Customer Reviews


230 Reviews
5 star:
 (115)
4 star:
 (53)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (25)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


72 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a killer knock-off for $20!
First off,if you are looking for the most premium of speakers why are you looking here? This is obviously a knock-off of the Jambox Mini just look at it's styling. Now look at the price. No brainer! With that being said...it kicks much ass :) It sound's pretty killer with everything I played through it,from talk radio to metal to jazz. It has a decent battery...
Published 5 months ago by NightRocker70

versus
137 of 164 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Here's The Inside Scoop On The RokerŽSound Cube ----->
First up, for the price this little blue tooth unit exceeds expectations. It has a pretty solid feel. The rubber material used on the top and base do well to protect it and even give it sort of a nice soft feel on all 8 corners. The size and shape lend way to a convenience when I'm out and about as it can just be placed anywhere and stays. I have an OOntz which is a...
Published 4 months ago by I Love You.


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

72 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a killer knock-off for $20!, March 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: RokerŽSound Cube Portable Wireless Bluetooth Stereo Speaker Built in Hands Free Speakerphone and Rechargable Battery,Clear and Crispy Sound Quality,Works With iPhone iPad iPod,Mp3 player,Tablet,Laptop,Computers And Any Bluetooth Enabled Device,Support 3.5mm Audio Cable Connection (black) (Electronics)
First off,if you are looking for the most premium of speakers why are you looking here? This is obviously a knock-off of the Jambox Mini just look at it's styling. Now look at the price. No brainer! With that being said...it kicks much ass :) It sound's pretty killer with everything I played through it,from talk radio to metal to jazz. It has a decent battery life(depends on the volume that it's played at),it's easy to pair and it has pretty rippin sound for a cool twenty. Louder than I expected,and better sound quality than I expected. Double bonus. It received a signal from farther than the 30 feet it says it does,another bonus. It's pretty simple...if you don't have the cash to buy a top tier BTS,than take it's wannabe counterpart,you'll be stoked that you did. Seriously,consider for a second all of the dumb crap you've spent twenty bucks on recently,well, you Can't add this to the list :)~ P.S-I use "Jet Audio Plus" as the player on my phone,and it has a programmable 20 band EQ,and Bass Boost which may improve the sound of MY unit personally,Best App Ever by the way!!! lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Loud, reasonably good sound and long playtime. Has some quirks, May 30, 2014
This review is from: RokerŽSound Cube Portable Wireless Bluetooth Stereo Speaker Built in Hands Free Speakerphone and Rechargable Battery,Clear and Crispy Sound Quality,Works With iPhone iPad iPod,Mp3 player,Tablet,Laptop,Computers And Any Bluetooth Enabled Device,Support 3.5mm Audio Cable Connection (black) (Electronics)
Length:: 5:06 Mins

The Roker Sound Cube has a style that seems to be inspired by the Mini Jambox. IT's got a metal grill with a sculpted diamond pattern. The top and bottom of the speaker have an easily removeable rubber cap... perhaps too easiily removeable. Pulling this out of a crowded backpack or suitcase could easily result in the rubber caps being pulled off. They're easy to put back on though.

On the top of the speaker are the track/volume, play/pause and handsfree buttons. The right side of the speaker has an on/off switch of dubious quality, a Mini USB port, Aux In port and a Micro SD memory card slot. Switching between modes is accomplished by a long press of the play/pause button and did not always change mode as intended. But eventually it works it just takes a couple attempts sometimes.

The speaker includes a 3.5mm Audio cable to allow you to directly connect a device without bluetooth via the headphone output or line out.. Also included is a USB to Mini USB cable for charging the speaker. The speaker can be charged while it is being played and playtime is supposed to be up to 8 hours depending on the listening volume. I have not let the speaker run that long continuously since I am always charging it after using it but I can routinely get 4 hours listening time during my car commutes.

