Customer Reviews


129 Reviews
5 star:
 (67)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


68 of 72 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Re-packaging (and minimization) of the "free stuff", but it works!
Rosco gel packs are known in the Strobist community for their free sampler packs - books with hundreds of these gels in various colors that just happen to fit over camera flash units (even the larger ones like the 580EXII). These are great little kits as not only do you get the color-correction gels (CTO, CTB, etc..) but also the "fun" colors to play around with, and tons...
Published on June 13, 2010 by MiRSD

versus
40 of 43 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too small for the Canon 580EXII
The Rosco gel pack is good if you're just starting to experimenting with Gels and don't want to spend a lot of money up front whilst you get your toes wet.

Personally I found the gels a little small for the Canon 580EXII Flash units and not very robust. I have since given my Rosco gel packs away and am much happier with the higher quality and larger Honl gels,...
Published on December 24, 2010 by Morgana


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

68 of 72 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Re-packaging (and minimization) of the "free stuff", but it works!, June 13, 2010
This review is from: Rosco The Strobist Collection, Strobist 55 Piece Cinegel Filter Kit, 1.5x3.25" to fit most Shoe Mount Strobes. (Electronics)
Rosco gel packs are known in the Strobist community for their free sampler packs - books with hundreds of these gels in various colors that just happen to fit over camera flash units (even the larger ones like the 580EXII). These are great little kits as not only do you get the color-correction gels (CTO, CTB, etc..) but also the "fun" colors to play around with, and tons of different shades.. all free! Due to the popularity, these now sell for a couple bucks: Roscolux Swatch Book, Small Sampler of Almost Every Filter.

As these became popular over the years, Rosco and Strobist got the idea to actually sell them in this kit. Not a bad idea considering how almost everyone was using them (free) for a purpose other than what they were intended for (intended to give you an idea for the color so that you can buy large sheets for stage lighting and such). Problem is.. they didn't really make it better. They're a bit bigger, but you're getting way less colors and it includes no way of attaching them to the flash easily. In this way, it's no better than the stuff you could earlier get for free. It works though, and if you need a set of gels, this is a cheap purchase that will do what you need it to!

If you're not in a rush or willing to play around, I'd check out the Roscolux swatch book and see what kinds of results you can get from those first. Not just to save money (I think the company should be supported for their product), but because of the additional flexibility you get out of it due to the different shades (and if you have 4 flashes and want 4 shades of purple, it's just not possible with this kit, whereas it is with the sampler).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for gelling speedlights, January 27, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rosco The Strobist Collection, Strobist 55 Piece Cinegel Filter Kit, 1.5x3.25" to fit most Shoe Mount Strobes. (Electronics)
The right size and shape to gel speedlights. I couldn't find a list of the included gels before I purchased, so here it is:
Rosco 3202, 3204, 3208, 3401, 3408, 3409, 3404, 3403, 3415, and 3304. Also #8, #12, #23, #26, #33, #39,#39,#80, #90, #358, and #375. Personally I like to use #08, which is Pale Gold, as a warming filter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Product, but needs holder!, March 13, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rosco The Strobist Collection, Strobist 55 Piece Cinegel Filter Kit, 1.5x3.25" to fit most Shoe Mount Strobes. (Electronics)
This is a good product but was lacking information in the discription. These gels do not come with the holder to attach them to the flash. Just an oversite on my part. I purchased the LumiQuest Gel Holder for $19.89 and it worked great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 43 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too small for the Canon 580EXII, December 24, 2010
By 
Morgana (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rosco The Strobist Collection, Strobist 55 Piece Cinegel Filter Kit, 1.5x3.25" to fit most Shoe Mount Strobes. (Electronics)
The Rosco gel pack is good if you're just starting to experimenting with Gels and don't want to spend a lot of money up front whilst you get your toes wet.

