Customer Reviews


136 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (48)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rocky is an AMERICAN TRADITION !
Back then when we were kids and watched this movie over and over again all I can remember is the great fighting scenes along with great soundtrack. I just watched this movie tonight again on DVD for the first time for good old times sake. I gotta tell you I really enjoyed it. Today I am 31 and when I am watching a movie I always try to get a good message out of it for me...
Published on September 8, 2005 by B. Hadjibashi

versus
12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rocky Loses Himself
Recall what it was that appealed to you about "Rocky", the original motion picture. If you are like me, it was the down and out tough guy Rocky, with a heart of pure gold, who finds true love with Adrian, and who gets a one in a million chance and makes the most of it. It is the courage and heart of Rocky that make you want to stand up and cheer for the guy. We love...
Published on January 8, 2007 by kone


‹ Previous | 1 2 314 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stallone Against The Impossible Again, January 5, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Rocky 3 [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This movie is really just Rocky I & II combined and condensed to 90 min with one minor change: Rocky is the big media star this time while the antaganist is the nobody (but it still goes for the same effect, of course). Plot has larger than life superstar Rocky taken down by unpopular heavyweight contender Clubber Lang (Mr. T), then training with one-time rival Creed for a come back. Can you guess what happens?
Despite deja vu "Rocky III" turns out pretty enjoyable anyway, with its usual entertaining boxing matches including one with Rocky battling a wrestler named Thunder Lips (Hulk Hogan!). The last to feature Burgess Merideth as Mickey (except for part V's flashback but we won't dwell on that).
Fairly well acted and directed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Got to see, April 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rocky III (DVD)
Even an 8 year old will enjoy this Rocky. Wrestling has become very popular again so this one is a favorite. Good attention holder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Stallone Movie, April 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rocky III (DVD)
This is unequivocally the best Rocky, if not Stallone Movie of them all! My favorite. It's too bad Mr. T. didn't like being type cast as a bad boy because he was so good at it in this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rocky's turning point, April 12, 2014
By 
Hunyadi "BC" (Clovis, New Mexico) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rocky III (DVD)
This was the turning point for Rocky Balboa. He grows and changes as a character. Mickey's death makes Rockey venture off into the hands of his old enemy--Apollo Creed, and becomes his student. A good movie as you can see the transition as a character from the first two Rocky films to the older Rocky Balboa.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Movie, April 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rocky III [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Its a must buy movie for any Rocky fan. However, there is not much difference between the DVD and Bluray since up scaling can work till a limit. But still worth the buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Apollo Saves This 3rd Chapter., April 28, 2006
This review is from: Rocky 3 [VHS] (VHS Tape)
While we can argue that "Rocky 2" was just as good if not better than Part 1, "Rocky 3" is kind of an uneven chapter. In the first half, it would appear that the saga is wearing thin and even turning somewhat silly. The obnoxious Paul was starting to show some redeeming aspects in Part 2, but the start of Part 3 shows him regressing back to his truly annoying self we knew in Part 1. Moving on, Rocky is trying to settle down into his life. In the early part of the film, Rocky has a charity fight with Hulk Hogan. After his dramatic 2nd confrontation with Apollo Creed, this seems silly. Moving on, the obnoxious Clubber Lang wants Rocky's title. At the half way point, Clubber Lang wins Rocky's title. (Though Rocky had a really valid excuse. His manager Mickey became suddenly and dangerously ill.) Clubber Lang is by far the most annoying opponent Rocky has ever faced. Clubber is obnoxious to the point where we can't wait for him to get his comeuppance. In Parts 1 and 2, we were probably cheering for Rocky, but we still saw Apollo Creed as a human being. To be sure, Apollo was not overly nice in Part 2, but he was MUCH MORE to be excused. Not only had Apollo gotten a lot of hate mail that he didn't deserve, but his children were being taunted at school. The 1st half of this 3rd chapter is a major step down from Chapters 1 or 2. But now the good points. The 2nd half saves this 3rd chapter. Determined to help Rocky win his title back from the obnoxious loud mouth, Rocky's former foe Apollo Creed becomes his friend, trainer, and inspiration. Through Apollo, we see that we can get our former abilities back if we are willing to push ourselves. Apollo is arguably the most complex character in the whole saga. In Part 1, he opposes the hero we are cheering for, but we have no real reason to dislike him; in part 2, he is more of a villain, but the hate mail he was getting would probably have driven a reasonable person to anger and frustration; so we can at least understand his actions; in part 3, he shows his really good side. Clubber Lang remains repulsive throughtout the movie. And without giving the story away, his comeuppance is not only deserved, but inevitable. The end between Apollo and Rocky was probably the best way to end this. After all Apollo did for Rocky in this 3rd chapter, we can see that he is still harboring a slight grudge, but nothing that will threaten their new friendship.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great!, November 27, 2005
This review is from: Rocky III (DVD)
Another return to the ring for Rocky Balboa sees Stallone ditch drama for all-out adrenalin-fuelled entertainment. Mirroring the new glamorous lifestyle that Rocky has, Stallone delivers a slick, pop-promo-styled film that offers a natural continuation for the now complacent boxer.

