Room No. 10 (An Inspector Erik Winter Novels Book 7) and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Buy Used
$4.34
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: This item has been gently used.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Room No. 10 Hardcover – March 5, 2013

58 customer reviews

See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$1.99 $0.01

The Lightning Stones: A Novel by Jack Du Brul
Featured New Release in Mystery, Thriller & Suspense
Check out The Lightning Stones, by Jack Du Brul, a featured new release this month. Learn more | See related books

Editorial Reviews

From Booklist

A seedy hotel room in Gothenburg, Sweden, is the site of two crimes, 20 years apart, in Edwardson’s latest well-executed, if a bit overlong, crime novel featuring Chief Inspector Erik Winter. When Paula Ney is discovered hung in room 10 of the Hotel Revy, her parents are despondent—and perplexed about the mysterious note found near her body. Inspector Winter suspects the elder Neys of holding back critical evidence about their daughter. Meanwhile, Winter flashes back to the decades-old case of Ellen Borge, who checked into the same room at the Revy and disappeared without a trace. Winter reopens the Borge case and becomes increasingly convinced that the two women fell prey to the same man. As he pursues clues, the weary Winter eagerly anticipates his upcoming leave of absence, in which he will vacation with his wife and children in the balmy south of Spain. Police-procedural fans will savor this meticulously detailed offering by Edwardson, a three-time winner of the Swedish Crime Writers’ Award for best crime novel. --Allison Block

Review

“In Room No. 10, Åke Edwardson crafts an absolutely mesmerizing tale of two murders separated by two decades. Chief Inspector Erik Winter is a tremendous, complex and thoroughly likeable creation, and Edwardson's no-nonsense style gets us inside his head and his heart. Captivating stuff.” (John Lescroart, New York Times bestselling author of The Hunter and Damage)

“Fans of Stieg Larsson and Henning Mankell will appreciate the swift pacing and compelling cast in this A-level Scandinavian mystery series.” (Booklist)

"A must-read for those who appreciate psychologically astute mysteries." (Publishers Weekly)

"Swedish award-winning crime fiction writer Edwardson is at the top of his game. . . . Readers of Scandinavian crime fiction should add Edwardson to their reading list. . . . Lovers of fiction by Iceland's Arnuldar Indridason and Sweden's Kjell Eriksson will revel in these works." (Library Journal)
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 464 pages
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster (March 5, 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1451608527
  • ISBN-13: 978-1451608526
  • Product Dimensions: 6 x 1.4 x 9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.4 pounds
  • Average Customer Review: 3.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (58 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #905,881 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Related Media


More About the Author

Åke Edwardson is a Swedish author of novels, short stories, plays, detective fiction, and is a three-time winner of the Swedish Crime Writers' Academy Award for best crime novel.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

19 of 23 people found the following review helpful By Luanne Ollivier TOP 1000 REVIEWER on March 11, 2013
Format: Hardcover
Room No. 10 is the seventh entry in Ake Edwardson's Inspector Winter series, but is a first read of this author for me.

Erik Winter is a Chief Inspector in Gothenburg, Sweden. He is called to a bizarre death in a decrepit hotel - in Room No. Ten. It appears to be suicide by hanging, but why in the world is her hand painted white - and the note left just doesn't ring true for Winter. And he is disturbed by the setting - Room No. 10 was the first homicide that he investigated as a young policeman - and the case remains unsolved.

Erik is a likable protagonist, thoughtful, quick thinking and determined. I also enjoyed the supporting cast of players - there is a real mix between various ages, talents and personalities. This is a group who has worked together on many cases. I didn't feel too far out of the loop on catching up with who was who at all. Room No. 10 is told in a past and present format, allowing us to see the young Winter as well.

The crime is inventive and I really wanted to see if and what the connection between the two cases might be. But I found the road there indeterminately long and drawn out. The roundabout conversations and methods of investigation annoyed me. The same information and clues are dissected more than once. Perhaps it's because I prefer a little more action in my mysteries.

