Customer Reviews


136 Reviews
5 star:
 (98)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great follow-up to the classic "Destroyer"
THE BAND: Gene Simmons (Gene Klein), Paul Stanley (Stanley Eisen), Ace Frehley (Paul Frehley), Peter Criss (Peter Crisscoula).

THE DISC: Released 11/11/76. Recorded at the Record Plant, NYC. 10 songs clocking in at approximately 34 minutes. A classic album cover - featuring the 4 painted faces in a colorful circle. Originally released on Casablanca Records in...
Published on July 3, 2000 by R. Gorham

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The lost album?
Almost every band seem to have a so called "lost album" and this one might be Kiss lost album.
"Rock and roll over" is a good rock record in general and with hindsight one of Kiss better. This one seem to over looked since it came after "Destroyer" and before "Love gun".
If you're not familiar with Kiss music, this album is as a good start as any other. You get...
Published on January 31, 2003 by L. B. Ivarsson


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great follow-up to the classic "Destroyer", July 3, 2000
This review is from: Rock & Roll Over (Audio CD)
THE BAND: Gene Simmons (Gene Klein), Paul Stanley (Stanley Eisen), Ace Frehley (Paul Frehley), Peter Criss (Peter Crisscoula).

THE DISC: Released 11/11/76. Recorded at the Record Plant, NYC. 10 songs clocking in at approximately 34 minutes. A classic album cover - featuring the 4 painted faces in a colorful circle. Originally released on Casablanca Records in 1975; this remastered edition was released in 1997 on Mercury's label. Much improved sound in my book (deeper bass guitars and crisper highs). Liner notes are slim - a 2 page fold out with song titles, writing credits and times. Underneath the disc on the inside cover, there's an informative 5 paragraph history of what the band was going through at the time.

COMMENTS: Hot off the heels of the platinum "Alive!" and "Destroyer" comes "Rock And Roll Over"... Kiss' 6th album in 3 short years. In my opinion, this is the band's first studio album with absolutely no filler. Song writing credits include 5 from Paul, 4 from Gene, and 1 from Peter. The only thing missing is a song penned from Ace. There's no weird out-of-character tracks like "Great Expectations" (from "Destroyer") or the forthcoming "Then She Kissed Me" throwback (from soon to be released "Love Gun"). This is back to basics rock and roll. Great guitar solo's from Ace (see "Calling Dr. Love" and "I Want You"). Better than average drumming from Peter (not to mention a better than average Peter song in "Baby Driver"). High quality songwriting from Paul. And the typical comic relief and sleaze of scoring babes from Gene. This album, like so many of their releases in the 1970's was extremely short. The longest songs are "Calling Dr. Love" and "Love 'Em And Leave' Em" - both at 3:47 minutes each. Two songs ("Take Me" and "See You In Your Dreams") are under the 3-minute mark. Paul Stanley's "Hard Luck Woman" (sung by Peter) was originally written and to be given to Rod Stewart... it reached #11 on the billboard charts... giving KISS their biggest hit since Peter's ballad "Beth". Though not a big fan of Garth Brooks, the country singer did a good job on his remake of "Hard Luck Woman" on "Kiss My Ass - Classic Kiss Regrooved" (1994). "Rock And Roll Over" features 2 classic not-hit KISS tunes - "Take Me" and Mr. Speed". Kiss has a billion compilations out there, and these 2 songs have only made a few of them. Not to mention perhaps their finest album closer ever, "Makin' Love". Solid album. One of the early classic discs from KISS (4.5 stars).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Such a Jewel in the Rough, November 9, 2005
By 
KingV (United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rock & Roll Over (Audio CD)
This is Peter, Paul, Gene, and Ace at their hard rockin' best. Recorded live in the round and produced by Eddie Kramer this one is full of pure raw energy. I've been listening to this one for over 20 years and I still manage to give it a listen at least once a month. It's just that good. The songwriting is simple and powerful, mostly about fun and good times. Ace displays some of his best lead work during his time in the band on this album. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Their Most Infectious Rocker Since Dressed To Kill, July 27, 2000
By 
Frank R. Schoonover (Niagara Falls, New York USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rock & Roll Over (Audio CD)
During the Destroyer tour,KISS had written ten new songs.As a special treat to their fans,KISS decided to record and release a new album before 1976 ended.Eddie Kramer,their road producer was hired to produce it. Rock and Roll Over was released before the end of 1976. It's sales would equal Destroyer in popularity that it quickly became their second platinum.It even marked some more progression artistically.
