Automotive Deals BOTYSFKT Shop Women's Clothing Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis STEM Water Sports

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$97.22+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 13, 2013
If you are looking at this you know this is a classic series of movies. I am here to attempt to review the quality if the blu-ray transfer for each movie. I want a potential buyer to know what they are getting when it comes to a the video quality presented in this set

Case:

The design here is compact and neat. There is an oversized blu ray keep case that holds all 7 discs. The discs are in back to back holders.

Image Quality

Rocky :
This is definitely the best quality we have ever gotten. There is a question as to weather or not this is the best possible transfer we could get, but it is very difficult to judge something on conjecture. Anyway, the aspect ratio is 1.85:1 with a 1080p/mpeg2 transfer. This is the same remastering as the 2006 blu ray and we may not get a better version for a long time.

While watching the movie it looks very good, but there is significant noise on the screen at pints which can be distracting. This definitely comes from the movie being an older print but it is far less noticing e when looking the outdoor scenes.

Rocky II

The transfer here is AVC-encode. The image is far nicer than you have ever gotten before but thee is still some noise from the original content. I do not know why but the final fight scene seems to pop more than the rest of the movie. The scenes becomes a tad sharper somehow.

Rocky III

This transfer is beautiful. It doesn't blow the first two away but it is definitely a nicer clearer print. This movie does showcase what Blu Ray can do for you. There is so much detail in faces and on skin that it really helps you want to watch this version. Dark scenes have some shadowing issues but this is still a very nice transfer.

Rocky IV

Again we have a 1080p/AVC encode and boy does it look special. This movie in blu-ray is a treat. Faces look incredible, everything shines and colors look absolutely fantastic. This asks you to take notice. There is very little static from the source through the movie but the contrast is incredible. The black areas are as black as they are going to get. This movie showcases what you are missing out by just watching the movie on DVD.

Rocky V

I removed a star in my review because they included this film. Kidding! Five is not the most popular Rocky movie out there, though to tell you the truth I don't hate it. Alright and now I'm back. AVC-encoded yet again but somehow we have a step back in quality.

The picture is a bit darker than previous movies but there is a lot less noise present.

Rocky Balboa

Thus is the same transfer as the 2007 film blu ray release. This is the best of all of the discs but I guess that is to be expected when a few decades pass. Finally a Rocky movie with no noise and no artifacts.

Special features

Just two extras I found to be notable that increased my enjoyment of this product

Feeling strong now game. This is Very similar to
DVD scene-it and it is actually fun to mess around with

In The Ring- making of documentary. This is a fantastic three part making of that is 75 minutes long. Part one is all about what it was like to film the movie in 28 days while parts 2 and 3 focus on the loves and motivations of the actors other than Sylvester Stalone.

So finally if you like these movies and you are interested I hope you can use this as a quite for you to judge if you want to see this movie. There are many conflicting reports relating to weather or not the quality on these blu-rays are what you are expecting so I hope I have been able to clear things up a bit to allow you to make your own decision.

---------------------
Note:
It has been brought to my attention that'll review is now under the heading of a slightly different product that may have higher quality.
This post came from somebody in the comments if you would like to check it out.

(((Message from a helpful amazon commenter)))
"Note his review is about the (undisputed collection.)And now there is a new better one coming alone or repackaged with the other movies. Old one was mpeg-2, new one is Mpeg-4 (AVC). It is said to have:
English: DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 (48kHz, 24-bit)
Spanish: Dolby Digital Mono
French: DTS 5.1
Spanish: DTS 5.1
German: DTS 5.1
Italian: DTS 5.1
Portuguese: Dolby Digital Mono
Russian: Dolby Digital 2.0
Japanese: DTS-HD Master Audio Mono
1111 comments| 181 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 8, 2010
The Rocky series is my favorite series of movies hands down. I know they are cliche and campy but I just adore them. This transfer is one of the best I've seen IMO. Now don't expect to watch Rocky I-V and it look as good as the Avatar blu ray because it just won't. But they are great transfers and the sound that is picked up on them that I've never heard before watching the old DVD releases is just amazing. If you like Rocky and are a fan of HD then you owe it to yourself to get this. The packaging looks great as well.

