Customer Reviews


673 Reviews
5 star:
 (500)
4 star:
 (97)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (17)
1 star:
 (35)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


95 of 97 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Video Quality Breakdown
If you are looking at this you know this is a classic series of movies. I am here to attempt to review the quality if the blu-ray transfer for each movie. I want a potential buyer to know what they are getting when it comes to a the video quality presented in this set

Case:

The design here is compact and neat. There is an oversized blu ray keep case...
Published 12 months ago by broctune

versus
82 of 100 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Again?
The stars which are used to rate this product are for the technical specs of the product itself, not a rating on the merits of the films. I am a huge Rocky fan, so the films would get five stars, no matter how they were packaged. Ok, now that I've cleared that up:

From The Digital Bits news today: "In other release news, MGM has just set a Rocky: The Complete...
Published on October 16, 2007 by Darren Margolis


‹ Previous | 1 268 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

95 of 97 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Video Quality Breakdown, September 13, 2013
If you are looking at this you know this is a classic series of movies. I am here to attempt to review the quality if the blu-ray transfer for each movie. I want a potential buyer to know what they are getting when it comes to a the video quality presented in this set

Case:

The design here is compact and neat. There is an oversized blu ray keep case that holds all 7 discs. The discs are in back to back holders.

Image Quality

Rocky :
This is definitely the best quality we have ever gotten. There is a question as to weather or not this is the best possible transfer we could get, but it is very difficult to judge something on conjecture. Anyway, the aspect ratio is 1.85:1 with a 1080p/mpeg2 transfer. This is the same remastering as the 2006 blu ray and we may not get a better version for a long time.

While watching the movie it looks very good, but there is significant noise on the screen at pints which can be distracting. This definitely comes from the movie being an older print but it is far less noticing e when looking the outdoor scenes.

Rocky II

The transfer here is AVC-encode. The image is far nicer than you have ever gotten before but thee is still some noise from the original content. I do not know why but the final fight scene seems to pop more than the rest of the movie. The scenes becomes a tad sharper somehow.

Rocky III

This transfer is beautiful. It doesn't blow the first two away but it is definitely a nicer clearer print. This movie does showcase what Blu Ray can do for you. There is so much detail in faces and on skin that it really helps you want to watch this version. Dark scenes have some shadowing issues but this is still a very nice transfer.

Rocky IV

Again we have a 1080p/AVC encode and boy does it look special. This movie in blu-ray is a treat. Faces look incredible, everything shines and colors look absolutely fantastic. This asks you to take notice. There is very little static from the source through the movie but the contrast is incredible. The black areas are as black as they are going to get. This movie showcases what you are missing out by just watching the movie on DVD.

Rocky V

I removed a star in my review because they included this film. Kidding! Five is not the most popular Rocky movie out there, though to tell you the truth I don't hate it. Alright and now I'm back. AVC-encoded yet again but somehow we have a step back in quality.

The picture is a bit darker than previous movies but there is a lot less noise present.

Rocky Balboa

Thus is the same transfer as the 2007 film blu ray release. This is the best of all of the discs but I guess that is to be expected when a few decades pass. Finally a Rocky movie with no noise and no artifacts.

Special features

Just two extras I found to be notable that increased my enjoyment of this product

Feeling strong now game. This is Very similar to
DVD scene-it and it is actually fun to mess around with

In The Ring- making of documentary. This is a fantastic three part making of that is 75 minutes long. Part one is all about what it was like to film the movie in 28 days while parts 2 and 3 focus on the loves and motivations of the actors other than Sylvester Stalone.

So finally if you like these movies and you are interested I hope you can use this as a quite for you to judge if you want to see this movie. There are many conflicting reports relating to weather or not the quality on these blu-rays are what you are expecting so I hope I have been able to clear things up a bit to allow you to make your own decision.

---------------------
Note:
It has been brought to my attention that'll review is now under the heading of a slightly different product that may have higher quality.
This post came from somebody in the comments if you would like to check it out.