Personally I found the gels a little small for the Canon 580EXII Flash units and not very robust. I have since given my Rosco gel packs away and am much happier with the higher quality and larger Honl gels, which are more expensive but definitely worth the money. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works!, November 14, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rosco The Strobist Collection, Strobist 55 Piece Cinegel Filter Kit, 1.5x3.25" to fit most Shoe Mount Strobes. (Electronics)
Just got these today to pair with my Canon 580EX II. The gels work as advertised and are a good size for the 580EX II. I used a note card to hold the gels to the flash , check out the amazon pictures to see what i did. I just made a lip and stuck it between the card and the wide panel lip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Gels warp/deform after 5-10 flashes, August 3, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rosco The Strobist Collection, Strobist 55 Piece Cinegel Filter Kit, 1.5x3.25" to fit most Shoe Mount Strobes. (Electronics)
I was very excited to try these out. After 9 test shots, I noticed that the gel was deformed from the heat of the flash. The gels do what they are supposed to do, but for an incredibly short period of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not the best gel pack out there - not long enough, May 15, 2012
This review is from: Rosco The Strobist Collection, Strobist 55 Piece Cinegel Filter Kit, 1.5x3.25" to fit most Shoe Mount Strobes. (Electronics)
For the price it seams like you are getting a lot of gels but the size is too small to use anything but a expensive gel holder product (for what they are) to attach these to your flash. I, like many other shooters already have velcro on my speedlights so the 3.25" length on these makes them a chore to attach with velcro. I tried extending the length a little on each side with some doubled over tape but in the end, I just tossed these in my junk drawer and bought a gel pack that was wider.

Be advised, if you get these, you'll need to buy another product or fabricate your own to attach these to your speedlight. Save yourself some time and get a gel pack that is longer and possibly comes with velcro.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Effective but not very durable, January 26, 2011
By 
Zachary (MOSCOW, ID, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rosco The Strobist Collection, Strobist 55 Piece Cinegel Filter Kit, 1.5x3.25" to fit most Shoe Mount Strobes. (Electronics)
These filters work exactly as advertised. Put them on the front of the flash and it colors the light, simple as that. I'm knocking off a couple of stars though because the filters are insanely flimsy. You'll notice after a few clicks of the flash in rapid succession that the filter starts to warp. I kind of expected this to happen but not after just a couple of uses. Also, doesn't come with anything to attach the filters with. A minor gripe but come on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Price is right, but not big enough., January 4, 2012
By 
illnoise (Chicago, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rosco The Strobist Collection, Strobist 55 Piece Cinegel Filter Kit, 1.5x3.25" to fit most Shoe Mount Strobes. (Electronics)
Others point out that a swatch book is free from Rosco, but it's worth $8 to have a 'curated' set of the most useful colors, that are clearly labeled and organized in a reusable container (and without the holes from the swatch book)

So the price is more than fair, but if you prefer velcroing or gaffer-taping your gels, there's not really any extra gel to wrap around the edge of the flash. These are almost exactly the size of the 420EX II face, so they're just barely big enough to use with the 420 and they don't even cover the whole face of the 580EX II. They're supposed to fit in Rosco's gel holder, but no one I know has anything good to say about that thing, it's bulky and also too small for the Canon flashes. Maybe David Hobby's beloved Nikons have smaller flash heads?

It's a good deal to have a decent set of theatrical gels and extra CTOs/NDs etc in your bag when needed for a second flash or to be doubled-up (and they'd be great for a pop-up or point-and-shoot flash), but if you're looking for a quick, durable everyday color balancing set, I'd look for a different product or buy bigger sheets and Velcro and make your own (Honl and FlashZebra are both good options, but obviously cost more.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DISPOSABLE - DO NOT BUY IT !!!, September 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rosco The Strobist Collection, Strobist 55 Piece Cinegel Filter Kit, 1.5x3.25" to fit most Shoe Mount Strobes. (Electronics)
Gels got melted and wrinkled after the first shot with Canon 600ex at full power.

Check the "explanation" from Rosco customer service.

PS: I don't care if the speedlite produces a very hot light since the product that I bought is supposed to work specifically with speedlites. See "images" for damaged gels.

From: Joel Svendsen
Sent: Friday, August 17, 2012 12:45 PM
Subject: RE: Rosco Strobist Cinegel Filters MELTED after the 1st shot

A speedlight at full-power is a VERY hot light source, and a gel mounted right on the flash head will indeed melt after just a couple of pops. In fact, a speedlight popping off at full-power continuously could damage itself due to the intense heat it produces. Alex did not receive defective product, but should find ways to build A.) build in a an air-gap (even ¼" helps A LOT) and B.) slow down between full-power flashes to let the flash and the gel cool down.

Joel Svendsen
Manager of Sales Initiatives for Rosco U.S.
Rosco Laboratories
joel@rosco.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.