Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of Nicole Kidman's earliest movies
I rated this four stars because Nicole Kidman did an excellent job with her role. She is very sweet by playing a good friend to someone who doesn't deserve to be an outcast. But the story is familiar and predictable, with sparse humor, so I almost gave a three star rating. The movie isn't very long - only about an hour.

Nicole plays Carol, a teenager who is...
Published on January 8, 2007 by Ivonna

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars A poor print
The print is of poor quality: fuzzy and colors no longer true. True, it's taken from an old tape for TV, but this should have been disclosed in advance.
Published 14 months ago by David Sider


Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of Nicole Kidman's earliest movies, January 8, 2007
By 
Ivonna (Bothell, WA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Room to Move (DVD)
I rated this four stars because Nicole Kidman did an excellent job with her role. She is very sweet by playing a good friend to someone who doesn't deserve to be an outcast. But the story is familiar and predictable, with sparse humor, so I almost gave a three star rating. The movie isn't very long - only about an hour.

Nicole plays Carol, a teenager who is pushed by her father to be a great runner. He is trying to live his dreams through her. Her parents are strict with homework and curfews. She meets a girl at school who comes from the opposite situation; this girl's father often doesn't even know or care where his daughter has gone. This girl, Angie, looks different from others in the school - she has dyed, spiked, short hair. Carol's family is concerned about this new friendship.

The dilemma for Carol arises when she decides to make a choice on her own what to pursue - to be the best runner at the expense of other enjoyments or to live a more well-rounded life with the realization that could mean she will not be the best.

I would rate this movie PG. There were no drugs, sex, or language problems that I heard. Sometimes the australian accent was a bit difficult to dicipher. If I had turned up the volume it may have helped. The main characters do respectfully defy (I know it sounds like an oxymoron) authority figures at certain times in the movie. Defying might be too strong a word - but I will leave it in for concerned parents. It is primarily a classic teenager struggle to define him/herself without alienating too much the loved parents and coaches who may have different dreams. It is secondarily a story of friendship between two diverse girls when one is ready for a change. It comes down to Carol's choice in both matters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple, straightforward plot. Kidman is good!, May 3, 2009
This review is from: Room to Move (DVD)
I borrowed this movie from a friend simply because I wanted to see how Nicole Kidman looked and acted at the beginning of her career. As you might imagine, she was stunning even then and was a fine little actress.

I enjoyed her performance as Carol, as well as the second lead, a young girl named Angie, but the plot was too simple for my tastes. It's the story of a kind, generous high-school girl from a nice, normal family who befriends the troubled new, spike-haired girl in her school.

The new friends end up helping each other, indirectly, because Kidman's father is pushing her to become a huge track star. She has the natural ability but is uncertain about what she wants to be. Angie is a talented dancer, so Kidman experiments with dancing, much to the dismay of her father.

This movie is a coming-of-age story with an unresolved ending that ends rather abruptly. For that reason and because it lacks bursts of humor that might have redeemed it, I'm giving this one four stars.

Endnote: I found it interesting that this film was originally intended as part of a larger miniseries and is one of Kidman's earliest roles.

Reviewed by: Betty Dravis, May 2009
Author of: "1106 Grand Boulevard"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A poor print, September 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Room to Move (DVD)
The print is of poor quality: fuzzy and colors no longer true. True, it's taken from an old tape for TV, but this should have been disclosed in advance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone needs room to move, April 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Room to Move (DVD)
Chose this movie for female actress in a movie that helps women break free from stereotypes and experience freedom in thei rlives. Good story line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, August 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Room to Move (DVD)
Nicole Kidman is a great actress and one of our own from downunder
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Room to Move
Room to Move by John Duigan (DVD - 2005)
$19.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.