(((Message from a helpful amazon commenter)))
"Note his review is about the (undisputed collection.)And now there is a new better one coming alone or repackaged with the other movies. Old one was mpeg-2, new one is Mpeg-4 (AVC). It is said to have:
English: DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 (48kHz, 24-bit)
Spanish: Dolby Digital Mono
French: DTS 5.1
Spanish: DTS 5.1
German: DTS 5.1
Italian: DTS 5.1
Portuguese: Dolby Digital Mono
Russian: Dolby Digital 2.0
Japanese: DTS-HD Master Audio Mono
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


137 of 156 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enough about the price drop complaining, review the product!, December 9, 2009
Ok, I watched this set I borrowed from a friend and the picture isn't as bad as everyone says it is. Somewhere someone said they felt like they were watching a VHS tape...give me a break! While they obviously could have done a better job cleaning these up, they are for sure better than the DVD versions. But it's still a decent transfer...I'm sure there they will eventually be completely remastered.

As for those of you complaining about the price droppings...have you noticed the significant drop overall in blu-ray pricing? Now the blu-ray is becoming more mainstream, the prices are coming down! If there are no advantages to pre-ordering, then don't get it! Everyone has had a situation where they paid for something and later saw it cheaper and lost a few bucks. Amazon is still cheaper than going out to Best Buy or Wal-mart and getting it. Factor in that the majority of Amazon users don't have to pay tax and can have the items shipped to you for FREE, then that is even more in savings. So again, if you don't like it, don't buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


70 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Rocky you'll ever see, June 8, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The Rocky series is my favorite series of movies hands down. I know they are cliche and campy but I just adore them. This transfer is one of the best I've seen IMO. Now don't expect to watch Rocky I-V and it look as good as the Avatar blu ray because it just won't. But they are great transfers and the sound that is picked up on them that I've never heard before watching the old DVD releases is just amazing. If you like Rocky and are a fan of HD then you owe it to yourself to get this. The packaging looks great as well.

..And enough about the price drop. Seriously. If you want to complain, blog about it. Create a discussion on this product. Don't rate the product poorly because YOU paid too much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


82 of 100 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Again?, October 16, 2007
The stars which are used to rate this product are for the technical specs of the product itself, not a rating on the merits of the films. I am a huge Rocky fan, so the films would get five stars, no matter how they were packaged. Ok, now that I've cleared that up:

From The Digital Bits news today: "In other release news, MGM has just set a Rocky: The Complete Saga DVD box set for release on 12/4 (SRP $59.98). The set will include Rocky, Rocky II, Rocky III, Rocky IV, Rocky V and yes... the recent Rocky Balboa. Unfortunately, according to the studio's press release, the only extras on the set are a pair of trailers (one for Rocky and one for Rocky V). Yo, Adrian! Where's the beef?" If that is true--and it probably is since The Digital Bits is the most reliable site for DVD news--why bother releasing this set?

Here's the DVD history of Rocky: MGM originally released individual standard DVDs of the Rocky movies many years ago as the DVD format became more popular. The DVDs were, to put it charitably, poorly produced. Subsequently, MGM released a Rocky I-V box set back in 2001 to commemorate the 25th Anniversary of Rocky. Although the packaging was nice, there wasn't much improvement to the DVDs themselves as far as audio and video transfers; the most significant detail of the set was the addition of interviews and other special features to the first Rocky disc. A few years later, the set was re-released with different packaging, with some improved audio and video transfers on some of the movies (Rocky V was notably left untouched). And last year, to coincide with the release of Rocky Balboa, the set was re-released again, this time with the cheap, thin DVD cases now being used in tv season DVD packages as the only difference from the previous release. Inexplicably, rather than being included in the re-re-released box set, the first Rocky movie was also separately re-released on DVD in a 2 disc 30th Anniversary special edition (Well, I guess greed would explain it...). So, if you bought any of the box sets, you still had to purchase the 30th Anniversary edition of Rocky to be a true completist.