..And enough about the price drop. Seriously. If you want to complain, blog about it. Create a discussion on this product. Don't rate the product poorly because YOU paid too much.
55 comments| 90 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2009
Ok, I watched this set I borrowed from a friend and the picture isn't as bad as everyone says it is. Somewhere someone said they felt like they were watching a VHS tape...give me a break! While they obviously could have done a better job cleaning these up, they are for sure better than the DVD versions. But it's still a decent transfer...I'm sure there they will eventually be completely remastered.

As for those of you complaining about the price droppings...have you noticed the significant drop overall in blu-ray pricing? Now the blu-ray is becoming more mainstream, the prices are coming down! If there are no advantages to pre-ordering, then don't get it! Everyone has had a situation where they paid for something and later saw it cheaper and lost a few bucks. Amazon is still cheaper than going out to Best Buy or Wal-mart and getting it. Factor in that the majority of Amazon users don't have to pay tax and can have the items shipped to you for FREE, then that is even more in savings. So again, if you don't like it, don't buy it!
1212 comments| 154 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2016
I ordered this Blu-ray box from Amazon, on sale for about $20. That's a GREAT deal. You get all 6 Rocky films on Blu-ray, housed in a single plastic book casing. I previously had all the these films on DVD, so I compared the quality of them.

The first film has been given a fantastic remastering to Blu-ray. The Blu-ray also includes about 2 hours of bonus featurettes, interviews with cast and crew. 5/5 rating

Films 2 through 5 got a "bare bones" upgrade. The Blu-rays look and sound better than the DVD's but there's still room for a better remastering. They do not look as good as the first film, and the difference is noticeable. These films do not have ANY bonus features. The menu shows 3 options only: play film, scene selection, and set up. 3/5 rating for these films.

A note about the sound is important. By default, the films will play in HD Surround Sound. If you have a full surround sound set up, it will probably be very good. Without a surround sound set up, you will only hear whatever sound was mixed to the centre channel. That's fine for dialogue but when the songs are playing, you mainly hear the lead vocal and bass guitar and little else... very weird mix. Change the setting to the second option, Dolby Surround Sound, and you will hear everything more naturally again... that's the same audio mix used on the DVD's but sounding better on Blu-ray. The only Stereo mixes are for foreign languages.

The 6th and most recent film, Rocky Balboa, looks and sounds great because it was recently made. That disc also has several bonus features. The film itself is not as good as some of the others. 4/5 rating

My wife and I watched this set one movie per night. I came to see that the first film is really a stand alone film classic. If that was the only one made, it would still be regarded as an important film. The rest of the films are what made the franchise more commercial, fun, "cheesy", etc. They are highly entertaining and fun, effective for stirring up emotions/reactions, but they rely on stereotypes and flat characters that rarely have the depth of the first film. Stallone did a great job of giving key scenes to each of the supporting characters, and the decisions to kill off characters makes sense to development plots in Rocky's fictional life.

Overall, an excellent collection that will replace my DVD's (and take up far less shelf space too). If you're a Rocky fan, I definitely recommend this Blu-ray set. I also encourage you to go see the latest film, "Creed".
22 comments| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2008
Its exactly what you would expect: all 6 movies and no extras, no commentaries, no bonuses, JUST the movies. So if you waited for a good deal like I did, then its the set for you. If you want a Special Edition, then its not for you.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 23, 2010
The odds were equally stacked against Sylvester Stallone as they were against his creation, the fictional southpaw boxer Rocky Balboa - a million to one shot. Languishing in obscurity as an extra in small films, Stallone managed to sell his script, about a Philadelphia club fighter who gets a shot at the World Heavyweight Championship, and an American cinematic icon was born. Spanning six films, the Rocky series stands as one of the most lucrative franchises in Hollywood history and has truly penetrated the cultural lexicon.

In Rocky, washed-up Philly boxer Rocky Balboa is granted the chance of a lifetime. Hand-picked by boxing champ Apollo Creed (Carl Weathers) as his next opponent, Rocky Balboa (Stallone) must find the physical strength under the tutelage of scrappy trainer Mickey (Burgess Meredith) and the courage to go the distance and prove that he's "not just another bum from the streets." But even if he doesn't win, at least he will find love and self respect in the arms of Adrian (Talia Shire). Rocky won the 1978 Oscar for Best Picture, made the name "Adrian" an annoyance to anyone bearing the name, and inspired countless people to run up staircases and throw their fists in the air triumphantly.

In Rocky II, The Italian Stallion tries to start a family and a new life away from the boxing ring. Despite partial blindness in his right eye sustained from his first bout with Creed and a wife clinging to life, Rocky is lured back to the ring for a rematch that will literally come down to the last second.

