Customer Reviews


243 Reviews
5 star:
 (162)
4 star:
 (54)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


79 of 97 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RICK "SHAQ" GOLDSTEIN SAYS: "AS SMART AS A *STREET-FIGHTING-FOX*
I have to admit that I had never heard of Roger Ailes until I read the short release blurb that accompanied the announcement that this book was coming out. This book is the fascinating and fast-moving life story of the creator of the Rupert Murdoch financed Fox News Channel, Roger Ailes. There are constant behind the scene looks at almost every big name news...
Published 15 months ago by Rick Shaq Goldstein

versus
18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too much like a Fox press release
I like reading business books, and Ailes, in many ways, is a media genius. This book, however, seems too much like a public relations piece put out by Fox news. Way too light weight writing, with a lot of fluff, my best guess is that it was written quickly without the effort required to make it a good book. Though it's not awful, this book doesn't come off as a serious...
Published 6 months ago by HDC


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

79 of 97 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RICK "SHAQ" GOLDSTEIN SAYS: "AS SMART AS A *STREET-FIGHTING-FOX*, March 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Roger Ailes: Off Camera (Hardcover)
I have to admit that I had never heard of Roger Ailes until I read the short release blurb that accompanied the announcement that this book was coming out. This book is the fascinating and fast-moving life story of the creator of the Rupert Murdoch financed Fox News Channel, Roger Ailes. There are constant behind the scene looks at almost every big name news personality... not only on Fox... but CNN... NBC... MSNBC... and others. Roger's comments and quips to the author are delivered with no holds barred... and what makes it even more interesting is the fact that **ROGER AILES COOPERATED WITH THE AUTHOR... BUT THE BOOK IS NOT AUTHORIZED.** At the time this book was being written, Fox News "was already on its tenth straight year as number one and (he) was well on its way to an eleventh."

Ailes prides himself on the "street-level" background that he came from in Warren, Ohio... and at times... possibly "enhances" his image of a free-wheeling... swing from the hip... devil-may-care persona. Ailes, despite being a hemophiliac tried football in his youth and dreamed of becoming a fighter pilot. When Ailes was a child he bit his tongue and almost died. His Dad's "co-workers from Packard came to the clinic to donate blood." "Always remember, Bob Ailes told his son, you've got blue collar in your veins." Roger has never forgotten it... and quotes it whenever the right situation arises.

The reader will learn first-hand about the freedom Ailes allows his on air employees. Everyone from Bill O'Reilly to Sean Hannity to Brit Hume... to everyone above... beyond... or in between. (Also find out which two big name Fox personalities don't even talk to each other despite the fact that their offices are on the same floor a hundred feet apart!) Literally every person mentioned includes at least a smidgen or more of interesting personal tidbits that will keep you turning every page. Even one of the few ultra-liberals... Bob Beckel. And in the short page time given to Beckel you'll learn of his cocaine and alcohol problems... his messy and embarrassing involvement in the "sting" of a hooker... and even his punching someone out in a bar. The "coincidental" accumulation of attractive blonde reporters... background on Geraldo Rivera... and on and on... with a seemingly endless list of names that you and I hear every day. And there is one common thread that weaves them altogether... in addition to the word Fox... and that's ***LOYALTY***... and that' s one thing you will know within a shadow of a doubt when you're done reading this book... ***LOYALTY***... is the most important trait a person must possess in order to have an enduring business or personal relationship with Roger Ailes.

If all of that isn't enough to cast a hypnotic spell on potential readers... there's also a first-hand account of a secretive mano-a-mano meeting between Roger and President Obama.

One personal note on my experience with the author Zev Chafets: I thought he did a tremendous job on his book on Rush Limbaugh... but I disagreed vehemently with a number of his views in his book on the Baseball Hall Of Fame... but I guess that's one of the main points of being a baseball fan... the arguments.

This book is a homerun and you won't want to stop reading till you circle all the bases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too much like a Fox press release, January 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I like reading business books, and Ailes, in many ways, is a media genius. This book, however, seems too much like a public relations piece put out by Fox news. Way too light weight writing, with a lot of fluff, my best guess is that it was written quickly without the effort required to make it a good book. Though it's not awful, this book doesn't come off as a serious or well written biography or business tome. Disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Was expecting more, September 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is an unauthorized biography, which the author makes clear. After reading his previous book on Detroit "Devils night", I was so impressed with his detailed study and analysis. That's what I felt was lacking in this book. He describes the development of FOXNews and mentions various personalities, but does not give the detail I was expecting. It was a quick and easy read. Interesting to read about Roger Ailes background. I was just a little disappointed there were gaps in the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, April 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Very well written in conversational style. It is very similar to the author's biography of Rush Limbaugh in terms of style. Couldn't put this book down. It constructs the basis for Mr. Ailes' drive to succeed based on lessons learned in childhood. Born and raised in the midwest in very humble beginnings, Mr. Ailes is a true student of life and he learned his lessons well. The book reveals why Roger Ailes has such a loyal staff including many self described liberals. He is first and foremost proudly American. Thank God for Mr. Ailes and people like him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Terrific insight, April 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
An excellent biography that provides terrific insight into a person who helped make media and political history. The author lets us a truly a multi-dimensional person with totally unexpected loyalties and friendships that are coupled with strong values and keen instincts. Well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Puff Piece, January 31, 2014
Just like the creature he invented Fox news, this book was written for those who never leave the bubble. The book is a soft ball non-critical look at a very interesting person. The book is filled with wonderment and amazement regarding Mr. Ailes to the point where you begin to wonder if he really did create the world in 7 days.

No new revelations, no analysis, much of which has already been reported in previous writings on Mr. Ailes. I imagine this book was written by Ailes talking in a tape recorder and Chafets edits the text for continuity and grammar really doing little in the way to sully this puff piece.

If you’re already chugging the koolaid Ailes is selling, get your funnel this one's for you. If your like me it was a painful read that has already been deleted from my Kindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Much, June 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Not worth the price. Would not purchase again. There were some humorous excerpts but too much filler between. I was unfulfilled when finished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not great., August 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Roger Ailes: Off Camera (Hardcover)
I was disappointed; though it would be more revelatory behind Ailes's political genius. It was pedantic - and not to sound rude, but the guy is not terribly photogenic so the book's cover page didn't exactly compete for my attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Getting to know you...., July 4, 2013
By 
Sandra Grabman (Southern USA, y'all) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Roger Ailes: Off Camera (Hardcover)
I'd heard Roger Ailes' name quite often and was eager to know more about him. This book gave wonderful information, teaching me things about Ailes that I never would have suspected. I have gained much respect for the man. The only drawback I could see is that the author would frequently insert himself into the story. Perhaps that's just his style, and his style is apparently very effective, so who am I to criticize?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Conflicting Opinions, June 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
While I abhor just about everything Roger Ailes and Fox News stand for, I have to recognize the subjects genius in putting together a news organization that does nothing but make money. I felt the author was fairly unbiased and his work flowed well. I would recommend this biography to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Roger Ailes: Off Camera
Roger Ailes: Off Camera by Zev Chafets (Hardcover - March 19, 2013)
$26.95 $19.01
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.