Professional restaurant supplies Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_cbcc_7_fly_beacon The Jayhawks Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Grocery Mother's Day Gifts Amazon Gift Card Offer bschs2 bschs2 bschs2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite UniOrlando Spring Arrivals in Outdoor Clothing SnS

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$41.67+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 50 REVIEWERon August 14, 2011
Ex-cop, Laura Thyme (Pam Ferris-`Little Dorrit' `Jane Eyre' `Darling Buds of May' `Middlemarch'), is a housewife who loses her husband to a younger woman. Rosemary Boxer (Felicity Kendal-`Edward the King' `Camomile Lawn'), lectures on horticulture, but looses her university job. An odd pairing, which began from very different pasts. Starting a business together makes sense till mystery, sometimes a death, appears around too many corners. Amateur sleuthing once again hits the British TV screen, not new, but this is definitely different. Not just for women. It's good mystery, good criminal policing, and of course beautiful scenic filming (not just England). Even the gardener's will like this action.

SUBTITLES NOW.
This is a re-release set of episodes. However this complete set, the entire "Rosemary and Thyme: Complete", 2011, now has SUBTITLES.

Shows aired originally from 2003 to 2006. They are as contemporary as any today, and just fun to watch. A refreshing different angle to catch the crooks. This complete set is loaded with episodes. An economical way to own the entire series.

__________Series 1- 6 episodes:
And No Birds Sing
Arabica and the Early Spider
The Language of Flowers
Sweet Angelica
A Simple Plot
The Tree of Death
__________Series 2- 8 episodes:
The Memory of Water
Orpheus in the Undergrowth
They Understand Me in Paris
The Invisible Worm
The Gongoozlers
The Italian Rapscallion
Swords Into Ploughshares
Up the Garden Path
__________Series 3- 8 episodes:
In a Monastery Garden
Seeds of Time
Agua Cadaver
Three Legs Good
The Gooseberry Bush
Racquet Espanol
Enter Two Gardeners
The Cup of Silence

22 total episodes or over 18 hours of mysterious enjoyment.

`
1616 comments|244 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Most mystery series have big tough longtime cops or lovably eccentric oddballs as their detectives.

So it's a bit refreshing to see a pair of utterly ordinary detectives in the light mystery series "Rosemary and Thyme" -- one a cop-turned-housewife, and one a feisty horticulturist. You won't find any mind-blowing mysteries, just solid whodunnits and likable characters... and plants. Lots and lots of beautiful plants.

Laura Thyme (Pam Ferris) has just been dumped by her husband of 27 years, for a "twenty-three-year-old tart!" When visiting an old pal, she encounters plant pathologist Rosemary Boxer (Felicity Kendal) who is promptly fired by her slimy boss. The two wronged women team together to solve a bizarre mystery involving poisonous plants, a car wreck, and a serial killer.

After that, Rosemary and Laura go into business together, treating sick lawns and creating picturesque gardens. But like any good detectives, they keep bumping into sinister crimes, both of the past and present: a spa matriarch is strangled at her desk, skeletons are uncovered in a murdered pop star's garden, and a man is killed in a graveyard... with an arrow.

Things don't improve much in the following seasons -- Rosemary and Laura end up dealing with wrecked romantic gardens, Parisian theft and murder, school pranks gone wrong, Italian restaurants, ferocious competition at a garden show, murder at a vineyard, sabotaged plays and tennis camps.... and even an abandoned baby that may have something to do with a murder.

"Rosemary and Thyme" is notable more for its cozy, cottagey feel than for its intricate mysteries -- but then again, they don't try to be complex or twisty. Instead, the stories focus on our likable horticulturists, and the lovely gardens they create or restore... and the entertaining dialogue ("You've broken the bloody window!" Rosemary yells at a sniper) makes this even more fun.

There's a pleasantly old-fashioned flavour to the series -- lots of vine-draped cottages, manorhouses, luxurious resorts, vineyards and herbal skills. Sure, there's laptops, TV shows, drug dealers and myriad cell phones. But those are just the trappings on an ordinary little mystery series, where the plant sicknesses often have something to do with the murders.

Of course, the leads make or break a series like this. Fortunately, Kendal and Ferris have excellent chemistry. Laura and Rosemary are an entertaining pair, with just the right mix of similarities and differences. Laura is a sensible ex-cop/housewife who is still dealing with her family tensions, while Laura is a cultured academic ("more a bookworm than an earthworm") with a rough streak.

Plant lovers and mystery buffs should enjoy the cozy, vine-covered mysteries of "Rosemary and Thyme." It's just fun and pleasant, all the way through.
0Comment|105 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 25, 2011
I have loved this series from the first time I viewed it. The women are realistic, funny,and work really well together. One of my favorites from BBC and PBS.

The seller was amazingly fast in delivery and the DVDs were in A++++ shape. Have enjoyed them immensely. Thank you.
0Comment|41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2012
Rosemary & Thyme is a British mystery series staring Felicity Kendal (Good Neighbors, The Camomille Lawn) and Pam Ferris (Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, Matilda) as gardening detectives. I first saw Felicity Kendal in Good Neighbors and fell in love with her sense of humor and personality. I was thrilled to find out that she brings that same down to earth personality to Rosemary & Thyme. Rosemary & Thyme was first aired on British television in 2003 and ran until August 2007.

