Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


61 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GRAB YOUR HEADPHONES AND ENJOY THIS SIMPLY STUNNING MASTERPIECE!
Lush, mellow and sexy as all get-out, this curious pairing of American producer Danger Mouse (he of Gnarls Barkley and Broken Bells) and Italian composer Daniele Luppi (he of Sex and the City) could have been tedious. But Mr. Mouse's track record of mesmerizing collaborations -- no matter how out-there the premise -- remains peerless, as this tribute to iconic Italian...
Published on May 17, 2011 by Scott Daly

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Morricone Pop, but Spaghetti Western ??
Wow. Like many others I read a newspaper review relating this music to the spaghetti westerns of the mid and after '60's. I'm not sure what Spaghetti Westerns others have heard, but where is the tension, the danger? Listen to Morricone's The Good, the Bad and the Ugly theme - hear the cries of despair and fear. Or the Ecstacy of Gold from the same film and hear the...
Published on May 31, 2011 by Jeff Summers


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

61 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GRAB YOUR HEADPHONES AND ENJOY THIS SIMPLY STUNNING MASTERPIECE!, May 17, 2011
By 
Scott Daly "scottysauce" (San Ramon, Ca United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rome (Audio CD)
Lush, mellow and sexy as all get-out, this curious pairing of American producer Danger Mouse (he of Gnarls Barkley and Broken Bells) and Italian composer Daniele Luppi (he of Sex and the City) could have been tedious. But Mr. Mouse's track record of mesmerizing collaborations -- no matter how out-there the premise -- remains peerless, as this tribute to iconic Italian film music drips with '60s cool. The material is original; the project was five years in the making. But Ennio Morricone's influence (The Good, the Bad and the Ugly, Once Upon a Time in the West) is robust. In order to replicate the retro sound, Danger Mouse and Luppi recorded as if it were 50 years ago, which means no computer trickery. They also brought in musicians who worked with Morricone on those classic spaghetti-Western scores. And to give it all a little commercial polish (but still retain that hip sheen), Jack White and Norah Jones were brought in to contribute vocals, each one steamier than the next. Jack White plays a sorta gunslinger, especially on The World, which sounds like dusty dueling music. And Jones is pure femme fatale, luring people into her tricky web on many scrumptious rides. This is a true masterpiece and I can already say it will be overlooked by many but trust me and get this one now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Theatrical, May 17, 2011
By 
This review is from: Rome (Audio CD)
This is an album I have waited for with eager anticipation ever since I heard it was in the making. One of my favourite producers Danger Mouse collaborating with Italian composer Daniele Luppi on an album of theatrical Spagetti movie soundscapes, and the vocals of Jack White and Norah Jones. How could it possibly fail?

Well, it doesn't. The sweeping "Theme Of "Rome"" (laced with operatic flourishes and delicately tapped percussion) opens the album, followed by the gently shuffling "The Rose With A Broken Neck" with White's vocals layered in upper and lower register. White appears again on "Two Against One" (in a spoken/sung performance), and closing cut "The World".

The pace of the album rarely strays above a midtempo shuffle, and every song is brief. Jones appears on the sultry "Season's Trees", the dark "Black" (with cascading guitar sounds and an intro remniscent of The Eagles' "Hotel California"), and the gently swinging "Problem Queen".

Other standouts are the Bluesy "Roman Blue", the ghostly "The Gambling Priest", and the incredibly beautiful "Morning Fog" (with quivery organ, haunting harmonies and a delightful keyboard solo).

It's nothing earth shattering, just deeply affecting and beautiful, and sometimes, that is enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Space station lounge music, June 7, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rome (Audio CD)
Not what I was expecting, but lovely and dreamy. A few tracks had a western feel, but for the most part, it really reminded me of late 90's Air- which I love, so that worked out for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Whole is better than the Parts., November 3, 2011
This review is from: Rome (Audio CD)
My wife and I discovered this album out of our love for Norah Jones, Jack White, and Danger Mouse's production work for the Gorillaz and Black Keyes.

The concept of the album, a soundtrack to an Italian spaghetti western that doesn't exist, is intriguing when you consider the artists involved. It seems like a strange combo, but given the reputations of each artist, you don't have to strain too hard to imagine it working.

This album is awesome. I'm not sure I've been impressed by an album as much as I've been with this one in a while. The music is beautiful, the voices are grand, and the instrumentation is almost perfect. The only problem is that I don't think the music sounded as much like a soundtrack to a Man With No Name movie as the premise leads you to believe. Rome is more unique than that, and I think it actually makes for a better album. I wanted a full-fledged spaghetti western type soundtrack and received something better.

What do I mean? The first track makes for a fantastic western type theme, but that tone and style are subtle through the rest of the album. There are times when the music and songs seem like they would belong in more of a 70's James Bond type movie than a western, with the exception of the lyrics. Ultimately, this album sounds like something that you'd have from a Quentin Tarantino western, and that is just perfect.

