Customer Reviews


277 Reviews
5 star:
 (202)
4 star:
 (49)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Eye of the Tiger, YES!
Keep playing that immortal song. Heaven to my ears! Sylvester Stallone made himself a legend of a genius after writing all five "Rocky" works of art. "Rocky" was about a struggling boxer trying to earn a living, but his chance to fight the heavyweight champion of the world, Apollo Creed, became reality. He trained vigorously and fell in love with the shy Adrian! Yo...
Published on May 29, 2002 by Timotee

versus
81 of 94 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars NO BONUS FEATURES
Fans heed warning: If you're anything like me, you may have asked yourself, "Since this is an updated box set from the LAST box set, what are the new features?" Answer: NONE. No trailers, no deleted scenes, no outtakes, no featturets -- NOTHING. Only get this if you have a HD TV. If you're looking for ANYthing else, get the old box set. The old one was LOADED on the...
Published on January 11, 2005 by Amanaplanacanal Panama


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

81 of 94 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars NO BONUS FEATURES, January 11, 2005
This review is from: Rocky Anthology (DVD)
Fans heed warning: If you're anything like me, you may have asked yourself, "Since this is an updated box set from the LAST box set, what are the new features?" Answer: NONE. No trailers, no deleted scenes, no outtakes, no featturets -- NOTHING. Only get this if you have a HD TV. If you're looking for ANYthing else, get the old box set. The old one was LOADED on the first film (though only had trailers on the rest). The only thing you get here are subtitles. I can't believe I sold my old set in anticipation for this thing. MGM stinks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


67 of 78 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An enormous rip-off., December 6, 2006
When I saw that the Rocky Anthology - which originally came out in 2004 (look it up on Amazon, it is still available for order) - was being re-released, I was excited because I figured it would finally include special features for all the films. You see, this is the THIRD time they have packaged the entire series together - first in 2000 when the original Special Edition of the first film came out, then again in 2004 when the entire series was re-released with hi-def picture, and now again.

But guess what? There are no special features on the discs.

Which wouldn't bother me on the sequels - but when ROCKY: SPECIAL EDITION has just come out (with two discs and a free ticket to see Rocky Balboa), I consider it a major rip-off to find out the box set doesn't include any of the bonus material from this two-disc edition. They both came out on the same day, yet this Anthology was created without the inclusion of any of the other edition's extra features.

Essentially this is the EXACT same box set as the one from 2004, with identical artwork (the tagline on the back of the box is even the same), only this newer 2006 edition has smaller cases inside (those new, tacky, plastic snap-cases that TV shows are often issued with).

So, if you bought the last Anthology box set, skip this and just buy the Special Edition of the first film, which is also available now and has far better packaging and bonus features.

If you don't own the anthology already, I'd still recommend waiting for the price to drop and just get the Special Edition of Rocky.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Movies are Great, The QUALITY..... NOT!!!!, April 28, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Rocky (Five-Disc Boxed Set) (DVD)
Rocky (Special Edition) - The DVD quality was good. Interactive menus at best were okay, considering this movie is a classic I believe it should have been done much better.
Rocky II - Is the same version released 2 years ago when I purchased it the first time. MGM you should feel guilty not giving this movie more attention like improving the quality of the picture or putting a nice picture on the disc!!!!! The disk is double sided. Haven't you heard of DUAL LAYER? Plus there are no visual improvements to the movie and the menus. All and all this was a complete let down.
Rocky III - No interactive menus (Another huge let down). Quality of picture was good. In a nut shell Good but by no means GREAT. MGM once again you should feel guilty.
Rocky IV - Exactly the same as Rocky II!!!!!!!!!!
Rocky V - Exactly like Rocky III.
Considering the lack of DTS and overall quality in producing these DVD's, I would have given my review a ZERO. It smells of a George Lucas, lets release it a hundred times and get paid before we decide to release it properly like we could have from the jump. This BOX set is a joke!!! I wish I didn't like the movies so much! My rating of a 3 is due to the simple fact I think the movies are a 5.
I was expecting so much more, like the attention MGM gave to the Bond film "The World is Not Enough." Wait didn't MGM release most or all of the Bond films twice? Cheap stunt that is expensive to fans!
Interested in buying the Rocky Collection, wait till MGM gives these movies the attention they deserve. Which includes:
Full Interatcive Menus, Dolby 5.1, 7.1, DTS, Dual Layered Discs Printed on the top side with an inspiring picture from each movie, Some deleted scenes.
Now that's a real collection not this cheap watered down version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Eye of the Tiger, YES!, May 29, 2002
By 
Timotee (Torrance, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rocky (Five-Disc Boxed Set) (DVD)
Keep playing that immortal song. Heaven to my ears! Sylvester Stallone made himself a legend of a genius after writing all five "Rocky" works of art. "Rocky" was about a struggling boxer trying to earn a living, but his chance to fight the heavyweight champion of the world, Apollo Creed, became reality. He trained vigorously and fell in love with the shy Adrian! Yo Adrian! He yelled after fighting Creed. A tribute to the clumsy girl that nobody liked, touching! In "Rocky II", 'The Italian Stallion' Rocky Balboa punched more meat and ran up the infamous steps with children to fight in a rematch! Immortal! He barely defeats Apollo Creed (Carl Weathers) and says, "Yo Adrian, I did it!" Pure Heaven! The next sequel in this historical franchise, "Rocky III" had Balboa fight Hulk Hogan and Mr. T! What casting! In "Rocky IV", the boxer came out of retirement to avenge the death of Apollo Creed and fought Ivan (too cool for you, Dolph Lundgren). Finally, in "Rocky V" the retired boxer street fights Tommy Gunn in the Philadelphia streets! I was astounded with such movie-making, I bought numerous copies of this immortal franchise. You say 'no', I say 'YES'!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Rocky Anthology, February 12, 2005
This review is from: Rocky Anthology (DVD)
These five films are great. Stallone portrayed this character well, and these films, no matter which one you watch, will keep you entertained. The "Rocky Anthology" box set has the films remastered in HIGH DEFINITION, meaning that you get the clearest picture POSSIBLE. If you've never seen these films, do yourself a favor and buy this boxset. If you have seen these films, and don't own them, do yourself a favor and buy this boxset. If you're looking for some entertainment, do yourself a favor and buy this boxset.

