Customer Reviews


461 Reviews
5 star:
 (260)
4 star:
 (64)
3 star:
 (42)
2 star:
 (20)
1 star:
 (75)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


95 of 101 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Triple the Fun
"Roller Coaster Tycoon 2 - Triple Thrill Pack" finally delivers the RCT2 I wanted. It not only lets you simulate building amusement parks, complete with rides, food & drink stalls, and other attractions, but this pack includes a huge number of different coasters and examples of each type, and also allows you to try to build your own coasters. There are many other types...
Published on September 20, 2004 by Bruce Gray

versus
15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Is not compatible with Windows 8
This game is almost unuseable in Windows 8 environment. This was not stated in the specs because I would not have purchased it. I have looked for patches and updates for error message. So far, even the original manufacturer has not attempted to fix the problem. Will not load the game consistantly and will stop functioning 3 out of 4 times I attemot to load it. Also, it...
Published 14 months ago by Leslie Lintner


‹ Previous | 1 247 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

95 of 101 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Triple the Fun, September 20, 2004
By 
Bruce Gray "gurpsgm" (Shenandoah Valley, VA, USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
"Roller Coaster Tycoon 2 - Triple Thrill Pack" finally delivers the RCT2 I wanted. It not only lets you simulate building amusement parks, complete with rides, food & drink stalls, and other attractions, but this pack includes a huge number of different coasters and examples of each type, and also allows you to try to build your own coasters. There are many other types of amusement park rides, including log flumes and water slides, merry-go-rounds and ferris wheels, go kart race tracks and car rides, and many others. There are also over a dozen scenarios ranging from fairly easy to fairly difficult. The fact that all the scenarios are accessible from the beginning of the game is a big plus.

The replay value of this game is great. I find myself coming back to see if I can better my previous rating or ending park value, or both, or add something to my previous parks to make them more interesting. I know I've spent countless hours designing little tweaks to make my parks or rides "just right".

The primary program, "Roller Coaster Tycoon II," provides many good features that are a big improvement over RCT1, but the same graphics engine is used. I really like this sim game - probably more than any other game like it. If you like amusement parks and roller coasters, and you like games like "Civilization" and other simulations, you'll love Roller Coaster Tycoon 2.

"Wacky Worlds" adds a lot of scenery like the Great Wall of China, the Taj Mahal, the Eiffel Tower and many others to make your park a true international experience. There are over 20 new scenarios, 50 new ride types (not all of which will be coasters), and about a total of 250 new game elements. But the total of the new elements in "Wacky Worlds" wasn't worth the price of admission all by itself.

"Time Twister" adds even more great rides and some really wonderful scenarios to the overall mix. There's a few for every age - from the Medieval to the present and beyond. There's also a few new rides and attractions. "Time Twister" also suffered from not having nearly enough material to satisfy RCT fans by itself.

But now you can Triple your fun with this all in one pack. Amazon.Com doesn't have half stars, so I can't give this game the 4 1/2 stars it deserves, but I'm sure if you've found previous games in the series interesting. you'll love tripling your fun!

If you've never tried Roller Coaster Tycoon, and you like amusement parks, you'll love the ability to design and build your own amusement park. RCT2 gives you almost everything that the old game had. But if you've already tried RCT1 you may find that this game just isn't different enough from the original, even though it includes the new scenario designer and other new features. The graphics haven't been updated much at all - and the graphics were already a little dated in RCT1.

But if you =really= want the =complete= pack, do an Internet search for "RCT2 User Created Expansion Set" and download that. You will be highly surprised at the many new features, rides and other things that fan-created expansion does for this game.

Now that my predictions have come to pass and everything is available for RCT2, I very highly recommend this purchase over any of the other stand alone sets, including the incomplete "Combo Pack". But if you already =love= RCT2, then just wait a few weeks - Chris Sawyer and Atari are rolling out RCT3 - which finally has a 3D feel and a coaster cam! If you've never tried to build your own amusement park, and had a secret yen to try it, then RCT2 is a great game. Watch out Disney World - here comes Roller Coaster Tycoon 2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works perfectly on Windows 7 64bit!, September 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rollercoaster Tycoon 2: Triple Thrill Pack [Download] (Software Download)
I decided to take a risk on purchasing this item because my laptop runs on Windows 7 64bit. I was pleasantly surprised that I could install and play the game perfectly without hitch. You would think the game was made for Windows 7.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Sequel to best Simulation Game ever, June 20, 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
No doubt about it, RollerCoaster Tycoon is the best simulation game ever! Atari hits a homerun with this awesome sequel. For those of you who have never played the original, I'll describe it briefly.