The play of Jack White and Norah Jones in complementary tracks here and there is grand. I only wish there were more tracks with their voices. It is amazing at how well their voices complement each other. It's only too bad they don't duet at all. I could see it working in this instance. The intermission tracks and instrumental pieces only work to add tension in the spacing between the vocal tracks, yet they are beautiful as well.

If there is any complaint, it would be that the album is too short, but that is really only in a sense of wanting more music. The reality is the shortness makes for perfection in this case. Nothing feels unfinished. It is a great album that would probably have a broad appeal to a very big audience. It is only too bad it isn't marketed as such. Don't let whatever preconceptions you have of the artists and their pasts influence you not to give this album a try. You might be surprised at just how good it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, October 31, 2011
This review is from: Rome (Audio CD)
Has a nice David Axelrod flavor to it, featuring funky grooves, a lush orchestra and fine vocal performances from Norah Jones and Jack White. If you find yourself liking this album, but don't know who the 1960s/1970s artist David Axelrod is, look him up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mr. Burton does it Again!, July 18, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rome (Audio CD)
After constantly listening to the Burton/Mercer Broken Bells album for the past year, now comes Burton's Rome collaboration which I'll be constantly hearing for the next year!! What a beautiful record! The combination of vocal tracks and the lush instrumentals is flawless. Luppi, Jones and White add greatly to the final product. Ennio Morricone has always been one of my favorite composers and this 'soundtrack' really captures the feel of his music. Finally a suggestion for Norah Jones. You might want to consider doing an entire album with Brian Burton producing and Burton/Luppi writing the songs! Its certainly an album I would buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Rare Gem, May 30, 2011
By 
F. Billi (Los Angeles, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rome (MP3 Music)
This is such an intense, amazing album. The more you listen to it the more you get addicted to the sound. The music transport yourself to imaginary places where everything is possible and can happen. It is not just an homage to Italian film soundtrack it is an homage to ingenuity. Everything is perfect: the rhythm, the interlude, the voices, the orchestra, every single instrument. It is a unique experience, a masterpiece. Although it is hard to pick one single piece, my favorite song is "Rose with a broken neck". Here Jack White gives the best of himself. There are no words to describe this album: LISTEN TO IT and HAPPY DREAMS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Morricone Pop, but Spaghetti Western ??, May 31, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rome (Audio CD)
Wow. Like many others I read a newspaper review relating this music to the spaghetti westerns of the mid and after '60's. I'm not sure what Spaghetti Westerns others have heard, but where is the tension, the danger? Listen to Morricone's The Good, the Bad and the Ugly theme - hear the cries of despair and fear. Or the Ecstacy of Gold from the same film and hear the frantic sense of frustration searching thru a graveyard with thosands of graves for the one with the treasure. The gently deceiving and forboding romanticism of Once Upon a Time In the West. The mournful The Man with the Harmonica. Check out the twang and chanting (and whistling) in the themes of For a Few Dollars More and A Fistful of Dollars. The lesser known The Big Gundown (great movie of full surprises, by the way - and marginal dubbing) with its screaming theme of majesty and building tension. Or if you really want to go there, Navajo Joe's relentness screaming torture and chanting. Try some other composers, like Bacalov's almost corny Django vocal theme.

The present recording is more like Morricone pop, unfamiliar to many, maybe best described as Italian easy listening. And good stuff.

The music at hand is pleasant, has a certain mournful sound on some tracks. So, enjoy this recording, but don't expect to hear the real spaghetti western sound.

How about if someone takes Morricone's crime scores as a takeoff point? - some really interesting stuff there. Or his horror scores?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting ambience, but very FEW hits, February 27, 2012
This review is from: Rome (Audio CD)
Lovely little excursion. When I heard the first song, a feeling came over me that this will become my new favorite album. Alas, future tracks are weaker, and although danger mouse strikes a few right notes, many are off. Luppi's songs are OK, but sound generic and her vocals are somehow unfitting on a project like this. Rather than religiously playing this CD over and over (apart from the first track), I'll play this when company comes. I'll say Rome, they'll say "Interesting" that's that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This album is deep., October 7, 2011
This review is from: Rome (Vinyl)
Amazing collaboration between Danger Mouse, that Italian guy, Norah Jones, and Jack White. Nothing else like it. Reminded me of the movie "The Good, Bad, and the Ugly," and later found out that was on purpose, which speaks to the quality of the project. Kind of like a double blind drug test. Genre bending, it is just cool all around. Strings, vocals, drums, sound great. Who else could think of a soundtrack for a movie that doesn't exist? If a movie does get made it will pale in comparison to the soundtrack. Maybe Jack White vs. Danger Mouse and Norah Jones as the double crosser. A musical battle, like the cowboy version of 8 Mile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Rome
Rome by Norah Jones (Vinyl - 2011)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.