Customer Reviews


207 Reviews
5 star:
 (180)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


95 of 99 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aerosmith's Pride (...Before The Fall)
I drooled on the window of the local Record Bar. Nose pressed against the window, waiting for 10am when all the stores in the mall would finally open. In my fist I clutched a $10 bill. Beyond the steamy glass they were stocking copies of the new Aerosmith LP "Rocks"...the follow-up to "Toys in the Attic". When the doors opened I strutted in, selected my sacred copy of the...
Published on February 19, 2005 by J. Anderson

versus
6 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fairly good , but overrated
This album is what I consider the Aerosmith equivalent of Black Sabbath's "Master of Reality " album ,ie. many people say it is the best album but trust me , it isn't. After I first heard it the only songs I could remember the hook to was Back In the Saddle, and perhaps Get the Lead Out.In other words most of the album is pretty unmememorable. I feel that...
Published on June 12, 2000


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

95 of 99 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aerosmith's Pride (...Before The Fall), February 19, 2005
This review is from: Rocks (Audio CD)
I drooled on the window of the local Record Bar. Nose pressed against the window, waiting for 10am when all the stores in the mall would finally open. In my fist I clutched a $10 bill. Beyond the steamy glass they were stocking copies of the new Aerosmith LP "Rocks"...the follow-up to "Toys in the Attic". When the doors opened I strutted in, selected my sacred copy of the new release, and purchased it at the counter. With the new record on the passenger seat of my 1970 Ford Maverick, I sat at the wheel driving home. My first driver's license barely cool from being freshly minted the day before. When I got home, I leapt from the car, leaving the wadded shrink wrap on the front seat. Through the door of my parent's house, and straight to my bedroom I went. I put the record on my turntable, and sat on the edge of my bed. The sound came from my cheap GE Stereo speakers, cranked loud enough to cause sterility. But the testosterone flowed freely as I sat mesmerized for the duration of the LP, only coming out of the daze long enough to turn the record over at the end of side one. Again I was stoked beyond words by the power of Aerosmith! I picked up the phone and called my friend Mac. "Have you heard this?" Putting the phone up to the speakers. I went down my personal phone list, repeating the process..."Have you heard this?" I could imagine recievers dangling off the hook as friends ran out the door with $10 bills in thier hands. To this day, I rememeber the awe that swelled up inside of me as I proceeded to wear the grooves of this record so thin that you could see through the vinyl. 20 years later: Shutting off my bedside lamp, I layed down for the evening. On my nightstand, a $20 bill. "Tomorrow," I thought to myself, "it finally comes out on CD." Yes...this record is THAT good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aerosmith's finest hour!, September 30, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Rocks (Audio CD)
This is the REAL Aerosmith. You won't find any of the sugar-coated, sell-out, mainstream geared crap that they've turned out in the 90's. This is the raw, rockin', and dangerous Aerosmith of the 70's. There is not a weak track on this gem. From the rocking bass-driven "Back In The Saddle", to the bluesy jive of "Last Child", the fast-paced and reckless "Rats In The Cellar", the environmentally conscious "Nobody's Fault", to the grandiose ballad "Home Tonight", etc., etc., etc., this album Rocks from start to finish. It is clear that so many bands that would come later were listening to this album way back when. Those people who think that what Aerosmith does now is great, needs to go back and listen to a REAL rock album, ROCKS. This is Aerosmith's crowning achievemnet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EVERYBODY OWNED ROCKS IN 1976! 10 stars, November 30, 1999
This review is from: Rocks (Audio CD)
10 million thumbs up! Without a dought the greatest rock&roll record of all time. Everybody owned it,everywhere you went it was playing. TOYS IN THE ATTIC brought AEROSMITH to the front of the line. ROCKS made them superstars. BACK IN THE SADDLE is the anthem of the 70's generation. LAST CHILD & RATS IN THE CELLER come right out of the same attitude as Alice Cooper's SCHOOLS OUT. The rest of this cd just smokes big time. SLASH from GUNS&ROSES says this record changed his life,mine too! The only other rockin stuff to come out in 1976? J. Geils Band/Blow Your Face Off! Live and Mahogany RushIV. But nothing with the memories of ROCKS. Makes a great gift to. THANK YOU VERY MUCH! JAMIN JIM PS sounds real good with Ted Nugents FREE FOR ALL cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST-HEAR FOR THE ROCK AFICIONADO! STELLAR ALBUM!, November 10, 2005
By 
zeppfan "zeppfan" (Kissimmee, FL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rocks (Audio CD)
You know how some albums just take you back to better times? You're there - 1976, the world is your oyster and all is cool and righteous...

