Customer Reviews


154 Reviews
5 star:
 (128)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Contains 51 Minutes of "Wacky Delly" Live from 2012
Joe Murray wasn't expecting a complete series to come out in one package - and I don't think Shout Factory or Nickelodeon planned it. What Joe said on his blog was that the single seasons sold so well that Shout and Nickelodeon decided to produce a complete series DVD. It looks like all of the discs are the same as the previous releases. The inside cover has new original...
Published 22 months ago by Alex's Mom

versus
109 of 127 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars CENSORED!!
a warning to all fans out there, these are NOT the rml you grew up watching. certain scenes have been taken out by nickelodeon to make it more p.c and kid-friendly despite the fact that the vast majority of its fanbase are well past adulthood by now. i'm disgusted that people are paying good money for a watered-down version of an otherwise magnificent show. do yourself a...
Published 15 months ago by Invisible Friend


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Contains 51 Minutes of "Wacky Delly" Live from 2012, February 23, 2013
This review is from: Rocko's Modern Life: The Complete Series (DVD)
Joe Murray wasn't expecting a complete series to come out in one package - and I don't think Shout Factory or Nickelodeon planned it. What Joe said on his blog was that the single seasons sold so well that Shout and Nickelodeon decided to produce a complete series DVD. It looks like all of the discs are the same as the previous releases. The inside cover has new original Joe Murray artwork that has a collage of multiple characters. Visit Shout Factory for an image of that.

One downside is there is no episode list within this set and the DVD extras are sprinkled through the set (they are found on the same DVD as the previous individual season releases). Also, the episodes are still censored (like the previous released Seasons).

Season 1 contains no extras
Season 2 has the original Pilot "Trash-O-Madness" with the original YELLOW version of Rocko and "Behind the Characters" with Joe Murray (info about the characters while Joe shows you how to draw them - Rocko, Heffer, Filburt, Ed and Bev)
Season 3 has an original selected scene commentary by Joe Murray - it's a separate video not audio over a certain episode; the video has Joe discussing certain clips from Season 3.
Season 4 has a 51 minute excerpt of "Rocko Live" (referred to as "Wacky Delly" Live 2012 on the DVD). This was a live event in California in October 2012 which included Carlos Alazraqui (Rocko), Tom Kenny (Heffer), Mr. Lawrence (Filburt), Charlie Alder (Ed and Bev Bighead) with Joe Murray (creator of the series and voiced Ralph Bighead) and hosted by Rob Paulsen. They did a live read of the first act of Wacky Delly and they also discussed working on the show.

Shout said that they weren't sure if the Season 4 separate release would contain the Live event - but I bet it will. The season 4 discs could stand alone. Joe created another original cover for Season 4. At this point there isn't an official release date for Season 4 but it is definitely going to be released.

SEASON 1
No Pain, No Gain / Who Gives a Buck?
Leap Frogs / Bedfellows
Jet Scream / Dirty Dog
Keeping Up With the Bigheads / Skid Marks
Power Trip / To Heck and Back
The Good, the Bad, and the Wallaby / Trash-O-Madness
Spitballs/Popcorn Pandemonium
A Sucker For the Suck-O-Matic / Canned
Carnival Knowledge / Sand In Your Navel
Cabin Fever / Rinse and Spit
Rocko's Happy Sack / Flu-In-U-Enza
Who's For Dinner? / Love Spanked
Clean Lovin'/ Unbalanced Load

SEASON 2
I Have No Son
Pipe Dreams / Tickled Pinky
The Lounge Singer / She's the Toad
Down the Hatch / Road Rash
Boob Tubed / Commute Sentence
Rocko's Modern Christmas: You Can't Squeeze Cheer From A Cheese Log
Hut Sut Raw / Kiss Me I'm Foreign
Cruisin'
Born to Spawn / Uniform Behavior
Hair Licked / Gutter Balls
Junk Junkies / Day of the Flecko
Snowballs / Frog's Best Friend
Short Story / Eyes Capades
*Bonus Features (Season 2 DVD 2):
"Trash-O-Madness" original pilot version
"Behind the Characters with Joe Murray" - Rocko, Heffer, Filburt, The Bigheads