Rocky gets his wake-up call when hot and hungry underdog "Clubber Lang" (Mr T) gives him the whipping of his life. The added departure of Mickey from his life drives Balboa into despair. But rather than mire Rocky in yet more dialogue-driven emotional hell, Stallone goes for a faster, more action-driven movie.

Sly relentlessly cranks up the viewer with the obvious conclusion that Rocky will ultimately make his comeback. He further spikes this increasingly tempting bout by making Mr T's deliciously evil Clubber Lang as thoroughly nasty as possible.

Aided by the now friendly Apollo Creed, Rocky gets back into the now familiar two-tone training sequence. First attempt being weak and uninspired with the second effort full of mad endurance training that's guaranteed to psyche up even the most miserable viewer.

Having Apollo train Balboa works well as he sets about injecting some grace and finesse into the Italian Stallion. On another level it also paves the way for a differently styled final bout that while slick, also offers greater scope for a new height in dramatics. Such visceral eye candy may not please everyone but as a glamorous action-thriller some of the basic rules of the genre were written with "Rocky III".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rocky punch, June 7, 2005
This review is from: Rocky III (DVD)
first of all let me just say the Rocky music is awesome such as eye of the Tiger by Survivor. Anyway let me get to my review. This is where the series enters the 80's and gets pretty wild. Rocky is so big and famous now that he has a statue of him,has a pinball machine, and he is taking part in charitie events where he gets to fight the greatest fake wrestler ever, Hulk Hogan. But fame has made him soft. Once he loses a brutual fight to Mr.T and Mickey dies of a heart attack Apollo Creed must help him train for the final match. This movie had the best and most training scenes. Rocky of course beats Mr.T in the end but it was not easy. It was a good idea to make Rocky famous in this one. Buy it. God bless you and have a great day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eye of the Tiger!, February 15, 2005
By 
Sean Parauka (Orange, CT United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rocky III (DVD)
In this second sequel to the 1976's blockbuster hit "Rocky", we find Sylvester Stallone returning to his role as Rocky Balboa, the newest Boxing Heavyweight Champion of the World after his victory against Apollo Creed in "Rocky II." This movie picks up right where "Rocky II" left off with the end of Superfight II. The movie has a great story and wonderful character development as we get to know our beloved characters even more.

Now Rocky has become the champ, has gained millions, lives in a mansion with his beloved wife Adrian, his son Rocky Jr and his warmhearted trainer Mickey. Rocky has now been sucked into the world of money, cars, and fame. Rocky has defended his title ten times and after ten victories, over time Rocky slowly loses his edge in fighting which is referred to as the "Eye of the Tiger." Mickey notices that Rocky has lost this edge and tells Rocky that it happened because "The worst thing happened to you (Rocky) that can happen to any great fighter...You got CIVILIZED!"

Without this hard-core edge that Rocky once had, in walks the newest number one contender, the powerhouse brawler from the Chicago Jailhouse, Clubber Lang (Mr. T). Lang challenges Rocky for a title match and Rocky goes against Mickey's advice not to fight him because Mickey knows he won't win.

After a humiliating defeat, and the death of our beloved character Mickey, it now seems that Rocky's life is falling apart. The fame is gone, the title is gone, the glory is gone and his honor is gone. Then comes Rocky's inspiration to gain it all back: Rocky's old nemesis Apollo Creed. With Apollo, his old trainer Tony's help, and Paulie, they take Rocky back to the beginning and training back on the streets and in the filthy gym in Los Angeles where Apollo started.

With the help of Apollo, Tony and the support of Paulie and his wife Adrian, Rocky tries to make the biggest comeback in boxing history at age 34 which most boxing experts doubt he can do. Can the Itallian Stallion do it? Can he regain the title, his fame, his honor and the glory he once had?

The movie also provides an excellent soundtrack which is higlighted with Survivor's "Eye of the Tiger." For those fans of the "Rocky" movies, complete your collection of the series and buy this DVD and you will never look back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You Cannot Deny Its Power, May 19, 2004
This review is from: Rocky III (DVD)
Sure, the first "Rocky" won the Best Picture Oscar. And, yeah, Rocky beats Apollo in the second one. What more do you need, you ask? Need -- who cares? You WANT "Rocky III," and Sylvester Stallone delivers a knockout punch. Two decades removed from its theatrical release, "III" still holds up. It's the final piece in the BALBOA TRIPTYCH: after reaching the heights of success, the once-hungry fighter must now rediscover his desire and drive. Without "III," the first two movies simply act as complements to one another. With "III," "Rocky" becomes a rich study of an Everyman's life. And it's got Mr. T.
The DVD transfer is very serviceable, but otherwise, it's just the meat and potatoes, kid. You're a "Rocky" fan -- you don't need no sissy special features. Besides, you don't have time for 'em when you're watching the movie for the 50th time. And maybe, just maybe, you might have an appetite for no. IV?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 314 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Rocky III
Rocky III by Sylvester Stallone (DVD - 2005)
$14.98 $11.59
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.