Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dollars to donuts it's a great "State Fair!"
This recent Broadway incarnation of Rodgers and Hammerstein's classic film is lovingly captured in this recording. Broadway's original "Annie," Andrea McArdle, is in fine form, with her clear strong voice shining on "Might As Well Be Spring" and "The Next Time It Happens." The score from the original film has been augmented with material...
Published on July 3, 1999

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One of O & H's worst
I can't fault the sonics, but the music s not up to par with the other great shows by O & H. I bought it just to complete my set. That's all it's good for.
Published 14 months ago by boss2u2a


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dollars to donuts it's a great "State Fair!", July 3, 1999
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rodgers & Hammerstein's State Fair (1996 Original Broadway Cast) (Audio CD)
This recent Broadway incarnation of Rodgers and Hammerstein's classic film is lovingly captured in this recording. Broadway's original "Annie," Andrea McArdle, is in fine form, with her clear strong voice shining on "Might As Well Be Spring" and "The Next Time It Happens." The score from the original film has been augmented with material from some lesser known - and less successful - R&H shows, but with only minor exceptions, the result is a pleasing whole. The orchestrations are first rate, and this recording will make a fine addition to any show music collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Fourth Attempt At "State Fair" Gets It Right, November 12, 2007
By 
This review is from: Rodgers & Hammerstein's State Fair (1996 Original Broadway Cast) (Audio CD)
I was lucky to live in Des Moines, Iowa the week that "State Fair" premiered at the Civic Center. It was great fun to see the celebrities come to town for the first performance of this musical of which Iowans are very proud. Patricia Neal was there as well as Mary Rodgers representing her father and others.
The Premier was planned to coincide with the actual Iowa State Fair, and the musical's leads waved to the crowds proudly from their convertibles as they rode in the State Fair parade(John Davidson, Kathryn Crosby, Andrea McArdle, Donna McKechnie, Scott Wise, and Ben Wright). It was truly a photographer's "hey-day", and cameras were snapping pictures all along the route.
Then came the actual production itself. Before seeing the show, I was most concerned about two numbers: "All I Owe Ioway" and "Boys And Girls Like You And Me".
The first (because if not handled right) can make Iowans appear in a bad light. But, it was done as the huge production number of which farmers and urbanites alike could proudly join together and celebrate their love of the fair.
R & H have tried to interpolate "Boys And Girls..." into several shows without success, but happily it has finally found a place where it could fit in and make sense.
The performers all gave top-notch efforts. Donna McKechnie proved she still had it even though several years had passed since "Chorus Line", and Scott Wise lived up to the praise he had been given in "Jerome Robbins' Broadway". What can you say about Andrea McArdle except that she's great! and Ben Wright wore his heart on his sleeve as McKechnies' love-lorn swain. The leads John Davidson and Kathryn Crosby sat back and let the kids have their fun and opined on growing older and fretting over blue ribbons to be won at the fair.
All together you had a simple story with lavish sets, good orchestrations, spot-on choreography, and great performers to interpret and make the whole thing come off in grand style.
One New York critic said the production cried out for a ferris wheel which isn't very practical for the Broadway stage, but I hope someday the show will be given a blue ribbon revival, and somehow that critic can get his ferris wheel in the production. Until then, enjoy this well recorded and delightful cast album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Isn't it kinda fun to listen to this CD?, December 25, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Rodgers & Hammerstein's State Fair (1996 Original Broadway Cast) (Audio CD)
I got this CD a while ago at a used CD store mainly because it had Ben Wright (of "Into the Woods" fame) and Andrea McArdle (of "Annie" fame.) Needless to say, I listened to it once, then set it on my shelf to collect dust. Then I purchased Bernadette Peters' "Bernadette Peters Loves Rodgers & Hammerstein" where I fell in love with the songs "So Far" and "It's A Grand Night for Singing." I put my "State Fair" soundtrack in the CD player, and really listened to it, and realized how great it actually is. I am so glad that this musical happened. The success of the songs from the "failed" R & H shows is worth the soundtrack itself. On this CD, my faves are definitely "So Far," "That's For Me," and "Isn't It Kinda Fun?" All of the voices are marvelous. Andrea McArdle and Ben Wright have truly grown up since their earlier appearances on Broadway, and both display true musical theatre voices. If you love Rodgers & Hammerstein, Broadway musicals, or just good music, I would DEFINITELY reccommend this soundtrack. It's becoming one of my favorite Rodgers & Hammerstein shows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Different Point of View, February 8, 2001
By 
This review is from: Rodgers & Hammerstein's State Fair (1996 Original Broadway Cast) (Audio CD)