I give this boxset my highest recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great movies!, December 20, 2004
By 
Ryan Myers (Sacramento , California United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rocky Anthology (DVD)
I love the movies, but I hate the fact that part 3 through 5 are double sided discs with full screen transfers on the other side. I hate double sided discs anyways because the dvd's are clear with no print on them and get scratched easier. Rocky I and II are one sided with print on them. But if you buy a set like this, you would like all the discs to be consistent. These aren't. Its just like the first time they released these and Part II and IV were non-anamorphic, while the other were anamorphic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-get boxed set for Rocky fans!, December 31, 2002
By 
Luscious Luke "luckyluke1202" (Salt Lake City, UT United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rocky (Five-Disc Boxed Set) (DVD)
How can you not like Rocky movies? They are some of the most emotionally intense, exciting, fun, and inspirational movies of all time. I love all of them in all their cheesy glory. This boxed set lets you experience any and all of Rocky's great fights any time you want. It's too bad only one of the movies has special features, but doesn't really matter to me since special features often aren't even worth watching.
None of the movies in this series has ever failed to keep me entertained no matter how many times I watch it. Yes, even number 5. Here's a little mini-review of each one:
Rocky 1: This one started it all and is my second favorite film, but technically the best. It won Best Picture for good reason. It's dialogue, acting, storyline, and climax are all brilliant!
Rocky 2: Not my favorite because it is basically the same film as Rocky over again with a slightly different ending. I will admit that the end fight is much improved though. This is my fourth favorite film.
Rocky 3: This one is definitely my favorite! It isn't better than Rocky, but it is more fun the way I see it. This is where the films changed from reality-based drama to fantasy-like action. The transition works well because this movie really knows how to push your buttons as far as entertainment goes. It is also the last movie with dialogue and acting as excellent as the first movie.
Rocky 4: This one is a lot of fun too and is even more "out there", but the series seems to be getting tired at this point. There isn't a whole lot of difference, storywise, between this and Rocky 3. They kill off a main character, build up an opponent that seems to be invincible, and throw in some nice training sequences. The only difference is that Mr. T was a better villain than Drago, who has absolutely no personality. This is my third favorite for its great training sequences and fun end battle, but Rocky's character is starting to get unbearably cheesy and the comedy that worked before is not really funny anymore.
Rocky 5: This just proves the fact that the Rocky series has lost its steam. This movie is far from horrible because it still has that Rocky "goodness" that really has no description and the story is at least decent in concluding this great series, but this movie is the worst of the series. At many times, Rocky's character is just like a silly cartoon character and the villains weren't anything like what we've seen before. In a bad way. The dialogue has completely gone sour and there is some truly horrible acting in there. You can judge for yourself whether or not this movie is worthy of the Rocky name, but I am willing to say it is since it certainly did entertain me.
Get this boxed set now! You won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WHERE's The Bonus Disc ???, December 24, 2004
By 
M. Idstein (NSW Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rocky Anthology (DVD)
I know it's Not Amazon's fault, BUT - Where is the Bonus Disc ?? Some people say they got it, Others say they didn't ? Why would they produce a Box Set like this ? Don't they think ALL people are equal ? WE all pay the same amount for the Box Set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A thrill for fans of the classic underdog vs unbeatable bout, November 26, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Rocky Gift Set [VHS] (VHS Tape)
In Rocky, Sylvester Stallone plays a street bum who fights in clubs and gets $40 a victory, while the 46-0 heavyweight champ Apollo Creed struggles to get in the ring due to an injury of his challenger. Creed gives Rocky a shot because he knows that only a novice fighter would fight him in the very limited training time. While Creed sits around and drinks coffee, Rocky trains hard by pounding raw meat. I won't spoil the fight scene. Rocky II has our hero out of a job due to his lack of reading skills for commercials. He realizes that he must get money by fighting a rematch with his enraged rival, Creed. Rocky II has one of the series' better fight scenes as Rocky takes on a trained and prepared Apollo. As Rocky downs any challenger to the belt, contender Clubber Lang moves up the ranks in Rocky III. Clubber (played by Mr. T) finally gets his shot at fighting Rocky and downs him quickly, and shortly afterward his loyal manager dies of natural causes. Rocky, now trained by Creed, and full of determination, challenges Lang to a rematch. The outrageous but fun fourth installment pits an East-West battle when a huge Russian smashes the life out of Apollo Creed (literally). Rocky then travels to Russia and confronts the Goliath in hostile territory. The last one should have never been made. Rocky trains an anxious fighter who turns on him and they engage in an out of the ring battle. Here are the ratings:
Rocky: 95; Rocky II: 83; Rocky III: 90; Rocky IV: 88; Rocky IV: 70
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great movies! Dissapointing Dvd Set!, April 30, 2005
By 
Hitesh "Acehit" (Leicester United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rocky Anthology (DVD)
Ok lets be realistic. MGM re-release the Rocky movies on dvd, with nothing more to offer except for a high-definition transfer. You have to wonder, is it worth buying a new box set of movies that you already own just for the sake of the high-definition transfer? The answer is No. Dont get me wrong, I am the biggest fan of the Rocky movies, I wouldnt be the person I am today had these movies not been made, but the Dvds are given no justice. First if your going to re-release such a succesful franchise, you want some decent extras. I think all five movies are superb, but let me list what the Rocky fans really want to see on each disk:-