With Rocky Balboa having been available on DVD for over six months, MGM has now chosen to release the complete set of films in a new box set. But what a missed opportunity this represents to include special features which have been omitted from previous releases. I do not know if there are cut scenes from Rocky IV in the MGM vaults, but I know for a fact that there is massive material for Rocky V, as a bootleg "uncut" version of the film has been circulating online for years. Also, why not finally upgrade the video transfer of Rocky V? Perhaps the most egregious omission will be special features for Rocky Balboa. Listening to Stallone's commentary on the DVD, he repeatedly refers to a "director's cut" which he would like to release at some point. This would have been the perfect time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Complete Set Good Value, February 25, 2008
Its exactly what you would expect: all 6 movies and no extras, no commentaries, no bonuses, JUST the movies. So if you waited for a good deal like I did, then its the set for you. If you want a Special Edition, then its not for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 65 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rocky on blu, January 23, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Finally, the Rocky set has made it to blu ray. I have been a fan of Sylvester Stallone since I was a kid.(I am now 39.) I already have the complete Rambo collection on blu ray and it is great to finally have the Rockys.
The quallity of each movies are much better than the previous dvds. The sound is superb. I have a 76 inch flatscreen tv and surround sound and I'll tell you the quallity of the blu rays make me feel like I'm watching all of them in the theater again. Awesome! If you have a blu ray player, buy these. Much better than dvd.
If I was to complain about any one thing it would be this- Where are the Director's cut of each one? That is why it is getting 4 stars out of 5. The movies themselves and the blu rays are 5 stars.

Thank you Amazon for very fast delivery. 5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Winner and still champion..., November 23, 2010
The odds were equally stacked against Sylvester Stallone as they were against his creation, the fictional southpaw boxer Rocky Balboa - a million to one shot. Languishing in obscurity as an extra in small films, Stallone managed to sell his script, about a Philadelphia club fighter who gets a shot at the World Heavyweight Championship, and an American cinematic icon was born. Spanning six films, the Rocky series stands as one of the most lucrative franchises in Hollywood history and has truly penetrated the cultural lexicon.

In Rocky, washed-up Philly boxer Rocky Balboa is granted the chance of a lifetime. Hand-picked by boxing champ Apollo Creed (Carl Weathers) as his next opponent, Rocky Balboa (Stallone) must find the physical strength under the tutelage of scrappy trainer Mickey (Burgess Meredith) and the courage to go the distance and prove that he's "not just another bum from the streets." But even if he doesn't win, at least he will find love and self respect in the arms of Adrian (Talia Shire). Rocky won the 1978 Oscar for Best Picture, made the name "Adrian" an annoyance to anyone bearing the name, and inspired countless people to run up staircases and throw their fists in the air triumphantly.

In Rocky II, The Italian Stallion tries to start a family and a new life away from the boxing ring. Despite partial blindness in his right eye sustained from his first bout with Creed and a wife clinging to life, Rocky is lured back to the ring for a rematch that will literally come down to the last second.

Rocky III takes the series in a slightly more surrealistic directon. Rocky's partial blindness is never addressed again for the rest of the franchise, and Rocky's opponents become more like caricatures, in the form of flamboyant wrestler Thunderlips (Hulk Hogan) and grimacing, mohawked brawler Clubber Lang (Mr. T). Life as the world champion has made Rocky complacent after a string of easy fights. But after being soundly beaten by Lang, Rocky finds an unlikely ally in former foe Apollo Creed, who trains Balboa in his own style so he may regain the "eye of the tiger" and reclaim the championship from Lang.

Rocky IV veers directly into the realm of 80's anti-Communist propaganda absurdity and MTV slickness, as Rocky finds himself taking on roided-up Russian superfighter Ivan Drago, who possesses a 1800 PSI punch - harder than actual gunshots! Synth-accompanied training montages abound as Rocky mourns Apollo's death at Drago's hands and heads up to snowy Siberia in order to prepare for the fiercest fight of his life.

In the aftermath of Rocky IV, Rocky finds himself brain-damaged and inexplicably broke in Rocky V. Seems that Rocky's brother-in-law, Paulie (Burt Young), signed away power of attorney over the Balboa fortune to some shady lawyer who loses all the money. Forced into retirement by his scrambled noggin, a much more punch-drunk Rocky sells off his remaining belongings and moves his family back into his old Philadelphia neighborhood. Rocky reopens Mickey's boxing gym and takes a young fighter, Tommy Gunn (Tommy Morrison) under his wing. Tommy quickly rises up the boxing ranks, but betrays Rocky by signing with Don King-esque promoter George Washington Duke (Richard Gant) in order to get a title shot. Gunn wins the title easily, but fears forever living in Rocky's shadow. He calls out Balboa, culminating in a bizarre fist fight between teacher and student on the cold Philly streets. Rocky emerges the victor, yet somehow avoids being arrested while Gunn gets taken away by the cops. Stallone's desire to return the character to its roots after the increasingly cartoonish direction the series was taking is understandable, but having Rocky lose the fortune he fought so hard for and earned over the course of four films is just depressing, let alone the "shady lawyer" angle seemed highly contrived. Rocky V remains the most confusing, misconceived installment in the franchise, and left a bad taste in everyone's mouths, including Stallone's.