Edwardson employs lots of description in his writing. But it's in short bursts of sentences. I found a lot of it extraneous and by page 320 was starting to skim. For example:

"A cup of coffee and a Danish were comforting.
They walked across the street and into the café.
The line at the counter was long"

The advance reader's edition was approximately 450 pages and honestly it was about 100 too long for this reader. The last few chapters did pick up the pace.

It was an okay read for me, but not a stand out.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful By Mark Pastin on April 6, 2013
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
You just can't go wrong with Ake Edwarson, maybe the most skilled storyteller of the Scandinavian mystery writers. His main character, Erik Winter, is an original. He is odd in some ways (an obsession with American jazz) but a basically normal, not neurotic police detective. But very, very dedicated and very, very smart. In this installment, Winter is drawn back to his first case, a failure, by a very odd connection to a current case. Only a nondescript room in a run down hotel binds the cases together - hence the title of the book. As always the characters are brilliantly drawn and the story has a point, a moral. Edwardson is a master of his craft and carefully builds his story without dragging you on irrelevant side trips. We are also not invited into the author's pet causes and politics as sometime happens with the nonetheless brilliant Henning Mankell. This book just keeps moving. With Edwardson, it is always possible to solve the mystery though sheer logic, no foolish gimmicks or last minute characters. But this one is a doozy.
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful By Max Read on March 24, 2013
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
"Room No. 10" is one of seven chief inspector Erik Winter novels written by Åke Edwardson; this one translated by Rachel Willson-Broyles from its native Swedish to English. While enjoying a large popular following in Europe, devoted readership in North America is just emerging.

The writing style uses character dialog where the narrative is composed of conversation and thoughts of the players in present time. You will find a definitive lack of proper assignment of the dialog. With few exceptions, all expressions are described as statements [he said]; one will note that "asked" is seldom seen following a question, or "exclaimed" following an exclamation, for instance. This no doubt is a condition related to the translation and it does cause a loss of the character's voice inflection as the reader reads a question as a statement; an annoyance to say the least.

The story development seems to be quite well done. The mystery part is well cloaked in missing puzzle pieces that come together slowly. It is the "slowly" that will be seen by most as a deterrent to really liking the work. It will seem like each movement towards solving the mystery consumes a page or so followed by ten pages of character musing, or scene description. There is a great deal of descriptive repetition as well; for instance the "sirens" in the night were so often remarked upon that even the author found it necessary for his protagonist to comment that he found the frequency unusual. You will find others as well, such as the "open window", the "twilight darkness" and more.

As the story unfolds, chief inspector Erik Winter is investigating the apparent murder of a woman in a seedy hotel room. The victim was hanged and her hand had been painted with white paint.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful By Kimberly Scott on March 7, 2013
Format: Hardcover
Originally published in Sweden in 2005, a translated edition of Room No.10 will be available March 5, 2013. I was so intrigued by the description for this novel and had such high hopes for a good mystery, however, the translation has left me a bit deflated. Once detective Winters suspects a connection between the two incidents involving the same hotel room, the story quickly moves between these two time periods in a very erratic and unpredictable manner. Just trying to determine what time period the narrator was discussing became a challenge in itself. The plot itself was very slow in moving forward and at several points I found myself wanting to abandon the novel all together, but at the same time I just couldn't. I felt as though I developed a relationship with these characters. I found myself surprisingly drawn into the psyche of Detective Winters, who often times appeared rather melancholy; a middle-age man about to step into the role of Captain and finding himself in need of a long break from the world of crime that just continues to grow with each passing year. Is he making a difference in this line of work? Would this case be solved in time for him to take a leave of absence and spend the winter months with his wife and children in a warm, sunny climate away from the gray, cold winter of Gothenburg? Is there really a connection between these two incidents, or he is simply obsessing over an unsolved case from when he was still merely a rookie? Putting aside the issues of translation, I have to admit this story has potential.
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Want to discover more products? Check out this page to see more: suspense thrillers