Start reading Roots of Ransom (MCA Tales Book 1) on the free Kindle Reading App or on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.
OR
Read for Free
with Kindle Unlimited

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Enter a promotion code
or gift card
 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available
 

Roots of Ransom (MCA Tales Book 1) [Kindle Edition]

RG Porter , Vickie Johnstone
5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)

Kindle Price: $1.99
 
Kindle Unlimited Read this title for free and get unlimited access to over 700,000 titles. Learn More

  • Length: 49 pages (estimated)
  • Series: MCA Tales (Book 1)
  • Prime members can borrow this book and read it on their devices with Kindle Owners Lending Library.
Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

The Girl at Midnight
"The Girl at Midnight"
For fans of Cassandra Clare's "City of Bones" and Laini Taylor's "Daughter of Smoke and Bone," this is the story of a modern girl caught in an ancient war. Learn more | See more teen reads

Book Description

The Faerie world is not all rainbows and magic. There are laws and rules and when those are broken, that's when the MCA gets involved. When things get dangerous, the Agency calls in their best and that's Agent Faerie Nuff. The night a Dental Acquisition Agent is kidnapped, Nuff is called in to find out what happened as well as locate the missing agent.

With a ransom demand on line, Nuff enlists the help of Special agent Jasmine (Jaz) Frost. Shunned by the bulk of the Fae, Jaz continues to help Nuff unravel the truth from the evidence that remains. With time running out, they must follow the leads before the ransom is paid or the missing agent is killed. If they fail, either the children of the human realm or an agent will suffer. Neither are acceptable to Nuff.


Product Details

  • File Size: 202 KB
  • Print Length: 49 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00AWXQG6M
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #2,718,639 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
(2)
5.0 out of 5 stars
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Share your thoughts with other customers
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you like your Fae a little on the dark side January 26, 2013
Format:Kindle Edition
Whether you are into the fantasy world or not, an adept writer can still draw you into their story, with good characters, a sensible plot and a world the reader can make sense of. RG Porter proves more than able in "Roots of Ransom."

It's a story of greed, kidnapping, murder, and intrigue. Sadie is a sweet little Fae who just happens to be a Tooth Acquisition Agent, zipping through the night sky on her air bike, happy with life and her job. Then she received a last-minute dispatch to one more stop in England, where a child had slipped his lost tooth under his pillow and was expecting it to be exchanged for money. Ignoring a niggling feeling of fear, Sadie arrives at the bedside of the child, only to be kidnapped by an evil entity, to be held ransom until Mother Nature (generally called "M" by her subordinates) pays him all the money set aside for the whole tooth-acquisition program.

Nuff, an agent of the Mystical Creatures Agency, is assigned to investigate Sadie's kidnapping and get her back, safe and sound. He is paired up with Jasmine (Jaz), a half-fae, half-human who is shunned by society as well as her co-workers despite her talent at her job. Together, the well-trained Nuff and the brilliant Jaz are hot on the trail of the kidnapper.

Porter does a wonderful job of making this world of hers believable. There is magic, there are mystical creatures, but they act logically. They do not rely only on magic, of course, they have very sound minds. Mother Nature is a strong, assured woman, not an airy-fairy tree hugger, so to speak. Porter could call this Fae Noir if so inclined. These fae have histories, problems, foibles . . . lots of possibilities for sequels. At least that is my hope!!!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Faerie Story! March 24, 2013
By Jenn
Format:Kindle Edition
I'm not a big fantasy fan or reader and very few Faerie book or stories can grab my attention and keep me wanting to turn the page the way this one did. From the first page I could not put this one down. The line between the faerie world and the human world was so finely drawn in this short story that I was pleasantly surprised.

Nuff is a tough guy Fae detective who is put on the case of finding the missing Dental Acquisition Agent (Tooth Faerie). While doing her nightly runs Sadie went missing and Nuff knows that nothing seems right with her disappearance from the start.

Jaz is a no nonsense scientific half fae half human who is doing her best to survive in the Fae world when no one trusts or respects her because of what she is. She knows that finding the thing or person responsible for kidnapping Sadie is not going to be easy but she knows that unlike the other Fae she has to deal with on a daily basis Nuff respects her and is her friend. Jaz soon learns that they are not dealing with another Fae or even human, but what they are dealing with knows a great deal and will do anything within it's powers to not be stopped.

This is a very enjoyable story and I highly recommend it to all.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only

More About the Author

RG Porter is an author of dark fantasy as well as horror and murder mysteries, all with a twist of the supernatural tossed in. For as far back as she can remember, she has always been proned to coming up with wild adventures. Her dreams and nightmares just fueled her already creative juices.

Wandering around from state to state, RG spent many years in different states before finally settling down. She now calls a small town outside Austin Texas home, where she spends time with her family, cat and dreams of the move to the UK. Until that time comes, she indulges in the local environment of great steaks, hot weather and keeps her eyes out for ghosts.

Can't live in Texas and not expect to find something strange going on. As they say, Keep Austin Wierd.

The first four novels (SHADOW OF THE WOLF, KISS OF THE WOLF, CRY OF THE RAVEN and CALL OF THE RAVEN) of her adventurous fantasy series the DARKNESS UNLEASHED SERIES are available now on Amazon. She also has many other series in varying degrees in the works as well as stand alone books in the horror genre.

Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


Look for Similar Items by Category