Joel with Bonnie Raitt: Runaway (A Tribute To Del Shannon), 1999

Paul McCartney and The Rock Hall Jam Band: Blue Suede Shoes, 1999

John Fogerty & Friends: Born On The Bayou, 1993

The Doors with Eddie Vedder: Break On Through, 1993

Bruce Springsteen & The E Steet Band: Backstreets, 1999

Jeff Beck, Jimmy Page, Ron Wood, Joe Perry, Flea, and Metallica: The Train Kept A-Rollin', 2009

ALSO CONTAINS OVER 100 MINUTES OF BONUS FEATURES, INCLUDING:

Induction and acceptance speeches
Behind-the-scenes footage
Rare, never-before-seen rehearsal footage

DVD 6
PERFORMANCES:

Percy Sledge: When A Man Loves A Woman, 2005

The O'Jays: Love Train, 2005

Jerry Butler: Only The Strong Survive (A Tribute To Gamble & Huff), 2008

Solomon Burke: Cry To Me, 2001

Martha & The Vandellas: Dancing In The Street, 1995

The Four Tops and The Rock Hall Jam Band: I Can't Help Myself, 1990

Booker T. & The MG's and The Rock Hall Jam Band: Green Onions, 1992

Isaac Hayes: Theme From Shaft, 2002

The Staple Singers: I'll Take You There, 1999

Aretha Franklin: Don't Play That Song (A Tribute To Ahmet Ertegun), 2007

Aretha Franklin: I Never Loved A Man (The Way I Love You) (A Tribute To Ahmet Ertegun), 2007

Al Green: Take Me To The River, 1995

Parliament-Funkadelic: Tear The Roof Off The Sucker (Give Up the Funk), 1997

Wilson Pickett with Bruce Springsteen & The E Street Band: In The Midnight Hour, 1999

ALSO CONTAINS OVER 90 MINUTES OF BONUS FEATURES, INCLUDING:

Induction and acceptance speeches
Behind-the-scenes footage
Rare, never-before-seen rehearsal footage

DVD 7
PERFORMANCES:

Green Day: Blitzkrieg Bop, 2002

Blondie: Call Me, 2006

Elvis Costello & The Imposters: (What's So Funny 'Bout) Peace, Love And Understanding, 2003

Bruce Springsteen and Axl Rose: Come Together (A Tribute To John Lennon), 1994

The Doors with Eddie Vedder: Roadhouse Blues, 1993

John Fogerty & Friends: Who'll Stop The Rain, 1993

Cream: Crossroads, 1993

Jackson Browne: The Pretender, 2004

Patti Smith Group: Because The Night, 2007

Patti Smith Group: People Have The Power, 2002

Jonny Lang and Jeff Beck: Be-Bop-A-Lula (A Tribute to Gene Vincent), 1999

Jeff Beck: People Get Ready (A Tribute To Rod Stewart), 1994

ALSO CONTAINS OVER 110 MINUTES OF BONUS FEATURES, INCLUDING:

Induction and acceptance speeches
Behind-the-scenes footage
Rare, never-before-seen rehearsal footage

DVD 8
PERFORMANCES:

The Who and The Rock Hall Jam Band: Substitute, 1990

The Who and The Rock Hall Jam Band: Pinball Wizard, 1990

Melissa Etheridge: Piece Of My Heart (A Tribute To Janis Joplin), 1995

James Taylor: Fire And Rain, 2000

Bee Gees: Massachusetts, 1997

Bee Gees: You Should Be Dancing, 1997

John Mellencamp: Small Town, 2008

Bonnie Raitt with Melissa Etheridge and Bruce Hornsby: Thing Called Love, 2000

The Pretenders: Message Of Love, 2005

The Pretenders: My City Was Gone, 2005

The Pretenders: Precious, 2005

Metallica: Iron Man (A Tribute To Black Sabbath), 2006

Lynyrd Skynyrd: Free Bird, 2006

ALSO CONTAINS OVER 95 MINUTES OF BONUS FEATURES, INCLUDING:

Induction and acceptance speeches
Behind-the-scenes footage
Rare, never-before-seen rehearsal footage

In September 1995, what had been a wild dream for so many became corporeal reality as the Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame finally opened its doors. To celebrate such an august moment, a concert to end all concerts, featuring a Who's Who of rock and rhythm and blues greats, was held at Cleveland's Municipal Stadium. The Concert For The Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame contains eleven of the greatest performances from that day, ranging from the street-smart sounds of Lou Reed and Soul Asylum to the sanctified soul of Al Green. If you were lucky enough to be there, you know how incendiary the concert was. If not, the material on this DVD will blow your mind and send you straight to rock and roll heaven!

DVD 9
PERFORMANCES:

John Mellencamp: R.O.C.K. In The U.S.A.

Eric Burdon and Bon Jovi: It's My Life

Aretha Franklin: (You Make Me Feel Like) A Natural Woman

Lou Reed and Soul Asylum: Sweet Jane

The Allman Brothers Band with Sheryl Crow: Midnight Rider

The Kinks: All Day And All Of The Night

Ann and Nancy Wilson: The Battle Of Evermore

John Fogerty with Booker T. & The MG''s: Fortunate Son

James Brown: I Got You (I Feel Good)

Al Green: Tired Of Being Alone

Al Green: A Change Is Gonna Come
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
37 of 42 people found the following review helpful
on November 13, 2009
Note: It is my understanding that this "special 4 disc edition", is a "Best Buy" Exclusive. I bought mine at "Best Buy". So if you want one, you might have to go to a "Best Buy" to get one.

This package contains 4 discs as follows:
Disc 1: "Light My Fire".
Disc 2: "Sweet Emotion".
Disc 3: "Start Me Up".
Disc 4: "Concert For the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame". (Selected performances).

