Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every picture tells a story
The photos that make up "Rock and Roll" take me back to a time when music was allowed to dominate my life - before careers, mortgages, and family forced it to a role of mere coexistence; when the musical giants pictured within were more god than human. And this book does an amazing job of feeding that hero-worship - it's oversized pages make the stars seem bigger than...
Published on October 29, 2007 by Dancin' Homer

versus
0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rock and Rolll Capitalism.. stealing from poor colored to make yourself rich
this is what we have now in america.. I live in a rich white area and all they do is steal whatever ideas I have my life story to make themselves rich the trickle up effect of ronald reagan..

You see this with Bill Moyers and his tax cuts.. closing down libraries and hospitals so he can buy a fourth summer home in tuscany or whatever..

Oprah cutting...
Published 21 months ago by sammy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every picture tells a story, October 29, 2007
By 
Dancin' Homer (New Jersey, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rock and Roll (Hardcover)
The photos that make up "Rock and Roll" take me back to a time when music was allowed to dominate my life - before careers, mortgages, and family forced it to a role of mere coexistence; when the musical giants pictured within were more god than human. And this book does an amazing job of feeding that hero-worship - it's oversized pages make the stars seem bigger than life. However, "Rock and Roll" is more than just a nostalgia trip - Goldsmith's photos show their subjects in settings both familiar and unfamiliar, thereby both re-affirming and contributing to our impressions of them.

Bottom line, this is a very cool book filled with amazing photos that any fan of rock & roll will enjoy.

One of the many artist quotes found inside is from Sting: "It's fun to visit the past, as long as you don't go back permanently." I may not go back permanently, but with this book I will definitely go back frequently!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LYNN GOLDSMITH+ROCK AND ROLL=PHOTOGRAPHIC PERFECTION, October 26, 2007
This review is from: Rock and Roll (Hardcover)
This new large sized coffee table book by the legendary photographer Lynn Goldsmith is beyond superb. From the slick vellum cover with its well-chosen scrawled "rock and roll" font, to the several legendary images within, the book is a true masterpiece and probably one of her best.

Through Lynn's eyes and Iggy Pop's well chosen introductory words, the reader gets a rare glimpse into Lynn's colorful, art filled world of hard rock, blues, punk, pop, rap, beauty, intelligence, blood, sweat and guts. Lynn is all over the place in this book, right there on stage with a sweaty 1978 Mick Jagger, underneath a bloody Sid Vicious, thoughtfully shooting icons like Tom Waits and a young Bruce Springsteen (in very personal moments), to capturing the sex appeal of the early Van Halen and exposing the cool iced grace of Lou Reed. Lynn's ability to try so many kinds of shots and evoke so much raw emotion from her subjects is part of her brilliance and charm. She can even get whimsy out of angry subjects like Roger Daltry and then create iconic, legendary pictures of Frank Zappa, Patti Smith, Grand Funk Railroad, and so many more. Her timing couldn't be better as she always seems to be in the right place at the right time. Whether it's getting a perfect snaggle toothed Johnny Rotten or being right there when Tina Turner is letting it all hang out, Lynn just has her pulse on not only the music, but the places to be when that music is going down.

Lynn, to me, is also far better than most in her league because she is able to work in so many different moods, styles and settings with ease. Her live shots are just incredible, filled with energy and emotion; just see her Bruce and The E Street band shots for a taste, or the fantastic James Brown images. The shows become alive right there on paper. Lynn's studio work is also brilliant. The books filled with noir lighting, bright colorful backdrops, natural light and well-chosen settings. I personally love the studio Dylan shots, you can see her deep admiration for the man in those pictures and the close up shots are just breath taking. I also really love the relationships the pictures have with one another. Shots were well chosen to live side by side in perfect harmony.

Last but not least, besides the great artist commentary towards the end of the book, included in several sections are Lynn's now famous multiple image fold outs where 1000's of images of the artist make up one full sized image...very cool indeed. BUY THIS BOOK!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lynn Goldsmith is brilliant!!, October 8, 2007
This review is from: Rock and Roll (Hardcover)
With Rock and Roll, she again delivers an Artist's styling, a poet's phrasing, and a historian's perspective to her work that makes this a must have companion to PhotoDiary. Lynn provides an insiders view into some of the biggest and most influential names in music. This is more than just a collection of photographs, it's a vivid and compelling travelogue through the broad landscape of contemporary music over the past three (nearly four) decades.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 3, 2014
This review is from: Rock and Roll (Hardcover)
Great book, fast delivery.As advertised! I would buy from them again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I Love Rock and Roll, June 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rock and Roll (Hardcover)
If you're a classic rock fan then you're going to love this book. Its filled cover to cover with awesome photographs (many portrait, many candid), and the "surprise" fold out pages are a work of art unto themselves. The photo pages are void of any written copy so as to not spoil the view, however, the final pages of the book provide you with details and some commentary on every pic. So if you're into rock and roll and appreciate fine photography, don't hesitate..buy the book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely beautiful, January 31, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rock and Roll (Hardcover)
Big, beautiful, thoughtful, startling, one of a kind photographs. More appealing if you were there in the first place. Then her images trigger your own, and so on and so on for a very rich experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, January 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rock and Roll (Hardcover)
Great party book for boomers . . . wonderful photos of the bands with description and details in the back. Fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT!, January 28, 2014
By 
Linda Avila (Greensboro, NC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rock and Roll (Hardcover)
I go this for my daughter and son in law and they loved it. Very informative. Lots of great pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice, January 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rock and Roll (Hardcover)
My husband likes it. The pictures are very well done. I had hoped there would be stories included but that is my fault for not doing more research.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars rock and roll, April 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rock and Roll (Hardcover)
I gave this book as a birthday gift and it was greatly appreciated.
The flashbacks of certain eras that were remembered were priceless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Rock and Roll
Rock and Roll by Lynn Goldsmith (Hardcover - October 1, 2007)
Used & New from: $9.52
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.