Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This man didn't have a bad take in him
I bought this CD because of the songs I didn't already have: "Promised Land," "You Never Can Tell," "Run Rudolph Run," "It Wasn't Me," "County Line," "Oh Yeah," etc. All in all, 10 songs from this 20-song CD are on "The Great 28" package, but looky here: by "rarities" they mean alternate...
Published on March 23, 2000

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but not great
Background noises and interruptions that detract from the music. Does have some variations of familiar songs that we hadn't heard before.
Published 6 months ago by Lin


Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This man didn't have a bad take in him, March 23, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Rock N Roll Rarities (Audio CD)
I bought this CD because of the songs I didn't already have: "Promised Land," "You Never Can Tell," "Run Rudolph Run," "It Wasn't Me," "County Line," "Oh Yeah," etc. All in all, 10 songs from this 20-song CD are on "The Great 28" package, but looky here: by "rarities" they mean alternate takes, stereo remixes, some chatter before songs--"take 15" "sho 'nuf?"--which makes this a nice companion to your hopefully sturdy Chuck Berry collection. There's a sequel to this album out there and I need that one now. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keep on Chuckin', December 1, 2004
By 
Ed Kaz "Ed Kaz" (Shell Pile, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rock N Roll Rarities (Audio CD)
There's something unsettling (and ultimately wonderful) about hearing a different version of a song that has been deeply set into your psyche. That's what this record is all about; listen to Chuck and the boys as they work out his immortal songs in the Chess studio.

Take "Sweet Little Sixteen" for example. That genre-defining guitar intro develops itself in fits and starts. A few more takes and we're in legend-territory, but right now we're just figuring stuff out. Compelling listening, to say the least.

Chuck Berry never realized that he was writing the soundtrack of a generation. Good thing, because that would have been too much pressure for one man to bear, don't you think?

My advice: Buy Anthology first. Fall in love with it. Then grab this and watch Mr. Berry sew the seeds of Rock 'n' Roll.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent For the Avid Chuck Berry Fan, August 9, 2004
This review is from: Rock N Roll Rarities (Audio CD)
This CD is an essential addition to anybody building an already awesome Chuck Berry collection. The alternate takes and occasional brief outtakes on tunes like "Johnny B Good" just hit home his hepness, and the great (and way underappreciated) tunes like "Run, Rudolph, Run" and "Bye Bye Johnny" make this album an absolute pleasure to listen to. This is an absolutely solid collection of unique Chuck Berry music.

That said... if you are just becoming acquainted with Chuck Berry's music, this CD might not be the place to start. There are scores of Five-Star Chuck Berry albums out there, which will likely have you addicted to his legacy in no time. After you have sufficiently primed your ear with a few classic Chuck Berry albums, I advise you add this to your CD rack.

Bottom line, Chuck Berry is the coolest of the pioneering rockers! Don't grab just one Chuck Berry CD for your collection...one is not enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars as good as rock & roll can be, October 13, 2006
This review is from: Rock N Roll Rarities (Audio CD)
even though these are different takes and whatnot, these sides are as good or better that the original issues -- remember that chuck berry didnt have first say which takes were to be released and ill put my money on Chuck Berry's taste or anothers decision rather than that of Leonard Chess or Phil Chess any day (these two brothers owned Chess Records who blatantly took advantage and/or ripped of artists along with most independent record label owners who did the same thing) --- (read Chess Records by Mike Rowe -- great book about Chess records with superb photos)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Listen to songs be recorded different ways and the same way, February 22, 2005
This review is from: Rock N Roll Rarities (Audio CD)
The main reason I got this CD was because next to the Chess Box, it is very hard to find "Run Rudolph Run" on any CD. I got this and listened to Chuck Berry put together all of his famous hits with flaws and originals. There is just an even mix of originals and different recordings. "Run Rudolph Run" is an original and some others are or are just stereo remixes, but close to original. This is a unique CD, and any Chuck Berry fan should get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, December 12, 2007
This review is from: Rock N Roll Rarities (Audio CD)
One of the greatest CD's to purchase to bring back memories of the 50's and Chuck Berry. Needs to be in every music lovers library. Excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I can't believe CHESS released these, let alone left them in print., January 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rock 'N' Roll Rarities (MP3 Music)
Some real gems on here like versions of "It Wasn't Me", Johnny B. Goode", "Time Was" and "Bye Bye Johnny" all exclusive to this collection. Great Stereo versions and out takes. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ...an album you just gotta hear !, July 6, 2013
This review is from: Rock N Roll Rarities (Audio CD)
Double vinyl album set capturing 20 rare and unreleased Chuck Berry songs on Chess Records. This albm was produced and remixed for this vinyl compilation by the audiophile master Steve Hoffman so you know that the sound is awesome!
This is really an exceptional compilation with some great late 50's and 60's rock n roll. Considering many of the tracks featured are unreleased or newly released versions the quality is superb.....there are no bad demo tracks on this set!
No question Chuck Berry was huge in his day and I would recommend this vinyl set to all lovers of rock! On Johnny B. Goode you can hear Chuck asking the keyboardist to lay off the "Rollover Beethoven" lick .....and then it kicks into a thrilling unreleased version of the tune!
One of my favourite Chuck Berry tracks "Promised Land" is presented here is stereo remised by Hoffman and its sounds like a fresh new song.
And just like the Hoffman : Ray Charles Dunhill Record releases, Steve worked directly with the artists and in this case Chuck Berry in both song selection and audio mastering.

Chuck Berry fans will need to own this compilation and Audiophiles will love this too "
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If You Like Chuck Berry, This is a Great Album!, April 5, 2012
By 
Gary Peterson (San Diego, California USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Rock N Roll Rarities (Audio CD)
I got my first compact disc player in 1984, just about when they first came out. Then I started looking for programming, but there wasn't much available. Some of the things that came on the market rather early were compilations of oldies but goodies. Well, I just loved the old fifties rock 'n' roll so I started picking up these CDs and one of them was Chuck Berry with "Rock 'n' Roll Rarities." Man this stuff was great! I was a bit of an audiophile and I worried that the old monaural recordings such as these might not sound good on my high-end stereo. No so! On most of the cuts, the sound is just excellent, but quality of recording varies quite a bit from cut to cut. In general, I'm quite satisfied, but it takes a bit of effort on the controls.

The songs are just great, but, of course, it's Chuck Berry. He's amazing! His music is more like country and it was not particularly enjoyed by African-Americans at the time. I heard Berry quizzed about this on a talk show one time and he said he wrote these songs because the white people liked them. Well he was spot on and goes down as a major, major figure in the history of rock 'n' roll. On most of these cuts, Berry is backed by his guitar, bass, piano and drums. The mix is quite different on the different cuts. This was not produced as an LP and probably has many different engineers on the different songs. When listening, see if you can't tune in on the piano player. It's worth it! See how ably he follows every Berry nuance. It's amazing! Be sure to follow Berry's guitar also. He's renounced as a guitar player! Gosh, I'm gushing. But if you like Chuck Berry, this is just a great album!

Gary Peterson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but not great, January 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rock N Roll Rarities (Audio CD)
Background noises and interruptions that detract from the music. Does have some variations of familiar songs that we hadn't heard before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Rock 'N' Roll Rarities
Rock 'N' Roll Rarities by Chuck Berry
Buy MP3 Album$9.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.