That is what this album signifies for me. I was 14-years-old when this album was released and this album really popped my hard rock cherry!

Other people may list their favorite Aerosmith album as "Aerosmith", "Toys in The Attic" or "Get Your Wings", which by the way, are all great, but this one just strikes a chord with me. It's Aerosmith at their most frenetic, rocking, best!!

You know how some bands produce their best work when they are going through internal strife, ie. Fleetwood Mac - "Rumours"?

That's what this is - THe band's musical talent at it's peak while the band is at the precipice of drug abuse, arguing, etc.

Ironically, especially in the 70's, it works.

This album ROCKS, just like it's title. If you were a teen, or in your twenties in the 70's you were listening to this album!

It's Marlboros, guarts of Budweiser, Gold Chevy Dusters, power-hitters, and suburban parties along roads in undeveloped neighborhoods!

It bleeds the 70's hard rock era, and I will always love it!

Disregard anyone who puts this album down. They're just closet ABBA lovers who hate real rock!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Rocks" -- ROCKS!!, December 4, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Rocks (Audio CD)
"Rocks", the 1976 release from the Boston Bad Boys, is often heralded as their greatest work ever. One play of this disk will certainly prove this to even the sternest of doubters. Forget all of this "pop-rock" stuff Aerosmith has turned out over the past 10 years, (except "Pump", which is excellent!) "Rocks" is the real deal - an excellent rock n' roll record that is very consistent throughout. The opener, everyone's fav "Back in the Saddle", kicks off the album with a galloping bang Following it is perhaps Brad Whitford's best contribution to the band's arsenal, the really funky "Last Child". Then, just when you think the funk will rule this album, "Rats in the Cellar" kickstarts the rock, with Joe Perry's "Combination" finishing off the one-two combo. Next we have the fan favorite, "Sick as a Dog". Filled with great vocal harmonies and a spectacular main guitar riff, this song will please anyone, even those who don't particularly care for Aerosmith. The next tracks are "Nobody's Fault" and "Get the Lead Out" - read HEAVY rock. These two are possibly the two weakest tracks on "Rocks" but, they too are monumental songs, with "Nobody's Fault" featuring some particularly haunting screams from vocalist extrodinare Steven Tyler. After this avalanche of rock n' roll, the grand finale is entrenced in the beautifully orchestrated "Home Tonight", which I feel is one of Tyler's best ballads ever. Backed by a 100-something piece orchestra, Tyler's beatiful piano lines mesh with a vocal performance that is a great example of his incredible range."Rocks" is one of those rare albums that grabs the litener by the you know whats and doesn't let go until the very end; from the opening stomps of the bass drum in "Back in the Saddle" to the final fading chords of the piano in "Home Tonight". Words cannot do this album justice, it just has to be heard to be believed - this is Aerosmith at their VERY, VERY BEST!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Near Perfection, May 18, 2000
By 
This review is from: Rocks (Audio CD)
After recording and releasing Toys In The Attic (possibly the greatest album of all-time) what do you do for an encore? Release Rocks, an album nearly as good (many say better). Regardless, it is a masterpiece. Everyone knows Back In The Saddle and Last Child (both really great songs), but there are other songs on here that aren't as well known that are as good as those. Nobody's Fault is Brad and Joey's favorite Aerosmith song, and one of my faves too. Rats In The Cellar, is a great song, one of Aero's fastest and heaviest ever, with a great group jam at the end. Sick As A Dog is a good song (that they would later make even better in concert), that features Steven and Joe on bass, and Tom on guitar! Lick and A Promise is good, and Home Tonight is a nice ballad with some good mellow guitar playing from Joe. The only song that isn't an absolute classic is Get The Lead Out, but even it is a good song. I have always heard (and indeed, Joe himself says so in the WTW book) that Joe Perry does the lead vocals on Combination, but it sounds just like Tyler to me. Can anybody confirm this? Anyway, no matter who is singing it, is a great song. Along with Toys and Pump, this is an Aero album that absolutely everyone should own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the Old-School Aerosmith, March 21, 2006
By 
Al Snow (Fairfax, VA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rocks (Audio CD)
For those of us who remember Aerosmith in the beginning (yes I'm over 50) this was as good as it was going to get for us in the mid '70s who did not have MTV yet and whose Aerosmith exposure was limited to those who were lucky enough to see them in concert (before drugs became more important than the music) or owned and wore out all the 3 previous albums (remember that format?). This is good vintage Aerosmith right from the first track to the last. What a major disappointment they were in concert touring behind this album. Imagine this line-up: Nazareth, Ted Nugent, Lynyrd Skynyrd, and Aerosmith. Lynyrd Skynyrd totally blew the rest of these bands away! But that's for another review. This is Aerosmith before they had to hire out song-writers to fill out their contributions to the music biz. Why do you think they haul these old war-horses out for every live cd release? Because they are genuine, Steven Tyler poetry put to Joe Perry/Brad Whitford guitar playing - songs they believed in. For my tastes, "Combination" is the weakest song, but all the rest are top-notch for those who have stuck with Aerosmith all these years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aerosmith's Magnum Opus!, September 1, 2000
By 
This review is from: Rocks (Audio CD)
Words cannot describe the sheer power and emotion that reeks from this album. This is Aerosmith's finest moment, and you don't have to be a fan of their music to acknowledge the fact that "Rocks" is a rock n' roll masterpiece. The album pulsates with unprecendented raw energy, and never lets go from start to finish. It has a perfect balance of mood and tempo, from the rocking stampede of "Back In The Saddle," "Lick And A Promise," and "Rats In The Cellar," to the funk blast of "Last Child" and "Get The Lead Out," it all gets soothed into place by the haunting assault of "Combination" and "Nobody's Fault." Even "Sick As A Dog," which is not exemplary of the album's dark mood, has perhaps the catchiest vocal harmony the band has ever recorded. What makes "Rocks" great, is not so much the crafted perfection of each of the tracks, but the way in which they seemlessly form a phenomenal album experience. This is truly a case where the parts are exceptional; but the whole.....it's just heavenly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aerosmith's best album, April 27, 2000
This review is from: Rocks (Audio CD)
THE BAND: Steven Tyler (vocals, harmonica), Joe Perry (guitar), Brad Whitford (guitar), Tom Hamiliton (bass), Joey Kramer (drums). Home town: Sunapee, NH.

