Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro STEM

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
31
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$32.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 24, 2006
This just kicks. If there is one heavy metal band that i'd want to get back together. THIS IS THAT BAND!!!! The riffs, the vocals, the bass, the drums. THINK MAN! what more could you want. If you are a true metal head you would already have this in your collection. If not, Then you must ask your self. AM I A METAL HEAD? DO I LOVE DRIVING RYTHUMS AND IN YOUR FACE VOCALS? if you said yes to eather of these. THEN BUY THE CD. The group did not last long, But there music will last a life time and then some. My Kids like this as well as I do. You will not be disapointed.

E_Vilco
fellow metal head
and guitarist.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon March 30, 2012
The English heavy metal band Grim Reaper were extremely talented, but unfortunately they did not get the opportunity to achieve the success the truly deserved, primarily due to bad luck, and legal problems with their record label. The group got off to a great start, having some success with their debut album See You In Hell (1984). Their follow up record Fear No Evil (1985), showed great improvement in production, songwriting, and musicianship, as the band continued to incorporate dark themes, and horror based concepts into their music.

Grim Reaper featured Steve Grimmett on vocals, guitarist Nick Bowcott, Dave Wanklin playing bass, and drummer Marc Simon. Grimmett's powerful vocals, had great range on the high end, and together with Nick Bowcott's aggressive guitar, helped to characterize the band's heavy driving sound. Bowcott's fluid and quirky playing style masterfully incorporated all the tricks common in the 80's, including tapping, harmonics, vibrato, and tremelo bar.

Like their previous albums, Rock You To Hell (1987) features a colorful depiction of the Grim Reaper with his scythe. Musically, the band continues in much the same direction as Fear No Evil, with solid production that puts the emphasis on the vocals and guitar. There are no ballads to be found, as the songs are mostly fast paced aggressive numbers, with a driving beat.

The opening track, "Rock You To Hell" sets the tone for the album, with a edgy killer riff, and wild guitar from Nick Bowcott, it is one of the band's greatest compositions. "When Heaven Comes Down" is another tremendous fast-paced rocker. "Night Of The Vampire" is an awesome song, that features some scary atmospheric guitar, and Grimmett's screeching vocals.

Reaper comes out swinging on "Rock Me `Till I Die", with Steve Grimmett hitting the high notes. Marc Simon is an incredible drummer, and never more so than on this track, which also features more evil sounds from Nick Bowcott's axe. "Lust For Freedom" might be a slower tune, but it hits like a sledgehammer, and Bowcott delivers another unpredictable winding solo. "You'll Wish You Were Never Born" features a repetitive driving rhythm that the band seems to favor in many of their songs, but they come up with an interesting bridge in the middle. for a nice change of pace. Steve Grimmett's singing is fantastic throughout the album, but seems especially inspired on "I Want More".

Legal matters eventually led to the demise of Grim Reaper in the late 80's, as this extremely talented band, was sadly never able to achieve the fame and acclaim they should have. Musically, they really had at all, a great singer, cutting edge guitar playing, a powerful rhythm section, and songwriting talent which was clearly improving with each album. With a little luck, and decent support from a record label, Grim Reaper probably could have been huge.

Rock You To Hell has become quite pricey, but the band's first two releases are available on a single CD (See You in Hell / Fear No Evil). In 2006, Steve Grimmett reformed the band, although without any of the original members. So another Grim Reaper album might be possible someday.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 1, 2004
Wow! I have to get this CD. What a blast from the past. I remember having "Rock You to Hell" on cassette in 1988 and wearing it out. Couldn't get enough. Some memories disappoint, but not this one.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2012
I just found these guys on YouTube while I was searching for cool new metal bands.
While these guys are old, their music kicks freaking arse!! The lead singer for this band is one of the best metal voices I've ever heard, and for some reason never got that popular most likely because of his looks.

This album has no bad songs, all of them rock, real catchy guitar riffs, catchy lyrics, and tradition fun metal.
I enjoy 80's metal because it was party music, and ever since the 90's it became more popular to sing about depressing things. Metal lost it's edge because depressed individuals somehow turned to rock music and used it for their therapy.

Which is fine and dandy but it lost it's popularity due to that very reason in my perspective.

What happened to the bad boys who partied and sung about their success, and made others want to be like them?
Exactly listen to the 80's music and you'll see what I mean, luckily thanks to Guitar Hero, alot of these bands got noticed by teens, and now bands like Striker, Skull Fist, Crashdiet, etc have been turning up and bringing back the old styles.

But none still come close to this bands music, check out this cd, I love it!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon March 30, 2012
The English heavy metal band Grim Reaper were extremely talented, but unfortunately they did not get the opportunity to achieve the success the truly deserved, primarily due to bad luck, and legal problems with their record label. The group got off to a great start, having some success with their debut album See You In Hell (1984). Their follow up record Fear No Evil (1985), showed great improvement in production, songwriting, and musicianship, as the band continued to incorporate dark themes, and horror based concepts into their music.