Of the songs,two are Pauls(I Want You and Hard Luck Woman).Three are co-written by Paul with Sean Delaney(Take Me,Mr.Speed and Makin' Love) Gene contributes four(Calling Dr. Love,Ladies Room,Love'Em and Leave'Em and See You In Your Dreams).There is also a song written by Peter and Stan Penridge(Baby Driver).The only songs missing are Ace Frehleys(the only '70's KISS album with this distinction).
Kramer gives Rock and Roll Over an edge that was missing from their first two albums.He also helps to deliver their most polished sounding rock since Dressed To Kill(see review).Likewise,the band is at their most infectious.
Lyrically,KISS returns to its true style.In fact,three in particular are their best yet.Hard Luck Woman is Pauls best song and Peter turns in his best vocal effort.Peter also does lead vocal on Baby Driver.This shows Peters vocals are again being put to maximum use.Calling Dr.Love is not only Genes best but his most boldest.In this song,Genes prescription to a lonely,depressed and miserable lady is for her to make love with him.On the other hand,See You In Your Dreams is another one of Genes best.Here,Gene tells a girl to just dream when she goes to sleep and he'll see her then(Gene rerecorded this song for his 1978 solo album).The rest of the songs are also bolder,deeper and much more uninhibited.Of course,Eddie Kramer deserves an A+ for his efforts.His first studio production captures the band in its true rocking spirit.Once again,an A+ for Eddie Kramer.
So fans everywhere.Rock and Roll Over and over again with Rock and Roll Over.No KISS fans library is complete without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ROCK AND ROLL OVER and OVER and OVER!, July 3, 2000
This review is from: Rock & Roll Over (Audio CD)
Buy this, you'll love it you like rock music. Lot's of classics here...Calling Dr. Love, Ladies Room, Hard Luck Woman, Take me. No filler here, just some good ROCK N ROLL! Also buy LOVE GUN and KISS (self-title debut)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roll Over With This Rocker!, June 10, 2002
By 
Brent Evans (Rockhampton, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rock & Roll Over (Audio CD)
After the experimentation with Bob Ezrin on 'Destroyer', it was generally decided to try to capture the feel of 'Alive!' on a studio album. For that they recruited Eddie Kramer (famed producer of Hendrix and the original Kiss demos). Retiring to an unused New York theater, Eddie and the boys produced the second in the the trio of classic studio Kiss albums ('Destroyer' and 'Love Gun' being the other two) . ROCK AND ROLL OVER is a hard rock feast from start to finish with barely enough time left to catch your breath.
I WANT YOU - Starts out acoustic and quiet, then suddenly leaps out and takes hold of you. The fretwork by Ace Frehley sets the tone for the entire album. The Space Ace improves with every album. Paul Stanley's vocals are commanding and the harmony vocals on the chorus shows that someone was paying attention during the 'Destroyer' sessions.
TAKE ME - "Put your hand in my pocket, travel to my rocket . .." If you don't know what Paul is singing about, well it isn't about space travel! Great falsetto answering vocals on the chorus,probably double tracked by Paul.
CALLING DOCTOR LOVE - Starting out as a song called 'Bad,Bad Lovin'', this track has changed into a another musical alter ego of Gene Simmons ('God Of Thunder' being the first.) Ace's axework sounds like a electric surgical tool being operated. I really love Gene's faint groaning answer vocals in the chorus. Sounds even better live!
LADIES ROOM - Gene wants to have a little meet and greet session with you, and where else to stage this little get together than in the 'Ladies Room?'. The vocal harmony work on this album is outstanding, especially on this track.