Rocky

1. A decent commentary, where we can actually hear what the cast and crew are actually saying, since on this one you can barely hear it.

2. Screen tests of Stallone, Talia Shire and Carl Weathers

3. Deleted Scenes, Outtakes

4. A creating the score documentary with Bill Conti

5. Possible multiple angles of the fight sequence between Apollo Creed and Rocky

Rocky II

1. A feature length commentary by cast and crew

2. An all new 'making of' documentary

3. Fight tests, outtakes, deleted scenes

Rocky III

1. A feature length commentary by cast and crew

2. Eye of the Tiger music video

3. A 'making of' documentary featuring interviews

4. fight and screen tests of Stallone and Mr. T

Rocky IV

1. Feature length commentary

2. A 'making of' documentary

3. Interview with Dolph Lundgren

4. Deleted scenes, outtakes

5. Creating the score documentary featuring Vince Di Cola

6. The original extended version of Hearts on Fire, as it is in the film

7. Training footage, behind the scenes

Rocky V

1. Feature length commentary by cast and crew

2. A 'making of' documentary

3. Tommy Morrison screen tests

4. Street fight out takes, deleted scenes

Bonus disc

1. An all-new documentary looking at the success of all five Rocky movies, and audience response

2. DVD-rom features

Now if MGM decide to do the right thing for a change and include everything listed above, I may fork out for it. I still have the original box set, and the picture is fine as far as im concerned, im not going to buy a re-release just for the sake of better picture. Oh and one more complaint, Why change the covers? You associate the original covers with the movies, this is one of the biggest mistakes of the entire anthology. If MGM want to make this set different from the previous release, than try focusing more on the content of the discs. Meanwhile I love and watch the Rocky movies with passion, but it's a shame they are not given the treatment they deserve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Rocky (Five-Tape Boxed Set) [VHS]
Rocky (Five-Tape Boxed Set) [VHS] by John G. Avildsen (VHS Tape - 2001)
$39.96 $24.97
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.