The 1st 3 discs contain the following:
This is an excellent piece of Rock & Roll History. It shows Inductor Speeches, Inductee Speeches, and Inductee performances. It also contains some excellent collorabtions. It does not include all the inductees, but what is does have is simply outstanding. I think the best colloration was the one with Neil Young, surrounded by a host of guitarists, including Johnny Cash, The Edge, Carlos Santana, John Fogerty & many others, performing "All Along the Watch Tower", it showcases individual guitarists, "solo-ing", at times. Another great collaboration was Mick Jagger & Tina Turner performing "Honky Tonk Women", along with many, many backing singers, guitar players, & etc.

The 4th disc contains the following: Part of the Concert for the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame which was filmed in 1995, in Cleveland's Municipal Stadium, to commenorate the Grand Opening of the Hall of Fame.

The Concert is as followers: (Note: This is not the entire concert, but this is a great excerpt from it.)

1.John Mellencamp R.O.C.K. in the U.S.A.
2.Eric Burdon (from the Animals) and Bon Jovi - It's My Life
3.Aretha Franklin - You Make Me Feel Like a Natural Woman
4.Lou Reed & Soul Asylum - Sweet Jane
5.The Allman Brothers with Sheryl Crow - Midnight Rider
6.The Kinks - All day and all Night
7.Ann & Nancy Wilson - The Battle of Evermore
8.John Fogerty & Booker T. & the M.G.s - Fortunate Son
9.James Brown - I Feel Good
10.Al Green - Tired of Being Alone
11.Al Green - A Change is Gonna Come

Overall, this is a great 4 disc package of Rock & Roll History!!!
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
on December 18, 2009
Five stars are too few. I'd like to give this set 100! This is really a wonderful set, both for us baby boomers and our kids, who get to see and hear the musical icons of the 60s and 70s. And we baby boomers see performances by some of the newer artists, like Metallica, and Eddie Vedder.

The best part of this fabulous set is seeing these musicians induct other musicians and accept induction themselves. They honor their peers, reflect on their work, and share their joys and sorrows, successes and mistakes, and lament over the passing of many of them.

It's sad but joyful to see John Phillips perform with the Mamas and Papas (sans Cass Elliott). And George Harrison, who was inducted both as part of the Beatles and posthumously for his own work, by his widow Olivia and his son Dhani.

Billy Joel, when inducting John Mellencamp, speaks of the possibility becoming a rock icon by dying prematurely. He says, "If we die young we become a rock icon but we also become dead, and what could be worse than becoming fertilizer?"

Ray Charles inducts Billy Joel and thanks the Hall of Fame for including him in the ceremony, yet another poignant moment.

Bruce Springsteen participates in several inductions, one of which is for Ray Orbison. Springsteen tells of how as a child he listened to Orbison's ballads on the radio at night and was so moved he vowed never to speak to a woman again!

There are so many moving performances, among them, the Righteous Brothers singing "You've Lost That Loving Feeling," with string and choral accompaniment, the Byrds singing "Turn, Turn, Turn," and the Who singing "Won't Get Fooled Again." Eric Clapton admits to not having played with Ginger Baker and Jack Bruce for 25 years.

Among others who speak and perform are Creedence Clearwater Revival, Jefferson Airplane, Buffalo Springfield, and Crosby, Stills, and Nash. The Doors do a riveting "Light My Fire" with Ray Manzarek's swirling keyboards, as fantastic as 40 years ago. Eddie Vedder sings, faithful to Jim Morrison's brooding, sensual style.

Mick Jagger makes several appearances, both accepting induction and inducting others. The Stones let loose with Honky Tonk Woman, joined by Tina Turner and other. Jagger, when inducting the Beatles, recalls the rivalry between them and the Stones. He and George Harrison and Bruce Springsteen perform a rousing "I Saw Her Standing There."

As he did in the seventies, Steve Winwood and Traffic sear us with "Dear Mr. Fantasy." His wail is as clear as it was back then. It's as if no time has passed.

Fleetwood Mac, Jackson Browne, Melissa Etheridge, Santana, and the Band appear as well, and carry us back. We may have aged but our music still pierces.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on January 5, 2010
I never thought I'd find myself saying this, but this whole set is worth buying for one selection alone -- and it's the George Harrison tribute of "While My Guitar Gently Weeps" -- with Tom Petty and Jeff Lynne -- with an incendiary guitar performance by a very bad ass Prince. Thing is, I've never been a fan of any of these people (except George/Beatles), nor has the tune ever been a favorite, but the performance -- and the recurring chorus through Prince's solo spot -- is just staggering! The addition of George's son -- who looks a whole lot like his dad -- and even moves like him -- on acoustic guitar, adds a sense of poignancy to the whole affair. I've watched this one over and over.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon November 16, 2009
leaving out Led Zeppelin is like leaving the A out of the alphabet.

my other complaint is inductions are chopped to pieces & thrown across multiple dvds. a prime example is the Stones. Pete Townshend inducts them on Disc 1, Mick accepts on both Discs 2 & 3. His speech with Keith is chopped in both places. why not just have their complete acceptance speech in one place. definitely some butcher did the editing here.

most likely, they'll release a correctly sequenced version probably in the future on Blu-ray & milk consumers for more money. until then we are stucked with this chop suey version.

2 stars for the butchered editing, 4 stars for the material, -1 star for no Zeppelin.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
     
 
Customers who viewed this also viewed

Rock and Roll Hall Of Fame: Legends
Rock and Roll Hall Of Fame: Legends by Chuck Berry (DVD - 2010)
$29.69

The Concert For New York City
The Concert For New York City by Jon Bon Jovi (DVD - 2002)
$17.98
 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.