So the versatility of this little speaker is that it can also play music directly from a memory card. This works well but with limitations such as no shuffle mode and the music always starts at the first song each time you turn the speaker on.

The speaker will also function as a handsfree for your speakerphone. A caller sounds loud and clear through the speaker but callers told me that my voice sounded a little distant and not as loud. Although you cannot initiate a phone call through the speaker, you can answer an incoming call (which rings through the speaker) and it's supposed to be able to redial the last number by quickly pressing the handsfree button three times. I could not get that to work with my iPhone5s.

One annoying characteristic of this speaker is that it talks to let you know what it's doing rather than a more palatable beep or tone of some sort. So when the speaker is first turned on it will automamtically go into bluetooth pairing mode and will tell you so. It also talks when the connection has been established. There is not way to turn the voice prompts off. It's obnoxious.

Another bother is the LED status light on the front of the speaker behind the grill. It is always on when the speaker is operating or charging. When the speaker is operating on its internal battery, the LED continually flashes and it's distracting. If the LED were repositioned on the side and made less bright it would be less intrusive.

This little speaker plays quite loudly for being so small. I like the overall sound characteristics... it has clarity in the mids and highs and enough bass to give the sound some heft. Other than the rubber caps that can easily come off, it seems somewhat sturdy.

I don't think I can expect too much or be too picky considering the price that this is being sold at, and for the price, this provides a great sound with decent amount of volume. It's not perfect but I believe it offers a good value.

I was provided a free sample for review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


137 of 164 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Here's The Inside Scoop On The RokerŽSound Cube ----->, April 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: RokerŽSound Cube Portable Wireless Bluetooth Stereo Speaker Built in Hands Free Speakerphone and Rechargable Battery,Clear and Crispy Sound Quality,Works With iPhone iPad iPod,Mp3 player,Tablet,Laptop,Computers And Any Bluetooth Enabled Device,Support 3.5mm Audio Cable Connection (black) (Electronics)
First up, for the price this little blue tooth unit exceeds expectations. It has a pretty solid feel. The rubber material used on the top and base do well to protect it and even give it sort of a nice soft feel on all 8 corners. The size and shape lend way to a convenience when I'm out and about as it can just be placed anywhere and stays. I have an OOntz which is a little bulkier and uses rubber tabs as a base. (3 of the 4 have disappeared but that's a different review) Does it get loud? Yes, but with considerable distortion - no shock there. (20 bucks people).
Now here's the inside scoop -----> Would I recommend this product? No. Absolutely not and here are 4 reasons why:
1. This unit has some seriously annoying issues, one of which,(and I'm sure it seemed like good idea on paper)but, every time this speaker is turned on a woman's voice with a thick accent that sounds part French and mostly Asian announces the Bluetooth device is ready to pair. Sounds like, "Zee bloo tooth dee-veyes eez reh-dee doo pear" then a moment later "Zee uh-bloo-tooth-dee-vice-ezz-uh-co-neck-ted-uh-sook-sess-foolee". No volume control or way to turn it off. I have found myself telling this Bluetooth speaker to, "Shut the hell up" The recording also chimes in when the battery is low saying something that isn't even in proper English. The first time you hear it, it seems sorta neat. The 20th time you resist the urge to send it against a wall.
2. There is no volume control from phone while making a phone call. It's annoying as well. When listening to music I have volume control from my phone. Why not cell calls?
3. LED light stays on at all times. This may not seem like a big deal. But it is a nightmare inside a moving vehicle at night. This has to be covered up or placed speaker side down,. Doesn't help that it changes color and sometimes blinks.
4. Turns out the microphone is very poor. When making calls on my OOntz people say they hear me crystal clear, with this they say, "What"?
I get no joy in writing a review that isn't positive. I want to love the products I purchase. I want you to be happy as well dear stranger. So that is my motivation. The main thing about this unit is that it could be phenomenal. These are very fixable things. At my work we would call these, "Opportunities". Thanks for taking the time to read my words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roker Sound Cube: A black box speaker with solid sound, May 22, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: RokerŽSound Cube Portable Wireless Bluetooth Stereo Speaker Built in Hands Free Speakerphone and Rechargable Battery,Clear and Crispy Sound Quality,Works With iPhone iPad iPod,Mp3 player,Tablet,Laptop,Computers And Any Bluetooth Enabled Device,Support 3.5mm Audio Cable Connection (black) (Electronics)
Small portable speakers may not offer as much overall dynamic range as their full-size counterparts, but the advantage here is that they do save quite a bit of space. Add to that, these self-contained stereo mini-speakers can be excellent when working at the computer, and all you want is improved sound over what a computer may offer.

