Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A pictorial history of Rock 'n Roll
Bob is one of the few rock photographers who was as much a member of the New York scene as he was a documentarian of it. His life's work collected in this book is simply astounding. To cruise through the pages of this book is to live the life of the New York rock scene as it was seen from the eyes of it's greatest historian. So many of these pictures have become cultural...
Published on August 30, 2011 by Adam Yellin

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Repeated rockers featured
While the photos are good, there aren't as many rockers featured as I expected. I like the idea of the "behind the scene" photos and appreciate Bob Gruen's talent. I just can't believe there are so few rockers shown. It becomes repetitious quickly. I wanted to give this as a gift, but will keep it myself because I do like the photos and don't think it's as good of...
Published 10 months ago by Trudy Jo


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A pictorial history of Rock 'n Roll, August 30, 2011
This review is from: Rock Seen (Hardcover)
Bob is one of the few rock photographers who was as much a member of the New York scene as he was a documentarian of it. His life's work collected in this book is simply astounding. To cruise through the pages of this book is to live the life of the New York rock scene as it was seen from the eyes of it's greatest historian. So many of these pictures have become cultural icons, from the John Lennon "New York City" photo, to KISS in suits, to Led Zeppelin in front of their plane, to Sid Vicious with a hot dog smeared all over his face, every image in this book is a classic. For lovers of rock, and for music fans worldwide, buy this book, it's really great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They Don't Make'em Like That Anymore, October 17, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rock Seen (Hardcover)
What a fantastic collection of photographs of some of the great stars of rock. They are truly legends in the music world. They don't make them like that anymore. The photos of Ike & Tina were awsome. I remember seeing them perform in their heyday over 40 years ago back in San Francisco and Milwaukee. A wonderful publication for anyone's library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing book, August 29, 2011
This review is from: Rock Seen (Hardcover)
A pictorial history of Rock and Roll through the lens of Bob Gruen, who has seen it all. Great photos, captures the heart and soul of rock, amazing book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Holy Gospel of Rock n Roll, September 12, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rock Seen (Hardcover)
There are so many (picture) books that describe the infinitely holy gospel of Rock n Roll,
however there is currently only one genuine original photographer, who catch
all prophets in his lens, and that's Bob Gruen, What a great book and very nice pictures.
Thx for sharing !

Gabba Hey Makes Us Wanna Go !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock Seen, September 13, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rock Seen (Hardcover)
Great photos of all you favorite rock stars and at a very young age. I especially like the pics of Joan Jett and Aerosmith. Lots of good ones of the New York Dolls as well. Great book!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GIFT FOR AN OLD ROCKER, September 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rock Seen (Hardcover)
THIS WAS THE PERFECT GIFT FOR AN OLD ROCKER FRIEND OF MINE. IT TOOK US BACK TO THE DAYS WHEN WE DIDN'T KNOW ANY BETTER.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Book, June 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rock Seen (Hardcover)
I was very pleased with this book. Photos are beautiful. I gave this as a gift. This book arrived promptly and undamaged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, April 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rock Seen (Hardcover)
Incredible photos, an excellent rock star book by one of the best photographers in the scene, Bob Gruen. Is a big books, with many pages in great quality paper. A must to have if you like John Lennon, Led Zeppelin, and those 60'- 70' bands. The book alike has photo from Elvis to Green Day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great coffee table book Kramer would be proud of, October 9, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rock Seen (Hardcover)
This is a magnificent job well done

If you like rock n roll as play time this book illustrates it top notch

I am a huge Beatles Stones fan and the included pics are great but I have to tell you

The pictures of Debbie Harry are something else

yum f n o
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 3, 2014
This review is from: Rock Seen (Hardcover)
Great book, fast delivery.As advertised! I would buy from them again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Rock Seen
Rock Seen by Bob Gruen (Hardcover - September 1, 2011)
$45.00 $28.59
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.