Customer Reviews


81 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


62 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great new series!
Cecily Sinclair is the owner of the Pennyfoot Hotel, a charming little place on the seaside of England. Her husband, recently deceased, has left her to care for their much beloved little hotel, recently discovered by the London upper-crust for their weekend jaunts to the seashore in the summer of 1906.
When Lady Eleanor Danbury's battered body is discovered in the...
Published on June 28, 2001 by Anthony P Perrotta

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Relaxing read.
A little comedy here and there. A whodunnit that was a little too easy to solve. Just an easy read.
Published 20 months ago by Shirley Foster


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

62 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great new series!, June 28, 2001
Cecily Sinclair is the owner of the Pennyfoot Hotel, a charming little place on the seaside of England. Her husband, recently deceased, has left her to care for their much beloved little hotel, recently discovered by the London upper-crust for their weekend jaunts to the seashore in the summer of 1906.
When Lady Eleanor Danbury's battered body is discovered in the shrubbery, she is thought to be a victim of a 4-story fall from the lovely rooftop garden directly above.
Needless to say, all the current guests of the Pennyfoot become suspect, and most have some sort of reason for wanting Lady Danbury dead.
It's up to Cecily and her trusted, yet fussy, hotel manager Baxter to identify the killer (local police are not that bright) and save the reputation of the Pennyfoot Hotel.
This is the first in a series of 12 books and I had a terrific time reading this first installation. The characters are sweet and endearing, and even the wacky, minor characters are quite lovable. A wonderful, cozy read with a nice mystery to keep you guessing until the end. I can't wait to read the second one! Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Charming, August 16, 2012
This review is from: Room With a Clue (Pennyfoot Hotel Mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I was participating in a discussion board about a year and a half ago here on Amazon and the topic was cozy mysteries set at Christmas time. The yearly holiday books from this series kept coming up and many, many people recommended them. Since I have found that most mysteries are better if read in order, I went back to pick up this first one, "Room with a Clue". Having just finished it last night, I must say that the discussion group did not steer me wrong.

Set in southeastern England in 1906, Cecily Sinclair is the owner of a seaside hotel called the Pennyfoot Hotel. She is the sole owner of the hotel after becoming a widow six months previously. She has a manager, Baxter, who plays a heavy role in running the hotel but his idea of what a proper lady should do is different from Cecily's. She is very progressive in her ideas about women's equality and that doesn't' necessarily set well with the more conservative manager's ideas. The hotel has been discovered by Society and many of the upper-crust come to stay for brief visits to get away from London for a while. When Lady Eleanor Danbury is discovered dead on the grounds with a bash-in head, Cecily is not only concerned about what happened to her but also concerned about how this might impact her business. She and Baxter get involved since the local police officer isn't particularly equipped to handle the investigation --- he is willing to call it an accident and then head on home.

A charming cast of characters (the staff is full of amusing folks), a charming sea-side setting, and bit of a mystery add up to quite an enjoyable read. This is truly a cozy mystery as the "mystery" largely plays a back seat to the setting and characters which populate this novel. If you enjoy slash and gore suspense, this book isn't for you. If you enjoy curling up on the couch with a cup of tea and a meander through a slower-paced, more gentle story this would be just the ticket.