The Roker Sound Cube is designed to work with the iPhone, iPad, iPod, MP3 players, tablets, Android phones, laptop computers, and just about any Bluetooth-enabled devices that you can find. For those who want to use it as a phone speaker, that can be done as well, though it may be a bit small to offer the sound quality that one might expect from a dedicated unit ideal for small-group conference calls.

◆ Likes:

+ Excellent compact design; ~ 6.8"W x 2.0"D x 2.8"H
+ Sturdy well-crafted product; sturdy enough for travel
+ Excellent stereo sound quality; 3W x2 power, 100Hz-20kHz frequency response
+ Easy Bluetooth pairing; has a range of ~30 feet
+ USB charging port; charges in ~4 hours, cable included
+ Rubberized non-slip base; won't slide off of desk surface in use
+ Accepts TF (microSD) cards; handy for music storage

◆ On the Fence:

ą Supplied audio cable may be too short for some users

◆ Dislikes:

- None so far

◆ In Use:

The Roker Sound Cube Portable Wireless Bluetooth Stereo Speaker arrived in a no-nonsense, easy to open cardboard box. Inside was the speaker, a USB charging cable, a short 3.5mm audio cable, and a simple user manual in English. Charged the speaker (LED indicates charge level, etc.) for about four hours, then proceeded to set it up for use.

The directions are straightforward, and the Bluetooth pairing directions made it easy to set this speaker up, first on my Kindle Fire HDX 7" tablet, and then on my Samsung Galaxy S III Android phone, which also doubles as an MP3 player. The sound quality was surprisingly good, and it has a non-slip base that also serves to enhance the sound quality when placed on the desktop. There is a small vertical slot to the left of the multipurpose USB port on the end of the speaker. This allows for cards, such as the Sandisk 16GB Micro SDHC Class 4 TF Memory Card, to be inserted for music playback. If you store your music files on one of these cards, this can be quite handy.

But how good is the sound, and how useful is this speaker? For small-group business conference calls, I've found the Jabra SPEAK410 USB Speakerphone to be excellent, though at a much higher price. The Roker Sound Cube works quite well with private conversations with a low to medium level background noise, and at a far more cost effective price. As far as overall sound quality goes, have had the occasion to locally try the Photive CYREN and the even more costly Jawbone JAMBOX wireless Bluetooth speaker, and though they have more punch, it all becomes a price vs. performance issue, and why I went with the Roker Sound Cube. This brand is one with which I am familiar, as some months back I bought the smaller Sound Cannon Wireless Portable Bluetooth Speaker by Roker, and found it surprisingly good for portable use when traveling with a laptop computer.

On a personal note, I prefer setting up speakers like this using the built-in standard 3.5mm audio cable connection for best sound quality, but the one on this unit is a bit short, as noted above. Bought a Cables to Go 3.5 mm Male/Female 3-foot Stereo Audio Extension Cable here, and it's presently hooked up to my mini-tower PC. Problem solved.

Though it's not noted in the specs, this speaker has a replaceable battery, noted as a BL-5C Li-Ion rechargeable battery. See the comments for more details.