Stallone sought to make up for Rocky V with Rocky Balboa, which finds an aged Rocky (Stallone himself was 60) the owner of a a Philly restaurant where he indulges its patrons with stories of his glory days in the ring. Looks like the Italian Stallion has found an opponent even he can't defeat - time (though his brain damage is forgotten, much like his partial blindness). Adrian has since died of "woman's cancer" and Rocky Jr. (Milo Ventimiglia) is now an emotionally distant businessman. After a simulated boxing match on ESPN finds Rocky the victor over current heavyweight champ, the absurdly named Mason "The Line" Dixon (Antonio Tarver), Dixon challenges the long-retired Balboa to an exhibition match. Balboa, longing for one more throwdown, accepts the invitation and sets out to prove that the last thing to age is your heart. Though Rocky Balboa (the film) prescribes to the Rocky formula established from the very beginning and the prospect of a sextagenarian - with or without brain damage - being allowed to take on anyone in a sanctioned boxing match is more than a tad outlandish, this final installment (which Stallone assures us is the FINAL one) feels the most genuine since the original, as Stallone imbues his most iconic character with his own frustration with growing old and that lingering desire to make good on past regrets (like Rocky V) while he still can. With Rocky Balboa, the story finally feels whole.

And you have the whole story here, in Rocky: The Undisputed Collection on Blu-ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ROCKY COMPLETE SAGA-HIGHLY RECOMMENDED SET, December 5, 2008
By 
Jobiwan (Wisconsin, USA) - See all my reviews
Being a big fan of the "Rocky" movies, I would highly recommend this set to anyone considering it. I would like to clairify a few things I was wondering about the set before I purchased it, and have since found out after I bought the set and watched all the movies.
-First off, all of the movies are anamorphic for 16X9 T.V. sets, in case anyone was concerned of the picture format like I was.
-Second, the extras on the dvds for the first 5 films are an original movie trailer for each, and some additional bonus material on "Rocky Balboa".
All-in-all, the set is a great buy and I feel a must have for any fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 40 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I Know I Speak For All 'Rocky' Fans, January 31, 2014
By 
MiddleMan (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
Does Sylvester Stallone have anything to do with these releases?

'Rocky' is such an endearing movie franchise, but the way MGM handles the home distribution is despicable. The franchise's value is reportedly into the billions - treat it as such. There only needed to be one box set Blu-ray release, 'The Undisputed Collection', and that was done wrong. This new 'Heavyweight' set is just a rip-off repeat of it, minus some of the bonus features. Why would anyone buy it?

Here's what's wrong with both of these Blu-ray sets (before we get into the actual movies themselves):

Let's start with the 'Heavyweight' set's packaging: That's not even the ROCKY font! The cover and spine of the set should be solid black with 'ROCKY' in the original font in gold-yellow, Rocky's colors. Add Stallone's signature on there somewhere and it's good to go. You'd never see 'Star Wars' or 'Jaws' repackaged with the name any other way than the original LOGO. Because that's what it is, a logo. Rocky has one too. Use it.

MGM, do you know who you're catering to? No box set of any film series is complete without sticking to the fonts and styles of the original theatrical posters and promos. Your '007' sets don't stray like this Rocky set does. It's hardcore fans like me who would shell out the money for these sets anyway. Do you really think any non-Rocky fan is going to pay $40 when you can get all of them individually in the bargain bin at Wal-Mart - some with double features? You can get the 'Rocky Balboa' DVD for $5 at Best Buy. Why are the Rocky fans getting the shaft like this?

Why is only the original 'Rocky' getting any remastering treatment? This was the main issue people had with the 'Undisputed' Blu-ray set. These movies were far from flops; the Rocky series is one of the most successful movie franchises of all time. Rocky II - V all deserve the same respect.

On the original DVD release box set from 2000, each disc contained the theatrical trailer for the movie. Nowhere to be found on the 'Undisputed' set. PUT THEM BACK! Along with any TV spots. The Rocky movies were big hits that still command a huge following both here and internationally. Let's see some of the press that surrounded their original theatrical releases.