SEASON 3
Bye Bye Birdy / Belch of Destiny
The Emperors New Joe / Schnitheads
Sugar Frosted Frights / Ed is Dead
Fish-n-Chumps / Camera Shy
Nothing to Sneeze At / Old Fogey Froggy
Manic Mechanic / Rocko's Happy Vermin
I See London, I See France / The Fatlands
Fortune Cookie / Dear John
Speaking Terms / Tooth and Nail
Wacky Delly
The Big Question / The Big Answer
An Elk for Heffer / Scrubbin Down Under
Zanzibar / Fatal Contraption
*Bonus Feature "Select Scene Commentary" by Creator Joe Murray (Season 3 DVD 2)

SEASON 4
With Friends Like These / Sailing the Seven Zzz's
Pranksters / From Here to Maternity
Ed Good, Rocko Bad / Teed Off
Wimp on the Barbie / Yarnbenders
Mama's Boy / Feisty Geist
S.W.A.K. / Magic Meatball
Closet Clown / Seat to Stardom
The High Five of Doom / Fly Burgers
Heff in a Handbasket / Wallaby on Wheels
Dumbells / Rug Birds
Hypno-Puppy Luv / Driving Mrs. Wolfe
Put to Pasture / Future Schlock
Turkey Time / Floundering Fathers
*Bonus Feature - "Wacky Delly" Live 2012 (Season 4 DVD 2)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


109 of 127 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars CENSORED!!, September 19, 2013
This review is from: Rocko's Modern Life: The Complete Series (DVD)
a warning to all fans out there, these are NOT the rml you grew up watching. certain scenes have been taken out by nickelodeon to make it more p.c and kid-friendly despite the fact that the vast majority of its fanbase are well past adulthood by now. i'm disgusted that people are paying good money for a watered-down version of an otherwise magnificent show. do yourself a favor and find a torrent of the original episodes. this is one of many reasons why piracy is necessary to keep hollywood in check. what an absolute disgrace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rocko's Modern Life The Complete Series, February 23, 2013
This review is from: Rocko's Modern Life: The Complete Series (DVD)
Rocko's Modern Life The Complete Series
If your a fan of the show, this is what you've been waiting for!
Prior to this set Rocko's Modern Life was getting individual season dvd's, which is fine, but it's much easier and more cost efficient to buy it all in one nicely packaged box set and here it is! One of the greatest Nicktoons of all time finally released in it's entirety with a few added bonuses as well.

Episodes:
All 52 episodes are present in order by air date spread across 8 discs, including the "Leap Frogs" episode where Bev Bighead tries to seduce Rocko. This episode was eventually taken off air during the shows original run because of it's adult theme.

Packaging:
-The cover art was drawn by the creator of the show Joe Murray!
-The DVD case is the size of two standard DVD cases put together.
-The case is firm and solid plastic(not an eco-case, thankfully).
-The inside of the case features a beautifully drawn scene of all the characters in front of Rocko's house.
-Overall a visually pleasing and high quality box set.

Bonus Features:
There are Four bonus features on this set.

-Behind the Characters with Joe Murray (Season 2 Disc 2)
This is a fun bonus feature, Joe Murray shows how to draw some of the main characters of the show and briefly explains the characters backgrounds and how they where created.
(This feature was previously released on the season 2 set)

-Trash-O-Madness pilot (Season 2 Disc 2)
This is the original 7 minute pilot episode that was never aired on television and produced in 1992. Half of the episode was animated by Joe Murray and it features a very yellow Rocko.
(This feature was also previously released on the season 2 set)

-Selected Scene commentary (Season 3 Disc 2)
Joe Murray speaks directly to the camera about some of his favorite episodes and gives great insight on creating the episodes.
(This feature was previously released on the season 3 set)

-Live Wacky Delly 2012 (Season 4 Disc 2)
A live reading of the famous "Wacky Delly" episode with Joe Murray and the original voices of Rocko(Carlos Alzaraqui), Heffer(Tom Kenny), The Bigheads(Charles Adler), and Filburt(Mr. Lawrence) hosted by Rob Paulsen. This is truly an amazing bonus feature, it's great to see the original cast together in the same room and that they can still voice their characters 20 years later! After the reading the actors go into some detail about their experience working on the show. This is the first time this feature has been on DVD, but if you bought the individual seasons 1-3 and are waiting for season 4 this will most likely be included, so don't worry.

