Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Media Player with some Minor Flaws
I recently got a WD TV Live and i love it because it plays literally all the media files i have saved on my external hard drive. I decided to try the Roku 2 XS because i needed an extra media player for my living room, as i was using WD for my bedroom. I think the Roku XS is a great device for streaming media from channels (NBC, Netflix, CNET, etc). But don't think you...
Published on December 11, 2011 by Always Samsung

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars signal
First i thought it was my internet that kept kicking me off but if i watch my roku for long periods of time it loses its signal even when connected with a cable probably gping tp get the roku 3 ive heard they dony have that problem
Published 5 months ago by thomas brown


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Media Player with some Minor Flaws, December 11, 2011
This review is from: Roku 3100AB 1080p 2 XS Angry Birds Limited Edition Streaming Player - Red (Electronics)
I recently got a WD TV Live and i love it because it plays literally all the media files i have saved on my external hard drive. I decided to try the Roku 2 XS because i needed an extra media player for my living room, as i was using WD for my bedroom. I think the Roku XS is a great device for streaming media from channels (NBC, Netflix, CNET, etc). But don't think you are going to get every episode of everything for free. Content from free channels are limited. The Roku is NOT flawless, it does have some pluses and minuses. I think the user interface on the Roku is slightly better than the WD because it is a bit more fluid, doesn't have that extra one second lag when performing easy functions like typing and searching. It also has more channels than the WD. However, WD has YouTube and Roku doesn't, but then again Roku has Amazon Prime streaming, and WD doesn't. So each device has its own perks. These two devices would be perfect if i could smash them into one ultimate media player. What one has, the other lacks.

Setup for the most part was fairly easy, but immediately after setting up wi-fi, Roku must do a software update and for some reason, it wouldnt download it so i kept fiddling with this thing for over an hour. I plugged in my ethernet plug and then it FINALLY downloaded, only when wired. Yes, this does require the buyer to disclose their credit card information. It doesn't charge the customer, but they save it on file for future use when customers want to buy certain channels, etc. I was a bit annoyed because a lot of the channels included required a log in name and password. After awhile, it just got plain annoying. Even using the Roku requires one to sign up and create a Roku account. Also remember that with the Roku player, having a solid wi-fi connection is a must. If not, just get the high-end XS model and plug in the ethernet plug to avoid buffering issues. I really wanted something simple to plug and play. The Roku doesn't play movie files that are just ripped from a DVD. The movie must be formatted and will play in MP4 format (all my movie files are in MP4 format). Overall, i am pleased, but i think if i were to get another streaming media player i'd go with WD.

Pros:
Semi-easy setup
Nice user interface
Some nice free channels (CNET TV, Anime, etc)
Small and compact size
Angry Birds
Plays MP4 movie files
Pandora, Amazon Prime, HBO
Fast Fowarding on movie files is a breeze
Plays movies from USB memory sticks
Plays movies from external 2TB hard drive (2TB max, can't do 3TB)