THE FILMS

ROCKY - I want to see the original ending that was cut. That picture of Rocky & Adrian holding hands inside the 'K' on the poster is from them walking in the back after the fight. If the footage no longer exists, I'd like to hear Talia Shire or someone explain it. Were other scenes cut? If so, what were they about? (See my reasoning, if you really need it, when we get to 'Rocky Balboa'.)

ROCKY II - Well done sequel that carried the story on in the same vain as the original and all the actors turned in great performances. There had to be more than one trailer for this. It was 1979 and the studio was pushing the sequel to their huge hit from 3 years ago. Any cut scenes? Let's hear about them. How about some insight on Stallone taking on the role of director? Was John Alvidsen approached? I always wondered who conjured up the idea of a sequel in the first place. Was it the studio or was is Stallone?

ROCKY III - Ditto. Took the story forward and on to the next level. It was junk food for us fans, sweetened with 3 fights (including the wrestling match). Plus, the addition of 'Eye Of The Tiger' to the soundtrack. I was 8 when this came out and remember the line around the theater and all the hype with the song - good times! However, clocking in shorter than its prequels at a little over 1.5 hours, there must have been cut scenes. What were they? Why were they cut? Also, there's a 'making-of' special out there on YouTube, showing behind the scenes footage including practicing with Hulk Hogan for the Thunderlips match along with Stallone and Mr. T rehearsing their bouts. Come on with it! Let Hulk Hogan talk about the conflict he had with Vince McMahon, Sr., who gave him the ultimatum: Either work for me at the WWF or go do the Rocky movie. Hogan chose the latter and we all know what happened to pro wrestling after 1982 and Hogan's exposure from the film.

ROCKY IV - *Sigh*. The biggest money maker in the series, but talk about getting way off track story wise. Not to mention adding 6 magical years to the story line (that was one long friendly match with Apollo Creed at the end of III !). Even shorter than 'Rocky III', there must have been cut scenes. The trailer has an interesting blip of the boxing board members sitting around a conference table refusing to have the match between Rocky & Ivan Drago due to Apollo Creed's death. Didn't make the final cut. Please show this. Explain. And also, how about the change up in the soundtrack? Let's talk about it.

ROCKY V - We all know the negative stigma surrounding this one. However, the swerve of Rocky & co. going from riches back to rags was a well-needed shot in the arm for the story. If you're a Rocky fan like me, you also know full well about and have seen the 'directors cut' floating around YouTube these past couple of years (with Bill Conti's original score, not MC Hammer's music). The cut dialogue in the scene with Rocky and his lawyers about his finances is so well-needed. Rocky and Adrian lay into Paulie about the financial mess he caused. This was - unrealistically - barely addressed in the final cut. This, along with the rest of the project and cut scenes (Little Marie?), needs to be discussed between director John Alvidsen and Stallone in a sit down like the one William Friedkin and William Peter Blatty have on 'The Exorcist' discs.

ROCKY BALBOA - It's been said, and I'll say it again: Stallone did so right by all us fans with this one, the final chapter. Well-written, well-preformed and with the atmosphere of the original it hit all the right points. But, how about a director's cut? The deleted scenes are so awesome and would only enhance the story - especially the Paulie/girlfriend bit and when Rocky runs into wheelchair-bound Andy in the bar. What's also a plus in this story is that when it comes to the computer fight, you hear detractors of Rocky for the first time in the series. One of the commentators calls Rocky 'overrated'. It would have been interesting to hear just a tinge of that in Rocky II and then Rocky IV after Rocky's 3 years at the top.

What's the big deal? The big deal is that Rocky is an American folk hero. These are supposed to be 'ultimate sets', 'Undisputed'. Well, the Rocky fans are disputing. Despite Chuck Wepner' s legit issues with Stallone and how he was handled, on screen Rocky the character hits home for a lot people. The whole 'going the distance' thing can be applied everywhere in life. It resonates with people, touches nerves (positively). And, the Rocky of 2006 pushing age 60 spoke just as well.

What other film has produced a character and story as inspirational like this? Nothing since 1976, that's for sure. If so, name it. No movie character gets discussed the way Rocky does. Because people can relate.