Grim Reaper featured Steve Grimmett on vocals, guitarist Nick Bowcott, Dave Wanklin playing bass, and drummer Marc Simon. Grimmett's powerful vocals, had great range on the high end, and together with Nick Bowcott's aggressive guitar, helped to characterize the band's heavy driving sound. Bowcott's fluid and quirky playing style masterfully incorporated all the tricks common in the 80's, including tapping, harmonics, vibrato, and tremelo bar.

Like their previous albums, Rock You To Hell (1987) features a colorful depiction of the Grim Reaper with his scythe. Musically, the band continues in much the same direction as Fear No Evil, with solid production that puts the emphasis on the vocals and guitar. There are no ballads to be found, as the songs are mostly fast paced aggressive numbers, with a driving beat.

The opening track, "Rock You To Hell" sets the tone for the album, with a edgy killer riff, and wild guitar from Nick Bowcott, it is one of the band's greatest compositions. "When Heaven Comes Down" is another tremendous fast-paced rocker. "Night Of The Vampire" is an awesome song, that features some scary atmospheric guitar, and Grimmett's screeching vocals.

Reaper comes out swinging on "Rock Me `Till I Die", with Steve Grimmett hitting the high notes. Marc Simon is an incredible drummer, and never more so than on this track, which also features more evil sounds from Nick Bowcott's axe. "Lust For Freedom" might be a slower tune, but it hits like a sledgehammer, and Bowcott delivers another unpredictable winding solo. "You'll Wish You Were Never Born" features a repetitive driving rhythm that the band seems to favor in many of their songs, but they come up with an interesting bridge in the middle. for a nice change of pace. Steve Grimmett's singing is fantastic throughout the album, but seems especially inspired on "I Want More".

Legal matters eventually led to the demise of Grim Reaper in the late 80's, as this extremely talented band, was sadly never able to achieve the fame and acclaim they should have. Musically, they really had at all, a great singer, cutting edge guitar playing, a powerful rhythm section, and songwriting talent which was clearly improving with each album. With a little luck, and decent support from a record label, Grim Reaper probably could have been huge.

Rock You To Hell has become quite pricey, but the band's first two releases are available on a single CD (See You in Hell / Fear No Evil). In 2006, Steve Grimmett reformed the band, although without any of the original members. So another Grim Reaper album might be possible someday.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2013
With the recent release of this classic album on MP3, I couldn't pass it up. I remember buying this on cassette back when it was originally released and putting on my headphones in excitement as to what I was about to hear. This album rocks. Talk about a stroll down memory lane. I remember the vocals taking a few listens to get used to it but as soon as you hear the music you know that this album is absolutely fantastic. True, the production value doesn't hold a candle to todays recordings but this record is classic in every since of the word. I will never understand why this band wasn't bigger than they were, but I assure you this album is a testament to the ever progressing metal scene. Thanks to Amazon for making this long time classic finally accessible.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2006
Great album,the sound quality is the best they ever had,the songs on the previous albums were good but the sound wasn't as thick as Rock you to Hell it's just too bad they stop producing anymore music, Great Band!
review image review image
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I have to confess that like Beavis and Butthead I used to make fun of pudgy Steve Grimmett and his cohorts in the heavy metal band Grim Reaper. If any band could out-Spinal Tap Spinal Tap, it was Grim Reaper, of "See You in Hell" and "Fear No Evil" fame. I've come to love this band over time though, and it's largely due to the fact that - pure metal cheesiness aside - these guys were really good. Grim Reaper knew what metal was all about in the `80s, and they were gloriously un-self conscious about it.

Originally released in 1987, Rock You to Hell was Grim Reaper's third and final album. It's also the toughest of the three Grim Reaper albums to track down. The album gets started with an unforgettable metal anthem in "Rock You To Hell" and it's all fist-pumping, head-banging heavy metal mayhem from there. "Lust for Freedom," "Rock Me Till I Die," "I Want More" - hell, nearly every song on this album rocks you (to Hell, naturally). "Suck It and See" is the one track that's still too embarrassing to enjoy, but other than that you have to love an album as unabashedly metal as Rock You to Hell.

I'm not even going to tell you to look past the cheese, because it's part of Grim Reaper's appeal. I'll just say that before you dismiss the band, you give their music a fair chance. You might be surprised at how good it is. I'd absolutely recommend Grim Reaper to any fan of British metal, the NWOBHM scene, or classic `80s heavy metal in general.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2013
I would recommend this to anyone who likes classic Metal at it's Best!!!! This and the other 2 Reaper albums are without a doubt COOL to listen to and have amazing Artwork on the covers. If you like Grim Reaper then you should have See You In Hell, Fear No Evil and Rock You To Hell. They are truly Great Albums!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 20, 2013
Awesome album! Im glad to see this album available again. This band is one of the kings of 80's power metal, the soaring vocals, cryptic lyrics, awesome riffs, solid songs and just plain solid metal!!! \m/\m/
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.