Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


78 of 79 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High in Rank in Many Ways
I just finished viewing this production(from 1976) in tandem with the BBC/Time-Life 1978 version. The BBC series, of which I have most of the productions, is very fine. Proporting to be complete, which they claim to be on all of their productions without substantiation, they actually cut several scenes which are in the Thames production, to come in at 167 minutes, while...
Published on August 24, 2006 by T. W. Didden

versus
1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, hilariously bad
The actors are too old and have no chemistry. My 9th grade English Honors classes alternately laugh or groan when I force them to watch this version, which I only do for the hilariously bad acting and poor directorial choices.
Published on March 10, 2012 by Disgusted BigTime


Most Helpful First | Newest First

78 of 79 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High in Rank in Many Ways, August 24, 2006
By 
T. W. Didden (Philadelphia, Pennsylvania) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Romeo and Juliet (Thames Shakespeare Collection) (DVD)
I just finished viewing this production(from 1976) in tandem with the BBC/Time-Life 1978 version. The BBC series, of which I have most of the productions, is very fine. Proporting to be complete, which they claim to be on all of their productions without substantiation, they actually cut several scenes which are in the Thames production, to come in at 167 minutes, while the Thames version is 183 minutes. As no other video production I have seen that is now available comes close, this has to be the nearest to totally complete of them all. If you only know "Romeo and Juliet" from the Zefferelli film, very fine in its way, but not the whole play as represented here, seeing it "ALL" is instructive and illuminating. Both BBC and Thames have fine actors and direction, great costumes and specially built stage sets (not a production on a stage, but not a filmed location setting, alla Zefferelli, either), completeists might want to go for the version here, and I would strongly recommend it on many counts. I must demur with the other reviewer in stating that I think that the Juliet is young teenaged-looking and acting. Both the principals are creditabilly youthfull looking and act with the same intensity as the Zefferelli pair. The Nurse and the Friar are equally fine. The fights are believeably staged and executed with impetuosity. The emotional impact is very high; in scenes with both the principals and the Friar, the tenderness in their interaction is touching. It is also instructive to have all the scenes there, because Shakespeare knew how to leven the tradgedy with comic interludes (the musicians scene, for one) which gives greater impact to the whole. I don't know of a production of this play available now which gets so much right; If there be such, someone please instruct me, because I feel that THIS production is worth anyone's time and money. The bonus interviews with two of the cast members is also illuminating and worth a look-see. This is definitely a great version that anyone interested should see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite Good . . . Nicely Staged, August 29, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Romeo and Juliet (Thames Shakespeare Collection) (DVD)
Though not as romantic or adventurous as the 1968 and 1996 versions, this take on the star-crossed lovers follows the text much closer (but still edits out a few lines here and there). No standout performances, as everyone in the cast does a credible job. One curiosity: the actress Juliet looks and sounds much older than the teenager she was originally written to be. Romeo and his cronies work well together, and fiery-haired Tybalt is just plain mean.

Performed as an Elizabethan period piece with simple but effective staging and costumes. Directors of amateur theater groups should give this version a gander.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Romeo and Juliet DVD, December 16, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Romeo and Juliet (Thames Shakespeare Collection) (DVD)
This is an excellent complement to your English 9 curriculum. The DVD contains a dramatic production of the famous Shakespeare play. All scenes from the play are in this version. It provides an excellent contrast to the 1968 version (still considered the best) and the newer Leonardo DiCaprio version. If you want the entire play performed on stage with actors, you might consider showing this to your students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for educators, August 22, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Romeo and Juliet (Thames Shakespeare Collection) (DVD)
If you are an educator, this is a must have. This film will help your students understand the story of Romeo and Juliet. I have seen the other versions, but you would have to fast forward through many parts since they are inappropriate to show in school. The film is easy to follow compared to others. The entire film is appropriate enough so that you don't have to worry about specific scenes. The only issue you may have with it, is that it is 3 hours long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Refreshing Rewording Performance, February 19, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Romeo and Juliet (Thames Shakespeare Collection) (DVD)
This is one of the Thames production of Shakespeare’s plays which were produced in the late 70s and early 80s. They were of uneven quality; some were quite good, others average, and some were simply awful.

This reviewer includes this production of Romeo and Juliet as one of the better ones. There are several reasons for this assessment.

One, it is a complete production, or, certainly one of the most complete versions on film. Since it is complete or near-complete, it includes both the tragic elements of the play, plus the comic, which were many.

Two, there is real chemistry in the two major protagonists. The two actors, Christopher Neame and Ann Hasson, positively exude two people who are punch-drunk in love.

Three, Ann Hasson is a perfect Juliet. In Shakespeare’s play Juliet is fourteen years old. Hasson has a youthful face and appearance and pepper’s the role with the extreme emotionality of a preteen.

Four, the overall production works, and works well. Let’s face it, familiar passages from Romeo and Juliet have been parodied for good reason, and these same lines in a weaker, less confident manner would simply sound hokey and wrong. From the lips of these two actors, there is a real urgency and legitimacy in their words, and hearing these oft-repeated lines the words sound fresh and new. It is a pleasant surprise.

This version is well worth a viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Prize, February 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Romeo and Juliet (Thames Shakespeare Collection) (DVD)
I bought the DVD to award as a prize for Shakespeare Recitation.It was greaty appreciated bu the teenager who won it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Romeo and Juliet, February 1, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Romeo and Juliet (Thames Shakespeare Collection) (DVD)
Enjoyed this DVD of Romeo and Juliet. Good purchase.Romeo and Juliet (Thames Shakespeare Collection)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, hilariously bad, March 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Romeo and Juliet (Thames Shakespeare Collection) (DVD)
The actors are too old and have no chemistry. My 9th grade English Honors classes alternately laugh or groan when I force them to watch this version, which I only do for the hilariously bad acting and poor directorial choices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Romeo and Juliet (Thames Shakespeare Collection)
Romeo and Juliet (Thames Shakespeare Collection) by Joan Kemp-Welch (DVD - 2005)
$12.98 $11.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.