BABY DRIVER - The Catman's turn to rock out. Peter Criss'"rusty" voice really suits this track and his drumming really pushes the song onward. This is an undiscovered gem in the Kiss catalogue and should be aired more often. I always put this track on in my car when I want to rock!
LOVE 'EM AND LEAVE 'EM - Another lusty tale from dirty 'ol Gene about his favourite hobby . . . WOMEN! The song contains lyrics that were originally in 'Rock'N'Roll All Nite', but never used. "I got a stiff proposition,YEAH!" HAHAHAHAHAHA!
MR SPEED - Just a warning,girls; Paul knows all the tricks and he lets you all know about it in this song. Another great track that should get in a Kiss setlist if there is any justice in the world.
SEE YOU IN YOUR DREAMS - When you're dreaming about Gene, you know you've got it bad. This track has some great call and echo response in the chorus and outro. For the life of me, I can't understand why Gene wanted to redo this track and 'Love 'Em And Leave 'Em' during the sessions for his solo album.
HARD LUCK WOMAN - or Beth Mark II, as some wags like to call it. Legend has it tht Paul intended this song to be given to Rod Stewart. Lucky for all Kiss fans, Peter got his claws into it just in time. Some of Paul best lyric writing can be found here.
MAKIN' LOVE - How about a high energy rocker to end it all off with a bang?! The lyrics make plain what Paul's intentions are. In fact, the subject matter of sex runs through the whole album. Not that there's anything wrong with that! Peter's skinwork in this track is just pure intensity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock And ROLL.... over!, August 19, 2002
This review is from: Rock & Roll Over (Audio CD)
The other make-up era studio album I consider hallowed KISS is their followup to the experimental Destroyer, Rock And Roll Over. It's tighter, harder-edged, more energized, and their closest to metal at that point (Lick It Up was still seven years away). This helped solidify their reputation into the rock and roll pantheon of all-time greats.
The intensity of Ace's guitars and Paul's vocals on "I Want You" and "Take Me" confirm this. Heck, Ace does it again and I've never seen his guitar more hard-edged than on this studio album. The live albums, now that's a different story.
The hard chords ringing out for the intro of "Calling Dr. Love" are classic. Key lyric: "And even though I'm full of sin/in the end you'll let me in." Gee, guess who sings THIS song? And one doesn't have to be Einstein to wonder what "that cure you're thinking of" is.
The lyric "What follows me is my fame" from "Ladies Room" applies to all four members, who had their full share of groupies during their peak days, but most applicably to Gene, who sings this number. Ditto for the hard-driving "Love'Em And Leave'Em" with more great guitar from Ace. The subject is explicit without being raunchy. Gene's clearly in control here rather than the woman mentioned in the song. After all, she's the one who's begging for it. Basically, this album might as well be a musical coffee table album of female conquests. The same topic is explored in Paul's "Mr. Speed," and the relentlessly slamming "Makin' Love."
Peter Criss has two songs here: first up is the hard-rocking "Baby Driver" "Ooh what a rider/push that pedal to the floor" might as well apply to him, as he really lets loose in this song. "Hard Luck Woman" is the sequel to "Beth," and features a nice acoustic guitar. His talent at slower songs would later feature prominently on his first solo album.
"See You In Your Dreams" is faster-paced and thus better here than the version on Gene Simmons' solo album.
Eddie Kramer produced this album and also cut his teeth on their debut album and Alive! and would help them with Love Gun. Small wonder that three out of the four rank high on my list. Rock And Roll Over needs no further elaboration--it features KISS doing what they do best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The lost album?, January 31, 2003
This review is from: Rock & Roll Over (Audio CD)
Almost every band seem to have a so called "lost album" and this one might be Kiss lost album.
"Rock and roll over" is a good rock record in general and with hindsight one of Kiss better. This one seem to over looked since it came after "Destroyer" and before "Love gun".