◆ Summary:

The Roker Sound Cube has proven to be a good performer for general audio listening purposes. Bluetooth connectivity is good for those who wish to use it that way. Considering its compact size, it's good one, and has proven to be an excellent value for the money. Its replaceable Li-Ion battery makes it a good one for long term use, and if you are using it for a sound upgrade for your existing desktop PC speakers, that stereo audio extension cable helps.

JW ▪ 5/22/2013
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful Small Speaker at a Great Price, March 13, 2014
This review is from: RokerŽSound Cube Portable Wireless Bluetooth Stereo Speaker Built in Hands Free Speakerphone and Rechargable Battery,Clear and Crispy Sound Quality,Works With iPhone iPad iPod,Mp3 player,Tablet,Laptop,Computers And Any Bluetooth Enabled Device,Support 3.5mm Audio Cable Connection (black) (Electronics)
There are many inexpensive decent quality Bluetooth speakers out there. Many of them, however, compromise on the sound quality in order to be incredibly affordable. The Roker Sound Cube speaker manages to get the sound quality that you would normally expect from much bigger brand-name speakers at the fraction of the price that those speakers sell for.

One of the first things you notice about this speaker, and rightfully so, is its incredibly strong and crisp sound. The bass notes were rich and well shaped, and at high volume it was hard to listen due to its incredible loudness.

Pairing with my iPhone was a breeze. Bluetooth has come a long way and it's now almost as good as any other wireless transmitting standard, especially for casual listening.

The speaker is fairly well built. Th bottom and the top are rubberized, and they grip easily to almost any surface. The sides of the speakers are made out of metal grille and look pretty cool. There seem to be three different color options for this speaker, but to my eye the all-black looks by far the best. As already mentioned, this speaker is really small and it fits easily into almost any environment, especially when used in a completely wireless manner.

The speaker uses a micro USB input for charging. You can charge it by connecting it to your computer, or by using a stand-alone charger. Charging speeds will depend on whether you are using the 1 A or 2.1 A charger, and it could take anywhere between two to four hours. Single charge is sufficient for many hours of listening, and it will (naturally) depend on how loudly you use it.

The speaker has a speakerphone option, but I am not a big fan of speakerphones in general, so I was not really impressed with this one either. However, it is nice to have that option in case I ever need it.

Overall, this is a great little speaker, especially considering the price. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mama mia! This thing is loud!, June 1, 2014
This review is from: RokerŽSound Cube Portable Wireless Bluetooth Stereo Speaker Built in Hands Free Speakerphone and Rechargable Battery,Clear and Crispy Sound Quality,Works With iPhone iPad iPod,Mp3 player,Tablet,Laptop,Computers And Any Bluetooth Enabled Device,Support 3.5mm Audio Cable Connection (black) (Electronics)
I test a lot of bluetooth speakers so was expecting yet another personal speaker when my review sample arrived. What I mean by 'personal' is most of these small speakers are designed to sit close by. Not so this one. It's loud from thirty feet away on full volume. It's streaming quality from that distance is also impressive because when I tested mine the sound quality was as good as if I were streaming from three feet away and there was no break up or degradation.

This speaker automatically initiates the paring process as soon as you turn it on. Unlike the older generation that required you to hold down a multifunction button for some precise number of seconds while chanting or some such, this one actually speaks in a woman's voice telling that it's ready to pair. I was a little taken aback by that, but the only other thing uttered was a confirmation in the same spoken voice that it had paired and connected after I scanned for it with my phone and initiated the pair and connect sequence.

While this is loud, it's not shrill. The sound in the high, mid and low frequency ranges is superb. Even the bass is deep and every note of the two albums I streamed to it were distinct and rich sounding from thirty feet away.

