Automotive Holiday Deals Books Holiday Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_plcc_6M_fly_beacon Adele egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Gifts Under $50 Amazon Gift Card Offer bf15 bf15 bf15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $30 Off Fire HD 6 Kindle Black Friday Deals Outdoor Deals on DOTD

Format: Audio CDChange
Price:$10.74+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

49 of 53 people found the following review helpful
on February 22, 2011
If you don't like this one, then you don't REALLY like rock'n'roll, blues or jazz or you have have been living under a rock for too long... even if you don't like this jazzy, swingy, rockabilly, bluesy style, I guarantee this music will be a success at almost any party for young folks as well as older folks and that is hard to do...

Les Paul was the Guitar God who also invented many of the recording techniques and music technologies that are still important to the entire world today... He deserves to be a bigger legacy than most people know... I had the privilege to meet Les and hang out with him briefly for one evening about 20 years ago and his charisma and professionalism just knocked me out. This music here is a GREAT way to honor the man!!! It captures a lot of his spirit and the soul that he streamed in his artistry and musical dialogues --- Jeff Beck definitely summoned his spirit and I bet that the presence of Les Paul was really felt by the artists and audiences here as the music just exudes heavenly vibrations and really connects to another dimension....

I have always loved Jeff Beck... I saw him and the Yardbirds (with Jimmy Page) in the 60's and I loved his guitar style and the music from this band alot --- I loved his style 20 years ago but I think he is now better than ever... He is a musician's musician but highly charismatic to almost anyone who will give his music a couple of listens...

I literally wore out my Jeff Beck Beckola and Truth vinyl albums from the later 60's that had Rod Stewart singing great blues and with a band that included other legends like John Paul Jones and with guest appearances by Jimmy Page I believe... those albums really rocked and Jeff Beck evolved into one of the truly innovative guitar artists of the 20th Century and now the 21st Century... His style of eloquent jazz rock fusion is something else... I love Clapton, Page, Bonamassa, BB King, Django Reinhart, Muddy Waters, Howling Wolf and a few other Jazz, Blues, Rock Guitarists, but I sincerely believe Jeff Beck has risen to the top of them all... just check out his Live at Ronny Scott's recording and Video and also some of his earlier solo work... if you are a musician, you will really appreciate his music projects, but if you just like good rock n' roll, this album is soooo--- good for any one that wants to rock out or listen to party music fun!... This may be the most accessible Jeff Beck music for the global audience of any recordings that Jeff has put out in his lifetime...

Imelda May who sings lead on quite a few tunes is drop dead smokin' perfect for this project!!!! I really love her authentic take on How High the Moon, Sitting on Top of the World, Bye Bye Blues, Vaya Con Dios and the other Les Paul tunes and certainly she has few tricks up sleeves in terms of her approach for this project on all songs she sings which is really cool!!!... she really captures Les Paul's wife Mary Ford in spirit and Imelda is just a knockout singer period.... get her CDs too if you like this album (i.e. Johnny Got a Boom Boom is truly a song that will stick in your memory)... The other guests including Brian Setzer, Darrel Higham, Gary US Bonds and Trombone Shorty are just fantastic and the mix of artists and the tunes selected is just perfect!!!!

WELL DONE PRODUCTION TEAM!!!! Great Band and Guests, Great Song Choices, Great Live Recording --- THANK YOU JEFF!!!

I saw the PBS special and had to get the CD when it came out and I couldn't stop listening to this music the moment the CD arrived from Amazon (I also ordered the Blue Ray) ...and I believe there is some music on the CD not seen on the Video --- i.e. The Train It Kept A Rolling which the Yardbirds with Jeff Beck did way back in the 1960's (The band Aerosmith and Led Zepplin amongst others copied this song but IMO the Yardbirds version with Jeff Beck and the Yardbirds really did the song justice and to hear Jeff play it again here on this CD is a real treat....

If you want to Boogie to something really good, get this music and expect to move your feet and/or feel the songs in your soul!

44 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
24 of 30 people found the following review helpful
on February 23, 2011
If you scroll, on down the Amazon Products, or do a search for the deluxe edition, for this Jeff Beck CD, you'll find, a special, deluxe, limited edition 2 CD set, which includes 8 bonus songs from another, live performance, at the Grammy Hall of Fame. These are sold by Amazon, "3rd Party", sellers. Just thought that would be helpful. The Special Deluxe, Limited Edition, is only available for a limited time, and is destined to become a genuine "collector's item". Thanks!!!!