THE EXTRA'S

What other movies have such a stirring and motivating original score and soundtrack? Only John Williams' 'Jaws', 'Star Wars' and 'Indiana Jones' scores come close to getting you pumped up like the music in the Rocky films. How about a segment devoted to Bill Conti and his work, along with Vince DiCola and his synthesizer score for Rocky IV? How about an interview with the band members of Survivor? Even MC Hammer & co. - how (and why?) did they get tapped for the 'Rocky V' soundtrack?

Go to Philly: What other movie character still has their statue and permanent sneaker prints anywhere outside of Hollywood? Rocky could have been from LA or New York. But, Stallone based him out of blue-collar Philadelphia. It's a large city, but it's also a town like any other town in 'flyover country', not a whole lot of glamour. Track down the owner of the building at 1818 E Tusculum St. in Philly, along with others in the area who were there for all the filming, etc. Give the city its props with a segment devoted to it. Along with the city's rich history, the whole Rocky thing is part of the charm for tourists.

The sport: Focus a segment on boxing. Include Chuck Wepner's ESPN documentary, let's be fair. Interview other boxers as well; get their insight and opinions on the Rocky movies. Stallone was inducted into the boxing hall of fame a few years ago, include it. I've trained at Freddie Roach's Wild Card gym in Los Angeles. The walls are covered with posters and pictures, all boxing-related (lots of Manny Pacquiao, of course). But on the way out, look up above the door and you'll see the only picture in the whole place that's under plexi glass protection: It's a black and white shot from the 'Rocky IV' fight with Stallone's autograph on it. You simply can't deny the films' place in the world of boxing.

Some of these things I'm calling out have been addressed on the various releases. How about getting them all into one place finally, on one set? Otherwise, it's just obvious greed on the studios' part.

FINAL THOUGHTS

Mr. Stallone, you hit the nail on the head in 1976 with Rocky. One of a kind, the likes of which we haven't seen since. Unlike Rambo, Rocky Balboa is your baby. You created him. I understand people have a hard time separating you from him. But, the series' treatment deserves so much better and we would think you'd prefer to see it better handled as well. Do us a favor: Pick up the phone, call someone over at MGM and straighten this crap out.

Instead of churning out repetitive sets (in poor packaging), ROCKY and its fans deserve a better Blu-ray box set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not all discs created equal (my first review), September 23, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Received this box set around 9/15/2010.
This review is broken into 5 categories: Packaging, Plot, Disc Quality, Movie Quality, Extra Features

Packaging: 4/5
Box art looks like it's from Rocky Balboa, no frills, WYSIWYG.

Plot: N/A
I won't go into it because I'm assuming you've seen any number of these titles if you are interested in the box set. But overall it's a story of overcoming obstacles and believing in yourself. All family friendly except Rocky 5 has some slight language, but nothing to extreme.

Disc Quality: 3/5
Rocky and Rocky Balboa have professional looking menus and the disc themselves look different than the other four movies. 2,3,4,5 all look like standard blu ray discs with just the name of the movie on them and a still frame for a menu. Don't expect any commentary.

Movie Quality: 4/5
If you've seen older movies put on blu ray with minimal restore then you get the idea with these. Rocky 1 looks the worse, some clipping and sometimes grainy, didn't notice too much blur on 120Hz. Rocky 2 is a little better, not as grainy. Rocky 3 looks like most 80s blu ray movies I've seen (Rambo, Commando, etc.) with some blur. Rocky 4 is exceptional, looks clear, great color and great sound and no blur. Rocky 5 is also clear and the sound is clear as well but you don't know much of a difference, if any, between this movie and 4. Rocky Balboa has some weird lighting but overall obviously it's the best looking one in the bunch.

Extra Features: 2/5
Some nice Sly training videos for Balboa and some making of's but nothing like a reunion episode or documentary looking back with Sly or anything. Pretty much just thrown into the box set.

Overall, I give this a 4/5 simply because it's Rocky and it's the top of the line right now. If you have it on DVD and is it worth it to rebuy it? My opinion would be no because nothing on these discs looks better than up converting a DVD. That being said, it is the latest and greatest format to have Rocky on and if you see Amazon selling it for a good deal pick it up, especially if you don't own any Rocky collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 268 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Rocky - La Saga Completa (7 Dvd) [Italian Edition]
$148.71
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.