You can build your own park, construct rides, food areas, and souvenir stalls. You build the paths, can make custom or predesigned rides and make scenery. Every park is a scenario, where your goal is to meet a certain objective. One example of an objective would be "Have 1000 people in your park by year 3 with a park rating of 600"

RollerCoaster Tycoon gives you all types of data in finances, pinpointing where you may be losing money. Also, you can start marketing campaigns to get more guests. It has a convenient, easy to use interface

IMPROVEMENTS OVER THE ORIGINAL ROLLERCOASTER TYCOON

1. Guests look at scenery and rides and have more detailed thoughts

2. Now if you construct a pre-designed ride, the game clears trees for you( this was a big nuisance in the original)

3. WAY more rides! (And I mean a ton more)

4. Cool Sixflags Parks

5. A lot of different stalls (for example, now there is a lemonade stall)

6. Sorting of parks by difficulty level

One thing that hasn't improved over the previous version is the graphics. They are exactly the same. But since the graphics in the original RollerCoaster Tycoon were good to start with, this isn't a problem.

This is way better than RollerCoaster Tycoon 3(which frankly sucks). Get this instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RCT 2 ALOT better than 3 & soaked, August 29, 2005
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Save your $$ and buy this RCT2 instead of 3, you will be much happier. Alot more fun, easier to play, peeps dont puke as much.

Just...100 times better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Suprisingly addictive, August 14, 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
When my brother and I first recieved this game as a Christmas gift, I was unsure as to whether I would enjoy it or not. I finally tried it, and my brother had some trouble getting me off the computer!

The goal of the game (unless you're on a scenario) is to attract as many people to your park as possible while paying back your loan. You can build all sorts of different rides and roller coasters including custom design and real rides from Six Flags theme parks such as "Colossus," "Texas Giant," "Goliath," and more!

I only have a couple of complaints. First off, there isn't much to be said about the graphics. Second, the people that visit your park become unrealistically queasy after a ride, and more times than not, throw up, leaving your handymen to clean up the mess. (Regardless as to how many first aid rooms you stick along the path out of the ride.)

Another one--the guests will sometimes just stick to kiddie rides. I remember one time I was on a scenario, and I built "Goliath." No one went on it! They were too scared! And a lot of times, the custom design rides would be too scary for them. (But I probably don't count...my rides are CREEPY!) But if any of the guests make you mad, you can pick them up, and drop them in a body of water and leave them to drown. I'm not saying that it is the right way to deal with it, I'm just saying that it's an option.

But all that aside, this game is a blast, and I highly recommend it.

T.K., 14

(Psst! If you want to have your revenge against all those people that hate your park, keep them in by posting up "No Entry" signs in front of all the park exits. Park turned prison!) (They will all get very angry after a while...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Is not compatible with Windows 8, August 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rollercoaster Tycoon 2: Triple Thrill Pack [Download] (Software Download)
This game is almost unuseable in Windows 8 environment. This was not stated in the specs because I would not have purchased it. I have looked for patches and updates for error message. So far, even the original manufacturer has not attempted to fix the problem. Will not load the game consistantly and will stop functioning 3 out of 4 times I attemot to load it. Also, it does not save the games either so be prepared to finish each park before you quit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still holds up!, June 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rollercoaster Tycoon 2: Triple Thrill Pack [Download] (Software Download)
The game works fine on Windows 7 so I assume it works fine on windows 8.1. It didn't run on a few years ago but amazon got a newer version that works on win7 and win8. Go amazon. Great game. Good deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Roller Coaster Tycoon II - version two of the classic, August 27, 2006
By 
Marc D. Donner "nygeek" (New York, New York USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The original was perfect. This one is slightly better. One of the best PC strategy games ever. My son and I have been playing it for years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you liked the 1st game you'll like this one., August 21, 2005
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This is just as good as the 1st Roller Coaster Tycoon, It is pretty much the same, but with just added features, like new scenerios, rides, scenery & etc... The newest feature that I like the best is how easier it is to bulldoze scenery & things, you can now do a larger area, instead of just right clicking on every object. So if you liked the 1st game you will love this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome game, June 9, 2005
A Kid's Review
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
I love Rollercoaster Tycoon. It is fun and challenging. I was so excited when rollercoaster tycoon. I'll give you a run down of the features.

Graphics: The graphics are about the same as rollercoaster tycoon.

Scenery: Lots of new scenery and theming ideas

Rides: Loads and loads of new rides and even some sixflags rides

Features: A handy new feature is the........( techinally, there is no name or it) Remeber when you were making pre-desogned rides and had to remove millions of trees before being able to build it? Well, in rct2, it does it for you. And for rollercoasters and some other rides, it has a pre built entrance and exit, as well as pre built queue lines and exit paths. Another new thing is the scenario editor, where you make your own scenario.

The triple thrillpack also lets you have two awesome expansion packs. Oneis wacky worlds, where you build theme parks in famous places such as the rio carnival, great wall of china, and other place. The other expansion pack included is time twister. In this expansion pack, you make parks in different time periods such as the roaring 20's, flower power, mythlogical age, dark times,etc.

Highly recommended for a kid.....or an Adult!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 247 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.