Cuts:
There are three VERY brief cuts on this set due to censorship. This is a minor complaint and should not influence your purchase. The cuts are not the fault of the distributor(Shout Factory) and unfortunately Nickelodeon is to blame. The cuts where made during the shows original run for being too risque and Nickelodeon only presented Shout with the censored versions of the episodes.

-The Good, The Bad, The Wallaby (S1E6)
A scene where Heffer appears to be pleasured by a milking machine is omitted.

-Road Rash (S2E4)
Rocko and Heffer visit a road side motel called the "No-Tell Motel" and ask the clerk for a room for the night.

-Hut Sut Raw (S2E7)
A very quick scene where Rocko is picking berries from a bush and a bear pops out of the bush and runs off whimpering and holding his groin.

Who knows whats next for Rocko, maybe a blu-ray release? Maybe the show will get a reboot. I guess only RRBM's nipples of the future can tell!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nicktoon lovers, I highly recommend this!, March 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rocko's Modern Life: The Complete Series (DVD)
I received this in the mail recently, and I must say that right off the bat, I was impressed. All 8 DVDs presented in a neat flip-out format. No clunky boxes to peels through, no mini-flyers/coupons falling out of the box, no stickers sealing the case shut, and no snap shut tabs on the side (why are those even necessary, are people too dense to close a DVD box? I'm looking at you, Disney.)

No, what you get is a very simple DVD box with all 8 DVDs. The reverse of the cover features original art done by Joe Murray, which is awesome.

The DVDs are even better. No annoying advertisements, just the episodes you paid for, and every single episode is included (even the pilot where Rocko's painted yellow is here!) Sadly, a couple of scenes were removed (the berry scene from Hut Sut Raw and the milking machine scene are gone entirely), but it doesn't take away from the quality of the episodes.

For an old school Nicktoon enthusiast like me, this was a blessing, and I hope Shout Factory continues to churn these collections out, -exactly- like this. I recommend this to anybody who loved the show, and to those who are just now getting into Nickelodeon, you should get this, too, 'kay?

Perfect score, don't regret buying this one bit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Was Great! 90s Cartoons!, June 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rocko's Modern Life: The Complete Series (DVD)
This was a Great item, this show for one is amazing and very clever, and The way it is packed together like this is Awesome. The only reason i gave this four stars is because when it came it had a little piece of the handle broken, but still great! I love the artwork inside the dvd case, it will keep me entertained for hours!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Rocko!!!!, June 5, 2013
By 
mcvick23 (Petoskey, MI) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rocko's Modern Life: The Complete Series (DVD)
I can finally relive my childhood!!!! Used to watch this show all the time on Nickelodeon as a kid. Now I can watch every episode all over again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh Childhood, June 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rocko's Modern Life: The Complete Series (DVD)
I remember watching this as a child and it is still love it. The description is correct. All four seasons; eight discs in all. It is a great DVD set. The only problem that I can see is the lack of special features. There is some but not on all of them. Great buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rocko's fan, May 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rocko's Modern Life: The Complete Series (DVD)
I grew up with the 90's nick and i miss some of the old show like this one. I glad to get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favorite cartoons, May 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rocko's Modern Life: The Complete Series (DVD)
I really missed Rocko when they ended this series..I was soooo glad to find the entire collection on DVD!! The caracters in this series remind me of people I've come to love over the years!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally the complete season!, February 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rocko's Modern Life: The Complete Series (DVD)
I must admit I am another one who purchased Seasons 1 - 3 before any knowledge of this release. And of course I too wanted the long overdue Season 4. Finally my collection is complete. For some reason this show just gets me. Other show I used to watch such as Ren & Stimpy, Angry Beavers, etc. just don't resonate anymore. But I still laugh @ Rocko & the gang 'til this day!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Rocko's Modern Life: The Complete Series
Rocko's Modern Life: The Complete Series by Jeff Swampy Marsh (DVD - 2013)
$29.93 $19.99
Usually ships in 2 to 3 days
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.