If you're not familiar with Kiss music, this album is as a good start as any other. You get the hard rocking Kiss in songs like "I want you" and "Makin' love", the soft Kiss in "Hard luck woman". But more, you get to hear rare good tunes like "Mr. speed" and "Baby driver"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to the basics, June 12, 1998
This review is from: Rock & Roll Over (Audio CD)
With the glitz and glamour of DESTROYER behind them, KISS turned to engineering guru Eddie Kramer to get them back to the raw sound that had made them famous. Recorded in a theater-in-the-round atmosphere, ROCK AND ROLL OVER was as close to a live recording as possible with overdubbing held to a minimum. With the gentle acoustic intro to the album's first track, I WANT YOU, KISS unleashes a fury of riff-driven power rock that ignores teenage angst and thrives on a young boy's passion.....women! With catchy hooks and Ace Frehley's scathing Les Paul, bassist Gene Simmons and guitarist Paul Stanley wildy express the joys of rock stardom. Among classic such as CALLING DOCTOR LOVE and HARD LUCK WOMAN are such overlooked gems such as LOVE 'EM LEAVE 'EM, TAKE ME, and Stanley's all-time sleeper, MR SPEED. If you are unfamiliar with KISS, this is the album to buy. Unfortunately incorrectly labled as a Heavy Metal Band, KISS is and always will be the hottest ROCK band in the world.....ENJOY!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as it gets for KISS..., June 21, 2000
By 
This review is from: Rock & Roll Over (Audio CD)
I received my first copy of this record when i was 10 years old so it holds a special place in my heart. This was also the first taste of kiss i had owned. My friend had brought over a 45 with Detroit rock city and Beth on the other side. WE had seen posters of the group and were intrigued by the mystery of the group. Who were these guys and what did they sound like. We heard Detroit rock city and it was the sound we had been looking for. Something that was heavy and kicked. So i got rock n roll all over and loved everything about it. This album has everything that's great about KISS from the furious passion of I want you to the all out assault of calling dr.love which features ace playing one of his most smoking guitar solos. Ladies room has a great groove and humourous lyrics that present raunch with innuendo rather than in your face obviousness. Mr.speed is one the coolest rock tunes with paul strutting his stuff and telling the ladies what they need. Love em' leave em' is a great rocker with one of ace's most inventive and tasteful solos. Hard luck woman is a acoustic song with peter on vocals and fits musically in the same mould as rod stewarts maggie may. A great song. The rest of the album is just as solid. People have a tendency to judge something by the outer appearence so they dismiss kiss from the get go but there's alot to this package. This album was made in 1976 and yet it still sounds fresh because kiss meant what they played.
Lyrics don't have to be complex to be great...Simplicity can be just as rewarding. Kiss wrote about good times,women,heartbreak,lust, bliss,and standing for what you believe in. I am 31 and i still have love for this band. I guess it's because they made growing up a little bit easier with their mystery and the good feeling i got from their music. I can also feel the true love that kiss has expressed and showed to their fans. This is the real thing. Do yourself a favor and get this cd...you wont be let down. It's a classic. Hey GENE,PAUL,ACE,AND PETER....I LOVE YOU GUYS. Keep rockin' guys!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Close Second Right After "Alive!"...., November 26, 2003
By 
"The Woj" (Downers Grove, IL) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rock & Roll Over (Audio CD)
Although the songwriting is not up to par with previous 4 studio albums, "R N'R Over" is far and away the best "sounding" studio album from Kiss's glory years (thanks to producer Eddie Kramer). Having been remastered, it has never sounded better. I always wondered what the first three "original" albums (all very un-produced in my opinion) & "Destroyer" would have sounded like if they had Kramer at the helm (of course we "sorta" know because he produced the less than live masterpiece "Alive!"). Anyway, this is the "studio" album where Ace's guitar finally begin to shine. His solo on "Makin' Love" is a flat out classic. Frehley rips off a great solo in nearly every track (unlike "Destroyer" where Ace's guitar is M.I.A. on several tracks). The key to this albums success, it sounds as fresh today as it did back in the 70's. So if you already own "Alive!" make this your second Kiss purchase...to bad you won't get those cool album cover stickers I got back in the 70's with my vinyl copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.