Cons:
Doesn't play AVI movies files
Can't play Windows Media Player movie files
Only 1 USB slot
Media folders from external HD are not in A-Z order
Menu customization is a bit limited
Advertisies 300 plus channels, but i don't see that many
Doesn't have YouTube
Doesn't have VEVO
Doesn't have progressive scan (when you go back to a movie you were in the middle of, it will start from the very beggining as oppose 2 where one left off)
**Keep in mind a solid wi-fi connection is a must or one will encounter many buffering issues and streaming movies not playing at all. I don't know if this is a Roku thing, or if people have cheap wi-fi routers (i am pretty sure it is a Roku thing), but i encountered many issues and the only way to avoid this is by connecting an ethernet plug into the device. I encountered no issues when the device was wired.**
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, January 6, 2012
By 
James Lasby "James" (Phoenix, AZ United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Roku 3100AB 1080p 2 XS Angry Birds Limited Edition Streaming Player - Red (Electronics)
I have to say I was skeptical when I ordered my first Roku Player last year but I have been very pleased with it. I have since purchased one for my Mother and my Father-in-law and they both love them also. My Father-in-law even got a couple to give as gifts. Not everything is free on Roku but there is a lot that is including G - XXX rated material.
If you get one you need to look on the web for all the Roku channels, there are many and a huge variety of programming. I find it easy to use and the picture quality is very good. I use it for Netflix and Amazon streaming videos all the time. I do not have a Hulu Plus account but I would think that would make it even better.
I received an Apple TV for Christmas and I have to say I did not like as much as the Roku so I returned it and I am getting another Roku instead.
Pros:
Easy to set up
Easy to use
Lots of channels to watch
Lots of services to enjoy
Low cost
Cons:
You can't watch everything you could with cable or satellite TV
Some channels do cost
Not publicly traded (because I want to invest!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roku2 Angry Bird Edition, January 17, 2012
This review is from: Roku 3100AB 1080p 2 XS Angry Birds Limited Edition Streaming Player - Red (Electronics)
We recently got the Roku2 Angry Bird Edition as a gift. We were pleasantly surprised to see how easy it was to setup. There are so many channels to select from. The content is amazingly well-constructed. The Netflix player functionality is quick with no lag. The kids have lots of fun playing Angry Birds. More importantly is that the portability is awesome!!! We took it on a family trip and hooked it up to the hotel's TV. It worked out well for the kids. Roku rocks!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roku Angry birds limited edition, January 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Roku 3100AB 1080p 2 XS Angry Birds Limited Edition Streaming Player - Red (Electronics)
I also own an apple tv that sold for the same price. I much prefer the roku to to apple. There seems to be many more channels available for free. Picture quality is excellent. Sign up for the Amazon prime at $79 a year, it is well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great ROKU, January 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Roku 3100AB 1080p 2 XS Angry Birds Limited Edition Streaming Player - Red (Electronics)
Bought three of these angry birds edition ROKU boxes for my kids. I have other editions of the ROKU, but this was my first with the games.

As always, easy setup right out of the box. Within minutes, had it all connected and set up.

Games worked well. I bought PACMAN in addition to the free angry birds game. If you buy it once, you can play the game on all your ROKUs - so that was a great bonus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who needs cable any longer?, September 13, 2012
By 
Amy M. Whitten (Lewiston, ME U.S.A.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Roku 3100AB 1080p 2 XS Angry Birds Limited Edition Streaming Player - Red (Electronics)
I love this thing! I don't change channels endlessly on cable anymore. In a few short minutes I have what I feel like watching at that particular moment. I won't spend another dime on 500 channels of junk I don't watch anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roku LT, Roku HD, Roku 2 XD, Roku 2 XS Angry Birds Edition, December 18, 2012
This review is from: Roku 3100AB 1080p 2 XS Angry Birds Limited Edition Streaming Player - Red (Electronics)
Roku 3100AB 1080p 2 XS Angry Birds Limited Edition Streaming Player - Red

Bought 1st Roku LT, loved it so...ordered 2nd Roku LT as gift, he loved it so...ordered 3rd Roku HD as gift, he loved it so...ordered 4th Roku 2 XD as gift, he loved it so...ordered 5th Roku 2 XS Angry Birds Edition red.

Over yrs. have 5 Rokus, share home network signal on old Linksys wireless N 150 (not dual band) with 2 laptops, have lowest high speed internet cable signal available, home is 3 floors, Rokus ea level & opposite ends of house, router on middle floor. Roku by streaming to televisions freed our laptops for independent use!

Am 57 yr. mom & grandmother, set up all alone & because remotes are basic/uncomplicated was able to teach both mentally challenged adults I adopted yrs. ago to use. During setup I had viewed all Roku channels available 500+!! but only installed the few that would be used most often and to easily find/change/watch with quick click. I additionally created extensive watch list of Amazon Prime instant videos (& already have Amazon video library) and created a maximum watch list in Netflix (500+ movies & television series), one television series which includes yrs./seasons of episodes counts only as 1 item in the watch list!

Roku remotes function with other models, helps when remote is misplaced but for $10 ordered an extra remote for convenience until misplaced 1 found. The remotes have few buttons easily remembered, so easy to use in dark room or without reading glasses.

Most Rokus have output for HDMI, component & composite televisions (the component & composite cables are included in the box). Roku used with pre-HDMI televisions will remain resolution quality of that tv was capable of. Some Roku models including newest access both wired & wireless internet. Roku's settings for resolution, screen size/fit, audio, wired or wireless network access are easy to adjust.

Your older televisions with Roku connected to them can be enjoyed in garage, basement, laundry room, attic, workshop, outside depending on strength of your router's home network signal. It's a motivator to enjoyably get your chores and projects done.