Bottom line: Enjoyable and fun. Giving it 4-stars but I can see where the series has the potential for 5-stars in the future as the characters become more fleshed-out and developed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love the Pennyfoot Hotel Series, September 6, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I happened upon one of the Pennyfoot Christmas tales and became hooked in this locale and time period. The characters were quite interesting and I found it a light and informative read. I have now read all the Christmas books and have begun accumulating the others in the series. The first two in the original series were a little predictable but again, the characters are too fun and who cares if the plots are a little iffy now and then! I love the descriptions of hotel events and I wish I could sit down to a meal in their dining room. I would even put up with the Colonel! Speaking of which I can't wait to read how he and Phoebe ever got together. I adore Phoebe and envy her the hats. Cecily is my kind of gal. Cigars indeed... For pure escapism with a touch of nostalgia, these books can't be beat. Anxiously awaiting the newest Christmas saga AND the four of the earlier Pennyfoot books I have on order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On Behalf of A Friend, July 19, 2012
By 
Bookaholic "prussblue" (St. Louis area, MO USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Room With a Clue (Pennyfoot Hotel Mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
A friend of mine first became aware of the series from the Christmas Special titles and found them enjoyable reading. That this first in the series title is available on Kindle made my friend most happy to say the least! My friend convinced me to read some of these titles despite the fact that one might classify me as a more serious reader. I confess that they are fun especially when one needs a break. I am also glad for my friend that the older titles are being made available on Kindle as some of the older titles are sometimes hard to find not to mention all too often *pricy* from some vendors. Call me prejudiced, but it is not easy to be an author today here or in Europe. I think that the author should make some profit from their time and effort or else we will have fewer authors to choose from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Cozy Mystery You Have to Read, August 9, 2012
This review is from: Room With a Clue (Pennyfoot Hotel Mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I felt like I was transported back to 1906 and spent the weekend at a seaside resort in England. This is one of my favorite series and I'm so glad to see that the first book in this series is finally out for the Kindle. Cecily Sinclair is a recent widow and runs the Pennyfoot Hotel... a seaside hotel left to her by her husband. Cecily is very forward for her time-- smokes cigars, drives the carriage herself, and treats the downstairs staff as equals. In this upstairs/downstairs tale there are many quirky recurring characters. Baxter, the hotel manager is always by Cecily's side and her friend Phoebe wears fantastic hats and stages zany hotel entertainment. The upper crust of London stays at the Pennyfoot where there is always a murder or two. It's interesting and never boring to glimpse into the mind of a woman ahead of her time. You will find humor, a great murder mystery, a little history and great descriptions of the hotel and characters (both upstairs and downstairs).

There are 12 books in this series plus special Christmas books. The original Pennyfoot Hotel series has ended but a new Christmas book is published every year. I can't wait until the other Pennyfoot Hotel books come out for the kindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining Cozy, February 24, 2013
This review is from: Room With a Clue (Pennyfoot Hotel Mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I read cozy mysteries to relax and be entertained. The Pennyfoot Hotel mysteries may not be classic,but they sure are an improvement on the shock and horror stories that currently pass as mysteries. I hope Kate Kingsbury continues to write them. If she does, I'll continue to buy them. It's a lot more entertaining and interesting to follow the detective solving a mystery than to follow the twisted mind of the criminal, as is too often the case in books labeled "Mystery and Suspense" today,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, January 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Room With a Clue (Pennyfoot Hotel Mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I read cozies all the time, and if you do, too, you can't go wrong with this one. Good characterization, and just enough intrigue to keep me interested. Not bad way to spend a few hours or days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Room with a Clue is a hit with m!, January 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Room With a Clue (Pennyfoot Hotel Mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Yet another fantastic book in the Pennyfoot Hotel mystery series. Join in the era and watch the full-bodied characterizations of this book. There is always something mysterious going on agt the Hotel. If you read this or any one of the books in the series, you'll be hooked!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cozy mystery, December 5, 2012
By 
Rebecca E. Sandoval (El Paso, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Room With a Clue (Pennyfoot Hotel Mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is a really nice mystery that flows really well. i like the bits of history involved. Its a little funny. Not a thriller but a very nice mystery. The main character is someone you will like. Her helpful staff is charming and witty. The antics they all get into are fun to read. You truly see her solve a mystery instead of just blindly look around then get caught by the killer so that was a nice change for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Relaxing read., November 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Room With a Clue (Pennyfoot Hotel Mysteries Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
A little comedy here and there. A whodunnit that was a little too easy to solve. Just an easy read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.