Just a little different point of view. I personally have been in and around theatre and musical productions for nearly 10 years now, and had the opportunity to perform in an off-broadway production of State Fair. I personally feel this is one of the best musicals that I have performed in, not only for the storyline, but the musical score as well. I would recommend this CD to any lover of the musical industry!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful and Entertaining, August 15, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rodgers & Hammerstein's State Fair (1996 Original Broadway Cast) (Audio CD)
State Fair is often deemed a simple and boring show. I say simple - yes, but boring - no way! The music in this show is catchy and entertaining. This has quickly become my favorite Broadway recording, and I listen to it every time I'm in the car. This is easily my favorite R&H score and is one of the few recordings that I listen through entirely. That's right - I never skip a single song. I can't speak highly enough of this delightful recording. All of the cast members deliver top notch musical performances, as does the orchestra behind them. This recording cannot dissapoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing Score - Great Show, January 6, 2005
This review is from: Rodgers & Hammerstein's State Fair (1996 Original Broadway Cast) (Audio CD)
What a delight to finally own the C.D. of what I remember to be such a fine show, Everything is first rate and the inclusion of color photographs and the incredible costume and set designs is a plus for collectors. I can just picture the show listening to the C.D. and seeing the beautiful costumes took me right back to 1946 and era my husband and I shall never forget. Our grandchild considers this her favorite show an she likes Usher!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent addition to the R&H canon, May 22, 2000
By 
G. Minella "gm" (Whitestone, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rodgers & Hammerstein's State Fair (1996 Original Broadway Cast) (Audio CD)
Having been lucky enough to see this production when it was on Broadway I was glad to see that it made it to CD. I was overjoyed to see that so much of this score(an amalgamation of both movie versions plus songs from other R&H musical including a cut song from Oklahoma!) was preserved. There is so much about this recording to treasure. The cast is first rate! Their interpretation of the score is excellect and in character with the time the play is set in. The orchestration and vocal arrangemets are absolutely first rate. Most of the dance music was included on the recording making for an almost theatrical experince. To bad no video of this show was made the sets, lighting, costumes, choreograhpy and acting were steller. I would highly recomend this cd to anyone interested Musicals the way they should be, Great songs, great arrangments, great performances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rodgers and Hammerstein's film-musical goes to Broadway, September 18, 2002
By 
Byron Kolln (the corner where Broadway meets Hollywood) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Rodgers & Hammerstein's State Fair (1996 Original Broadway Cast) (Audio CD)
STATE FAIR, Rodgers and Hammerstein's made-for-movies musical about a family's adventures with romance and music at the annual Iowa State Fair, was adapted for the Broadway stage in 1996. It was a moderate success, and featured several songs from other R&H shows interpolated into its score. It arrived on Broadway after a mostly-successful national tour (with Susan Egan starring as Margy; who later took over the role on Broadway after Andrea McArdle broke her foot).
The story concerns the Frake family; parents Abel and Melissa (John Davidson and Kathryn Crosby), daughter Margy (Andrea McArdle) and son Wayne (Ben Wright). During their annual trip to the Iowa State Fair, the children's warm romances and their parents' fair activities provide the uncomplicated storyline.
Wayne becomes infatuated with the sexy older woman; singer/dancer Emily Arden (Donna McKechnie) and Margy finds the answer to her romantic dreams in the kind and handsome Pat Gilbert (Scott Wise).
The score features the Oscar-nominated "It Might As Well Be Spring", sung with achingly-romantic longing by Andrea McArdle, "Isn't It Kind of Fun?" and "It's a Grand Night for Singing". A couple of songs have been lifted from the 1960's Ann-Margret/Pat Boone remake, including "More Than Just A Friend". "You Never Had it So Good" has been lifted from ME AND JULIET, while "The Next Time it Happens" and "The Man I Used To Be" have been borrowed from PIPE DREAM. The ALLEGRO! song "So Far" also appears in the score.
All the songs are performed with gusto, though perhaps Andrea McArdle and Ben Wright were, in hindsight, a little too-seasoned for the teenage brother and sister. Ms McArdle's chameleon-like voice can effortlessly shift from a young girl to a grown woman, and is one of the reasons why she can play anything from Fantine in LES MISERABLES to Belle in BEAUTY AND THE BEAST. Ben Wright, in his only other main musical of consequence since creating the role of Jack in INTO THE WOODS, has a charming, effortless vocal style.
A real "must-own" musical recording. DRG Theater.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice soundtrack, October 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rodgers & Hammerstein's State Fair (1996 Original Broadway Cast) (Audio CD)
This is a nice recording of the original soundtrack from the musical State Fair. The sound quality is nice, and the songs are witty, funny, and a nice addition to any musical lovers collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars State Fair CD, August 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rodgers & Hammerstein's State Fair (1996 Original Broadway Cast) (Audio CD)
It had all the songs from the production, great performance and great recording. It was just what I was looking for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.