THE DISC: (1976) 9 songs clocking in at approximately 37 minutes. One major hit with "Back In The Saddle" (and a moderate hit with "Last Child"). Originally released on Columbia Records, this one is digitally remastered ("limited edition") by Sony in 1993. Liner notes include band pictures, lyrics and other assorted band pictures and posters from the tour.

COMMENTS: In my opinion, song for song, "Rocks" is/was Aerosmith's best album. "Toys In The Attic" was commercially more successful and spawned more radio airplay than "Rocks", but the music moved me more so on "Rocks". Where "Toys" had the soft ballad "You See Me Crying" and the big band joker "Big Ten Inch"... "Rocks" was 9 solid hard rocking tunes. Perhaps the other factor is that the songs on "Rocks" didn't get played to death on the radio. This was album #4 for the band and at the time, they were one of America's top bands to see and hear. Little did we know what was around the corner (drugs and alcohol, and several sub-par albums). "Rocks" contained swagger, dark & heavy riffs from Perry & Whitford and a whole lot of attitude - that's what this album is about. Classic rock at it's finest. Essential pick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aerosmith's best, April 7, 2004
By 
Kyle Anderson (Denver, CO, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rocks (Audio CD)
Seriously one of the best albums they ever made. I like Aerosmith from all throughout their carreer, but their 70's stuff is the best. Truly classic. Rocks is a testament to a great band in their prime. They play truly sleazy, thick, dense and dark music and it works. It has a fire that the band never got again.
Back in the Saddle-A true classic and one of their best openers. This will get you primed for the energy that this album has.
Last Child-Another classic and a slower bluesy number. This is a truly great song that makes you want to bop your head back and forth because it has such a great beat. It is also somewhat of a breather between the previous track and the next track.
Rats in the Cellar-We're really rockin' now. This track was killer. It moved so fast you felt like you were on a motorcycle going 100 miles per hour when you were listening to it.
Combination-A great slow but heavy tune. It has a good place after the previous track. It rocks soo hard, despite the slower beat. It exemplifies, lyrically what the band would start going through, just a year later.
Sick as a Dog-Another slow bluesy number. This one was slightly better than Last Child but, where LC was more beat oriented, this one is more melodic and it flows better.
Nobody's Fault-The heaviest song on the album, if not in their entire carreer. Anybody who never looked at Aerosmith as a metal band, should listen to this song. It will blow you away. You will be mesmarized by the power of it.
Get the Lead Out-Another more bluesy number. It has the kind of groove you heard on Last Child. In many ways it is different though, especially with the key changes.
Lick and a Promise-Another quick number. THis one moves at a break-neck pace. About the mythos of the rock star lifestyle. IT is the shortest song on the album.
Home Tonight-A really satisfying closer to a really satisfying album. This is a power ballad and a damn good one. It is a way to wind down the album and still has the rocking sound.
Aerosmith Rocks!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Rocks
Rocks by Aerosmith
Buy MP3 Album$8.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.