TRAVEL WITH ROKU! tiny, easy to disconnect & reconnect to other location at home or bring to friend/family/elsewhere if internet access available. Readjust Roku settings for tv just connected to which apply:
network connection wired/wireless, password if needed for network access, resolution, screen size/fit, audio..

Decades of restored movies & television series are generations of history that can be enjoyed with grandchildren, company. Tears of memories when tvs became entertainment in home (B&W later color!) Bonanza, I Love Lucy, Honeymooners, Munsters, Adams Family, Mission Impossible, Dragnet & thousands more available from pilots, then sequential episodes or click to missed & favorite episodes, all with descriptions & duration without TV guide.

Initial install with credit/debit card is only for future purchases of paid & video on demand channels i.e. international stations, specific sports, etc. If you don't have credit card, you can buy temporary or reloadable one online or in person at Walmart, CVS, others for setup. Roku indeed is loaded with free channels Crackle, Retro television with few seconds commercials & usually a laugh without louder volume! Great gift for children, elderly, bedridden... After initial set up for them, simple remote is easy to teach.

If your shared signal is split with several, occasional signal drop occurs but is restored by reconnecting to your network with Roku remote in settings. If becomes a problem, consider upgrading to a higher speed internet connection and/or newer wireless router easily found & cheaper on Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ROKU RULES!, March 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Roku 3100AB 1080p 2 XS Angry Birds Limited Edition Streaming Player - Red (Electronics)
I first purchased. The Roku XD on sale for $50. Not only was it a great deal but we love the Roku content. The XD comes with a remote for regular surfing and is only 720P but the picture is still great.

We then purchased the XS which is full 1080P and the picture was incredible! We spent a little extra to get the special edition Angry Birds Roku but it came with a game remote and angry birds already installed. It also couldn't be simpler to set up and can easily be packed for travel.

The free content is quite good but with Amazon Instant Video included in your Prime membership you can just about forget about cable/satellite.

BUY ONE and you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT OPTION BUT WORTH THE EXTRA BUCKS FOR THIS VERSION?, April 6, 2012
This review is from: Roku 3100AB 1080p 2 XS Angry Birds Limited Edition Streaming Player - Red (Electronics)
I have a Roku HD that has been a working just fine (4+ years) but wanted an upgrade which would allow us to move the old Roku to another room. In comparison to the older model, this one shines brilliantly! This model is smaller and I love how it takes up very little room. The remote is bigger and provides more options at the touch of a button which is nice. The device works smoother and much quicker so I have no complaints on performance.

Th Roku 2 XS is the top grade and this limited Angry Birds version costs a few extra (~$12 more) for the red box with an angry bird icon along with the game being automatically inlcuded. It provides 1080i for HDTV sets, a rewind button on the controller (allowing for replay of the last couple of seconds) which is brilliant for watching sports and the ability to play some online games. Although I do not use this device to play games, the rewind button is sweet for viewing sports. My husband loves this option! We also have the Roku 2 XD model which very similar minus the rewind button and enhanced gaming ability which is available at a lower price. It allows for online connection via wireless or ethernet and is very easy to set up.

The Roku 2 XS allows me to watch Netflix, Amazon on Demand, and HBO 2 Go. All of these require a fee but there are plenty of free channels (Crackle), free music (Pandora) with more being added all the time. I called customer service to make sure I had the latest software update and they provided cheerful assistance without attitude. Do I really need to state how nice it is to have helpful customer service provided by a company? and being able to reach a live person via telephone?

I love my original and basic Roku device (Roku HD) and this model is much better. I highly recommend getting a Roku 2 XS to enhance your media enjoyment but do you need the limited Angry Bird version for a few extra bucks? That's your call.... Also, having the Roku box in bright red messed with my decor and I much prefer the black box version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Little Device!, July 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Roku 3100AB 1080p 2 XS Angry Birds Limited Edition Streaming Player - Red (Electronics)
It's so much smaller than my other Roku, hard to believe it can be so functional! We've thoroughly enjoyed Roku entertainment, have cut back to only basic programming on satellite. Both of our units are connected via wireless and we've encountered no problems whatsoever. Love the selection of channels available outside of the featured ones, there are literally hundreds and many of them with live programming. We now have one for each room of the house.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.