Rocky III takes the series in a slightly more surrealistic directon. Rocky's partial blindness is never addressed again for the rest of the franchise, and Rocky's opponents become more like caricatures, in the form of flamboyant wrestler Thunderlips (Hulk Hogan) and grimacing, mohawked brawler Clubber Lang (Mr. T). Life as the world champion has made Rocky complacent after a string of easy fights. But after being soundly beaten by Lang, Rocky finds an unlikely ally in former foe Apollo Creed, who trains Balboa in his own style so he may regain the "eye of the tiger" and reclaim the championship from Lang.

Rocky IV veers directly into the realm of 80's anti-Communist propaganda absurdity and MTV slickness, as Rocky finds himself taking on roided-up Russian superfighter Ivan Drago, who possesses a 1800 PSI punch - harder than actual gunshots! Synth-accompanied training montages abound as Rocky mourns Apollo's death at Drago's hands and heads up to snowy Siberia in order to prepare for the fiercest fight of his life.

In the aftermath of Rocky IV, Rocky finds himself brain-damaged and inexplicably broke in Rocky V. Seems that Rocky's brother-in-law, Paulie (Burt Young), signed away power of attorney over the Balboa fortune to some shady lawyer who loses all the money. Forced into retirement by his scrambled noggin, a much more punch-drunk Rocky sells off his remaining belongings and moves his family back into his old Philadelphia neighborhood. Rocky reopens Mickey's boxing gym and takes a young fighter, Tommy Gunn (Tommy Morrison) under his wing. Tommy quickly rises up the boxing ranks, but betrays Rocky by signing with Don King-esque promoter George Washington Duke (Richard Gant) in order to get a title shot. Gunn wins the title easily, but fears forever living in Rocky's shadow. He calls out Balboa, culminating in a bizarre fist fight between teacher and student on the cold Philly streets. Rocky emerges the victor, yet somehow avoids being arrested while Gunn gets taken away by the cops. Stallone's desire to return the character to its roots after the increasingly cartoonish direction the series was taking is understandable, but having Rocky lose the fortune he fought so hard for and earned over the course of four films is just depressing, let alone the "shady lawyer" angle seemed highly contrived. Rocky V remains the most confusing, misconceived installment in the franchise, and left a bad taste in everyone's mouths, including Stallone's.

Stallone sought to make up for Rocky V with Rocky Balboa, which finds an aged Rocky (Stallone himself was 60) the owner of a a Philly restaurant where he indulges its patrons with stories of his glory days in the ring. Looks like the Italian Stallion has found an opponent even he can't defeat - time (though his brain damage is forgotten, much like his partial blindness). Adrian has since died of "woman's cancer" and Rocky Jr. (Milo Ventimiglia) is now an emotionally distant businessman. After a simulated boxing match on ESPN finds Rocky the victor over current heavyweight champ, the absurdly named Mason "The Line" Dixon (Antonio Tarver), Dixon challenges the long-retired Balboa to an exhibition match. Balboa, longing for one more throwdown, accepts the invitation and sets out to prove that the last thing to age is your heart. Though Rocky Balboa (the film) prescribes to the Rocky formula established from the very beginning and the prospect of a sextagenarian - with or without brain damage - being allowed to take on anyone in a sanctioned boxing match is more than a tad outlandish, this final installment (which Stallone assures us is the FINAL one) feels the most genuine since the original, as Stallone imbues his most iconic character with his own frustration with growing old and that lingering desire to make good on past regrets (like Rocky V) while he still can. With Rocky Balboa, the story finally feels whole.

And you have the whole story here, in Rocky: The Undisputed Collection on Blu-ray.
11 comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 23, 2010
Finally, the Rocky set has made it to blu ray. I have been a fan of Sylvester Stallone since I was a kid.(I am now 39.) I already have the complete Rambo collection on blu ray and it is great to finally have the Rockys.
The quallity of each movies are much better than the previous dvds. The sound is superb. I have a 76 inch flatscreen tv and surround sound and I'll tell you the quallity of the blu rays make me feel like I'm watching all of them in the theater again. Awesome! If you have a blu ray player, buy these. Much better than dvd.
If I was to complain about any one thing it would be this- Where are the Director's cut of each one? That is why it is getting 4 stars out of 5. The movies themselves and the blu rays are 5 stars.