Also another option is: if you buy the Amazon 1 CD version, along with Amazon's "Jeff Beck's Live at The Grammy Museum" CD, you'll have the basically the exact same thing, that was the "Deluxe, limited, edition. Because the extra bonus CD, on the 2 CD Deluxe Edition, 8 performances live from the Grammy Hall of Fame, contains the exact same 8 live performances, on the "Jeff Beck Live From the Grammy Hall of Fame CD". However, it will not be a genuine "collector's item", like the 2CD Deluxe Limited Edition, version. I hope this has been helpful. Thanks!!!
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
on February 22, 2011
w special guest Trombone Shorty (rocking on Peter Gunn) - just an excellent concert - very tight band - interesting tonal experiments from Jeff, Imelda May's vocal are hot and swingin' - Leo Green, former Van Morrison sax player scorches, the sonic levels of the recording are great, it's like you're there!

Smokin' to say the least.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on March 26, 2011
This is a very enjoyable disc with lots of high energy and upbeat classic tunes spanning a golden era in pop/rock.
Jeff Beck acquits himself more than adequately of paying homage to Les Paul's legacy and some of the classic songs from the rock and roll era. Also great to hear the old Yardbirds Chestnut, "Train Kept A Rolling" getting a rare live outing. Listening to this CD is like stepping back to 50's or the early 60's, and evoking a bygone golden era.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on February 26, 2011
Just had to get my two cents in on this one. Jeff Beck is one incredible musician; his casual virtuosity blows me away. Imelda is also awesome and I recommend her Love Tattoo as well. But,God Almighty, the playing on this disc just blows me away.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on March 1, 2011
It is amazing how well Jeff Beck always reinvents himself, always full of surprises, always on the ball! Awesome album!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on September 12, 2012
First saw this broadcast on PBS and had to have it to listen to again. I've always liked Jeff Beck but he always seemed to go off on some cosmic journey at some point in his rifts. In this performance he stays pretty grounded and the supporting cast are top notch. Great show!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on March 16, 2011
I have listened to a lot of Jeff Beck. This album has clean distorted guitar sound. Nice vocals and reminiscent of Stray Cats. But definitely Jeff Beck in styling.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 24, 2011
You're walking by a smoky, rundown dive bar. You know, the kind that's near a bus station, hasn't had a woman in it since 1957 and is called something like the Frolic Room or the Tick Tock Lounge. Man, that jukebox sure sounds good, it's got all those jump blues, rockabilly, and R&B standards in it...wait a minute, there's actually a band in there! And who's that guitar slinger? Jeff BECK? What? Is this a dream?

No, it's not. That's all you really need to know about this disc. The hottest, most smokin' bar band you've ever heard rips it up on a killer set. Yeah, things slow down a little in the middle of the set but they're covering Les Paul & Mary Ford tunes for ¢hrissakes! Besides that's when it's time to grab another shot of whiskey or pump some coins into the cigarette machine.

Four stars for great performances from everybody involved, all well recorded with a clean, crisp sound mix. A more extensive booklet with details about the songs, Les Paul, and the show itself would make this a five-star album.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2015
I have been an Imelda May fan for the past few years, but this takes her and her band to a whole new level. Jeff Beck is wonderful. It is a lot of fun to check out Les Paul and Mary Ford on YouTube, and then listen to this to see how well Jeff Beck copies and enhances the work that Les Paul created on guitar. One of the crazy things about this CD is that it was recorded in one take at the show. Listening to the sound you would think this was a studio recording with multiple takes per song. Instead it is 20 or so classics all done with a fresh feel. Imelda May has never sounded better, and her band is a knockout. Adding Jeff Beck and Trombone Shorty to the mix takes it up a couple of more notches. Not to be missed is Gary U.S. Bonds singing his hit from 1960, "New Orleans." I also highly recommend the DVD because the show is so much fun to watch. It really makes you wish you had been there that night.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed

Mayhem [Enhanced]
Mayhem [Enhanced] by Imelda May (Audio CD - 2011)

Love Tattoo
Love Tattoo by Imelda May (Audio CD - 2009)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.