Both women are avid gardeners who are somehow embroiled in a bunch of different mysteries. Laura Thyme (Pam Ferris) is the daughter of a farmer and former police woman who loves her home garden. Her husband recently left her for another woman so she has extra time on her hands. Rosemary Boxer (Felicity Kendal) has a degree in plant pathology and was recently laid off from her University job by her underhanded ex-beau.

The series begins with Rosemary investigating some dying trees at the home of a friend. Laura's husband has just left her for a younger woman and she finds herself in the same hotel as Rosemary. They meet and uncover a plot to kill Rosemary's friend. Rosemary and Thyme consider themselves gardeners more than they consider themselves detectives. The mysteries just happen to occur where they are solving a gardening problem or creating a new garden and they get involved in finding clues for the mystery as well. I love how naturally each of these mysteries unravels. It's very easy to think of these women as *just like you* especially since they are average middle aged women and not your typical Barbie doll style actress. The two women's personalities mesh together perfectly as friends.

Most of the episodes take place in various manor houses and gardens in England however some are shot in other countries as well. Just a few of the more famous locations include London's Kew Gardens and Regent's Park; the French Riveria; Italy's Ligurian coast; a Surrey vineyard; and the hills of Malaga, Spain. Being able to see all of these lovely, exotic gardens was one of the reasons that I enjoyed these mysteries so much. If you're a gardener yourself or someone who loves to watch travel programs, you'll want to watch this series just for the pleasure of seeing the different locations. If you're also a fan of British mysteries, all the better. You'll find this show a delightful break from the violence and reality shows on television now.

Rosemary & Thyme: The Complete Collection includes all 22 episodes on 7 discs. There is approximately 18 1/2 hours of viewing time. Series 1 ran in 2003. Series 2 ran in 2004. Series 3 ran from 2005 to 2007. Extras include an interview with Felicity Kendal and Pam Ferris, production notes, location notes, and photo galleries.
0Comment|36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 30, 2011
I was thrilled with the Rosemary and Thyme DVD set that I ordered. Watched one right after the other for a couple of week-ends. Would recommend them to anyone who loves gardening and the English countryside. It was just the thing to lift the spirit on a dreary day. I loved the light heartedness of this series. Learned about it from a friend who loves old English series as much as I do.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 4, 2006
"Rosemary & Thyme" is a superbly crafted, richly produced, brilliantly acted, cleverly scripted series of mysteries featuring two intrepid (if unlikely) amateur female sleuths who are in the gardening and landscaping business but can't seem to avoid getting involved in murder mysteries. Laura Thyme (Pam Ferris) is a former policewoman who has been abandoned by her philandering husband for a younger woman, and Rosemary Boxer (Felicity Kendal) is a plant biologist who lost her university teaching post. Together they are Rosemary & Thyme, and their adventures are played out against gorgeous English gardens, manorial landscapes, and the often stunning floral beauty of rural Britain. Volume 1 features six episodes, while Volume 2 has eight episodes. These are classic British-style 'whodunnits' with the viewer deeply engaged with every remarkable character, plot twist, and surprise ending. The DVD format allows for the inclusion of production notes, a photo gallery, cast filmographies, - and even a trivia quiz. If a community library budget can only allow for the addition of one new DVD series - make it the enduringly popular, flawless produced, enthusiastically recommended "Rosemary & Thyme"!
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Finally a program exists that was built from scratch and not based on a book or writer. They can not do it wrong because this is it. It looks like there is more horticulture in this series than in the Brother Cadfael series.

Two women, each have a Life changing experience just before the series starts. Soon they become friends. One a hands on gardener, with a law enforcement back ground Laura Thyme, (Pam Ferris), the other an academic horticulturist with an old four wheeler vehicle Rosemary Boxer (Felicity Kendal).

The programs are of the two trying to find out who dunnit and how. We do not get bogged down in love interests.

Each episode is unique in its approach. The only pattern I see is that it is like in the movie "A shot in the dark" where everyone is guilty except the maid. In this series there may not be a lit of murderers, however there are a lot of guilty people.

Well sit back and enjoy the view, smell the roses, and buy the series so you can watch again and again.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2011
I bought this as a Christmas present since I have the whole collection myself. These are so charming that I have watched them on several occasions. In fact, members of my club met once a month to watch some of the episodes together! I hope the person receiving this will enjoy these stories for their mystery and for the beautiful English countryside included.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 26, 2013
This mystery series is a complete delight. The main characters of Rosemary Boxer and Laura Thyme are a fun team, and the concept of two lady gardeners getting involved in and solving murder mystery plots is creative and intriguing. We appreciate the fact that the episodes are not overly graphic or violent, and there is an element of humor and some light-heartedness in the stories and dialogue. The beautiful settings include pastoral countryside, exquisite gardens, and some picturesque locations on the French and Italian Riviera. It's a shame that the series ended, as we discovered it only recently.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2012
We bought this DVD set and we loved every minute of it. It was definitely worth it! We watched the entire series from beginning to end as soon as we got it and plan to do so again! A very cute show.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.