Thank you Amazon for very fast delivery. 5 stars
55 comments| 56 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 16, 2007
The stars which are used to rate this product are for the technical specs of the product itself, not a rating on the merits of the films. I am a huge Rocky fan, so the films would get five stars, no matter how they were packaged. Ok, now that I've cleared that up:

From The Digital Bits news today: "In other release news, MGM has just set a Rocky: The Complete Saga DVD box set for release on 12/4 (SRP $59.98). The set will include Rocky, Rocky II, Rocky III, Rocky IV, Rocky V and yes... the recent Rocky Balboa. Unfortunately, according to the studio's press release, the only extras on the set are a pair of trailers (one for Rocky and one for Rocky V). Yo, Adrian! Where's the beef?" If that is true--and it probably is since The Digital Bits is the most reliable site for DVD news--why bother releasing this set?

Here's the DVD history of Rocky: MGM originally released individual standard DVDs of the Rocky movies many years ago as the DVD format became more popular. The DVDs were, to put it charitably, poorly produced. Subsequently, MGM released a Rocky I-V box set back in 2001 to commemorate the 25th Anniversary of Rocky. Although the packaging was nice, there wasn't much improvement to the DVDs themselves as far as audio and video transfers; the most significant detail of the set was the addition of interviews and other special features to the first Rocky disc. A few years later, the set was re-released with different packaging, with some improved audio and video transfers on some of the movies (Rocky V was notably left untouched). And last year, to coincide with the release of Rocky Balboa, the set was re-released again, this time with the cheap, thin DVD cases now being used in tv season DVD packages as the only difference from the previous release. Inexplicably, rather than being included in the re-re-released box set, the first Rocky movie was also separately re-released on DVD in a 2 disc 30th Anniversary special edition (Well, I guess greed would explain it...). So, if you bought any of the box sets, you still had to purchase the 30th Anniversary edition of Rocky to be a true completist.

With Rocky Balboa having been available on DVD for over six months, MGM has now chosen to release the complete set of films in a new box set. But what a missed opportunity this represents to include special features which have been omitted from previous releases. I do not know if there are cut scenes from Rocky IV in the MGM vaults, but I know for a fact that there is massive material for Rocky V, as a bootleg "uncut" version of the film has been circulating online for years. Also, why not finally upgrade the video transfer of Rocky V? Perhaps the most egregious omission will be special features for Rocky Balboa. Listening to Stallone's commentary on the DVD, he repeatedly refers to a "director's cut" which he would like to release at some point. This would have been the perfect time.
77 comments| 91 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2016
I Love Ths! I got it for my husband for his birthday. It arrived early, which was awesome and I am the best wife ever!

This is a great set, it comes with all of the Rocky's and they are in one box.

It takes up so much less room than having them individually. The picture quality is awesome. So much better than the VHS tapes he had years ago.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon February 9, 2014
The Rocky franchise is one of my personal favorites. Very few characters have resonated with audiences the way Rocky has. This collection includes all six Rocky films, from the original "Rocky" (1976) to the latest installment "Rocky Balboa" (2006). The first film in particular is one of the all-time great movies, it has stood the test of time and remains a wonderful achievement in filmmaking. The sequels vary in quality, but they are all bound together by the heart of the title character as well as entertaining boxing matches.

For those who already own the Rocky: The Undisputed Collection (which seems to be going out of print), the question is should you purchase this set?

The main reason to upgrade would be an improved image quality on the first film. If you own the Undisputed Collection, you'd probably agree that the picture quality is good but there was a lot of room for improvement. The Heavyweight Collection features a new transfer, and the result is a much better viewing experience.

Some have brought up the much lamented 7th disc of bonus features that was included in the Undisputed Collection, but is not included in this Heavyweight Collection. However, it's not as bad as it looks... almost all of the bonus material on that disc have been included on Disc 1 of this new set (so it's on the same disc as the first "Rocky" film). I am not sure why this change was made, but my guess is there have been improvements in storage capacity since the first blu-ray set was released, and thus there is more room on the movie disc to fit the special features.

In fact, there is one new feature included in this set: "8mm Home Movies of Rocky".

So if you already own the Undisputed Collection and have no problem with the video quality, then upgrading to this set probably isn't essential. But for those who are big Rocky fans and want the very best video experience, this collection is certainly the way to go.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$23.90
$14.96

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.