There are other features, but other reviewers have already covered those. For me this is a surprisingly great sounding bluetooth speaker in a tiny package. Since it includes both a TF card slot and a 3.5MM input, it's versatile and frankly better than any of the first generation speakers that I tested last year - and at a fraction of the price. This is a speaker that I would not hesitate to recommend to a friend. That says it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jam box mini?! Wow...very impressive..., May 30, 2014
This review is from: RokerŽSound Cube Portable Wireless Bluetooth Stereo Speaker Built in Hands Free Speakerphone and Rechargable Battery,Clear and Crispy Sound Quality,Works With iPhone iPad iPod,Mp3 player,Tablet,Laptop,Computers And Any Bluetooth Enabled Device,Support 3.5mm Audio Cable Connection (black) (Electronics)
This is such a neat looking speaker, that just feels great in your hand. I have no idea how a company can make something this nice for only about $20?!

I love the creative design on the Roker Sound Cube, and the sound is so much better then I ever expected. Okay, it is not my Bose unit, but it also didn't cost me $300! Also, with then Sound Box, I won't be afraid to take it anywhere with me, and I won't be neurotic that it might get scratched. ;-)

I was sent a unit to review, and I am going to buy a few as gifts. That is as good as it gets.

The specs are:

- Bluetooth Version: V3.0+EDR
- Working Range: Up to 33 Feet
- Battery Charge Time: 4 hours
- Dimension: 6.8 x 2 x 2.8 inch
- Net Weight: 0.7 pounds
- Speaker: 40mm
- Loudspeaker Output: 3W*2
- Frequency Response: 100HZ-20KHZ
- Signal to Noise: 95dB
- Lithium ion/ battery: 800MHA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for the Price, June 27, 2014
This review is from: RokerŽSound Cube Portable Wireless Bluetooth Stereo Speaker Built in Hands Free Speakerphone and Rechargable Battery,Clear and Crispy Sound Quality,Works With iPhone iPad iPod,Mp3 player,Tablet,Laptop,Computers And Any Bluetooth Enabled Device,Support 3.5mm Audio Cable Connection (black) (Electronics)
Length:: 2:06 Mins

The Roker sound cube is great for the price. I love the design because it looks like the Mini JamBox. The all black finished looks great. There's silicone that is on the top and bottom of the sound cube. You can remove the silicone if wanted. The sound cube is small enough to travel with, which will be great for upcoming trips. The sounds is great but, I wish it could go louder from personal experience with the sound cube.

Pro:
Small
Looks like the Mini JamBox

Con:
Wish it could go louder

Overall:
I think its a great speaker. I was supplied a sample in exchange for a fair and honest review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars has several flaws that make me unable to recommend it, July 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: RokerŽSound Cube Portable Wireless Bluetooth Stereo Speaker Built in Hands Free Speakerphone and Rechargable Battery,Clear and Crispy Sound Quality,Works With iPhone iPad iPod,Mp3 player,Tablet,Laptop,Computers And Any Bluetooth Enabled Device,Support 3.5mm Audio Cable Connection (black) (Electronics)
The sound quality is ok for the price, but this bluetooth speaker has several flaws that make me unable to recommend it. First of all, there is an extremely loud female robot voice that comes on the speaker to tell you that the bluetooth speaker is connected to your device. The voice is very unnerving and there doesn't seem to be a way to turn the volume down. Also, this device does not have the greatest blue tooth range. Sometimes i'll take the speaker as little as 10 feet away and it will crackle or lose connection. Spend an extra 20 bucks and get the Photive Cyren speaker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Does not work! Waste of time., July 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: RokerŽSound Cube Portable Wireless Bluetooth Stereo Speaker Built in Hands Free Speakerphone and Rechargable Battery,Clear and Crispy Sound Quality,Works With iPhone iPad iPod,Mp3 player,Tablet,Laptop,Computers And Any Bluetooth Enabled Device,Support 3.5mm Audio Cable Connection (black) (Electronics)
Speaker came real quickly. Build quality seems good. Only problem is it doesn't work! The battery didn't charge and I couldn't turn it on. When it's plug in the AC I couldn't pair it with my iPhone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.